Absolute joke of a rule , sure now all players will do is pull the jersey instead of pulling the player down. Also the Casey advantage rule was a joke he had his shot which hit the crossbar that should have been it but the ref then gives a free in after already allowing advantage, as a lot of people have mention there's going to be big calls in the summer that are going to be very controversial . Also peter Harte yesterday was never a black card terrible call. The added time in the Dublin Cork game was also a joke.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/03/2014 12:13:17
Cute_kerry_hoor, what was griffin's black for again? Was that not the foul on Freeman on the edge of the square? He pulled him down.
killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 03/03/2014 12:27:40
Last thing we need going into the championship is a rule change that could cause serious controversy, there's been enough of that in the last few years. I'd be happy to leave it alone with yellow cards being dished out for cynical fouling, what's the difference between taking a black or yellow for the team coming into the last few minutes of a tight game?
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 03/03/2014 12:34:47
killer_88_ County: Mayo Posts: 1962
1553758 Cute_kerry_hoor, what was griffin's black for again? Was that not the foul on Freeman on the edge of the square? He pulled him down.
He pulled his jersey but he didn't drag him down, there's a difference.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 03/03/2014 12:37:28
Did Cork pull a fast one and use 7 subs saturday? They used Donal Og Hodnett,Colm O'Neill,Ruairi Deane,Andrew o'Sullivan,Kevin Crowley,Colm & Kevin O'Driscoll.The Brian Hurley incident didn't look much on tele.Did he go off with blood injury?Didn't seem to be any blood.
HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 03/03/2014 12:41:30
Cute_Kerry_Hoor County: Kerry Posts: 2414
1553700 Thank you Jackeen.
There we go then. Andy Moran should have stayed on. Ref was right.
And he was wrong in blackcarding Griffin ..
I guess the difference was Casey stayed up and didn't exploit the silliness of the rule while Freeman went down and Griffin was blackcarded. Your gripe is not with me but with the stupidity of the rule. As I said earlier, Fitzmaurice has a right to be frustrated with the referee yesterday (to his credit he has held his counsel). He has rightly pointed out though this black card half-measure may lead to a lot of diving.
Anyway, Kerry not relegated yet. You were in the same boat last year and pulled through. It might come down to the last game against Cork in Tralee. Ye beat us last year and stayed up. I feel more confident that this year we will be better and will make it more difficult. That said, hopefully we will have secured a league semi final berth by the then and may be we will have less o play for than ye in the game. Anyway, who knows.
bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 03/03/2014 12:43:20
Yea not having a go at you personally BennyBunny. Well Cork can't be any worse this year in Tralee then they were last year! :)
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 03/03/2014 12:55:59
HandyMoran County: Roscommon Posts: 90
1553777 Did Cork pull a fast one and use 7 subs saturday? They used Donal Og Hodnett,Colm O'Neill,Ruairi Deane,Andrew o'Sullivan,Kevin Crowley,Colm & Kevin O'Driscoll.The Brian Hurley incident didn't look much on tele.Did he go off with blood injury?Didn't seem to be any blood
Kevin Crowley certainly played the game. The examiner does not have that sub registered. Maybe there is an innocent explanation. Looks dodgy though. Colm O'Driscoll came on for Hurley as a direct sub (not a blood sub) and that was one of six subs made so no problem there. The question is who did Kevin Crowley replace?
bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 03/03/2014 13:10:24
So Cork used 7 sub's.
Watch this get brushed under the carpet!!!!
jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 03/03/2014 14:57:36
So Cork used 7 sub's.
Watch this get brushed under the carpet!!!!
We werent good enough on the day, Cork where the better team, they where more lethal in front of the oppositions goal and got the win they deserved, No point whinging over it, Its only March, We have a game on saturday lets just look forward to that
Up the Dubs :) !!
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13671 - 03/03/2014 15:06:02
03/03/2014 12:41:30 HandyMoran County: Roscommon Posts: 90
1553777 Did Cork pull a fast one and use 7 subs saturday? They used Donal Og Hodnett,Colm O'Neill,Ruairi Deane,Andrew o'Sullivan,Kevin Crowley,Colm & Kevin O'Driscoll.The Brian Hurley incident didn't look much on tele.Did he go off with blood injury?Didn't seem to be any blood.
Crowley replaced Chris Dorman
HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 03/03/2014 15:19:44
02/03/2014 17:09:17 KeyserSoze County: Cork Posts: 346
1553269 How many steps did the Tyrone no.14 take in the run up to that goal? He looked like he was going to do a Joe Sheridan and attempt to score the winning try for Tyrone himself. Should have been a free out.
Freagra: 14! It should have been a free (and not advantage- the foul on him was on the end of that run) but that's not the fault of the Tír Eoghain men; they played the whistle and got their rewards for driving on to the last second. Sorry short grass people but I burst out laughing when the winning goal went in, it just seemed so preposterous that ye were going to lose. Remember a bit of a Hail Mary shot (albeit a great score) got ye the 2 points the first day out when your goalie's messing had given away the equalizer, so swings and roundabouts. Casey hit the crossbar in Caisleán an Bhearraigh yesterday and the man who passed it to him took the exact same number of steps- if it had gone in we wouldn't have refused it!
Thought it was Cormac McAnallen's anniversary on Saturday so was great to find out it was actually yesterday. Not that winning a game of sport is comparable in any way to the grief and loss of that day and the 10 years since, but it's still nice.
Glad to see not too many of my fellow county men whinging like the rest of ye about Andy Moran and what is and isn't a black card. Do ye really think Maigh Eo wouldn't have won otherwise? We should be asking questions about why Marc Ó Sé's man got 3 points from play and how their half backs sliced through us when it looked like they wanted to. No AI for us this year (or for a few years) I would fear.
an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 03/03/2014 16:40:30
an tseabhac County: Kerry Posts: 304
1554037 02/03/2014 17:09:17 KeyserSoze County: Cork Posts: 346
1553269 How many steps did the Tyrone no.14 take in the run up to that goal? He looked like he was going to do a Joe Sheridan and attempt to score the winning try for Tyrone himself. Should have been a free out.
Freagra: 14! It should have been a free (and not advantage- the foul on him was on the end of that run) but that's not the fault of the Tír Eoghain men; they played the whistle and got their rewards for driving on to the last second. Sorry short grass people but I burst out laughing when the winning goal went in, it just seemed so preposterous that ye were going to lose. Remember a bit of a Hail Mary shot (albeit a great score) got ye the 2 points the first day out when your goalie's messing had given away the equalizer, so swings and roundabouts. Casey hit the crossbar in Caisleán an Bhearraigh yesterday and the man who passed it to him took the exact same number of steps- if it had gone in we wouldn't have refused it!
Thought it was Cormac McAnallen's anniversary on Saturday so was great to find out it was actually yesterday. Not that winning a game of sport is comparable in any way to the grief and loss of that day and the 10 years since, but it's still nice.
Glad to see not too many of my fellow county men whinging like the rest of ye about Andy Moran and what is and isn't a black card. Do ye really think Maigh Eo wouldn't have won otherwise? We should be asking questions about why Marc Ó Sé's man got 3 points from play and how their half backs sliced through us when it looked like they wanted to. No AI for us this year (or for a few years) I would fear.
Even though it was Marc's first outing of the year, I don't think he has any business in the back 6 at this stage, he's been taken for 3 or 4 per game consistently over the last few years.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 03/03/2014 17:31:56
The bottom line on these new rules is 'referee interpretation', so there is no point in arguing the toss.
I have to admit since there introduction we've had some good high scoring games of football, nothing like previous years when we seen 14 men behind the ball and getting a low scoring match. If I use Tyrone as a case study, in previous years Tyrone very rarely conceded high scores, yesterday they conceded 1-21. That is unheard of, but it highlights how teams that employed blanket defences in previous years are finding it hard to implement a new defensive system. This is obviously down to the new rules.
On another note, a lot of talk on here about Cork and Dublin and nobody mentioning Derry's positive start to the season. Derry have been going about their business quietly and doing their talking on the field. This current Derry team has a lot of potential and are playing with a confidence I haven't seen in a Derry team in years. Yes, our next two matches away to Cork and home to Dublin will give us an indication of how well we have developed. Cork away will be a serious test especially after their result against Dublin but we shouldn't fear them. Really looking forward to playing the Dubs at Celtic Park on Paddy's weekend, with a big Derry crowd expected and being at home I think we could pull off a shock result.
Outside bet could be Derry for league title.
OakGael (Derry) - Posts: 293 - 03/03/2014 17:47:19
very outside bet.i wudnt put counterfeit money on them.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/03/2014 18:58:49
Cork used 7 subs...
Hmmm
Was he wearing black by any chance?
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/03/2014 19:12:32
i fancy mayo to win this years league.a national title is just what this team needs to give them the momentum to take into the championship.they need to find a killer instinct in front of goal and judging by yesterday theres progress being made in that department.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/03/2014 20:14:12
Cute_kerry_hoor, with Freeman through, he pulled him causing freeman to go down. How is that not a pull down and a black card offence to the letter of the law?
killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 03/03/2014 21:32:50
Right
The black card...
The biggest flaw so far is that it hasn't really solved the issue of defenders cynically fouling a player as they run in on goal
Because all you have to do is get a fistfull of jersey and haul them back by it
I see no point in the black card if you can still get away with something so blatantly cynical
It happened in the Dubs game on Sat night and sure the Cork man wasn't even booked...
Until the above is added into what governs a black card being issued
We're just going to be seeing an awful lot of jersey pulling... and basically players still getting away with cynically stopping someone running in on goal
Instead of a rugby grab... we now have the pull/haul back on the jersey
Same outcome, different cynical technique employed
Black card as it stands = not worth the card it's printed on
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/03/2014 15:12:06
I'm not so sure jimbo. I agree that there is a flaw in the wording but what we may see is a lot of forwards hitting the floor if backs start jersey pulling.
It's hard to believe that this was let through in it's present form. Eugene McGee was asked about it last night on Off the Ball & he just avoided the question in a manner that would have done any prospective election candidate proud.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 04/03/2014 15:25:27