All Ireland u21 football 2014

cavandub Galway got that handy u-21 draw in Connacht this year, and as All-Ireland champions were deservedly beaten by Leitrim. It is a great achievement by the Breiffni men but go steady with all this talk of the hardest province to win, I think the Ulster champions have managed to win 1 of their 4 games outside the province in the past 3 years. If there was a bit more humility and respect for the other provinces then this poor record may have some chance of improving. We have to go back 10 years to get the last U21 All-Ireland champions from Ulster, every province has won it at least twice since then.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 10/04/2014 16:47:38    1573473

I thought a Roscommon man would be the last person to be a BEGRUDGER on this great proud day to be a Cavan man.
Dont try and belittle what is a brilliant achievement.
If any other county won a 4 in-a-row I would be the first to say congrats to the players, mentors and parents who supported all these great young men.
Cavan people can hold their heads up high again.
So thanks to all these young Cavan players for bringing pride back to my county!!!

Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 10/04/2014 16:48:33    1573476

It is because of the number of counties capable of winning the Ulster Title i.e. Down,Armagh,Tyrone,Derry,Cavan,Monaghan and Donegal. Furthemore the number of counties that have gone on to win an All-Ireland in the last 30 years, let it be minor,U21 or Senior has been very impressive. Add in Antrim also, as a club in their county have also won an All-Club Football Final. There is no other province that can equal such a distribution of titles and that is the reason why football in Ulster is so competitive.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 602 - 10/04/2014 16:50:58    1573478

cavandub i will be cheering on cavan next sat and the have done well, it is the way that some cavan posters look down on other provinces that i am on about

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 10/04/2014 16:55:13    1573482

Armagh where the last Ulster team to win Under 21 in 2004 so you can get the Roscommon man's point. Ulster is even but its definitely not the strongest.I am sure the history books at under 21 level prove this.I think some Cavan boys need to wind there necks in a bit.

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 10/04/2014 16:59:06    1573486

RoyalBlue2

Let's spare a thought for Donegal supporters lads. Last night people from Kilcar travelled over 100 miles to Armagh for a PROVINCIAL final. Other parts of Donegal are much farther away. How is that for bureaucracy? Not many years ago the U-21 Ulster Final was always on a weekend. Who changed that and for what reason? Just think about students having to get back to colleges and others having to go to work. It's time this was challenged at all levels of football!

Well said Royal Blue, I am one of the Kilcar men of which you speak.

The placing of this game in Armagh only days after having had to go there for a league game against Armagh shows just how high the average supporter figures in GAA thinking.

Not alone that But Monaghan & ourselves are expected to make the trip to Croker for a meaningless Div2 final which could have been just as easily played in Omagh. Madness utter madness.

Fellas have been on HS complaining about the GAA ignoring farmers fro the top of mountains not getting to see games that are on Sky wheras it is the dedicated supporter that gets a much rawer deal be having to traipse all over Ireland for no good reason.

By the way, congrats to Cavan on a great win. I thought we were home & hosed & was really sick at the end but ye showed what being champions is all about, never giving up.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/04/2014 17:11:26    1573493

Funny how Cavan supporters never mention the 2nd Cavan goal in 2012 semi final that was a clear foul on our defender. Anyway the best side won that AI semi final TBH you guys wouldn't want to lose a game like the one we lost to Galway last year..

On another note you bet a 2nd string Mayo side in Connacht GAA centre this year the likes of Evan Regan,Adam Gallager played no part in that game.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4075 - 10/04/2014 17:15:49    1573494

Comhgairdeas do Cabhán as ucht bhfur bua. Tá sé docreidte ceithre craobh Uladh faoi 21 a bhuacaint as a chéile.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 602 - 10/04/2014 17:32:04    1573502

It's quite rare (in Ulster anyway) that the minor champions from 3 years previously win the U21 Championship. Cavan bucked the trend and did exactly that this year, despite being handed a horrendous draw. Fair play to them. Regardless of what happens in Portlaoise, these are exciting times to be a Cavan fan.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 10/04/2014 17:40:38    1573505

if cavan are to finalyy win an under 21 all ireland they need to be more attack minded

this defensive style football will only get them out of ulster
congrats on 4 ulsters in a row at under 21
but cavan need to add an all ireland
in those 4 yrs galway won 2 connachts and went on to winn all irelands in both years

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 10/04/2014 18:06:35    1573509

The_analyser
County: Roscommon

1573494 Funny how Cavan supporters never mention the 2nd Cavan goal in 2012 semi final that was a clear foul on our defender. Anyway the best side won that AI semi final TBH you guys wouldn't want to lose a game like the one we lost to Galway last year..

On another note you bet a 2nd string Mayo side in Connacht GAA centre this year the likes of Evan Regan,Adam Gallager played no part in that game.

And it wasn't a full strenght Cavan team either so what is your point?

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2882 - 10/04/2014 18:07:02    1573510

I'm sure I read last week that if Cavan won, game would be in Tullamore??? Anyway,
Congrats to Cavan on a wonderful achievement of 4 Ulster titles in row, and a little mention for
my own beloved Cork. Bring on the semi's!!

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 398 - 10/04/2014 18:18:10    1573513

Too many people are writing before they think. Ulster is the hardest province to win. We had to beat Derry, Tyrone, Monaghan, and then Donegal. All quality teams. Every step of the way in our province we had tough games.

Can the same be said for Cork, Dublin and Mayo?

The answer is no.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 10/04/2014 18:19:27    1573514

lads, lads, stop the bickering about what province is the hardest to win and what province is the strongest. This has all been dealt with before. every province is always hard to win. Cork have achieved a magnificent 4-in-a-row too. If we were up against Kerry and Tipperary every year would be have won 4-in-a-row.. maybe, but maybe not. All I can say is that this year we had 4 very tough games that could have gone either way against, Derry,Tyrone,Monaghan and Donegal We had to be at our very best to win all of those games. Whether that level is good enough to take us any further remains to be seen. I don't agree that other provinces are easier to win. It may be slightly easier to get to the semi-final and final but They are not easier to win.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 10/04/2014 18:28:29    1573515

Well said goldrick, that's more like what you would expect from a Cavan man. Disappointing that some posters see the need to dismiss the 'weaker' counties and try to downplay the achievements of sides who win other provincial titles. Lets see how it all plays out in the exciting semi-finals we have to come, I am sure we will find 4 very good sides there.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 10/04/2014 18:53:32    1573527

Well said sgoldrick.

Cavan came through 4 tough games & proved themselves worthy champions of Ulster.

That should stand on it's own & nothing more needs to be said.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/04/2014 18:58:48    1573531

Yeah , a lot of cringe worthy , my daddy is bigger than your daddy stuff being wrote in fairness! Three very interesting games to look forward to . Congratulations to Cork on a fantastic achievement - could be interesting times ahead in the years to come between them and the Dubs!

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 10/04/2014 20:10:12    1573555

Great achievements by cork but more impressively roscommon and cabhan who have lesser populations. Keep doing it 4 d minnows of d gaa world. Reckon its 50/50 for semis. No guesses 4 who ill be supportin thou

Piratehooker (Leitrim) - Posts: 197 - 10/04/2014 20:15:15    1573561

Great double header in store,I think the Ros / Cork match could be a high scoring cracker.Two teams who play really positive Attacking Football, Wont be much in it.
I feel Dublin might not be as strong as previous years or else they are holding lots in reserve.Interesting to see how they
deal with Cavans Defensive Wall,I feel a nice dry sunny day is exactly what Cavan dont want as a misty night under lights seems to suit their Style.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 10/04/2014 20:52:13    1573577

Salvador

I agree that it will be a very tight game. Roscommon were very impressive against Mayo and Leitrim while Cork have been very good against Kerry and Tipperary. The four counties remaining (and Galway) have been at the top in this grade for the last few years and I think it is safe to say that we have the best 4 left. Naturally after the disappointment of last year, I'd love it if we win it out but I am looking forward to the three great games in the semis/final. May the best team win.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 10/04/2014 21:04:12    1573581