Advertisement

All Ireland u21 football 2014

A storm in a teacup poured by a Kettle.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/03/2014 18:40:08    1564431

hill

Way to tar us all with the one brush there hill, I don't mind the Dubs playing in Croker, never complained about that, makes financial sense.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/03/2014 18:40:27    1564432

incase you havent realised it is the off season for parnell park!!!
we dont play league games in football there
our home games in hurling have finished for the year
and after we facilitated your under 21 semi final
there wont be matches played there till the club championships start
this is as bad as the mayo chairman claiming dublin were getting in free to the club finals last week

Ye tossed a coin with Waterford for the relegation play off next weekend did ye not?? Where were your hurlers going to play then if it's the off season for Parnell
Park, will you come on lad I've never heard of a county ground, or sorry in Dublin's case a secondary county ground, having an off season in March. And by the way you didn't facilitate an U21 semi final last weekend, I dare say it was fixed there out of pity so the weeds wouldn't start protruding between the seats in the stand

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 24/03/2014 18:42:10    1564435

seems dublin cannot win with ye country lads
seriously ye complain that we dont play enough games outside of dublin in football
now ye complain because ye dont get to travel to parnell park to play dublin in a leinster final in dublins home ground?
hahahahahahaha you couldnt make it up if you tried

Eh no we are complaining because Dublin hadn't the decency to toss for home venue as would be the norm, after Portlaoise was fixed as the venue Meath said they would travel to
Parnell Park so that our supporters would have a shorter trip to make and given that throw in is 7.30 there would be more of a chance of supporters getting to Donnycarney after work than Portlaoise, don't turn this into something it isn't, the facts are there for all to see and the pettiness if the Dublin County Board in this matter, not their supporters I add, is quite amazing and I'm in no way surprised that our chairman reacted the way he did today

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 24/03/2014 18:49:59    1564442

"Unless they think we're Gobshites altogether here in meath...."

Mmmmm let me think about that for a while... Well one or two of them anyway come to mind richie...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 24/03/2014 19:40:37    1564497

The leinster council chose the venue for the final not Dublin,who are meath to think they should ask for venue swap

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 24/03/2014 19:42:51    1564502

Fionn

"Unless they think we're Gobshites altogether here in meath...."

Mmmmm let me think about that for a while... Well one or two of them anyway come to mind richie...

That's your opinion and your welcome to it, come back to me when you can debate the issue at hand with facts instead of resorting to half baked insults, if you want to insult me do it properly at least

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 24/03/2014 19:45:46    1564505

Fionn

Thing is Fionn, I'll gladly call my county board on something when I know they're wrong, I've heavily criticised them on several issues in the past, I don't believe in blind loyalty and in this case your county board is wrong. They had a 50/50 chance of home advantage and to ensure a good crowd on a wednesday evening and for some bizarre reason they wouldn't agree to common sense, so call them on it, I know I'd be flat out pissed off at the Meath CB if the shoe was on the other foot.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/03/2014 19:49:25    1564511

D5dub

The leinster council chose the venue for the final not Dublin,who are meath to think they should ask for venue swap

Yes Leinster Council chose as Dublin refused to toss for the venue, therefore Dublin forced the hand of Leinster Council (who should have shown more guts also) Meath have not asked for a swap they offered to play in Parnell Park which Dublin turned down as for once they decided to go on a road trip.........that all clear with you now

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 24/03/2014 19:50:03    1564512

We in Meath have always slagged off the county board when necessary,but the Dubs? Like if I was from Dublin,I would be very annoyed at the county board..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 24/03/2014 19:59:05    1564524

Ziggy there appears to be history between the CB's with 2010 as a good example.

But anyway, whether the game is played in Dublin, Meath, Portlaoise or Timbuktu at the weekend or midwek,I will still be going to it.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 24/03/2014 20:57:08    1564567

Richieq

Oh don't worry there horse I'm well aware of the Dublin club championship and I'm a regular attendee of such games, in fact I believe I've attended more Dublin club championship games than a lot of Dubs who have moved across the border to Meath as I have no problem doing a few miles to see a good match, I'm glad Parnell Park gets a few games to stop the turnstiles from rusting over, sure even the hard up country boys from Meath and Offaly threw a few coppers into the Donnycarney floodlight fund last Wednesday night, do the AIG boys even know where Donnycarney is ?? or that Parnell Park exists?? Probably not, I doubt they would come on board to sponsor a team that played in 10'000 odd capacity stadium with dodgy floodlights!!!

well you obviously were not at that meath v offaly match
as if you were you would have to blind not to notice
that AIG is plastered on every billboard in the place and the whole stand is decked out in its colours with it wrote on the exits

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/03/2014 21:01:04    1564569

Htaem

hill

Way to tar us all with the one brush there hill, I don't mind the Dubs playing in Croker, never complained about that, makes financial sense.

yeah I didnt mean it individualy like but you know yourself the majority of country lads whinge about it every second day
now a leinster final made for portlaoise and the same people whinge about it not being in dublin haha
come on you have to see how stupid that sounds

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/03/2014 21:03:09    1564571

Richieq

incase you havent realised it is the off season for parnell park!!!
we dont play league games in football there
our home games in hurling have finished for the year
and after we facilitated your under 21 semi final
there wont be matches played there till the club championships start
this is as bad as the mayo chairman claiming dublin were getting in free to the club finals last week

Ye tossed a coin with Waterford for the relegation play off next weekend did ye not?? Where were your hurlers going to play then if it's the off season for Parnell
Park, will you come on lad I've never heard of a county ground, or sorry in Dublin's case a secondary county ground, having an off season in March. And by the way you didn't facilitate an U21 semi final last weekend, I dare say it was fixed there out of pity so the weeds wouldn't start protruding between the seats in the stand

the hurlers would obviously have been playing in croker saturday night as part of a double header
dont take a genius to figure that out!
you know full well I what I ment by facilitate
and dont talk about weeds sure are you even allowed stand behind the goal in navan with actual grass and weeds

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/03/2014 21:05:44    1564573

Richieq

Eh no we are complaining because Dublin hadn't the decency to toss for home venue as would be the norm, after Portlaoise was fixed as the venue Meath said they would travel to
Parnell Park so that our supporters would have a shorter trip to make and given that throw in is 7.30 there would be more of a chance of supporters getting to Donnycarney after work than Portlaoise, don't turn this into something it isn't, the facts are there for all to see and the pettiness if the Dublin County Board in this matter, not their supporters I add, is quite amazing and I'm in no way surprised that our chairman reacted the way he did today

simply because parnell wasnt available and after dublin put forward croke park as a venue meath were not interested
whats so wrong with portlaoise ?
oh come on and what about if dublin win in parnell park you would have the usual home advantage crap coming out
there will only be a handfull of supporters there as it is regardless of venue,mostly familys at that.
pettiness do explain as why would dublin not want to play the match at home if the ground was available?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/03/2014 21:09:48    1564576

Is it or is it not the fact that Leinster Council fixed Portlaoise as the venue for the final?

If that is the case then there was no obligation for DCB to toss for home venue. If that was the way the venue was going to be decided then Leinster Council would have enforced it. Seems to me that Kettle is right about the mind games.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 24/03/2014 21:10:08    1564577

hill16no1man

now a leinster final made for portlaoise and the same people whinge about it not being in dublin haha
come on you have to see how stupid that sounds

Ye I know a lot of lads complain about the Dubs playing every game in Croker but to be fair a lot of Dubs themselves would rather a championship game or two down the country every year aswell just for the crack. Again I personally love playing Dublin in Croker for the atmosphere alone.....well that and Croker is a few miles nearer to me than Navan so it suits me better anyway.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/03/2014 21:12:45    1564580

the hurlers would obviously have been playing in croker saturday night as part of a double header
dont take a genius to figure that out!
you know full well I what I ment by facilitate
and dont talk about weeds sure are you even allowed stand behind the goal in navan with actual grass and weeds

Would they?? They weren't considered good enough for Croke Park so far this year why would anyone assume it was going to be in Croke Park before the footballers, furthermore would that have suited Waterford, a possible 5pm Saturday afternoon start, sounds very presumptuous to me and don't worry about our grass banks they will be dealt with soon enough if we can get a fair slice of funding to help us rectify Pairc Tailteann, the plans are in place and we still have enough room as it is for an U21 final. Pairc Tailteann's condition isn't the issue here it's unnecessary traipsing to Portlaoise that's the issue

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 24/03/2014 21:19:46    1564588

simply because parnell wasnt available and after dublin put forward croke park as a venue meath were not interested
whats so wrong with portlaoise ?
oh come on and what about if dublin win in parnell park you would have the usual home advantage crap coming out
there will only be a handfull of supporters there as it is regardless of venue,mostly familys at that.
pettiness do explain as why would dublin not want to play the match at home if the ground was available?

1) If lights were an issue in Parnell Park then why not put forward a notion of playing it in daylight on a Saturday, therefore allowing the coin toss to proceed. I doubt Meath would have had any issue with a Saturday fixture
2) Meath offered to play the game in Parnell Park as opposed to Portlaoise, no notion of home advantage crap there if Dublin win
3) There will be more than a handful of supporters there, from Meath anyway, this is our first U21 Leinster Final since 2001 and it's against Dublin which is always an attraction and we feel we have a good team with a chance of winning, we would have far more supporters if the game was in Navan or Parnell Park but we will still have plenty of voices present.
4) I don't think Dublin didn't want to play at home but they didn't want to run the risk of playing in Navan hence the refusal to coin toss, this floodlight craic doesn't wash with me, as I said it cod have been negotiated to play in daylight on a weekend if that was the case

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 24/03/2014 21:29:44    1564594

Htaem, Dublin are not going to gain any advantage from playing in Portlaoise so I firmly believe your CB chairman is playing silly beggars here.

Worrying about having a smaller attendance down in Laois doesn't hold any water for me.
Doesn't matter where your county plays it is a Leinster Final so some of your fellow fans and CB need to just get on with it and stop playing mind games and moaning about it.
All this publicity has not reflected well on your chairman.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 24/03/2014 21:37:31    1564604