Advertisement

Predictions for winner of NFL Division 1?

Killer I agree Casey was allowed advantage and took his shot that hit the post so that should of been that but the ref then gave Kerry a free that can't be right. So you can pull a players jersey but once he doesn't go down it's not a black card? This could be the worst rule I've ever heard.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/03/2014 18:26:12    1553350

12-13 men behind the ball at times Keyser... fact.

Are you going to deny that? :)

Well done to Cork on the win

No doubt the better team on the night

But as a supporter... you look for positives and no question Dublin can take plenty from that game

We could have easily won.. Hit 18 scores against a blanket defense without the calibre of player mentioned above...

Young Costello to add to the mix...

I reckon we have the beating of yiz this year

Just like we turned over Tyrone in the league final... :)

We'll be seeing yiz again boy...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/03/2014 18:29:06    1553353

Take your beating like a good lad jimbo.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 02/03/2014 18:33:04    1553358

Clondalkin Dub - A player can pull a jersey clean of an opponent an it's not a black card. I agree with you it should be but it's not!!!

croker16 (Louth) - Posts: 349 - 02/03/2014 18:34:52    1553361

Ye'd know all about "blanket defence' in Dublin the way ye played under Pat Gilroy,JimBob,and that wasn't "blanket defence". Take your beating and less whinging about set ups and the referee and missing players, you ignored all the missing Cork players and our talisman Colm O'Neill only back for 10 minutes for the first team in a year. Nothing was won last night and Dublin are still overwhelming favorites for the All Ireland though you seem to be very worried about us even at this early stage.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 02/03/2014 18:35:13    1553362

What a way to celebrate the memory of Cormac Mc Anallen.
Kildare played out of their skins; Tyrone didn't and were
outplayed for most of the game, but, when it mattered they
showed incredible resolve and determination to pull this
one out of the fire! When the chips are down we have the
goods; 'the rest of yis' beware! ;)

A proud day for Tyrone GAA.
Total Faith Tir Eoghain abu!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 02/03/2014 18:56:12    1553383

these black card and advantage rules are stupid mark my words they will cause a lot or problems later on and there will be a lot of angry supporters and managers later when games mean more. didn't like it now or when it came in.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 02/03/2014 19:00:33    1553386

Yeah that's true. You can also give him a good two-handed shove when just as he's taking a shot for goal and that's not a black card either.

Just trips and drag downs and blocking off runs for return passes.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 02/03/2014 19:19:27    1553398

Clondalkin, it's a farce. I believe the gaa had their heart in the right place with the black card but it won't work. There are 5 very specific black card offences, there are loopholes and teams will find them.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 02/03/2014 19:20:52    1553401

That win could be the making of this Tyrone team and might really give them confidence to do something this year; They were not at the races for most of the game but never gave up. Kildare were just unlucky. It's funny though how some of those saying Kildare should have taken a black card in order to win were the biggest gripers, moaners and whingers about Tyrone doing the same last year.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9841 - 02/03/2014 19:21:29    1553402

Cork lads

You're an awful sensitive bunch

You played a blanket defence

There's nothing wrong with that from your reaction you'd swear I was having a go...

Why so defensive? If you exude the pun

Cork had without question the more complete team

As our list of missing players is bigger

Again... as a fan you have to take the positive, and Dublin played well considering who we were missing

Very encouraging signs from Dublin thus far

By far and away a far better league campaign compared to 2012

No need to be so sensitive Cork lads

I mean I've done nothing but compliment ye

It's up to you if you choose to take it wrong

Nothing wrong with playing a blanket defence...

Hopefully we'll get the rub of the green ourselves next time we meet...

We're due one against ye... ;)

Remember the most blatant peno of all time last year...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/03/2014 19:28:57    1553409

Ah now Keyser...

Pat Gilroy?

Yep... Done the job that ye were incapable of doing

Beat Kerry in an AI final...

But come on that's so 2011

Just like a Cork nan to be 3 years behind the times

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/03/2014 19:55:02    1553438

JimBob

We are not all sensitive!!

Your analysis is spot on. I guess people get upset by, what are seen as pejorative, terms like blanket defense! However, I agree when we got ahead we played a dangerous game by inviting ye on to us and really only for heroics from Loughrey, Alan Cronin at times ye probably may well have won. Then again, another way to look at it I suppose is that Cronin and Loughrey are defenders and they were just doing their job.

I thought after 10 minutes, ye were going to run away with it - Ciaran Reddan and Cormac Costelloe were giving us a torrid time but credit to us, we stemmed the tide, got back ahead with a great goal and then were never led after that. Ye had most of the possession in the second half but we responded with the crucial scores to stay ahead (and as mentioned some of our backs were brilliant).

Lots of positives from a Dublin point of view. You were missing lots of players. Undoubtedly, you have a great panel of players and that will stand to you. There seems to be some point scoring between yourself and Keyser on who was missing the most players. It is almost an irrelevance. Many players that played last night will be playing for the year. Games against each other in the league are important as, with all due respect to the likes of Clare and Carlow (who we might meet in the championship), we learn a lot more about who we are when we play each other (and teams of similar standard) in the league then those teams in the championship.

So last night we played and we won. You are dead right that we will have another crack of each other. We look forward to that too though!!

Hard luck last night.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 02/03/2014 20:14:10    1553467

I know that Benny

Great post

Well done on a great display

Fantastic scores...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/03/2014 20:23:56    1553473

As usual jimbo is pretentending to give ye a clap on the back while really giving ye a kick in the arse, so don't pay any heed to him cork lads ,he is the most ungenuine poster on hoganstand , it was a great game to watch and I tipped cork to win, I seen them against us in the McGrath cup final and was very impressed by them, no fading out in the last 10 mins like our selfs.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/03/2014 20:32:20    1553482

How did Kildare not beat Tyrone today..
Conceding 2 goals in the last couple of mins was a cruel blow when 5pts up.
It will be interesting to see how they cope against the Dubs next week.

Kildare are doing well so far and will be more of a force in Leinster this year imo.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 02/03/2014 20:37:18    1553487

If in doubt don't worry too much even if ye get relegated you'll still be in a division higher than Meath after last night :)
But man the one opponents where I'm wanting Kildare to win and yous keep getting beat , the 20 steps for goal was a disgrace and should have been a free out , but the nordies seem to get all the breaks, the free state teams just can't get :)
All joking aside it was a nice tribute to one of the best players ever that 10 years on from that tragic loss Tyrone won. May he RIP .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/03/2014 20:38:12    1553489

Ah jimbob, I could have pointed to the way ye played against Mayo in the second half last year too. As for the Kerry jibe, I don't think we ever went 34 years without beating them in the championship. Your initial post smacked of whinge and excuse making, as I said you are still overwhelming favorites and not getting a peno against Cork last year made no difference. Now the softest free ever given in the last minute of an All Ireland final, certainly since 1988 anyway, that you got against Kerry in 2011, well that's a different matter.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 02/03/2014 20:38:54    1553492

You're the one thats feeling a bit sensitive. All you are doing is looking for reasons why Dublin lost and then covering your tracks with the 'Cork deserved to win' card. It doesn't matter who kicked what wide or what player wasn't on the field of play - Cork won.

Perhaps it could be a different story later on in the year but we'll leave that up to the wanna be Mystic Megs.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 02/03/2014 20:47:28    1553498

A great 13 point win for Derry today, and a great overall performance. I'm confident that this team can pick up at least another point and remain in Division 1. But as a team, they will likely be hoping to finish top 4 and make the semi finals.

Will 6 points be enough to survive? Only if Westmeath can pick up 4 points from their remaining 4 games, which is possible with Dublin, Cork and ourselves already having played now. If Westmeath lose all of their games, then a few teams could end up on 6 points.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3058 - 02/03/2014 20:47:31    1553499