Advertisement

All Ireland u21 football 2014

MesAmis

Tis a disgrace so it is! Imagine fixing a Leinster Final for a neutral venue! Ridiculous!

Gob****** the lot of them!

Yea but you wouldn't see a Cork v Kerry Munster Final or Mayo v Galway Connacht Final in a neutral venue. Surely a coin toss for home advantage was the best option if no existing home/away agreement was in place?

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 25/03/2014 12:38:36    1564748

Damn right Meath lads, I'd love to play ye in fortress Tailteann, ye all should boycott the game to show your disapproval, around 95% of our fans will do likewise in support (and love) for our dear neighbours, even if they do have potty mouths :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 25/03/2014 12:50:46    1564756

I've come around to this Portlaoise idea, I actually think they should fix the Leinster senior final there on a wednesday evening aswell, unless of course Laois qualify for the final, in which case the game will have to be relocated to New York on a wednesday evening. It's only fair because you can't have home advantage don't you know ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/03/2014 12:59:38    1564759

realdub

I'd say most Dubs wouldn't mind travelling to Navan, it's not going to change the result anyway, just for convenience sake it would suit everyone better.

As for the potty mouths, I apologise for jaysus sake, we're working on it!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/03/2014 13:06:41    1564763

realdub

Damn right Meath lads, I'd love to play ye in fortress Tailteann, ye all should boycott the game to show your disapproval, around 95% of our fans will do likewise in support (and love) for our dear neighbours, even if they do have potty mouths :D

Ha!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13850 - 25/03/2014 13:17:36    1564770

Should of kept it inside the pale for the dublin supporters.
A game I was wanting to go to after being at the last 3 games but not a chance with traffic and time.
Can the Dublin County Board not man up on this one or what is there problem?

Tara_Kings (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 25/03/2014 13:17:41    1564771

Well this is going around in circles nicely isnt it? Anyone going to talk about the game itself? Portlaoise is nightmare venue geographically for both sides only because its a midweek game at an awkward time. To argue otherwise i think is just silly, but it's not going to change so lets get on with it!

Meath have a handful of tasty players and a fairly astute backroom team, missing two key players is a big blow without the pool of talent availale to Dublin who appear to very strong, however Paddy Power have Dub @ 1/5 and Meath @ 5/1. Lots of value there on Meath for the neutrals IMO

highking12 (Meath) - Posts: 184 - 25/03/2014 13:39:21    1564780

Jack_Goff

Why didn't Dublin toss for this and select Croke Park as their home venue which they wanted, and let me chose navan as theirs.

Meath chairman is right to me annoyed by this. More important than who wins is people actually getting out and supporting their county. That's what the GAA is all about. There will be a much lower attendance than their would have been.

all leinster championship matches are nearly played at neutral venues in football and hurling
dublin v kilkenny in the leinster hurling semi final last year was in portlaoise
sure meath v offaly in the semi final in this compeitition was in parnell park
I didnt hear the meath county board whinging that offaly wouldnt toss for home advantage with them last week

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/03/2014 13:49:10    1564785

ratoath Royal

1.5 to 2 hour journey come on and you say dubs dont levae the capital haha
its an hour flat to portlaoise town from dublin
on a wednesday evening there does be hardly a 5 minute delay in traffic
the m50 is great now and the newlands cross works are well past causing any delays
once you get through newlands cross its straight all the way

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/03/2014 13:53:21    1564786

Richieq

was your semi final with offaly not played at a neutral venue at 7.30 on a wednesdau evening
or am I mistaken
did offaly not have to travel the same distance to parnell park
that both dublin and meath have to travel to portlaoise?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/03/2014 13:56:41    1564789

Jack_Goff

Ratoath Royal
Well said I can't get over the Dubs backing this.. Why would they want to make this nightmare trip on a weds night? Parnell could have made do and it would have been a sell out.

hahahahaha A SELL OUT in parnell park for the under 21 final haha
come on man you really believe that haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/03/2014 13:58:23    1564790

So i take it no one is going to talk about the game then. **Smacks head off table**

highking12 (Meath) - Posts: 184 - 25/03/2014 14:23:58    1564805

Richieq

was your semi final with offaly not played at a neutral venue at 7.30 on a wednesdau evening
or am I mistaken
did offaly not have to travel the same distance to parnell park
that both dublin and meath have to travel to portlaoise?

Yes it was, the venue for that fixture was prearranged when the fixtures came out, the venue for the final itself was not. What's your point?? You conveniently brushed over the errors in your last post that I pointed out and continually raise invalid points with no relevance to the argument at hand, not much point engaging with you anymore......oh but before I go to quote yourself hahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 25/03/2014 14:25:33    1564807

So a few meath posters on the hoganstand MEATH Facebook page said it is "rumoured" that Dublin refused the coin toss. Ehm, ok then?!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/03/2014 15:08:19    1564832

richie

my point is I didnt hear offaly whinging about having to travel to dublin at that time on a wednesday night
I didnt hear tormey throwing his toys out of the pram that there was no toss for home and away for the semi final
championship matches are always played at neutral venues
hes basically looking to change that without going to congress or the leinster council with a motion
and then when he doesnt get his way decides to go to the media to slag off dublin
because they didnt do what he wanted

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/03/2014 15:10:54    1564833

meath,dunlin,meath,dublin,meath,dublin,meath .. blah! Blah! Blah!.

can we take this parochial dispute to a different thread , it's getting very boring.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 25/03/2014 15:15:43    1564839

I can't see who meath will have to go man to man on Paul Mannion. Might be the winning of the game for dublin if he isn't held. Can see him clocking up a big score. That being said meath have players of there own that will give dublin plenty of problems if they are allowed.

Junior_Baesht (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 25/03/2014 15:31:32    1564850

goldrick

Surely nobody is forcing you at gun point to look at this thread, if they are let me know and I'll call the guards!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/03/2014 15:35:04    1564852

Htaem

His point that this thread is an U-21 Football Championship Thread and not just Meath v Dublin and i have to agree with him. Can we talk about the upcomings matches and what people think of their teams chances rather than Where The Meath v Dublin game is on??

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 25/03/2014 15:52:37    1564862

Typical Dubs getting an away match again, I think Leinster council should step in and make them play their matches at home. Its an unfair advantage they have playing away from home :)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 25/03/2014 16:05:05    1564871