Meath v Cavan

Look it not all Mods fault "we get it"...but 4 years now has proved he is not a county team manger by any standard do people on here "get it" also?

4 years is long enough to prove that Mick O'Dowd is just not good enough ..is it 5 years or 6 years that will prove to people he is just not good enough ?

there is that old saying ..If you give any man enough rope , he'll hang himself ..Mick O'Dowd got enough time!

If i ask Mick O'Dowd to build me a wall he would build me a wall..if i asked him to dig me a trench he would dig me a trench without question..but it does not mean he is bloody good at it!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 28/02/2016 20:15:48    1829020

Meath football 1996 to 1999 we won 2 all irelands ...the best club side in leinster that time were Éire Óg GAA (Carlow) 1995, 1996, 1998..never got to a leinster final the county team(Carlow) in that period or a semi final or Quarter?

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 28/02/2016 20:26:37    1829031

We have good enough players just a clueless manager and a bad fitness team. We just cant play for the 70mins. Why dont we just change the whole background team now before the championship starts and before it gets really embarrassing.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 28/02/2016 21:28:05    1829061

Sheridanstry

the opportunity was there in the summer to change it.Even the selectors were just thrown together..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/02/2016 21:41:30    1829069

MOD took charge in D3 and it is looking like his successor may have to start there as well.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 28/02/2016 21:46:22    1829074

Glas

Knowing the county board,they will be stubborn and keep MOD,or bring in another left field style manager..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/02/2016 21:55:29    1829079

Not one of you gave Cavan any credit for a good fight-back at all. Poor form.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 28/02/2016 21:59:25    1829083

Cavan_Slasher

We have our own problems to address before giving another County credit. I advise you go on the Cavan forum to read any positive messages.

RedMeath12 (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 29/02/2016 09:13:32    1829096

mod has tried his best ,but it is just not good enough , i would suggest {and i know its not going to be popular given our expierience with outside managers} that we should go looking for pat gilroy ,he turned the dubs around and might be the man to do the same with meath

onionboy (Meath) - Posts: 32 - 29/02/2016 09:17:56    1829102

Fair play Cavan_Slasher easily the better team on the day, ye were made to look like world beaters in the 2nd half by the ineptitude of that Meath team. Thought your No6 was very good and kicked some fine points but the space afforded to him (at intercounty level) was nothing short of shocking.

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 29/02/2016 10:00:34    1829127

Cavan_Slasher

Not one of you gave Cavan any credit for a good fight-back at all. Poor form.

Ah sorry Slasher, it was a good comeback by Cavan, they got on a run and took their chances. The thing is though, that this is one of the worst Meath team's in living memory and we're used to blowing leads, it's kind of our thing, we're like the anti-Meath.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/02/2016 10:08:16    1829131

Cavan Slasher, you must be hard-up for comfort if you're coming on here looking for praise. We've enough to worry about ourselves.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 29/02/2016 10:12:45    1829132

Well here comes a negative lambasting that i expect to be slated for but anyway. I do remember being slated for suggesting keeping O'Dowd was a disaster waiting to happen and then being accused of having an anti O'Dowd agenda.
Well here we are folks, season 5 and worse than ever. A clueless, hapless, gutless, directionless, disgrace of a second half performance, but where have we seen this before?.
Heads went down after Cavan went 2 points up which is pretty much unforgivable at home. Then the crowning glory, bringing on Mark Battersby, a fine player let me add but bringing him on and putting him full forward and starting to lash balls into him. Laughable. A sinking ship of a management team that will be holed below the waterline away to Galway, of that you can have no doubt.

highking12 (Meath) - Posts: 184 - 29/02/2016 10:22:25    1829135

Meath are a shambles from top to bottom. My options mod is not county manager standard I look after a club team and know when things are going bad on a pitch players look to the side meath players look to a side line and see a manager sitting on his arse not good enough. The standard of player is not good enough to many players coasting along because they know there place on the panel is safe no competition for places like the top counties. Then u come to the county board who gave there backing to a manager who had actually in my opinion brought meath backwards not forward in his 3 years stint only in meath cud this happen then u go into navan and even at this day and age you still go in and sit on a piece of timber on concrete the county has huge problems

thebomber1984 (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 29/02/2016 10:51:52    1829166

The most worrying things is that the players supported MOD to stay on. I get the fact MOD is total gentleman and is giving up his time for his county, which is to be highly commended. But its just not working out in any shape or form. You can't blame under age structures etc for this loss if a team is 8 points against a team they are good enough to win its as simple as that.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 29/02/2016 11:03:41    1829181

bob

Actually half of the panel did not support MOD staying on,you just heard from the players who wanted him to stay on.Some players had a meeting with MOD in Ashbourne at the end of last season,MOD promised them things would be different..
Can anyone predict when the next collapse will come by the way?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/02/2016 11:10:50    1829184

Anyone any idea what MOD had to say? I see there is no comment from him on the main page.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/02/2016 11:14:18    1829187

Andy Tormey is suspended. Great analysis! The brains on this site here is staggering!

David (Meath) - Posts:283 - 26/02/2016 20:46:21 1828539

"The brains on this site here is staggering!"

Absolutely right David. The collective wisdom of all of us on here would put Einstein to shame. Sure even MOD logs on here regularly to see what team he should be picking for the big games. Isn't that why he had picked Donnacha Tobin at midfield - because the brains trust on here have told him to do it!
Now i only I could get him to read my posts about changing the goalkeeper!

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts:803 - 27/02/2016 08:04:45 1828562

I stated the above comment the other day on this forum, and rightly was taken up on it by 'anfearbeag'.

As seen yesterday, When Andy Tormey made an appearance, I was proven to be the one incorrect and lacking brains. Hands up, me!

As of yesterday's match,I am lost for words. Good first half, but oh my god, please help us. Watching the warm up, I feared the worst, but then was gaining slight hope throughout the first half. That said the warning signs were there, as Cavan kicked a horrendous number of wides in the opening 35. As a die hard, I'm getting seriously disillusioned.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 29/02/2016 11:18:52    1829192

I agree with the despair on here and I could go on at length about loads of things but have two questions to ask.

When Donnacha Tobin was going badly (understandable as he hasnt played) why oh why was Graham Reilly seen by the management to be the best option to go in there when you had Cian O'Brien and Alan Douglas on the bench who both play in midfield with their clubs and would have been fresh legs in there?

Also, considering that we got into a (fortuitous) 8 point lead was there not any thoughts at half time that, with the slight wind, that Cavan could continue to create loads of chances in the second half and to replace one of the forwards with a defender as cover. A few people in the stands were very worried still at half time about the chances that had been created - did management not consider this?

We keep on saying that the latest game is the worst ever. I just dont know anymore.

trim1 (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 29/02/2016 11:47:54    1829220

Obviously collectively we were poor,but I thought McGill,Harnan,Newman,Lenihan were all very poor.Graham in the second half was awful too.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/02/2016 12:49:08    1829277