Advertisement

All Ireland u21 football 2014

FoolsGold

1573318 Cavan v Dublin is part of a double header with Ross/Cork, was a double header last year too in Tullamore.

ta hell with the double header Cavan folk should not be asked to travel all the way to portlaoise to make up a double header 200 mile round trip! a single fixture in Navan on a Sat/Sun would have done the job nicely for both teams but some eejit decides to put us in Portlaoise, crazy!

neilarmstron9 (Cavan) - Posts: 110 - 10/04/2014 12:36:52    1573337

does Cavan need to be split in 2 at U21 level to give the rest of Ulster a chance, like had been suggested for the Dub's!!

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1754 - 10/04/2014 12:38:45    1573340

well neilarmstron9.. but i believe financial difficulties are driving all these games in Portlaoise

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 617 - 10/04/2014 12:44:53    1573348

Ponger, what financial difficulties?

Baxter (Laois) - Posts: 282 - 10/04/2014 13:02:00    1573363

A sickener for Donegal last night by all accounts. We have history of heartbreak at u-21 level! Fair play to Cavan though - some achievement. They have a system that works and if they can transfer it to senior level, and marry it with the established senior players in the years to come they will be a significant force not just in Ulster, but at a national level also.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10469 - 10/04/2014 13:04:20    1573365

No reason not to have this game on in Navan. Or even Mullingar.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3862 - 10/04/2014 13:37:10    1573392

Was the Joe Coll that was in goal for Donegal last night the same lad that played for Man United and won a bag of caps at underage for Ireland.

bullring (Longford) - Posts: 204 - 10/04/2014 14:02:48    1573410

Yes the same fella,

It is probaly to suit TG4 as they are showing both Semi's live as they did last year I think

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2950 - 10/04/2014 14:18:17    1573416

I think its that young lad alright, he came home from Manchester, home sickness or something a long those lines. Great talent.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1797 - 10/04/2014 14:19:37    1573417

Cavandub in the last 7 years 3 out of the 5 connacht counties have won titles, 3 out of 6 munster counties have won and only 3 out of nine 9 counties have won titles in that period. Cavanslasher i remember some decisions going against roscommon that day as well, i also remember cavan scoring a point at the start of the match and not scoring another point until injury time at the end of the match.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 10/04/2014 14:57:29    1573428

to those replying to
"ulster is the hardest province to win"
should pause and think

does this say that the standard is higher in Ulster, the teams are better quality?

think

it does mean the teams are closer standard to each other, less between them,....

so please Rocsommon fans etc make sure you understand what it means before you begin to big up Leitrim etc

there may or may not be better teams in other provinces but it is true other provinces typically have large gaps between counties in standard terms

Dublin v Carlow
Cork v Waterford
Tipp v Clare
Ros v mayo ( oh Cavan have also beat Mayo U21 this year in Mayo)
etc etc

DD10 (Cavan) - Posts: 130 - 10/04/2014 15:15:01    1573436

portlaoise really chosen to suit Cork, who will not travel anyway. if they wanted a double header then even tullamore would be better, minutes off the m6 for dubs and rossies, plus an hour closer for the cavan folk as well. judging by the numbers in armagh last night they will outnumber cork by 10-1 on the night.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1390 - 10/04/2014 15:16:04    1573437

Ros1
Ros deserved to win that day and I would never say the ref cost us or similar or anything even close ...but Cormac Reillys performance that day was amazing....and of all Ive seen in years it still shocks me when I think about it.
I was surprised it didnt get more comment at the time and seemed to be let go

DD10 (Cavan) - Posts: 130 - 10/04/2014 15:18:36    1573442

Ros were the better side, but Cavan should have had a blatant pen in the first half when Cavan were going well. A mistake by the Cavan goalie gifted Roscommon a goal too.Cavan were without Barry Reilly, play maker and captain, Turloc Mooney and Paul O Connor, big losses,

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2950 - 10/04/2014 15:31:43    1573449

ROS1

In that 7 years Cavan have won 4 titles so exactly what point are you trying to make?
Obviously when one team is dominant the figures are going to be skewed but that is the whole point of why it is so amazing that Cavan of all teams are dominant in the hardest province to win.
Are you honestly telling me that you think Cavan by beating Derry, Tyrone, Monaghan and Donegal have had an easier run then Roscommon? Are you honestly telling me that Cavan winning 4 in a row in Ulster is a lesser achievement then Roscommon winning 3 out of 5 in a province of 5 teams?
Utter utter nonsense.

cavandub (Cavan) - Posts: 67 - 10/04/2014 15:58:23    1573455

cavandub

3 counties ...not 5 in the west
(Sligo have never won an U21 and Leitrim 1 in 37 years)

DD10 (Cavan) - Posts: 130 - 10/04/2014 16:15:10    1573461

it seems some cavan posters are the touche side on here. iMy point was if ulster was as competitive as some people make out then it would have more winners. also if cavan were in any other province it is fair to say the would not have won four titles in a row. every county can go back to games the lost and talk about decisions that went against them. i do not know why people can say ulster is the hardest to win

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 10/04/2014 16:18:05    1573462

ROS1

In a bad season you might draw Mayo and Galway on your way to a title. In a good season you might draw Leitrim and Sligo......and that's it.

In Ulster in a good seaon you might get Fermanagh and Antrim in an incredibly lucky draw but you'll still meet either a Derry, Tyrone, Armagh, Monaghan, Donegal or Down in the final.

Now short of drawing you a diagram with stick men for players I cannot make the point any clearer then that. Belittling the achievement of Cavan by winning 4 in a row in Ulster just makes you look foolish.

cavandub (Cavan) - Posts: 67 - 10/04/2014 16:33:16    1573466

Let's spare a thought for Donegal supporters lads. Last night people from Kilcar travelled over 100 miles to Armagh for a PROVINCIAL final. Other parts of Donegal are much farther away. How is that for bureaucracy? Not many years ago the U-21 Ulster Final was always on a weekend. Who changed that and for what reason? Just think about students having to get back to colleges and others having to go to work. It's time this was challenged at all levels of football!

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 10/04/2014 16:37:28    1573467

Epic stuff last night, was such a great way to win a game, congratulations to the boys! Portlaoise promises to be a great double header, is it fair to say that there'll be more Cavan fans there than the other 3 counties put together?? Hopefully that support will help the Cavan lads over the line.

[On a side note, 1 or 2 Cavan fans dished out a lot of abuse towards Rory Gallagher last night. Totally unnecessary in my view, especially with young kids nearby...]

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 10/04/2014 16:47:09    1573472