Division One 2013

Dubs should be winning this one in all honesty, we are still tinkering with different things and trying guys in various positions. If we came out of the game with a few of our forwards having nailed down a place then I would be happy with that. However, it the dubs were to come up short, in the form they are in, it would be a worrying omen for their championship.

We are tinkering ourselves the Master. It would not be one bit worrying if we lose. It would be worrying for Mayo if you lose however in terms of possible relegation from Division 1 (depending on Kerry & Cork results). But it has no bearing on the championship for either team.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/03/2013 09:06:09    1340655

DUBLIN
TYRONE
KILDARE
CORK

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 01/03/2013 09:26:48    1340663

Horsebox77

1340612 what are the odds on Cork, Dublin, Kerry and Tyrone?

Dublin 8/13
Cork 2/5
Tyrone 8/11
Kildare Evens

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 01/03/2013 09:36:27    1340670

Decent side on the park but this is as strong a bench as I've seen for a while. If we stay injury free starting to look stronger. Sunday will tell a tale.

16 Pascal McConnell An Baile Nua
17 Aidan Cassidy Eochar
18 Colm Cavanagh An Mhaigh
19 Kyle Coney Árd Bó
20 Conor Gormley An Charraig Mhór
21 Plunkett Kane Oileán a'Ghuail
22 Cathal McCarron An Droim Mór
23 Darren McCurry Éadan na dTorc
24 Ciaran McGinley Aireagal Chiaráin
25 Ronan O'Neill An Omaigh
26 Martin Penrose An Charraig Mhór

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 01/03/2013 09:51:56    1340675

Jeez, that is some bench. What's the craic with Coney? Was some player when young. Have always kept an eye out for him since he came back from Oz but never seems to have gotten a proper run at it since he returned, has he?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 01/03/2013 10:12:16    1340686

Yeah last year he did, played all the league and was our main man really until a groin problem required an operation and wrote him off for a year. He was due back for McKenna cup but hurt his ankle. This past week he has took part in the internal games (As did Mugsy and a few others) and came through well.
I think he may come on at some point as he gives us something different - big strong lad with loads of ability.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 01/03/2013 10:20:24    1340691

Should be a tight affair Sat night. Both sides still tinkering with line ups etc.

Mayo could sneak though as they should dominate midfield. Hopefully the Dubs defence can hold them and we can get the scores we need on the break.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 01/03/2013 10:29:06    1340697

TyroneTim
Can't believe that Penrose won't start unless he has an injury, always a pain in our side when he plays!! Some bench though in fairness!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 01/03/2013 10:46:31    1340710

Tir Conaill - he was injured but has been struggling to make the starting 15 since. Mark Donnelly has the nod at the moment in that role with young McAlliskey doing well so far the otehr side of SON.
No doubt Marty will come on at least in the second half. We have options now and hopefully we can stay injury free.

Should be a good contest and expect an improved Donegal after another 2/3 weeks training. Worry about the wear and tear on Murphy at the moment hope he can stay fit.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 01/03/2013 11:50:03    1340752

Tyronetim

Jez that is some bench

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 01/03/2013 11:59:31    1340763

Tyronetim, I understand that Gormley isnt fit. I think Colm Cavanagh would play in place of Mickey Murphey if he was fully fit. Can't understand why Ronan O'Neill isn't starting, although I don't believe that big Cassidy is good enough for this Tyrone team. Lookin forward to a crackin match.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 01/03/2013 13:05:48    1340807

After my stunning 4 from 4 in the first round I know you are all waiting the MuckrossMeister's prediction for this weekend.

Dublin v Mayo...............Dublin have their tails up & are at home. DUBLIN
Tyrone v Donegal..........Toughest one to call. Donegal back to full strength apart from Lacey & have serious competition for places in the squad. DONEGAL
Kildare v Kerry..............Another tough one but I feel that talk of Kerry's demise is overdone. A lot of players back & squad training very hard. KERRY
Down v Cork.................Down just not good enough. CORK

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/03/2013 13:40:55    1340849

Not sure you'll get 4/4 this week MuckrossHead. I suppose our own game is hard enough to call, I'm not trying to cute about it but you're right that this'll be a different Kerry side we face. Could go either way.
I think Tyrone might surprise ye though and actually fancy them to pip ye.
Dublin flying and will be determined to make up for their two defeats to Mayo last year.
Cork will be raging after losing to us and I expect them to be far better organised. As a Cork poster said the players are there but some of the thimgs they do to keep control of posession would have you scratching your head. Must be very frustrating for the few supporters who actually go to their games.

Dublin
Tyrone
Draw
Cork

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 01/03/2013 13:59:32    1340860

Tyronetim, I understand that Gormley isnt fit. I think Colm Cavanagh would play in place of Mickey Murphey if he was fully fit. Can't understand why Ronan O'Neill isn't starting, although I don't believe that big Cassidy is good enough for this Tyrone team. Lookin forward to a crackin match

Gaelantrim - Conor would be just getting back but I think it's good to explore options at the back it looks a strong full back line if odd with Justy named in corner with Conor Clarke at full. Must be expecting high balls - McFadden and Murphy match up?
Colm Cavanagh you may be right but Mickey Murphy would be held in high regard in Tyrone so needs a run of games.
Ronan was out for ten months with a cruciate so i think best thing is building up game time. The Full forward line is very competitive and they guys in now have done little wrong but it's great to get the pressure of the guys not on breathing down their necks. You might be right about Aidan Cassidy also dogged by injury could see him start to figure around the half forward line though for some games.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 01/03/2013 14:05:34    1340862

The standard of games and the intensity of them has been exceptional this year.

cilldara13 (Kildare) - Posts: 261 - 01/03/2013 14:39:22    1340891

doublehop

Not sure you'll get 4/4 this week MuckrossHead. I suppose our own game is hard enough to call, I'm not trying to cute about it but you're right that this'll be a different Kerry side we face. Could go either way.

It won't be a surprise at all if Tyrone beat us, the bookies have them favs & most posters here, a very knowledgeable bunch, also go for Tyrone.

If I get 4 from 4 this weekend I will keel over & Mrs MuckrossHead will be giving me grief for not putting the family silver on. 12/1 with Paddy Power.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/03/2013 15:53:32    1340957

MuckrossHead

doublehop

It won't be a surprise at all if Tyrone beat us, the bookies have them favs & most posters here, a very knowledgeable bunch, also go for Tyrone.

If I get 4 from 4 this weekend I will keel over & Mrs MuckrossHead will be giving me grief for not putting the family silver on. 12/1 with Paddy Power.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 01/03/2013 16:42:01    1340991

Division 1 Predictions.
Mayo
Kildare
Donegal
Down

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 01/03/2013 18:30:27    1341060

Sergeant_Slash

Winners: Dublin-Massive talent at their disposal from last years U21 team. I would say Donegal but injuries are hampering them.
Runners up: Kerry-they'll be out to prove a point after a few people wrote them off for Sam.

Relegated: Down-Just havn't the men to compete in this division. Too small up front.
Kildare: Even with their new star corner forward (Will he cut it at this level? Hmm, interesting times ahead) they havn't the players. Struggled to beat Dublin's 2nd team last night.

I think it may work against Dublin, as the U21 stars will still be inexperienced at the top level. Mayo will be Dublin's first stern test to date, as Cork didnt look to have been training for too long in the opening league fixture. I think the Mayo men might take them.

Tyrone are rightly favourites against Donegal, but i won't be too suprised if Donegal sneak this game. Donegal are slowly getting their first string back, and this will be a tight match for Tyrone.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 01/03/2013 18:37:17    1341064

dubs 4/7 on fire at the minute can only see a dubs win
cork 8/15
donegal 5/6 most interesting game out of the whole weekend
kildare 11/10

10 quid should get 86 quid should be ok fingers crossed....

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 01/03/2013 19:52:10    1341098