Advertisement

All Ireland u21 football 2014

Fionn

Htaem, Dublin are not going to gain any advantage from playing in Portlaoise so I firmly believe your CB chairman is playing silly beggars here

Never said it was an advantage, my only issue is the stupidity of the venue, don't care about anything else.

Worrying about having a smaller attendance down in Laois doesn't hold any water for me.

Nobodies worried but there will be a lower attendance down in Portlaoise though, I mean obviously, that doesn't need to be explained, it's just a same is all.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/03/2014 21:45:32    1564610

hurlingdub

Is it or is it not the fact that Leinster Council fixed Portlaoise as the venue for the final?

If that is the case then there was no obligation for DCB to toss for home venue. If that was the way the venue was going to be decided then Leinster Council would have enforced it. Seems to me that Kettle is right about the mind games.

Leinster Council stepped in AFTER Dublin County Board had refused to toss for home advantage, if the coin toss had gone ahead, as Meath were happy to do, then Leinster Council would not have intervened

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 24/03/2014 21:46:34    1564611

I don't think a weekend fixture is an option as Meath are involved in the League this weekend and next weekend plus there are rounds of club championships fixed for the following 3 weekends.

The Leinter u21 Final is typically held at a neutral venue. My concern would be the lack of grounds in the region capable of hosting an evening fixture like this.

It's not unreasonable to think that Parnell Park is unavailable. If the Dubs are saying it isn't, then I won't argue. Navan would have made sense but you can see why Dublin might not want to be conceding an advantage like this.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 24/03/2014 21:48:56    1564615

Htaem

hill16no1man

now a leinster final made for portlaoise and the same people whinge about it not being in dublin haha
come on you have to see how stupid that sounds

Ye I know a lot of lads complain about the Dubs playing every game in Croker but to be fair a lot of Dubs themselves would rather a championship game or two down the country every year aswell just for the crack. Again I personally love playing Dublin in Croker for the atmosphere alone.....well that and Croker is a few miles nearer to me than Navan so it suits me better anyway.

exactly so you have to see how ridiculous it is from posters to come on giving out that dublin wont play this match at home haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/03/2014 21:50:05    1564617

Richieq

Would they?? They weren't considered good enough for Croke Park so far this year why would anyone assume it was going to be in Croke Park before the footballers, furthermore would that have suited Waterford, a possible 5pm Saturday afternoon start, sounds very presumptuous to me and don't worry about our grass banks they will be dealt with soon enough if we can get a fair slice of funding to help us rectify Pairc Tailteann, the plans are in place and we still have enough room as it is for an U21 final. Pairc Tailteann's condition isn't the issue here it's unnecessary traipsing to Portlaoise that's the issue

yes they would have just like they have already played in croker this year you seem to forget
they drew home advantage in the walsh cup final and played it as double header in croker with dublin v kerry in football
none of the home league matches were on the same day as footballers so cannot see how not good enough.
im sure waterford would have rathered playing in croker then the tumble weed prnell as you call it.
its an hour on the motorway sure wouldnt you have been stuck in traffic coming to parnell anyway for that long!

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/03/2014 21:54:37    1564622

Dublin didn't want to run the risk of playing in Navan... ....

Get over yourself for heavens sake.
You are seriously deluded if you honestly think this Dublin team are worried about playing Meath anywhere.

Some posters will moan about anything.
Dublin playing too many games in Croke Park and now because we accepted the Leinster Councils ruling to play a Leinster Final in Potlaoise.
Get on with it. If supporters really want to go to see this game do you think driving to Portlaosie will stop them...
If your answer is yes it will stop them, well it shouldn't. Stop making excuses for it.

There are alterior motives at play here.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 24/03/2014 21:55:32    1564624

Ah look, I've had my fun for the evening with this topic, game is in Portlaoise, that's it, enjoy gentlemen.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/03/2014 21:57:14    1564625

Richieq

1) If lights were an issue in Parnell Park then why not put forward a notion of playing it in daylight on a Saturday, therefore allowing the coin toss to proceed. I doubt Meath would have had any issue with a Saturday fixture
2) Meath offered to play the game in Parnell Park as opposed to Portlaoise, no notion of home advantage crap there if Dublin win
3) There will be more than a handful of supporters there, from Meath anyway, this is our first U21 Leinster Final since 2001 and it's against Dublin which is always an attraction and we feel we have a good team with a chance of winning, we would have far more supporters if the game was in Navan or Parnell Park but we will still have plenty of voices present.
4) I don't think Dublin didn't want to play at home but they didn't want to run the risk of playing in Navan hence the refusal to coin toss, this floodlight craic doesn't wash with me, as I said it cod have been negotiated to play in daylight on a weekend if that was the case

you whinged that ye already have a match to go to on saturday your seniors!!!!!
now you want an early start saturday that will mean you have to go to dublin
pay into one game,then go back to navan and pay into another game
is that not far worse on supporters then going to portlaoise hahahaha
there was hardly anybody in parnell for the game last week
under 21 gets hardly any supporters sure the all ireland final only gets around 10 thousand!
is 5pm in croke park not daylight on saturday ye turned that down?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/03/2014 21:59:00    1564628

Why didn't Dublin toss for this and select Croke Park as their home venue which they wanted, and let me chose navan as theirs.

Meath chairman is right to me annoyed by this. More important than who wins is people actually getting out and supporting their county. That's what the GAA is all about. There will be a much lower attendance than their would have been.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 25/03/2014 09:20:02    1564650

Hilarious comments from Tormey in fairness!

Obvious that the DCB was lying about the lights in PP, sure didn't the bold Tormey see the lights himself the last night??!!!

He really showed them Dubs………………….;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13850 - 25/03/2014 09:31:28    1564654

Portlaoise is a pain. It would have suited better to play in Parnell Park or Navan but its not to be.

Build a Bridge and get over it. If you are a true fan like so many on here claim to be then it wouldn't matter if the Game was in Killarney, you would still be there. Both teams have to Travel, both supporters have to travel so it's fairly 50/50 really. 7.30 on a Wednesday evening is not ideal for anyone but i'll be there and if this game gets as much attention as this thread then there should be a good crowd

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 25/03/2014 10:13:04    1564673

From a Meath perspective is there a sense of arrogance and needless awkwardness from Dublin - Yes
Has this anything to do with the players - No
Is it a pain in the backside to get to Portlaoise for 7.30 on a Wednesday evening through rush hour traffic - Yes
Will there be lost gate reciepts which are important to Meath and not so much Dublin - Yes
Will it impact the result in any way whatsoever - No
Are we all still relishing a first U21 Final encounter in 13 years - Yes

Heres to a great game from both sides and flute all traffic on the N7!

highking12 (Meath) - Posts: 184 - 25/03/2014 10:19:56    1564681

Tormey will be asking for proof of the work being carried out next....I hope Andy Kettle keeps invoices handy ha ha :)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 25/03/2014 10:30:01    1564688

I find it odd that Dublin fans seem to be behind Portlaoise as the venue the final. So basically they would rather a 1.5 - 2 hour journey at rush hour down the nightmarish Naas Road than a quick 45 minute (give or take) trip to Navan. Not to mention the massive amount of Dubs living around Meath.
Seems like a lot of them will blindly back the Dublin County Board even when they make life difficult for them.

No time for Kettle though. I'm of the belief that he thinks the sporting world should revolve around Dublin given his suggestion that Meath players like McMahon and Harnan should play two games in 2 hours and his Leinster Rugby comments a few years back.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1470 - 25/03/2014 10:34:18    1564691

Drogheda would have made sense, attendance will be low, no brains in the gaa on this one!

Tara_Kings (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 25/03/2014 10:43:09    1564692

Kildare and Longford brought a big attendance to the U21 final last year and sure we're only back waters in Gaelic Football.

I'm sure traditional powerhouses of Leinster like Meath and Dublin should double or even triple that. What will all that support of yours.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 25/03/2014 11:11:25    1564699

Richieq

1) If lights were an issue in Parnell Park then why not put forward a notion of playing it in daylight on a Saturday, therefore allowing the coin toss to proceed. I doubt Meath would have had any issue with a Saturday fixture
2) Meath offered to play the game in Parnell Park as opposed to Portlaoise, no notion of home advantage rubbish there if Dublin win
3) There will be more than a handful of supporters there, from Meath anyway, this is our first U21 Leinster Final since 2001 and it's against Dublin which is always an attraction and we feel we have a good team with a chance of winning, we would have far more supporters if the game was in Navan or Parnell Park but we will still have plenty of voices present.
4) I don't think Dublin didn't want to play at home but they didn't want to run the risk of playing in Navan hence the refusal to coin toss, this floodlight craic doesn't wash with me, as I said it cod have been negotiated to play in daylight on a weekend if that was the case

you whinged that ye already have a match to go to on saturday your seniors!!!!!
now you want an early start saturday that will mean you have to go to dublin
pay into one game,then go back to navan and pay into another game
is that not far worse on supporters then going to portlaoise hahahaha
there was hardly anybody in parnell for the game last week
under 21 gets hardly any supporters sure the all ireland final only gets around 10 thousand!
is 5pm in croke park not daylight on saturday ye turned that down?

You would want to read my posts with a bit more detail, I did not suggest this Saturday and highlighted the reasons why that alternative, as presented by Dublin, was turned down. I was talking about a particular Saturday possibly the Saturday after April 2nd, no where did I mention or want the fixture this Saturday so your rant is pointless and without basis. Dublin supporters might have little time for U21 football but other counties do, playing matches at 7.30pm on a Wednesday evening does little to garner decent crowds and that is more of a factor than the product on the field

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 25/03/2014 11:31:03    1564705

Fionn

Dublin didn't want to run the risk of playing in Navan... ....

Get over yourself for heavens sake.
You are seriously deluded if you honestly think this Dublin team are worried about playing Meath anywhere.

Some posters will moan about anything.
Dublin playing too many games in Croke Park and now because we accepted the Leinster Councils ruling to play a Leinster Final in Potlaoise.
Get on with it. If supporters really want to go to see this game do you think driving to Portlaosie will stop them...
If your answer is yes it will stop them, well it shouldn't. Stop making excuses for it.

There are alterior motives at play here.

The Leinster Council ruling is because Dublin refused a coin toss, I'm not moaning about anything I'm moaning about bringing a Dublin & Meath final to Portlaoise and if Dublin supporters find that acceptable well good luck to ye, and what are these alterior motives you speak of??

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 25/03/2014 11:35:43    1564710

Ratoath Royal
Well said I can't get over the Dubs backing this.. Why would they want to make this nightmare trip on a weds night? Parnell could have made do and it would have been a sell out. Worth putting the works back a few days for that. Drogheda would have done nicely and a toss between Navan and Croke Park would have been perfect. Mullingar would have been better and newbridge but that owuld have had to be played on the weekend.

Instead we have a terribly awkward trip to portlaoise. If it was any of the others I'd make it after work but now won't. That's the problem here, many supporters won't be able to go to what should be a great occasion.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 25/03/2014 12:13:16    1564737

Tis a disgrace so it is! Imagine fixing a Leinster Final for a neutral venue! Ridiculous!

Gob****** the lot of them!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13850 - 25/03/2014 12:32:37    1564746