Advertisement

All Ireland u21 football 2014

ziggy320001

As a matter of interest are you sure it was Dublin who refused the coin flip, either way O'Moore Park is an extraordinarily stupid place to hold a game between us two counties on a wednesday evening, I'm actually pissed about this, what the hell were they thinking! It's an U21 Leinster final between Meath and Dublin, had they chose to hold it in Navan or Parnell Park then they would have gotten a far bigger crowd, unbelievable stuff.

Ps, I couldn't care less what sort of coin toss was refused by anybody, they should have been told "WE ARE holding a coin toss and the winner gets home advantage", no questions asked.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/03/2014 17:59:41    1563182

Htaem

It seems so,wouldn't mind getting some Dublin opinions on it,but who is anyone to refuse the toss? The GAA should have said tough!

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 21/03/2014 18:07:27    1563185

Ziggy

Reading the article, certainly something sounds a bit rotten, again though I can't understand how the Leinster Council did't just come in and say "look it's in Parnell Park or Navan, take it or leave it", do they not like making money no? Will they give me some if that's the case?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/03/2014 18:21:25    1563190

Where does it say the Dubs wouldnt toss the coin?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/03/2014 18:27:19    1563195

Jackeen

Where does it say the Dubs wouldnt toss the coin?

Nowhere that I can see Jackeen, that's why I'm asking, but either way it's mainly the Leisnter Council's fault, they should have taken a hard stance on this.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/03/2014 18:32:59    1563197

Rumour started by the wicklow poster perhaps?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/03/2014 19:38:49    1563235

I tried to put up a link and the mods have not put it up!

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 21/03/2014 20:04:48    1563246

Reported as such on one of the Facebook pages of this site too.......

https://www.facebook.com/GAAhoganstandmeath/posts/275345315962519:0

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 21/03/2014 20:24:06    1563256

Reported as such on one of the Facebook pages of this site too.......

https://www.facebook.com/GAAhoganstandmeath/posts/275345315962519:0

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 21/03/2014 20:26:45    1563260

It's a neutral venue, doesn't seem like there should be such outrage. Brewster has always attracted great crowds for the Ulster deciders. I'd have thought Meath would just be happy at the prospect of a first U21 Leinster Final in an eternity?? If it matters that much, you'll travel.. It's Portlaoise, not Ballybofey!

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 21/03/2014 20:27:11    1563261

P.S. I admit Mullingar makes more sense

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 21/03/2014 20:38:45    1563267

Offside_Rule - Surely one of Ahoghill, Creggan or Cargin would be available, would have been alot more Antrim supporters had it been at one of our grounds

antrimman91 (Antrim) - Posts: 127 - 21/03/2014 21:04:14    1563279

Jackeen

1563195 Where does it say the Dubs wouldnt toss the coin?

Nowhere Jackeen, methinks someone put a flea in the ear of a few meath people and then sent them onto facebook. There could never have been a toss of the coin for Parnell or Navan because Parnell park was ruled out as a venue for the u21 final with work to start on the floodlights on march 29th.
A sure just another day in the life of a Dub having to deny rumours :-)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 22/03/2014 14:59:30    1563409

AthCliath

Why not Navan then? That's all I ask, or even before Dublin's next league game in croker? Anywhere bar down the bloody country on a wednesday evening!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/03/2014 15:32:59    1563425

Heard meath offered to play in parnell park and dubs were still afraid !!

curnew (Wicklow) - Posts: 449 - 22/03/2014 15:39:11    1563427

Htaem

1563425 AthCliath

Why not Navan then? That's all I ask, or even before Dublin's next league game in croker? Anywhere bar down the bloody country on a wednesday evening!

I agree with you on a lot of this ,but reports say that Parnell park wasn't an option because of work that is about to start and Navan wasn't even discussed. A lot of our u21s are on senior panel so I don't know the feasibility of playing the match before the seniors, although Gavin didn't pick any of the 21s for the Derry game and I could see the same for the Mayo match, I would have loved to go to Navan , there would have been good craic . But its Portlaois it is. So I guess we will just have to get on with it.
Or Maybe we should ask the Wicklow lad he seems to have all the answers ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 22/03/2014 16:02:32    1563431

Well sure look that's it, Portlaoise it is no matter how much I bitch about it, it's just a pity that the Gaa and common sense are so far apart at times, anyway I'll drop it now, it ain't doing me any good.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/03/2014 16:12:56    1563434

Th last 3 u21 finals have been played at neutral venues. Before that one of the finalists always hosted the game.

To be honest, it makes sense to me to play the game at a neutral venue. Portlaoise the only suitable ground capable of hosting an evening game I think.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 22/03/2014 16:40:24    1563442

Leitrim.........Delighted for them, what a win!

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 22/03/2014 18:12:06    1563479

Some result for wee Leitrim! Sligo must've given Roscommon plenty of trouble too.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4106 - 22/03/2014 18:31:09    1563488