All Ireland u21 football 2014

It is a pity that TG4 do not show more under 21 football matches, the show more under 21 hurling games. Rte did not even bother to give the results of the games last night on there tv news

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 03/04/2014 18:14:17    1570091

cavanman47

Think Ned has a point Muckross. . .no doubt about it, McBrearty, Murphy, McFadden, McGlinn, McGee, Lacey, McHugh are terrific players. But a few injuries (like last year) and the panel looks thin.

Cavan have less stand-out players and manage to replace injured players far better than most teams.

I'm not so sure Cavanman.

We had more than a few injuries with walking wounded as well as players not fit to start at all. Even then we got to an Ulster final & to the last eight overall. McBrearty is a great young player but one of the best players for us in the league this year has been Ryan McHugh who has come on in leaps & bounds since his introduction last year.

JMcG has a policy that if they are good enough they are old enough & he has no problem throwing young fellas into the deep end if he thinks they are good enough. This year he played young Daragh O'Connor in league games & he hasn't done his Leaving yet!!

Even at that I think you're right in that Cavan have a better spread of players & that Donegal do depend a lot on McBrearty.

Next week will tell all.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/04/2014 18:17:31    1570093

Indeed it will Muckross. . .

Your thoughts on the venue?? What's wrong with Brewster? If anything Armagh gives us an advantage in terms of travel distance but it seems a strange decision. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5245 - 03/04/2014 18:30:01    1570099

cavanman47

Your thoughts on the venue?? What's wrong with Brewster? If anything Armagh gives us an advantage in terms of travel distance but it seems a strange decision. .

No difficulty with the venue. They are probably rotating the pitches to spread a bit of interest int the u21 series. I think that we will play well there and that is all that matters really.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 03/04/2014 18:35:43    1570102

cavanman47

Cavan,

I have long since stopped trying to figure out these things.

We have to go to Armagh on Sunday for the last senior league game & are then expected to go again 3 days later. Madness.

Brewster is a fine venue & more than suitable for an U21 final.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/04/2014 21:11:30    1570171

Big day today in Carrick on Shannon, Rossies should win but Galway thought that when they went to Pairc Sean a couple of weeks ago. Leitrim are never easy to beat in Carrick and if they get a smell of blood they will go for it. Its great to see 2 small counties battle out for the title while the big boys with all their resources look on. Its going to be a wonderful occasion for 2 close neighbours who will battle to the last, may the best team win. Come on the Rossies!

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 05/04/2014 11:27:31    1570614

is Leitrim/Roscommon game on TG4?

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 05/04/2014 12:19:50    1570625

Gael85

is Leitrim/Roscommon game on TG4?

Dont think so. All-Ireland post primary schools hurling finals are due to be broadcast on TG4

Mr.Benson (Cavan) - Posts: 49 - 05/04/2014 12:52:40    1570636

was at the match ballagh and fair play to the rossies. if you talk about resources I would not bracket rossies and leitrim the same. in fact mayo have the most playng resources in connacht as half of galway county dont play the big ball. and we know what most cities are like for gaa. still though rossies were very impressive and I hope ye win it out now.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 05/04/2014 21:52:28    1570844

After reading reports both on here and thescore.ie it appears that Roscommon used 7 subs. I thought the new rule only allowed six? It's only a small thing as it would have had no effect on the end result but surely if it happend in a much tighter game it wouldn't be tolerated

pitch_invader (Mayo) - Posts: 154 - 06/04/2014 10:03:17    1570876

I seem to remember a Munster football final replay in 2002 where the same thing happened. Cork hammered Tipp that day and nothing was made of it. If it happened it is a silly error but due to the nature of the result, nothing should come of it.

Rosfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 06/04/2014 10:40:47    1570884

I was at the game, one was a blood sub.

RossieBlue (Roscommon) - Posts: 29 - 06/04/2014 11:01:10    1570886

Featherstone went on for Mullooly as a blood sub and Mullooly came back on for the last 5 minutes. That was the extra sub Roscommon supposedly used.

TheYoungWolf (Roscommon) - Posts: 2 - 08/04/2014 15:41:41    1572397

TheYoungWolf
County: Roscommon

Featherstone went on for Mullooly as a blood sub and Mullooly came back on for the last 5 minutes. That was the extra sub Roscommon supposedly used.

when Mullooly came back on, who went off.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 08/04/2014 20:04:36    1572612

Not what it says on the report:

Michael Gunning for D Smith (8 mins, black card), Fintan Sweeney for Kelly (15 mins), Ultan Harney for Killoran (44 mins), Thomas Featherston for Mullooly (51 min), Ronan Daly for Kenny (54 min), David Carleton for Murtagh (57 min), T O'Rourke for Corcoran (57 mins)

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 519 - 09/04/2014 09:14:07    1572708

Cavan to do the 4 in a row tonight, won't be much in it, Donegal will be out for revenge from last year, but I think we'll have just enough.

Cavan 0-13
Donegal 0-11

Here's hoping anyway.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 09/04/2014 10:35:41    1572753

Should be a great game between two good U21 sides.

Donegal have some big names but Cavan have a well balanced team who know how to win U21s & that might be enough.

Mind you if McBrearty is in the mood..........

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/04/2014 11:42:16    1572796

Ned_Stormcrow

1572753 Cavan to do the 4 in a row tonight, won't be much in it, Donegal will be out for revenge from last year, but I think we'll have just enough.

Cavan 0-13
Donegal 0-11

Here's hoping anyway.

Donegal out for revenge eh ? We are the aggrieved ones here...remember '92 grand theft in Breffni park, that was our all Ireland !!! Never got over that.

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 09/04/2014 12:43:26    1572844

I have a feeling this is going to be a savage battle , Donegal have some players that are better than anything we have so we have to cut the supply to them and we have to retain possesion (like we have being doing up to this).
any loose play and we will be punished. I am not making a prediction but obviously I hope our boys come out on top. but if they don't ,well it has been a great run and thanks for the supreme efforts you have all put in. #the future is blue

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 09/04/2014 13:06:33    1572863

Good Year so far so Tipperary football lets hope the trend continues tonight against the mighty footballing talent that is the Rebels.

Hoping for a great game and the right result but were up against a huge physical Cork team who are playing some great stuff.

Plus its in Cork!!

Hon the Premier!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 09/04/2014 13:07:24    1572864