He should have joined WEXFORD more Yellow belly than Lily white !.
fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 24/05/2012 12:09:06
Its made for him to score the winning point against the Dubs and Meath, This site will crash if that happens
Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 752 - 24/05/2012 12:09:28
Glad it's all over now, pity it took this long to get it sorted though.
Least the GAA / CCCC or whatever appeal body passed this finally saw sense and treated this the same way as they do hundreds, if not thousands of other transfers each year, instead of just picking the rules to suit an agenda.
If they really want to uphold the ethos of the GAA so badly then is it fair to assume they'll start to clamp down heavily on manager payments etc?
Moving on though, hard to see Seanie playing for Kildare this year. Can't see clubs agreeing to another round of championship football any time soon, especially if it means clubs are waiting around all summer to avoid relegation, and matches are played when lads are off in America.
That'll be the real test of Johnston's dedication, wait around till next year to play for the county and I'd see him as being a bit more genuine about all this. If he does end up teaching in a north Kildare school like was rumoured before then best of luck to him.
Anyways, I'm off to try and grow a thicker layer of skin... I'd advise other Kildare fans to do likewise...
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 24/05/2012 12:14:38
I can tell you one thing it will be fun to hear the hill if they do meet dublin. And indeed to a lesser extent meath if they should meet
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2012 12:17:12
I'm off to try and grow a thicker layer of skin...
Jaysus I would have thought you'd have got that out of the already...!!
I mean you's are a bloody awful GAA county... thought you'd be well used to the ripping by now!
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/05/2012 12:19:03
royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 1091
1179457 I can tell you one thing it will be fun to hear the hill if they do meet dublin. And indeed to a lesser extent meath if they should meet
______
Half the Hill wont have a clue who he is...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/05/2012 12:22:51
Official statement reads as follows: "At an Appeal Hearing this evening the CAC upheld an appeal by Seanie Johnston against a decision of the CCCC to refuse an application for a transfer from Cavan Gaels (Cavan) to St. Kevins (Kildare) on the basis that there had been no objection by either Cavan Gaels or Cavan County Committee within the ten day time limit prescribed in the Official Guide."
Does this mean that Cavan Gaels and the Cavan CB let him go?
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 24/05/2012 12:32:13
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 8898
1179460 I'm off to try and grow a thicker layer of skin...
I mean you's are a bloody awful GAA county... thought you'd be well used to the ripping by now!
2 All Irelands in nearly 30 years and with the playing population ye have. Oh nearly forgot. All your top class club players are imports. Awful doesn't come close to you lot.
derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 24/05/2012 12:34:17
1179464 royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 1091
1179457 I can tell you one thing it will be fun to hear the hill if they do meet dublin. And indeed to a lesser extent meath if they should meet
______
-----------
He won't have a clue who half his team mates are.
Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 752 - 24/05/2012 12:34:42
1179464 royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 1091
______
Half the Hill thinks there's a kick off and not a throw in, so hardly surprising.
derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 24/05/2012 12:36:02
What a sell out!
MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 24/05/2012 12:37:44
Oh God, field day coming up on HS!
lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 24/05/2012 12:47:22
I'm off to try and grow a thicker layer of skin...
Well I'll agree we don't have a great record at all. Then again if we're awful then what does that say about all the counties out there with less All Ireland titles than us?
We're not great by any means but sure we're well aware of that already, awful might be a bit of stretch though...
Ripping is all fine with me, not a problem at all as long as we can have a laugh about it, funny feeling though that with Johnston in tow Kildare fans will be in for a bit more than that... spite on bile on the way...
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 24/05/2012 12:49:18
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FqpCT4Q6Qv4 Just in case he's ever homesick.
georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 24/05/2012 12:58:17
derfil1
Jaysus derfil... you'd think you were upset by that or something...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/05/2012 13:01:13
georgelee County: Louth Posts: 432
1179510 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FqpCT4Q6Qv4 Just in case he's ever homesick.
In case your still not sick http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cUs7LplDcY0
iluvkeoghan (Cavan) - Posts: 79 - 24/05/2012 13:06:10
Derry_ledd County: Derry Posts: 1935
1179425 Do you Cavan boys honestly think Seanie's Cavan days were over? Honest question!.
Players fall out with managers all the time, our own Bradley's a fine example, the whole bloody Cork hurlers also. But in this case Kildare came knocking and Seany seen a chance of glory something so of he went to junp ship and live in Kildare, when he should be fighting for his place back in HIS county's team.
Shame on Seany and Shame on Kildare
Finally someone speaks a bit of sense.
Its absolute nonsense to say he had to leave Cavan in search of county football. He wasn't selected this year, because the then manager decided to go with a new approach. That approach didn't work in the league, and the manager was replaced. What's to stop him being called into the Cavan panel under the new management next year? Nothing. If he stuck with his club, and kept the head down, he could have been selected again.
Shameful episode that a player can move counties because he takes the huff with the management in his own. A very dangerous precedent, all the more so, because people in Cavan are saying he still works here.
Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 24/05/2012 13:06:29
Re Derry_ledd no i don't think Johnston would have played again under Val Andews. And alot would have said the same thing, Andrews was gone after the league but the damage was done then as he was all set for Kildare., he was never going to get Johnston back. Your living in fantasy land if you think otherwise.
FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2894 - 24/05/2012 13:14:54
I bet there ain't too many county boards that will employ Val andrews after the whole Seanie saga!!!!!!
richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 24/05/2012 13:15:13
In Doubt
Kildare will only get better now with all the Dubs living there... sure it couldnt get any worse right... apart from the rising crime rates.
Kind of like when all the Mayo farmers moved to Meath :) That gave the Meath GAA DNA the kick in the back side it needed...
I was only having a laugh with you... just helping you develop that thick skin that you mentioned... I wasnt being serious.. sure dont I even have a few Kildare cousins, but we dont talk to them much. All a bit cross eyed.. if you know what I mean!
Dreadful or dirtfill, whatever his feckin name is... never heard of him until a few posts ago... could learn a thing or two from you...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/05/2012 13:15:17