Division One 2013

Mayo lost to Tyrone because they can't cope with high balls into the full back line. This was also very evident in the first half against Kerry in the league. Kerry couldn've had 3 goals if they took their chances. Cafferkey, Higgens, McHale and Keane are very poor under the high ball. This is the main weakness of an otherwise solid defence.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 12/02/2013 13:26:36    1332641

pdempsey

Mayo lost to Tyrone because they can't cope with high balls into the full back line.

That is true - any team that plays us can launch high balls in rapid and will cause mass panic in our defence. I am worried about this year I have to say. More so the fact we have not brought/found any scoring forwards over the winter.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11691 - 12/02/2013 13:54:12    1332673

Indeed muckross, although it is a shame the ref cant zoom in on incidents like cameras can. If your view on tv is that of a guy 140 yards away, then I think you need to invest in a new television...

YT, I dont agree with that, cafferkey got MOTM against kerry and fetched several high balls in the process, also, when he was switched onto murphy in the final last year he won so many that they stopped putting it in long, as did keane with mcfadden once he settled down. They cant win every ball that comes in for gods sake. Can you name me any defence that can? They are not perfect but I think you are being slightly over-critical.
As regards forwards, I think doherty has improved this year. He is still only a young lad dont forget. He showed intelligence in his last 2 games and has probably been our best forward.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/02/2013 14:44:20    1332733

If in doubt actually didn't make that bet luckily :) sticking to the five accum, they good value when they come in, 294.43 is what it paid so happy enough, plus now meath after lengthening for leinster ill reinvest fifty of it on them winning it and will throw a few euro on over cocky kildare getting caught by offaly too,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/02/2013 19:07:49    1333037

Welcome back Royaldunne I missed your anti-Kildare posts. Getting cocky again about Meath's chances in Leinster after ye beat Wicklow, wow. Also you must have money to throw away if you're backing Offaly to knock us out of Leinster and I think you're about the only who believes you backed that accumulator which shows how disillusioned you are.

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 12/02/2013 20:06:42    1333067

Jesus RD was nowhere to be seen after Meaths shocking performance in Clones there 10 days ago. But i suppose a 8 point win against Wicklow is definitely showing Meath are on the up ... Just in case you didnt catch the sarcasm .... I was being sarcastic.

Face it. Meath are nothing. Kildare are our rivals now RD. Meath are just an irritation, All bark no bite.. a yesteryear team. Nothing special about yous anymore. Nothing to fear.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 13/02/2013 08:28:01    1333155

cacsmckilly

Tyrone succeeded against Mayo's blanket defense. Tyrone have been trying for the last few years to counteract the swarming defense and thats why we could deal with Mayo. Its all very well being able to do it yourself but what happens when the opposing team is playing the same way?? Its all about holding onto the ball and keeping possession, to give the ball away through error is criminal. Harte has been working on a way to counteract blanket defenses with the aim of toppling Jim McGuinness and Donegal. I think he may be getting there....

He is certainly improving Tyrone from last year, but it's worth noting that Tyrone have peaked way too early in the past two or three years. And this season they don't appear to be any different in terms of prepartion, they won the McKenna cup with ease, and looked sharp in the league so far.

Tyrone looked superb early last season, steam rolling through Division 2, beating Armagh and then giving Donegal a game. But they then looked tired and faded against Kerry. How could the team that gave Donegal such a tough test, simply fall apart and look so tired and old?
I was very critical of Tyrone at that stage, and critical of their refusal to replace the old guard.

The signs this year are that they have made significant changes. However Donegal under the guidance of Jim McGuinness are ever evolving, and whether Tyrone have their measure remains to be seen. The league will tell us little, and neither side will want to show their hand prior to the championship.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 17/02/2013 20:17:17    1335330

wayno1: dont be like that now

Sure the man was busy counting his winnings which of course will all be reinvested on his great team winning Leinster. Not a bit cocky to bet on Meath to win Leinster but now if some one was to propose having a bet on Kildare winning a game we would all get a lecture from the learned one.

As Cork & Mayo are falling below expectations could the Final be a long awaited big Dublin v Donegal game?

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 18/02/2013 21:22:23    1335834

Hi guys

With the league resuming this weekend, I've put up a tactical preview of Dublin vs Mayo here http://action81.com/blog/?p=6788

Emmet

emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 27/02/2013 08:44:20    1339663

Sorry lads, wrong link in that last post. Here's the correct one http://action81.com/blog/?p=6787

emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 27/02/2013 08:49:22    1339668

Ok it's time to put some manners on these Culchies from Mayo once and for all, they've twice had the cheek to come up to our house and beat us in semi finals, starting Saturday it's time we put these boys in there place and give them the beating they somehow avoided when playing us before. Mayo your luck over us can't last forever Saturday will prove that when we hammer yous out the gate. Up the Dubs

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/02/2013 16:52:11    1340473

had the cheek to come up to our house

At last an honest Dub who confirms Croke Park is Dublin's home ground ;) Nothing lucky about last years TWO beating we you lad but I do agree Dublin will get the better of us this sat night.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11691 - 28/02/2013 16:58:16    1340477

Ok it's time to put some manners on these Culchies from Mayo once and for all

________

I'd rather put manners on them in the all ireland stage of the championship but sure i suppose we will have to wait for that ... how long ? Well im not sure suppose time will tell ..

As for the weekend i think Dublin have every chance of winning , Will be interesting to see the kind of team they put out ..

I'll shhhtick me neck on the line and say Dublin to win by 2 ..

ALLEZ LES BLEUS !!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 28/02/2013 17:02:54    1340480

Dublin, Cork, Kildare and Tyrone to record round 3 wins this weekend i'd imagine

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 28/02/2013 17:10:04    1340487

Dublin v Mayo...............DUBLIN
Tyrone v Donegal..........TYRONE
Kildare v Kerry..............KILDARE
Down v Cork.................CORK

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 28/02/2013 17:23:39    1340495

Mayo have a strong team out so won't make the call till I see ours... ( boy this fence is comfortable :) )

But to be honest they are the team I want to beat the most purely because I've alot of mates from the West and I'm sick and tired of them having the last laugh at me in our back yard so hopefully I'll be able to shout their heads off Saturday night :).

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 28/02/2013 17:34:10    1340503

Dubs should be winning this one in all honesty, we are still tinkering with different things and trying guys in various positions. If we came out of the game with a few of our forwards having nailed down a place then I would be happy with that. However, it the dubs were to come up short, in the form they are in, it would be a worrying omen for their championship.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/02/2013 17:39:12    1340505

Hi guys,

Tactical preview of Kildare and Kerry now live
http://action81.com/blog/?p=6796

Emmet

emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 28/02/2013 18:04:26    1340521

Jeez, I hope you're right Emmet. How's your betfair account with these predictions?

Things to remember though. With Gary White out and our Under 21's probably probably being rested it'll be a very different side to that which started the season so well. If Niall Kelly doesn't play it'll probably be Doyle who drops back to that role which will leave Smith inside with Big Tom. And while Smith is an excellent forward he's probably someone who looks to win his own ball rather than play off O'Connor. Might be set up for Johnston to leave his mark then but I think there's a lot of variables there. I definitely don't see it being as comfortable for Kildare as you suggest.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 28/02/2013 20:05:01    1340574

what are the odds on Cork, Dublin, Kerry and Tyrone?

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 28/02/2013 21:21:28    1340612