Meath V Armagh - August 2nd

Micko is staying for sure.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/08/2014 10:18:48    1630335

Until we can get 15 FULLY committed players out on the field,we are going nowhere,regardless of who the manager is.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/08/2014 10:23:43    1630339

Classic forum rubbish by nameless cowards who use the secrecy of this system to vent their anger!the same people who wanted Banty out!the same people who thought we were fantastic after Kildare match!what do we do ,fire everyone?we have the basis of a very good team,of course this year is frustrating but I'm sticking with Micky and co who have the courage to put themselves out there and be counted!

Agreed. I'm actually baffled at anyone who thinks Micko should go, in fact I actually find it boarderline funny. However, Im absolutely spitting at some of the decisions that were made on the sideline yesterday. All our experienced players were whipped off when we needed them most. Our fowards are a huge problem, but there are good forwards there. Its just about developing a style of play so they know what theyre doing. There seems to be a lot of confusion. I think we need to stand back and realise we were missing two of our best players from last season and also yesterday Kevin Reilly. Next year a style can be developed with S O'R back in forwards where he should be. This year was very make-shift for me. I also think someone else needs to be added to the background.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 03/08/2014 10:39:00    1630346

Also yes, a lot of players need to have a serious look at themselves. Its not fair on the likes of Keogan who in my opinion is the only one who consistently is at the top of his game and is always under so much pressure in the backs. I cannot praise this lad enough. Also first season back Donnacha Tobin showed huge commitment, especially in the Dublin game.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 03/08/2014 10:49:20    1630353

Have to say I was very disappointed with the meath support yesterday.I was in the cusack stand (soaking wet)and was surrounded by armagh fans who never stoped shouting and cheering on their team.very small number of meath fans there for a county so close to croke park.I would guess most of the people on here giving out were sitting on bar stools yesterday watching sky instead of going to the game and supporting you're county.where were all the so called fans that were at the leinster final???

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 03/08/2014 10:50:43    1630355

You right lurch one other thing how was McMahon and left on and the likes of the brays and Carroll took off and how did Shane orourke last so long. Anyway at least the county board had a bit of sense and have the championship on in 2 weeks . Clubs can concentrate on it now with leagues and feis cup as good as sorted

Maybe clubs can now put a bit of emphasis also on u21 and minor and bring some more young lads on pity the 21 is the only knock out championship could they not run a back door here or something like a few divisions with a few more games in it ?

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 03/08/2014 11:00:11    1630363

I train my local juvenile football team and the first thing you tell kids on a wet day like that is dont bounce the ball and no short stuff.no short handpassing let the ball in direct.the amount of times we lost the ball playing short handpassing was unreal.plus the likes of bryan mcmahon should have been using his speed and running directly at armagh and winning frees instead of twisting and turning back until eventually losing the ball.at times it was like watching u12s.no game plan !

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 03/08/2014 11:03:22    1630366

Bob same as that. The amount of go on go on. Every time armagh got ball was resembling to a Mrs Doyle convention. Isat wwith my kids one of them only 8 absolutely drowned in Cusack with nearly no Meath support around us and I drove from athlone with tolls both ways with flags jersey on us all with pride that was sadly missing from some players.
Look tactics wise we were at sea. This game was set up for graham Reilly to pop over a few early points from distance why oh why didn't he start

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/08/2014 11:08:15    1630370

As I wrote on the main board Meath are now closer to Westmeath and Cavan than we are to Dinegal and Monagan. A shocking reversal in fortunes over 20 years. The rot started in the latter years of Boylan's tenure and has continued. Last night wasnt the worst of those times but it was pretty bad.
The cause is probably a sense of complacency allied to a change in the type of player we have developed over the years. No hard edge to our play, perhaps the dirty Meath mantra in the media go to people in the county. We havent developed players that can compete at county level. Too many talented but nice footballers.
Last night was another bad day at the office. I think that the management team is probably our best option going forward with some tweaking. i agree with those saying that there were some very poor substitutions.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 03/08/2014 11:21:07    1630375

Can't believe but I'm Just watching the game on the tv this morning . Everything that is being said on this forum Darragh OShea is saying on the tv . Meath have no system and any chance Meath had of getting a goal had being taking off . Armagh look better on tv that they did last night up in croker and they will put it up to Donegal next week . I'll say it again meath look system less plenty of talent but all individuals .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 268 - 03/08/2014 11:34:29    1630382

Agrred Bob regarding support. We were playing Armagh whose supporters had to travel a distance and we are down the road. Meath people have become disillusioned with the team which is sad to see.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 03/08/2014 11:38:38    1630385

How the hell do u expect fans to go spend money watching this management play u 12 tactics ? This nonsense of 5 years is bull . Let Mod have next season as per contract . if he dosnt progress that's it . We can't afford to have a manager learn the ropes at senior level as well as his players .one more year , progress or move on .

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 03/08/2014 11:41:05    1630387

The fact is how are you expected to compete if you don't even have the best lads in the county on your squad like having to bring back on Meade for me says it all. We have made no progress since last year. I know we are ment to be building for the future but at the end of the day there are lads out there who should be on the panel but aren't for me team for next year has to be 1.por 2.keoghan 3.kev 4.young 5. Tobin 6. Harnan 7.carroll 8.gillespie 9.meade [unless a better mid fielder comes along) 10.o Sullivan 11.queeny 12. Biggy 13.dalton mc donagh David bray c Downey e Wallace c ward should all be on the panel and fighting for that spot 14.bray 15.newman

Billy17 (Meath) - Posts: 13 - 03/08/2014 11:42:16    1630388

Ya the Meath support was VERY poor yesterday..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/08/2014 11:48:28    1630390

Royaldunne

Why didn't he start? You don't need me to answer that do you? He did well when he came on,and put up a better effort,but he should be doing thst more often.When he puts his mind to it,he is a class act.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/08/2014 11:51:10    1630396

People go on about missing players through injury etc and yes some were losses and for me Newman wasn't right this year,as he was pretty much injured since Down in the league.But I assure you,next year someone else will be injured,could be Kev Reilly,Keoghan,Tormey,who knows?

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/08/2014 12:05:25    1630413

Another thing. What happened Kevin Reilly? I'm mad we still don't know. Our captain and one of our best players on sideline and not a word about it.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 03/08/2014 12:05:28    1630414

In fairness royaldunne, if Biggy had started how do you know he would have kicked more than three points and played brillant? He hasn't done it all year. He could have kicked none. Sitting on the bench might have been the wake up call he needed.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 03/08/2014 12:11:15    1630422

Class

Ya I agree,that is very annoying,nobody has any idea why he was absent

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/08/2014 12:13:55    1630425

What a miserable day, had to endure a soaking, and a Meath team devoid of ideas and an obsession with bouncing a ball on a pool of water, blame who ye want, but the talent just isnt there, statistics dont lie in our acheivments at minoe, u-21 level in Leinster etc, back to basics and to root level!

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 03/08/2014 12:16:18    1630427