Division One 2013

Tyrone appear to be matching up in the physical stakes in the back line. It will be very close but I worry about Tyrone's half forward line. If Tyrone are to prosper this season at the highest level we have to find the replacements for Dooher and McGuigan. I am hoping Coney can come through and get a settled run but I dont know if Harte can determine a game the way McGuigan did. For Ronnd three I go for Donegal, Dublin, Kildare and Cork.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 02/03/2013 09:58:24    1341176

Byanthon

Tyrone appear to be matching up in the physical stakes in the back line. It will be very close but I worry about Tyrone's half forward line. If Tyrone are to prosper this season at the highest level we have to find the replacements for Dooher and McGuigan. I am hoping Coney can come through and get a settled run but I dont know if Harte can determine a game the way McGuigan did. For Ronnd three I go for Donegal, Dublin, Kildare and Cork.

Tyrone are definitely headed in the right position. However It will take time for some of the new players to become influential like legends of that stature of Dooher or McGuigan, and it's fair to say that the current crop may never reach that particularly high level.

I felt Tyrone fielding older player in the past few seasons harmed the younger players in the squad, as most of the younger players were probably in awe of the legends who brought 3 All Ireland's to the county, and this resulted in an Imbalance in the team in terms of equality and stature.

I wasn't convinced by Owen Mulligan's involvement in the senior team last season, and yes I know some may find that a bit harsh. I felt Tyrone were bound to have better players in reserve, as he seemed to be really off pace while on the other hand, players like Conor Gormley and Joe McMahon were outstanding. Now Mulligan was fit and training hard, but he seemed to really lack pace.

The men of Tir Eoghain are rising to challenge their old cousins & rivals of Tir Conaill. I think the Tir Conaill men are still a stronger outfit this year, but the gap is most certainly closing.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 02/03/2013 17:44:41    1341310

Dare I say it, Brogan looks better this year than he did in 2010

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 02/03/2013 19:39:09    1341348

Some win for the Dubs tonight! Great performance from Brogan.
If they can solve their indiscipline problem they will take 2013 AI!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 02/03/2013 21:00:43    1341384

I thought Dublin were brilliant tonight and I can't see any team beating them this year. As for Brogan he is just unmarkable, if he remains fit and keeps up this standard he is a shoo in for Footballer of the year.

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 02/03/2013 21:04:20    1341389

Decent performance from 14 man Dublin tonight.

Played well in fits and starts until the sending off, were excellent after that though and ran out comfortable winners imo.

Mayo's inside line caused us problems and looked lively, however when the game was there for the taking I thought our full back line got on top.

Discipline issue raised its head again and Ger can have no complaints. Deserved red and not his first either.

Clucko is great and all but maybe penos aren't his thing! No shame in that, he can't be great at everything!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 02/03/2013 21:21:27    1341408

Good show from the footballers. Fair play to the Ger. No need to dive now gentlemen :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/03/2013 21:24:50    1341412

Great display by the Dubs. Tactics where spot on when they went down to 14. Bring back the big guns in around the middle third and it will take something special to beat them. Just a negative for ye though, maybe Tomás Brady should have stayed with the hurlers. I dont feel he brings anything that wasnt already there whle his replacement McManamon was top class as per usual
Hopefully we will be meeting ye at the business end of championship again

pitch_invader (Mayo) - Posts: 154 - 02/03/2013 21:37:15    1341428

Big win today, especially seeing we were so lightweight at midfield and also missing Connolly and O'Carroll for the most part.

Disappointing from Brennan, I thought he had gotten over hs dirty streak a couple of years ago but we saw shades of it again today. No complaints its disappointing though because I like him as a player.

BB looks incredible, best I've seen him play since 2010 and if he can regain that form in Summer 2013 we'll be in with a great chance because BB on top form is unmarkable.

This team with Alan Brogan, Connolly, McCauley, McCarthy, Nolan and O'Carroll (fully fit) will be a force.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 02/03/2013 21:45:11    1341437

I missed my first mayo game in Croke park in over 10 years last night due to the fact I had to attend a funeral for a 16 year old who sadly lost his battle with cancer. Very nice to see him remembered in a minutes silence last night in Croke park. Football did not really matter last night. RIP CIan.

Just a note on the game from the bits I saw. Dublin were awesome, especially BB. Mayo played well for spells but surprisingly were a no show at midfield but kicked some nice scores. Not really worried about Mayo in the league this year as long as we don't get relegated. Well done the dubs, ye will win the league in my opinion.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11696 - 03/03/2013 09:28:42    1341477

hurlingdub

1341412 Good show from the footballers. Fair play to the Ger. No need to dive now gentlemen :-)

silly display by brennan the first challenge i feel only warranted a yellow however raising the arm can only lead to one thing straight red but,in fairness vaughan got his just desserts he was the one who came running like a bull and brennan is'nt the person you should be messing with ha ha "DOWN YA GO YA BOYA" no were is your physio when you really need them,dont get me wrong id dont like this brennan desrved to go and we need cool heads but when you look at the replay brennan was defending himself too NO VAUGHAN NO INCIDENT FULL STOP !!!!!!

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/03/2013 09:55:11    1341483

Great game by the ref 6 points of brogans tally so eAsy to be a forward these days.who would want to play in the backs.look on the bright side game could have gone any way if mayo were any way fit.well done Dublin nice display.

pajosmaigheo (Mayo) - Posts: 24 - 03/03/2013 09:57:06    1341486

dubbydave.

hurlingdub

1341412 Good show from the footballers. Fair play to the Ger. No need to dive now gentlemen :-)

silly display by brennan the first challenge i feel only warranted a yellow however raising the arm can only lead to one thing straight red but,in fairness vaughan got his just desserts he was the one who came running like a bull and brennan is'nt the person you should be messing with ha ha "DOWN YA GO YA BOYA" no were is your physio when you really need them,dont get me wrong id dont like this brennan desrved to go and we need cool heads but when you look at the replay brennan was defending himself too NO VAUGHAN NO INCIDENT FULL STOP !!!!!!

NO KICKING OF THE MAN ON THE GROUND NO INCIDENT FULL STOP!!!!

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 03/03/2013 10:06:24    1341490

yew_tree

1341477 I missed my first mayo game in Croke park in over 10 years last night due to the fact I had to attend a funeral for a 16 year old who sadly lost his battle with cancer. Very nice to see him remembered in a minutes silence last night in Croke park. Football did not really matter last night. RIP CIan.

Just a note on the game from the bits I saw. Dublin were awesome, especially BB. Mayo played well for spells but surprisingly were a no show at midfield but kicked some nice scores. Not really worried about Mayo in the league this year as long as we don't get relegated. Well done the dubs, ye will win the league in my opinion.

fair play yew tree my thoughts and prayers are with you in this sad time so young too RIP CIan.

on a lighter note very exiting game was very pleased with dublin last night they had a very young backline but held your lads off well.mayo themselves played well scored some fine points.its going to be an interesting year buddy if they meet in the latter end of the season :-)...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/03/2013 10:06:35    1341491

Well deserved win for the Dubs... ye really got stuck in after Brennan was s/o. Some great football with players busting guts off the ball to move into space and receive a pass. BB in fantastic form with 1-10... rest of the Dubs team just 1-4, so something for JimG and co to ponder there. Kevin Mc should be starting for ye... always a threat, and doesn't mess about. Dubs midfield won a lot of ball

Mayo played some good stuff in patches and took some quality scores. FF line did damage when the right ball was played in, but HF line missed the absent lads last night. AOS needs to stay in the middle imo... Barry M and Jason Gibbons looked off the pace last night. Cluxton's kickouts were not as well policed as in the games last year. Good and bad at the back. Thought when Brennan was sent off Mayo started to play lazy football, with very long passes into a FF line which thrives on 30m deliveries, and many of these balls in were less than 50/50. The ball kept coming back out and the Dubs cleverly played up the wings, by-passing our loose man/sweeper, and taking him out of the game. Goal chances not being put away... always seem to fall to the wrong players, though Keegan to be fair got something out of his - why do players go for net bursting instead of low placement? More composure needed to take these chances...

Very entertaining game... most Dubs/Mayo matches tend to be. Dubs with real momentum now and clear favs now to win the league. If BB can keep his form all summer ye'll be having a long season...

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 03/03/2013 10:59:31    1341507

The first foul from Brennan was probably a yellow and the fact that he had a go at Vaughan directy after mean't the ref was probably contemplating a red, but the sly little kick was what got him sent off IMO, it was the icing on the cake made it an easy decision for the ref.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 03/03/2013 11:19:19    1341518

CaisleanCnucha

1341518 The first foul from Brennan was probably a yellow and the fact that he had a go at Vaughan directy after mean't the ref was probably contemplating a red, but the sly little kick was what got him sent off IMO, it was the icing on the cake made it an easy decision for the ref.

have to disagree brennan kicked the ball first time look at the replay if anything the ref was giving a yellow for thinking he kicked the player but his reactions towards vaughan was the reason for the red,i personally think vaughan should have got a yellow for his part ????

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/03/2013 11:30:19    1341524

Superglue

dubbydave.

hurlingdub

NO KICKING OF THE MAN ON THE GROUND NO INCIDENT FULL STOP!!!!

He kicked the BALL NOT THE PLAYER. Watch it again!!

Anyway he deserved to walk for the push on Vaughan. So Dubby is right there. Vaughan wasn't rushing in to pat Brennan on the back so Brennan got to him first. The ref and Vaughan clearly didn't see that Brennan flicked his foot at the ball not the player. Anyway like I say, he cracked Vaughan one so deserved to walk for that.

On a footballing note, Mayo are the best team I have seen us play this year,and I include the Kildare OBC game in that. I had epected them to take the middle but I think the fact that O'Shea was pushed forward into the HFs meant that the door was left open for us and we pipped midfield. Dublin's HF line was poor enough and I agree with an earlier poster that Brady is not offering something that we don't already have in Cullen.

Finally, I have to say that Brogan must already have an all-star in his pocket for his performances this year. I think he has something like 3 or 4 goals and 60 points now since Jan 1st between OBC, Railway Cup and League. That sideline point was up there with Mo Fitz one in Thurles. Simply brilliant!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 03/03/2013 12:17:20    1341548

dubbydave.

have to disagree brennan kicked the ball first time look at the replay if anything the ref was giving a yellow for thinking he kicked the player but his reactions towards vaughan was the reason for the red,i personally think vaughan should have got a yellow for his part ????

Vaughan was throwing his weight around all night but not sure if he deserved a yellow for the incident. He knew what he was doing alright, you don't run up to Ger like that and not expect to get in trouble.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 03/03/2013 12:20:44    1341551

Decent game. Well done to dublin. The sending off actually worked in their favour in the end. That is something our lads need to look at. Cian O'Sullivan at mf worked well. On the subject of brennan, defending himself? Dont let yourself down trying to make excuses, he deserved to go off, and probably should feel his position under threat if he continues to let his side down like that. Plenty of good footballers on the line. Also, vaughan 'got what he deserved'? Ridiculous...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/03/2013 12:29:06    1341554