Advertisement

Predictions for winner of NFL Division 1?

To all the Cork supporters, I put my hands up and admit I was wrong.

I was wrong in my prediction that Cork would be my candidate for relegation alongside Westmeath. Cork now have 6 points in the bag, which should now guarantee Division 1 football. In reality, they look like on a mission to win it.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3058 - 01/03/2014 20:53:31    1552904

what a shock tonight...great result for cork and confirms their place in the top 4 challengers for sam...the dubs could well be in decline

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 01/03/2014 20:56:01    1552910

Costello looks a gem. The FB line is still a bit of a mess, needs sorting out. A bit disappointing but we were missing a lot of players, well done to Cork who deserved the win. Good to see O'Neill back even if he was the winning of the game.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 01/03/2014 20:56:50    1552913

MuckrossHead

realdub

Great little game here tonight.

"Little"? Echoes of JMcG saying that the league didn't matter & we all know how that turned out!!!

A little padantic Muckrosshead? It's a turn of phrase, I have used it before, when Dublin have won, on the JMcG note, we are not Donegal!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 01/03/2014 21:13:01    1552935

realdub

Great little game here tonight.

"Little"? Echoes of JMcG saying that the league didn't matter & we all know how that turned out!!!

A little padantic Muckrosshead? It's a turn of phrase, I have used it before, when Dublin have won, on the JMcG note, we are not Donegal!

How is my response pedantic? As to not being Donegal, not yet you're not but your blow up in 2012 should give you pause for thought.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 01/03/2014 21:30:27    1552955

Realdub

Great little game here tonight, Cork were excellent and should be feared, Dubs not sharp enough up front just yet!

Agreed; it was a very good game.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 01/03/2014 21:40:42    1552971

Very enjoyable game

Cork were just about the better team

Cork scored some outrageous scores... Top top stuff

They parked the bus in the 2nd half and nearly got caught

Dubs did very well after going down by 4

But we kicked 4 bad wides in the last 10

Felt Cork got the calls tonight but that happens...

Dublin man IMO was fouled from behind bending for the ball

And that directly led to the goal

Not happy to have lost but happy for O'Neill

Kicked great scores... when Dublin kicked far easier opportunities wide at vital stages

The game was there to be won

From a Dubs stand point think we showed enough once again to take encouragement moving forward

Some good performances... still lots to work on

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 01/03/2014 21:47:00    1552982

Muckrosshead, it's pedantic because you homed in on a little detail and made something out of nothing. I was in no way playing down Cork's win, as I said they were excellent. Difference between Dublin and Donegal in the last 2 years is that ye went out with a whimper.

If Cork continue in that fashion, they will be right up there come the business end of the championship.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 01/03/2014 21:50:47    1552989

cacsmckilly

Looking forward to the Kildare game at Newbridge, hoping we finally get a comptetive game under are belts. Kildare will be a good test for us at home , heres hoping they will stay with us on the score board to at least half time

Your right, Tyrone offered little in terms of competition to Derry ( In same way Tyrone offered Donegal nothing in past 3 seasons of Ulster Championship ). Poor and unlucky shooting stopped a convincing Derry win in round 1.

An Injury riddled Mayo team also made Tyrone look good, so maybe Kildare might just do the trick and nail that slippery duck.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3058 - 01/03/2014 22:00:02    1552999

Dublins shooting in the 2nd half was terrible.
Only 6pts with 8wides. They had the winning of the game but fair play to Cork who were impressive.

Our new young lads wil learn from this. At least we were creating the opportunities.
Cork defended in great numbers and their new team are better than many thought they would be after all their retirements etc.
They will give Kerry some game later in the Summer in the Munster championship.
A serious outfit.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 02/03/2014 08:41:22    1553003

realdub

Muckrosshead, it's pedantic because you homed in on a little detail and made something out of nothing. Difference between Dublin and Donegal in the last 2 years is that ye went out with a whimper.

It was just such an unusual term to describe a senior county league game that it took my notice. I don't think it is a term you would choose to describe a championship game & I just made the connection with JMcG last year.

As to us going out with a whimper I'd like to see what sort of challenge any defending champions, Dublin included, could put up with the injuries we had last year.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 02/03/2014 08:57:12    1553009

Well done Cork. Had a sneaky fancy for them this year and they have proved that they could be only team to shake dubs.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/03/2014 09:10:39    1553013

GaryMc82
County: Derry

cacsmckilly

Looking forward to the Kildare game at Newbridge, hoping we finally get a comptetive game under are belts. Kildare will be a good test for us at home , heres hoping they will stay with us on the score board to at least half time

Your right, Tyrone offered little in terms of competition to Derry ( In same way Tyrone offered Donegal nothing in past 3 seasons of Ulster Championship ). Poor and unlucky shooting stopped a convincing Derry win in round 1.

An Injury riddled Mayo team also made Tyrone look good, so maybe Kildare might just do the trick and nail that slippery duck.

Have you never heard of a thing called a joke? Watching the derry football team in the noughties you boys should be experts on it ;).

duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 02/03/2014 10:20:48    1553029

Well done Cork best team won and great to see Colm O Neill back in action last night class act, lads where is Rory he is such a massive player for us I would probably say our most important player we are a shambles at the back without him, still a lot of positives to take from that game from a Dublin view young Costello is class Kev mac is flying won every single ball that came his way and never stop trying, no doubt this game will be talked about still next year like Tyrone last year but were missing serious players still taking nothing away from Cork cause they were aswell , also Paul Earley giving Kerrigan motm ?? Daniel Goulding was a country mile the best player on the field last night followed by 15 who scored 1-3 and gave George a roasting. That's two funny calls he's made after Dublin games.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/03/2014 11:08:22    1553050

royaldunne

1553013 Well done Cork. Had a sneaky fancy for them this year and they have proved that they could be only team to shake dubs.

plenty of other teams capable of shaking the dubs.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2904 - 02/03/2014 11:12:35    1553051

Ok Muckrosshead, crossed lines :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 02/03/2014 11:37:07    1553058

Great to see Colm O'Neill back after a bad injury.

With Gooch gone for the year it's good to see another of the small band of genuinely great payers back & playing well.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 02/03/2014 11:45:29    1553064

Agree with superbluedub!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 02/03/2014 11:48:16    1553065

It's too early to be shouting from the rooftops about the Cork win. We were missing a few but Dubs were missing probably a few more than us and I don't think they will be too dissappointed and Jim Gavin is probably even secretly a little bit happy to be have something to beat them with and bring them back down to earth. Cork have an embarrassment of riches up front, and the second best forward playing the sport (after Colm Cooper) to spearhead them but Colm O'Neill will still take time to fully recover, let's hope nothing bad happens again. Midfield is still a huge issue, and no stable partnership looks obvious to start come championship. Few shaky lines in defence but Shields and Clonakilty Clancy still to come back there. Some people just don't rate us and never have, particularly the crowd from Ulster, but it's early days yet and there will be a few blips and poor performances yet this season. I said before a ball was kicked this season that despite the retirements that there was little outside of Dublin that we should be afraid of and that even if Kerry beat us in Munster I would be hoping we we would draw the Ulster champions in the quarter finals as the presumable Leinster champions (Dublin) and Connacht champions (Mayo) are better than anything in Ulster and so are Cork and I would prefer to avoid those two counties. But I won't get ahead of myself. Also I stand by my prediction that Kerry will not be relegated, they will save themselves from the drop by beating Cork in Tralee on the last day.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 02/03/2014 13:39:50    1553117

Ah lads what's going on Daithi Casey running through on goal Andy Moran clearly pulls his jersey automatic black card and the ref just ticks his name, this black card rule is going to cause lots of headaches cause IMO the ref bottled that call.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/03/2014 14:39:48    1553142