Division One 2013

Finally, I have to say that Brogan must already have an all-star in his pocket for his performances this year. I think he has something like 3 or 4 goals and 60 points now since Jan 1st between OBC, Railway Cup and League. That sideline point was up there with Mo Fitz one in Thurles. Simply brilliant!

point of the game pure class the confidence he has in himself must be at an all time high,evening in the interview last night when recieving the motm award he said he is enjoying his football wants to gets as much game time in....

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/03/2013 12:36:18    1341558

No excuses for Ger joxer. Wether he was attempting to kick the ball or not, For me it was an absolute stonewall red, The ref had no option but to show him a red. Alot of people thought the ref had a poor game, I thought he got most things right on the night i'm not one who likes talking about referees anyway it deflects from your side on the pitch wether we win or lose so just leave it at that.

It was a case whereby Vaughan was charging like a bull at Ger, Ger probably saw this and reacted first, If i was him i would have let vaughan come in and smashed me to the floor and see if the ref gave a red rather than getting myself sent off. But look its done. We will be alright without Ger for a few weeks.

Another win on the board, Not vintage from Dublin but decent, Can;t argue with out record so far , A good game against Kildare up next week if we can win that we will be in the league semi finals.

Bernard Brogan was immense last night and his scoring has been good all year to date but lets not talk about bloody all stars in march. Come on ? Get real. Good start but there is a long time to go between now and even the summer never mind end of championship.

Still early days, Of corse i'll try play the hype down but i am enjoying what i'm seeing so far. We're in alright shape

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 03/03/2013 12:36:29    1341560

Superglue

1341490 dubbydave.

hurlingdub

1341412 Good show from the footballers. Fair play to the Ger. No need to dive now gentlemen :-)

silly display by brennan the first challenge i feel only warranted a yellow however raising the arm can only lead to one thing straight red but,in fairness vaughan got his just desserts he was the one who came running like a bull and brennan is'nt the person you should be messing with ha ha "DOWN YA GO YA BOYA" no were is your physio when you really need them,dont get me wrong id dont like this brennan desrved to go and we need cool heads but when you look at the replay brennan was defending himself too NO VAUGHAN NO INCIDENT FULL STOP !!!!!!

NO KICKING OF THE MAN ON THE GROUND NO INCIDENT FULL STOP!!!!

dont be silly lad now come on watch the replay brennan kicked the ball,not going to argue with you if you cant see this then no point talking about what happened next..

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/03/2013 12:41:50    1341569

first off i see alot commenting on the red card for brennan but was i the only person on here that saw a dublin defender be taken out of it off the ball in front of the ref before the foul on mayo attacker was given,surely it should have been a free out for dublin and a yellow card given to the mayo man for third man tackle to stop the player making a tackle? ger deserved to go for what he did after but it never should have coming to that if the ref did his job. i thaugh the ref was awful last night in general mostly against dublin brogan was being pulled all night before the ball was kicked in and when andrews was fouled for the penalty he had to go into the umpires to ask was it a penalty why cant the same thing be done when the umpires sees the defender pulling the jersey off the forward before a ball is kicked in,also what would have happened if the ref had not given a penalty as he stopped the match?
thaught mayo were very cynical again and its a shame as their forwards particularly varley can kick some brilliant points,thaught varley roasted our backs.
bernard was on fire again and the sideline kick was icing on the cake but the last point was brilliant to watch as he fisted it with his left hand over a hard skill to do on your weaker hand,some ability to score off right and left feet and hands.thaught we played very well around centrefield and o mahony done well in the air im not a fan of him but last night was best i have seen him.thaught kilkenny would have been better in the full forward line and it wasnt until andrews went out to half forward that he got going but looks very much so nailing down a spot in the team.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/03/2013 13:41:22    1341603

Ok display last night too much dependency on one man against a mayo team that never hit top gear. Ger brennan was my motm.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 03/03/2013 13:55:23    1341609

Decent game. Well done to dublin. The sending off actually worked in their favour in the end. That is something our lads need to look at. Cian O'Sullivan at mf worked well. On the subject of brennan, defending himself? Dont let yourself down trying to make excuses, he deserved to go off, and probably should feel his position under threat if he continues to let his side down like that. Plenty of good footballers on the line. Also, vaughan 'got what he deserved'? Ridiculous...

Who said Vaughan got what he deserved?

Got what he was looking for certainly.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 03/03/2013 14:07:41    1341618

Hi guys,

Two bits here on last night. First up a tactical analysis of Dublin's win over Mayo http://action81.com/blog/?p=6807

And here's a video breaking down Cluxton's positioning http://action81.com/blog/?p=6812

emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 03/03/2013 14:39:39    1341638

Hard Luck to Mayo - you pleyed a big aprt in making that a very enjoyable and high end quailty show

Thought some of Mayo's movement was some of the best I've seen this year

Thats what makes our victory that bit more important for me. It's huge to see the young lads doing so well

I'm not surprised we went out of the game at times because of Mayo's quality

Very happy.

Ger saw red... in more ways than one... Vaughan charged in... Ger turned to see a giant Mayo man gunning for him and raised his arm and contacted rather well with his chin.

He got his punishment with the red... looking forward to Ger returning. Love the guy... we need more like him.

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 03/03/2013 14:48:32    1341646

ref was shocking again forgetting about the frees for a minute mayo's first point should never of stood the free was not taken the ball was thrown forward but again overlooked by linesman and ref...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/03/2013 14:55:37    1341650

Every team needs a hard man. The likes of Brennan,Galvin and recently retired Mcmenamin added spice to the game. He was rightly sent off last night. The one thing i will say is that Ger Brennan will now be a marked man by referees. The game itself was a cracker. Two totally commited teams playing a lovely brand of football. On this evidence diffinate All-Ireland contenders. Dublin the benchmark for me at the moment. These two will meet again in again in league final id say.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 03/03/2013 15:08:22    1341656

tyrone v donegal turning into a wrestling match...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/03/2013 15:21:42    1341664

tryone keeper played a stormer for them really impressive....

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/03/2013 15:34:16    1341668

Well we fluked it....hard luck to Down..certainly did not deserve to lose but we got the breaks...much needed win for us...

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 03/03/2013 15:34:35    1341669

Dublin impressive again last night, Kildare did enough to take Kerry, should be a great game next weekend!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 03/03/2013 15:50:22    1341688

Ulster confirms its 'puke football' status!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 03/03/2013 15:50:48    1341689

Tyrone/Donegal was a bit wearing at times. The teams seemed more concerned with stopping opponents, pulling, dragging and cynical hits. When they did actually concentrate on football there were some very good scores. Tyrone should really stick more to the football because they usually come off better when they do; when they resort to some of the nonsense you can see why they get some stick. Michael Murphy is not a dirty player and was unfortunate to be sent off (was it two yellows, I missed that bit?). Sean Kavanagh looks back on form but I don't think Tyrone have enough quality all over the pitch to challenge for the top honours yet.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9829 - 03/03/2013 16:03:58    1341710

waynoI

No excuses for Ger joxer. Wether he was attempting to kick the ball or not, For me it was an absolute stonewall red,

Don't think I excused him at all Wayno. In fact I said he deserved to walk. I think the ref was unsighted though and was going to send him off for kicking the player on the ground which of course he didn't do. On the subject of all-stars that was tongue in cheek. I'm following the dubs long enough to know that BB could have howlers in the next few games but so far this year he hasd been immense so on track for another AS.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 03/03/2013 16:11:48    1341714

Don't think I excused him at all Wayno

____

No i know man i wasn't saying you where making excuses , That was my opinion and i know you shared it. People love to talk about refs when their team lose , And even when their team win , Just saying i thought he was right and Gers actions where over the top.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 03/03/2013 16:35:32    1341742

Beelzedub

Hard Luck to Mayo - you pleyed a big aprt in making that a very enjoyable and high end quailty show

Thought some of Mayo's movement was some of the best I've seen this year

Thats what makes our victory that bit more important for me. It's huge to see the young lads doing so well

I'm not surprised we went out of the game at times because of Mayo's quality

Very happy.

Ger saw red... in more ways than one... Vaughan charged in... Ger turned to see a giant Mayo man gunning for him and raised his arm and contacted rather well with his chin.

He got his punishment with the red... looking forward to Ger returning. Love the guy... we need more like him.

Ye've three others just like him as well and that's far too many for one team.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 03/03/2013 16:58:40    1341769

Just home from Omagh & while Tyrone fully deserved their win I saw enough to confirm what I always thought, that both teams will be at the business end of things later in the year.
While there was a lot of tussling, this has to be seen in the context of players laying down markers ahead of the Ulster Championship in late May. Both teams will improve a lot between now & then & I for one can't wait.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/03/2013 18:25:25    1341844