All Ireland u21 football 2014

Was at the game in Armagh last night. very disappointed in the way it finished, I thought we looked much the better team in the last 20 minutes. But you have got to credit cavan for not giving up, they went up the pitch for the goal at the end as if they were shooting for fun all night, which they wernt! The first half was the worst game of football I have ever seen. The second half was a much better affair. I thought that our lads played very well for most of it, and deserved at least extra time, but there you go. Good luck to cavan in the semis v dublin, but they will need a new no 14 from somewhere. Some of the wides that he hit last night were astonishing.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3849 - 10/04/2014 09:22:54    1573232

Incredible achievement from Cavan. Great work being done at underage fair play.

Gonna a be a great game v the Dubs.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13810 - 10/04/2014 09:25:13    1573233

Would any of the other Ulster sides that Cavan bet be capable of winning the All Ireland if it had a backdoor championship? it's 10 years now since a side from Ulster won the U-21 All Ireland. Fine achievement by Cavan to win 4 in a row Ulster titles however the bookies have them as the outsiders in the AI outright odds.

Dublin 6/4
Cork 9/4
Roscommon 9/4
Cavan 13/2

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 10/04/2014 09:36:00    1573237

Congratulations to Cavan on a wonderful achievement of winning 4 in a row.

Little mention of Cork's win last on here. 9 Munster's titles in the last 11 seasons is a great achievement by the Rebels.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 10/04/2014 10:22:49    1573249

I imagine they say Ulster is the hardest province to win because it seems you have to do it without 6 forwards? When last has a team scored 1-3 in 59 minutes and won a provincial title I wonder? Seriously though a good achievement by Cavan, hopefully their senior team start to reap some rewards from this.

As for the statement that only 1 or 2 counties can win in other provinces, that is just incorrect. The Connacht final was between Roscommon, who had already defeated a strong Mayo side, and Leitrim, who had knocked out the reigning All-Ireland champions who had the majority of last years winning team still available. Some posters here seem to be genuinely convinced that there is very little football outside their own province.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 10/04/2014 10:26:17    1573253

square_ball_69
County: Westmeath

If ulster is the hardest province to win, why haven't Cavan went on and won the All-Ireland?

Because they've been beaten by stronger teams outside the province, simple really. But that has nothing to do with the strength of the opposition in Ulster, 5 or 6 teams could win it every year, there's only 1 or maybe 2 in every other province.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 10/04/2014 10:31:17    1573261

A hard fought game last night , good hard challenges from both sides. Fair play to Donegal they played hard and fair and looked the better side for most of the 2nd half but our second goal was the game clincher and came at a great time for us. Losing one of our usual midfielders (Brian Sankey, to injury I think) before the game , then our captain Conor Moynagh to a black card early in the game were two tough blows but the replacement men did well. Wasnt pretty at times but the tension was unreal.

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 10/04/2014 10:37:16    1573266

dickie10
County: UK

Surely Cavan will have to kick on now an win an allireland if they don't there will always be a nagging doubt as to their capability to win sam in the next 10 years.

Agreed, one thing I always felt we were lacking was making an impact in the AI series. We've been close, we made the final in 2011, but got hammered by a super Galway team, no complaints there. In 2012, Roscommon were the better team in the semi final, but I think one or 2 bad decisions went against us that day. Last year we were trailing Cork by 5 or 6 in the second half only to equalise in the last minute, then conceded a soft free in front of the posts. Game over. So we have not been very far away, just perhaps didnt get the rub of the green that you undoubtedly need.

Wll Cavan go on and win 1 or 2 all Irelands with this team at senior level inn next 10 years? or will they end up like Limerick U21 hurlers in early 2000s who after 3 all Irelands only ever got 1 munster title and 1 all Ireland appearance. I suupose the question is would cavan fans be happy with 1 ulster title and 1 all Ireland appearance (losing) as a result of ths 4 in a row. of course they could yet go on and emulate their seniors of the 1930s/40s who put 7 ulster titles in a row!

Was just looking at the last side to win 4 in a row in Ulster at this level. It was Tyrone from 2000-2003. I'll say no more. ;)

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 10/04/2014 10:47:07    1573270

I agree Rebel Og very little mention of Corks success here. I guess Ulster is the hardest to win as you have so many good counties up there. Every year there is possibly 5 or 6 who would win it.

In Munster only 2 Tipp & Cork!!!!

Fair play to ye last night when Tipp had ye on the racks second half Cork got those vital 2 points and then the goal. I'd be worried for yer backline though Tipp got in easy at times without playing really well.

I feel Tipp left a great oppurtunity behind them last night as Cork were not at their best but Tipp didnt show up either.

Best of luck and we'll get ye next year in Thurles when our lads are a year older and wiser!!

While the topic goes well done to Cavan too 4 in a row is no mean success in Ulster. 2 great semis to look forward to.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 10/04/2014 11:11:36    1573279

Difference being Tyrone won 2 All Ireland in that period, 2000 & 2001. 4 Titles is fantastic but I would be dissapointed if there wasn't an All Ireland to show at the end of it. Are we good enough to beat Dublin? time will tell

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2882 - 10/04/2014 11:14:09    1573281

Those Tyrone teams had great forwards

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1903 - 10/04/2014 11:18:12    1573283

Well done Cavan but be warned because Under 21 success does not guarantee Senior success. Its a great achievement to win 4 in a row and I hope that they can challenge now for a Ulster title.

Again Well done to my own County. Cork have been very consistent at Under 21 level and I hope we can kick on now and challenge strongly for the All Ireland. We did not do our selves justice against Galway last year. I think Roscommon are a serious outfit so we will be well and truly up against it. Dublin are definitely the team to beat.

Best of luck to all 4 teams left

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 10/04/2014 11:20:08    1573286

That tyrone team built on top of Dooher, Canavan and Cavlan and would have won little without Peter orchestrating the way he did so well at the time.

DLGael (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 10/04/2014 11:27:45    1573292

Neil as many teams have won Munster and Connacht under 21 championships as have won the ulster under 21 championship in last 7 years. There is a lot of talk from ulster posters on here about about how much more competitive ulster is at every level compared to other provinces but if you look at the facts this is rubbish in a lot of cases. I remember the ros cavan 2012 semi final and Cavan managed to score 2 points in that game, the just were not good enough and to blame decisions in that game is ridiculous.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 10/04/2014 11:31:32    1573293

who in there right mind put Cavan/Dublin in Portlaoise? On average that is a 200 mile round trip for a cavan supporter ridculous What was wrong with Navan even Mullingar? Unreal!

neilarmstron9 (Cavan) - Posts: 110 - 10/04/2014 11:51:57    1573303

ROS1,

In fairness the referee did everything but wear a Roxcommon jersey in my opinion.
Some of his decisions were outragious and are still talked about.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/04/2014 11:53:03    1573305

Cavan v Dublin is part of a double header with Ross/Cork, was a double header last year too in Tullamore

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2882 - 10/04/2014 12:08:59    1573318

Congratulations to the boys for a fantastic achievement, now please go on and win the All Ireland!!

As to the hardest province debate, on pure statictics alone Ulster is easily the hardest province to win. Every team in Ulster has at least 2 U21 titles (Fermanagh have 3!) no other province has this and the most any one team has is 11 (Tyrone).
In Munster Cork and Kerry have shared 50 titles between them and no other county had even won munster before Limerick in 2000, Clare have never won one.
In Connacht Mayo and Galway have shared 41 titles between them and Sligo have never won one, and in Leinster Wicklow, Carlow, Kilkenny and Longford (r-up 7 times!) have never won a title, although in fairness since 1999 6 of the 12 teams in Leinster have won the title, Ulster also have 6 winners since 1999 but out of only 9 teams.

cavandub (Cavan) - Posts: 67 - 10/04/2014 12:20:56    1573323

Cavandub,

Excellent analysis, and absolutely true.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 10/04/2014 12:30:54    1573331

who in there right mind put Cavan/Dublin in Portlaoise? On average that is a 200 mile round trip for a cavan supporter ridculous What was wrong with Navan even Mullingar? Unreal!

Have to be honest i completely agree

Last week i said ona facebook page that i felt if Cavan beat Donegal, Dublin v Cavan would be played in Pairc Tailteann in Meath.

If it was Donegal i felt the Athletic grounds in Armagh would have been suitable.

But because its a double header, Id say thats why its in Portlaoise.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 10/04/2014 12:34:37    1573335