Division One 2013

I'd be surprised if we didn't win by 6+ on Sunday, I feel were just way better than Kildare.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/03/2013 17:16:36    1342622

Well I'd certainly take a 6+ clondalkin... : )

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 04/03/2013 17:20:39    1342628

Great win the weekend what a game thouroghly entertaining. We took an early lead then the mayo boys came back at us end to end stuff. Then the sending off thought Brennans was deserved but he was taken out of it first which probably fired him up a side to brennan he must control, but then thought here we go this could be our first lose but the lads were rampant never looked like they were the team with a man down. There fitness levels is shocking and our star man bernard is flying racked up another 1-10 some of his point scoring and link up play was phenomenal. 3 from 3 next up the lilllie.s. C,MON DA DUBS..

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 04/03/2013 17:23:08    1342629

I'd be surprised if we didn't win by 6+ on Sunday, I feel were just way better than Kildare.

I would agree with you based on current performance levels. The difference between the game on Saturday night and our game on Sunday was huge. Hardly even looked like the same sport! The Kildare midfield and kickouts will require a huge improvement considering it's been so dodgy for us and how much pressure Dublin were putting on the Mayo ball high up the field last weekend.

Our only hope is that I really don't remember us really ever getting a real hiding from Dublin in my lifetime but after squeaking two games we possibly should have lost I think we're going to get a serious wake-up call here.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 04/03/2013 19:00:31    1342740

@clondalkindub The worry for Dublin is if Bernard isn't scoring where are the scores going to come from. The hype machine is already in full swing and when that happens it never good for Dublin. Still they are playing some nice football lets hope its last till September.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 04/03/2013 19:33:48    1342762

04/03/2013 19:00:31
doublehop

I would agree with you based on current performance levels. The difference between the game on Saturday night and our game on Sunday was huge. Hardly even looked like the same sport! The Kildare midfield and kickouts will require a huge improvement considering it's been so dodgy for us and how much pressure Dublin were putting on the Mayo ball high up the field last weekend.

Our only hope is that I really don't remember us really ever getting a real hiding from Dublin in my lifetime but after squeaking two games we possibly should have lost I think we're going to get a serious wake-up call here.

Playing badly and winning is not a bad thing, Kerry kicking wides is their problem. Your right on one thing, this game will be a lot closer than people think. There will be no hidings dished out. Someone pointed out that Brogan is getting the lions share of the scores, so I would like to see Kev Mc and PA get more on the scoring sheet (from a Dublin point of view), my main fear is that ROC is a little suspect under the high ball and O'Connor excels at that with SJ building a nice understanding with him, could be a goal or two from it.

I am going to say Dubs by two but I expect it to be our hardest match so far this year. A draw would not be the worse thing either.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 04/03/2013 19:48:30    1342778

Ah relax spmccann. Brogan was brilliant, that sideline ball was incredible. But actually only 1-4 of the 1-10 was from play. And the frees came from fouls on a large number of players who were taking on their men. There's plenty of strings to your bow. As for the hype, surely all that rubbish was put to bed when ye won in 2011. Ye're flying now using a large squad of players. What can be negative about that!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 04/03/2013 19:54:22    1342788

its highly unlikely bernards form is just going to end over night he is playing top class football and his vision for scoring is amazing,i think the main thing is as long as he is getting help and has a good supply of the ball into him we have nothing to worry about imo anyway,as readub and ckd said above im going for 5-6+ point win for us on sunday.also we might have connolly back too so there will be another added bonus,even if brogan doesnt score as much but does the job kildare are going to find themselves double marking him to keep him quite which allow more space for the other lads my guess anyway....

UP THE DUBS!!!!!

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 04/03/2013 19:57:08    1342791

Look at Donegal yesterday without Murphy they struggle big time.

Utter rubbish. While Murphy was on the field during the first half Donegal scored four points, without him in the second they scored eight. He is our best forward no doubt, but Donegal are far from a one man show.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5029 - 04/03/2013 20:16:53    1342813

Dublin v Kikdare are always tight affairs with good football and drama involved.....I can't rembember the last hiding either team got off one another in the championship. Beaten by two goals in 2000 and destroyed by Kildare in 98 replay although only lost by a point due a late Declan Darcy consolation goal but were outplayed all over the field that day. Particulary the most recent ones like 02, 09 and 2010 were quite close. I expect another close battle on Sunday with some good scores and a good championship pace like the Mayo game last weekend.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 04/03/2013 20:33:08    1342830

i think the last time dubs v kildare met in the league it was a draw however both teams are in better places now,both teams look well 3 wins out of 3 and looking to continue their good run so should make for an interesting tie.....

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 04/03/2013 20:49:23    1342845

my earlier prediction that no one would come near Mayo this year has been proved right. hammered Kerry, lost to Tyrone thanks to a dodgy last minute penalty and ran close a full strength Dublin. cant wait to see mayo when O'Connor, Dillon and Moran return to full fitness in a few weeks.

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 04/03/2013 21:18:46    1342884

Full strength dublin team?!? Haaaaaaardly!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/03/2013 21:28:44    1342895

beal

1342884 my earlier prediction that no one would come near Mayo this year has been proved right. hammered Kerry, lost to Tyrone thanks to a dodgy last minute penalty and ran close a full strength Dublin. cant wait to see mayo when O'Connor, Dillon and Moran return to full fitness in a few weeks.

I'll have 2 the same as what your drinking :-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 04/03/2013 21:40:00    1342906

Jackeen

1342895 Full strength dublin team?!? Haaaaaaardly!

dont be falling for this one has to be the biggest wind comment to date !!!!!!

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 04/03/2013 21:41:18    1342908

I agree with you muck....and tyrone should know all about a one-man show

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 04/03/2013 21:45:04    1342914

beal

I agree with you muck....and tyrone should know all about a one-man show

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 05/03/2013 08:53:22    1342945

I have to say I was very impressed with Mayo on Saturday night they play some great football, took some great scores and all that without there 3 best forwards. They will be serious challengers for Sam this summer. What's the word on Andy Moran will he be back soon?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/03/2013 10:55:31    1343034

Anyway lads looking forward to the week ahead there is some serious games.

If Down lose on Saturday night against Mayo I think they're definately going down as the have Kerry and Dublin away after that and wouldn't expect them to get any points at Dublin and Kerry away is never easy.

Donegal need to pick up a few points and Kerry in Ballybofey is important as if we win it keeps Kerry on 0 points and we move into the mid table position. Kerry looked better last weekend though and I thought were unlucky not to scrape at least a draw. If Kerry lose on Sunday they would have to win all remaining three games to have a chance of staying up and it could be a case of having to go to Omagh and win to avoid relegation on the last day!! Good luck with that!!

Kildare have done enough I'd say to stay up but they won't step off the gas against the Dubs and expect a good game there - Dublin to win though.

Can't see anything other than another Tyrone win on Sunday against Cork in Omagh. Tyrone will be on a high after eventually beating Donegal last week and will want to keep their army happy at home and secure a semi spot.

I'll go for

Down
Donegal
Dublin
Tyrone

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 05/03/2013 11:06:38    1343047

After my abysmal showing last weekend I thought about not doing a prediction for next weekend & then I thought what the hell

Mayo
Donegal
Tyrone
Dublin

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5029 - 05/03/2013 11:27:42    1343077