Advertisement

Predictions for winner of NFL Division 1?

MuckrossHead

1553009 realdub

Muckrosshead, it's pedantic because you homed in on a little detail and made something out of nothing. Difference between Dublin and Donegal in the last 2 years is that ye went out with a whimper.

It was just such an unusual term to describe a senior county league game that it took my notice. I don't think it is a term you would choose to describe a championship game & I just made the connection with JMcG last year.

As to us going out with a whimper I'd like to see what sort of challenge any defending champions, Dublin included, could put up with the injuries we had last year.

agree Muck cant see Dublin winning this year,there luck with referees will run out ,wont have the same hunger too

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 02/03/2014 16:20:24    1553231

beal

1553218 Handy how d'ye do against Limerick??

won 3/3 beal with the Brigids lads on board we should finally see promotion this year, will worry about ye in summer time :)

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 02/03/2014 16:24:56    1553237

Gardi have set up road blocks on all roads leading out of Newbridge their looking for a gang with strong northern Ireland accents in connection with a smash and grab this afternoon locals have said that their in shock absolutely shocking that this quiet wee town was the subject to such a braising act and called on Martin and Peter to hand over these cheeky wee brats as they high tail it over the rio grand .

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 02/03/2014 16:30:28    1553240

Great to see you around again willie.
great win for tyrone. Team to beat I re kon

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 02/03/2014 17:01:22    1553261

Great to see you around again willie.
great win for tyrone. Team to beat I re kon

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 02/03/2014 17:02:08    1553263

How many steps did the Tyrone no.14 take in the run up to that goal? He looked like he was going to do a Joe Sheridan and attempt to score the winning try for Tyrone himself. Should have been a free out.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 02/03/2014 17:09:17    1553269

HandyMoran
County: Roscommon

MuckrossHead

1553009 realdub

Muckrosshead, it's pedantic because you homed in on a little detail and made something out of nothing. Difference between Dublin and Donegal in the last 2 years is that ye went out with a whimper.

It was just such an unusual term to describe a senior county league game that it took my notice. I don't think it is a term you would choose to describe a championship game & I just made the connection with JMcG last year.

As to us going out with a whimper I'd like to see what sort of challenge any defending champions, Dublin included, could put up with the injuries we had last year.

agree Muck cant see Dublin winning this year,there luck with referees will run out ,wont have the same hunger too
----
Yes very lucky last year to go unbeaten in all games bar one. Ever heard of punctuation?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4751 - 02/03/2014 17:09:51    1553270

Donnelly took a ridiculous amount of steps in the lead up to Tyrone's last goal. No way should it have stood.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 526 - 02/03/2014 17:10:38    1553271

Agree with keyser about Mattie Donnelly's steps, but not complaining! :-)
Ref pulled Tyrone back for a free when they were thru 1-1 with keeper in 2nd half so maybe deserved the break
good result after being completely outplayed for large parts - shades of castlebar last year.

mchugp (Tyrone) - Posts: 82 - 02/03/2014 17:16:27    1553278

To be fair I think the ref was trying to play the advantage. He was clearly being fouled on his run towards goal.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 941 - 02/03/2014 17:19:31    1553281

Few very bad mistakes from an inexperienced side towards the end. Shocked with what happened next.

Presumably the Tyrone lads beside us who had already left will be even more shocked!

Devastating for the lads even if it was a league game but still hopefully when the dust settles it shouldn't take away from what was a very good performance against a top side.

The news that Daniel Flynn has returned from Oz for good should give everyone a lift also.

Some kick in the goolies though.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 02/03/2014 17:30:19    1553291

Can't begrudge Tyrone on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of Cormac McAnallens death, dare I say he had a hand in the win! Tyrone kept going when all looked lost. From a Kildare point of view I take far more positives than negatives, with such a young team out our forward line are offering a real threat and great competition for places, Also peter Kelly, eoin doyle, niall Kelly to return, (did I also see Dan Flynn is back from Oz for good). Hope we get enough wins to stay up, Looking forward to the summer!

Flynners (Kildare) - Posts: 23 - 02/03/2014 17:33:39    1553292

Sickening end to the game, led for pretty much 70 minutes and then threw it away in the space of 60 seconds at the end. Seemed to be well on top at times in the second half and still managed to lose it.

A more experienced team would have taken the booking and given away the free instead of allowing the runner through.

A few positives to take from it but it's hard to look at it that way considering it should have been another two points on the board.

Credit to Tyrone though, people have talked about them rebuilding and going through a transitional period over the last couple of years but the one constant in that team has been an incredible mental strength and the consistent ability to apply themselves and never give in.

Hopefully the young lads learn something from today, not the ideal game to bounce back in next weekend but with Kerry and Westmeath both pointless and yet to visit Newbridge staying up is still in our hands which would have been the main at the start of the campaign.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3696 - 02/03/2014 17:36:18    1553296

Ok Kildare through it away but tbf they completely out played Tyrone and showed they've really improved under Ryan. Why people are going on about McQuillian when I'm talking about the refs inconsistencies with the black card I'll never know.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/03/2014 17:38:12    1553300

Great win for Tyrone. A few too many steps for the final gosl but these are the breaks you get.

Tyrone in a way kind of remind me of Cork of 2006/2007 in the sense that they are a team that is developing- capable of reaching an All-Ireland semi-final or final but possibly not winning it. In a few years though, I feel that Tyrone will be All-Ireland champions again.

I look forward to our battle in a few weeks..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 02/03/2014 17:41:34    1553306

Dubs scored 18 points against a very defensive setup

Cork had the stronger lineup of players last night

Without BB AB DC PF PA DR on the pitch... we still hit 18 scores and kicked several wide in the last 10 minutes

Plenty of positives to take out of that game...

Still very encouraging signs for the summer ahead

The hunger is there... we're behind other teams in prepartion

But that will balance out...

Cork just scored some unreal points last night

Incredible free taking at times... hats off to them

Blatant foul in the build up to Corks goal didn't help

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/03/2014 17:42:53    1553307

"Defensive lineup" - good one JimBob. Cork were missing Shields (our best defender), Tom Clancy (probably our second best defender), Jamie O'Sullivan, Diarmuid Cahalane, Paddy Kelly (our playmaker and second best forward) and only had our best forward on in the last 10 minutes for his first bit of gametime in nearly a year. If we had lost last night we wouldn't have been making excuses of missing players like we didn't use Colm O'Neill missing last year as an excuse, you should try it yourself.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 02/03/2014 18:03:51    1553327

02/03/2014 14:39:48

Ah lads what's going on Daithi Casey running through on goal Andy Moran clearly pulls his jersey automatic black card and the ref just ticks his name, this black card rule is going to cause lots of headaches cause IMO the ref bottled that call.

Worst case I've seen so far by a ref and black card , Ive attended a lot of juvenile games and the refs understand the rule and are applying fairly well , you wouldn't see that mistake in an under 14s game , but I wouldn't let it get in the way of the bigger picture deserved Cork win , and sloppy finishing from Dublin .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 02/03/2014 18:05:44    1553329

Some of ye need to take a step back and read the black card rule. Pulling the jersey is not a black card offence. You'd have to pull him down. Stupid if you ask me but thems the rules!

On another note, can anyone clarify the advantage rule. I figured it was the same as soccer i.e. let him play on and get his shot or pass off if he can and that's your advantage over. Twice today a Kerry man was being fouled, ref let him play on and get a free shot off. Both times the Kerry man missed and the ref pulled play back and gave a free! Ridiculous!

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 02/03/2014 18:11:37    1553333

12-13 men behind the ball at times Keyser... fact.

Are you going to deny that? :)

Well done to Cork on the win

No doubt the better team on the night

But as a supporter... you look for positives and no question Dublin can take plenty from that game

We could have easily won.. Hit 18 scores against a blanket defense without the calibre of player mentioned above...

Young Costello to add to the mix...

I reckon we have the beating of yiz this year

Just like we turned over Tyrone in the league final... :)

We'll be seeing yiz again boy...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/03/2014 18:24:43    1553347