All Ireland u21 football 2014

Our mid field dominated. Our backs were well up to the Dublin attack considering the likes of Mannion/Scully/costelloe/mcjugh.
We just didn't convert the chances in the night. There is great hope for Meath football on what I have seen. Bring on the future. Well done to the u21 management and team thus year.

Royalhead (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 03/04/2014 10:41:31    1569805

I agree with other posters here - I think Cavan's acheivement is remarkable.
Hats off to them in what is a very difficult province to dominate at underage.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4219 - 03/04/2014 11:21:35    1569832

arock

Well done Dublin, but its becoming far to easy now at this level and looking at the Minors its not likely to end any year soon.

Either you weren't there or you can't analyse a game properly if you think last night was easy....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3747 - 03/04/2014 11:28:40    1569838

All I'll say is that its about time Dublin were doing something at underage level considering the huge sums pumped in every year compared to other counties, the huge population they have and access to nearby facilities.

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1903 - 03/04/2014 11:49:08    1569848

Good performance from Donegal with McBrearty scoring 0-8.

Looking forward to the final against Cavan, should be a good game even if they are red hot favourites!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/04/2014 11:49:11    1569849

MuckrossHead

Looking forward to the final against Cavan, should be a good game even if they are red hot favourites!!!!

And so it starts! ;)

I do agree that we are favourites, but McBrearty could be a match winner. That means a couple of your guys can have an off-day and ye might still do it whereas I think all our guys have to be on their game.

Should be a good final!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5245 - 03/04/2014 12:14:55    1569875

MuckrossHead

Nice wee blend of players in the Donegal senior panel at the minute MuckrossHead. A a good few of these U21 players have already made senior debuts over the past few seasons.

Of course we all know Patrick McBrearty, Ryan McHugh and Martin O'Reilly, but then the likes of Hugh McFadden and Darrach O'Connor are also pushing through. It's a very healthy sign for Donegal football.

Who is the other McHugh lad? Is he brother of Mark and Ryan? Do you reckon Donegal will win this game?

Who do you fancy?

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 03/04/2014 12:20:01    1569878

Last night was far from easy for the Dubs, young mc Gill for Meath was excellent in defence ,Meath won a lot of midfield in first half but just didn't make it count, we just were that more clinical . At 21 anything can happen as with us last year against Longford. Meath were up for this big time (which is no surprise)and it was a battle. Good to get the win, im sure Meath will take positives out of the match also.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 03/04/2014 12:23:41    1569881

Nice wee blend of players in the Donegal senior panel at the minute MuckrossHead. A a good few of these U21 players have already made senior debuts over the past few seasons.

Of course we all know Patrick McBrearty, Ryan McHugh and Martin O'Reilly, but then the likes of Hugh McFadden and Darrach O'Connor are also pushing through. It's a very healthy sign for Donegal football.

Who is the other McHugh lad? Is he brother of Mark and Ryan? Do you reckon Donegal will win this game?

Who do you fancy?

Eoin is a cousin of Ryan's, Martin McHugh's brother James who also won an AI medal in 1992 is his father. A lovely footballer, regarded by many in these parts as being maybe better than Ryan in many ways but is younger & plays a different style. Lucky to have them at both club & county level. McBrearty also has a younger brother who is really good but has been out all year with the curse of the modern GAA player a cruciate knee inury.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/04/2014 12:35:08    1569886

MuckrossHead

Ah Ha. Muckross, I see where you are coming from. No. I certainly don't think we are "red hot favourites". I'm not even sure that we are FAVOURITES. You have men there that have all-ireland senior medals and a few lads that have been playing senior inter-county quite regularly. Mc Brearty alone could win the game for you. He scored 4 or 5 from play in last years final and he is a year older and more experienced in 2014. I would say youse are slight favourites. It should be a tight game. I hope to god we get decent weather for it as our lads have been so unlucky, every match it has been atrocious conditions. These lads (both teams) deserve a good day to showcase their talents and play to their potential.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 03/04/2014 12:51:18    1569897

Our mid field dominated. Our backs were well up to the Dublin attack considering the likes of Mannion/Scully/costelloe/mcjugh.
We just didn't convert the chances in the night. There is great hope for Meath football on what I have seen. Bring on the future. Well done to the u21 management and team thus year.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 03/04/2014 12:55:10    1569900

Amen to that goldrick.

U21 often has a nicer style of football & a good evening weatherwise would be a godsend.

As to favourites, there is not much in it but you have a track record at U21 in recent years which is an advantage in that you know what it takes to win at this level.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/04/2014 13:08:50    1569911

Richieq

A huge amount of hardwork from Meath was truly wasted with eight wides and that missed O'Brien penalty not to mention another great point blank save. If your finishing was up to Conor McHugh's and Cormac Costello's standard you would have won - easily. So yeah it was far too easy for the dubs.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 03/04/2014 13:22:42    1569927

An u21 team not taking their chances in a big game & kicking plenty of wides.
If it's Meath = plenty of promise to build on.
If it's Kildare = talentless gym monkeys.

Perspective is a funny thing.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 03/04/2014 13:37:58    1569940

I'm going to call a spade a spade. Cavan are favourites. Have to be. Lets be honest. We haven't lost a game since 2010. We've beaten a Derry team with some big names. We've beaten a Tyrone team who were arguably favourites for Ulster with the minimum of fuss. Next up Monaghan, a team capable of giving anyone a run at this level. We've come through 3 extremely tough games, and our defence is solid as a rock.

Donegal will bring a new challenge. They have a lot of players with senior experience, but I wouldn't read into that at all, Donegal's senior football squad is limited in depth so they need to give the younger lads playing time.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 03/04/2014 13:41:59    1569944

Ned_Stormcrow

Donegal will bring a new challenge. They have a lot of players with senior experience, but I wouldn't read into that at all, Donegal's senior football squad is limited in depth so they need to give the younger lads playing time.

Good man Ned, I always admire a man who nails his colours to the mast.

Not too sure about your assessment of the Donegal senior team being "limited in depth". If they are where does that leave Cavan?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/04/2014 14:33:52    1569976

Wud be nice to see cavan win the all ireland.obviously not at our expense but it would do wonders for a football mad county.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/04/2014 14:43:46    1569980

MuckrossHead

Not too sure about your assessment of the Donegal senior team being "limited in depth". If they are where does that leave Cavan?

Think Ned has a point Muckross. . .no doubt about it, McBrearty, Murphy, McFadden, McGlinn, McGee, Lacey, McHugh are terrific players. But a few injuries (like last year) and the panel looks thin.

Cavan have less stand-out players and manage to replace injured players far better than most teams.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5245 - 03/04/2014 16:00:30    1570015

roscommon wwould relish a chance to meet Dublin. We had a better team two years ago but unfortunately the depth of dublins panel that day with the strength they brought on killed us. Will wait for carrick First though.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 530 - 03/04/2014 16:55:52    1570053

03/04/2014 11:49:08
valley84
County: Westmeath

All I'll say is that its about time Dublin were doing something at underage level considering the huge sums pumped in every year compared to other counties, the huge population they have and access to nearby facilities.

Cavan seem to be doing ok , so whats Westmeaths excuse ?
Some come on here and Bring it when they meet Dublin , others come on and whinge , fair play to Meath they allways put it to us as they dont have the inferior complex suffered by some whos only point of attack is Dubs resources blah blah blah .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 03/04/2014 17:25:23    1570071