Mayo GAA Thread

Well done Mayo. Ye managed to find a way out of a sticky situation this evening. Ye can now either play Derry, Kerry or Dublin in the Quarter-Final. We'd be happy down in Kerry to draw ye, we could do with a test and ye seem to up yer performances against ourselves and Dublin.
BTW... did anybody get the official attendance this evening?. Looked like only about 20,000 on television but would like to know for sure.

AnFear16 (Kerry) - Posts: 34 - 11/06/2022 21:33:26    2424082

Replying To Vish:  "Why would Dublin be great draw, ?? Christ ..
They would be frawthing at the mouth to play Mayo , given last years semi and the recent league defeat..
Derry the obvious candidates as they lack experience playing at HQ and playing southern opponents at this stage of the championship.."
Did you notice it was a Galwayman who said that.

Galway wouldn't fancy having to face Mayo in the q finals - they would be happier have Mayo in with Kerry and Dublin on that side of the draw

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 11/06/2022 21:39:58    2424086

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Did you notice it was a Galwayman who said that.

Galway wouldn't fancy having to face Mayo in the q finals - they would be happier have Mayo in with Kerry and Dublin on that side of the draw"
?
the draw is not allowing that pairing

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 11/06/2022 21:56:52    2424100

Best of luck to the Mayo minors today, hopefully they get some decent support behind them, following the schedule balls up from HQ (playing an All-Ireland quarter final five days after the Connacht final?).

Irrespective of the result today, there are some very decent prospects on the team this year, good to see after a fairly bad run in Connacht for five or six years.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 12/06/2022 08:38:57    2424107

No easy draw for quarter finals. We should be confident enough to play any team if we've aspirations to win an All Ireland. A well tested Derry team. Very good Kerry and Dublin teams who haven't been tested in this years championship. We've a lot of improving to do to beat any of those three on June 25th or 26th. With Jordan back and hopefully Ryan too we can beat any of them if we're focused for the whole game.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 12/06/2022 08:53:05    2424108

Well i thought Mayo were beaten there for a long time
But once again you show you fighting spirt
Oisin mullen is unreal he is a force of nature
Best of luck gloing forward the journey continues

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 12/06/2022 09:29:30    2424114

Replying To Gleebo:  "Best of luck to the Mayo minors today, hopefully they get some decent support behind them, following the schedule balls up from HQ (playing an All-Ireland quarter final five days after the Connacht final?).

Irrespective of the result today, there are some very decent prospects on the team this year, good to see after a fairly bad run in Connacht for five or six years."
I could be wrong but i think Mayo have a great chance to win it out
But Minor is so difficult to predict look at what happened on Sat
Tyrone who looked the favs this year beaten by Kerry who were hammered by Cork
Kerry had beaten Cork well before that
Tyrone however were dreadfull showed no ambition
I cant understand how a team can go out in an all ire quarter final and play that negative
Fair play to Kerry they tried to play some football
Then you have Derry who lost to Tyrone beating Cork who had beaten Kerry
Im hoping Galway management can organise the team a bit better
Theres a lot more in this team but there doing some stupid things on the pitch
Stuff like really bad and careless passing poor shot taking and the way the team sets up
Hopefully Galway can sort thongs out and win against Dublin
Mayo should beat Kildare with ease

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 12/06/2022 09:48:00    2424118

Huge respect for Mayo, great comeback

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 12/06/2022 10:27:34    2424132

Replying To MeAlone:  "Mayo will improve, tougher the draw the next day the better, Dublin would be a great draw."
Mayo wont want dublin for multiple reasons. Biggest one is if they did ...and if they did beat them..its kerry in the semi. Derry is the desired draw...then a semi v galway ( or their victors) . Both very winnable.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 12/06/2022 11:19:22    2424155

What kind of injury has Ryan O Donoghue? Would he have any hope of being back for the quarter final?

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 12/06/2022 11:21:03    2424156

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Huge respect for Mayo, great comeback"
Mayo show great character all the time. Even at 6 points down I said they would win and if I was close enough to a bookie's I'd have put few euro on it. Can't see them beating Kerry or Dublin but you never know.could easily make the final again if they get other side of the draw. Mayo would definitely find a way to beat Derry or Galway.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1055 - 12/06/2022 12:17:43    2424165

I'd say Kildare must be wondering how a game they dictated for 50 mins ran away from them so badly in the end. If there had been 8 or 9 mins of injury time instead of the 4 or 5 played I think the gap at the end would have only become wider. The first half was so bad it made Mayo look like a team which hadn't played for two months never mind just a bare week. Heard that travel arrangements were on the day, but surely the amount of basic skills errors in the opening 35 can't be explained by a few hours on a bus?

The positives were that despite Kildare having more bodies back than either Galway or Monaghan managed and they hounded ferociously, a piece of magic by Oisin broke the stranglehold at a time when Mayo had already started to make in-roads against a tiring Kildare defensive effort. I think that might be a template Kildare will hold on to, but they'd need to get 20% fitter/stronger to sustain that for 70+mins. Our defense was massive both defensively (Rob didn't have a save to make) plus they got all the key scores. Hard to know what to say about Lee at this stage. Still defensively one of the best in the game at 32 and still adding to his record as the game's best ever scoring defender.

Our biggest concern, bar the injuries (and I wouldn't be all that confident ROD will be in the 15 in a fortnight), is that midfield hasn't been functioning without Jordan Flynn. I think, assuming he'll be ready to start the next game, Aidan needs to be kept in reserve same as early in the league. Cillian got better as the game went on, but we're expecting too much that he'll reach his full capability this year. Diarmuid was the best of our starting forwards by miles and the subs really turned the game. I'd love to see Boland start, but think he's better coming in when things loosen up. Mark Moran, who apparently couldn't play y/day could be a bolter for a place in the HF line, which is overall still dysfunctional. I see a lot of potential for Eoghan McL or Mullin starting up in the half-forwards with Diarmuid in the centre of that line. Jason looks to be struggling and like with Cillian maybe it's too much for him to get back to where he was given he's still recovering.

We're going to get one of Derry, Dubs, Kerry and whichever won't wilt the way Kildare did after 50 mins (although the Dubs sort of did that last year when their focus was off). It'll be click or die for Mayo next day for sure... another one half or 20 min blitz won't get Mayo into a semi-final. But we're in the draw and that's all that matters for now.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 12/06/2022 12:26:17    2424168

Replying To anotheralias:  "Mayo wont want dublin for multiple reasons. Biggest one is if they did ...and if they did beat them..its kerry in the semi. Derry is the desired draw...then a semi v galway ( or their victors) . Both very winnable."
If we're looking for a potentially softer route at this stage we may stay at home. Kerry and Dublin haven't been tested in this years championship. Derry have been well tested in three games.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 12/06/2022 12:27:18    2424169

Best of luck to the minors today. I hear that Kildare are a big strong team, so different challenge from what was met in Connacht.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 12/06/2022 12:28:10    2424170

Replying To JimmyNail:  "What kind of injury has Ryan O Donoghue? Would he have any hope of being back for the quarter final?"
Hammer….he is nearly there from what I've been told.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 12/06/2022 12:43:27    2424172

If the QF draw doesn't produce the following fixtures I'll be pleasantly surprised seeing as the Div 1 sides seem to attract eachother like some magnetic force:

Galway v Clare
Derry v Cork
Kerry v Armagh
Dublin v Mayo

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 12/06/2022 20:02:48    2424360

Replying To Pericles:  "If the QF draw doesn't produce the following fixtures I'll be pleasantly surprised seeing as the Div 1 sides seem to attract eachother like some magnetic force:

Galway v Clare
Derry v Cork
Kerry v Armagh
Dublin v Mayo"
Kerry v Armagh would be some game, Armagh have their tails up and are battle hardened, Kerry could be caught a bit cold at quarter final stage.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 12/06/2022 21:31:54    2424404

As far as who we get next I'm not to enthusiastic about us making the pot for the semifinal. Our forwards were woeful on Saturday, dropping balls short and kicking simple attempts wide. COC never got into the game at all. I think it was 4 points after 28 minutes, that's dreadful. I my opinion we need to pick up the speed in the forwards, too much walking around waiting for something to happen.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 12/06/2022 21:43:55    2424411

Kerry.

It was written in the stars. Wonder if there was any video footage of the draw this time...

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/06/2022 09:02:47    2424432

Looks like I got them all wrong:)

Kerry will be as pleased to have drawn Mayo as Mayo would be to draw Kerry minus Clifford and O'Shea. They'll be raging hot favorites to repeat the comfortable league final outcome and it should bring them nicely into the semi-final at the right pitch to take on the Dubs, who surely will ease their way past Cork.

Not sure Galway will be that pleased... of the 3 choices they could have got they drew the toughest and it could be a Connacht-less semi-final line-up (this is already what the pundits are expecting).

Saw SG last night. We seem to be living rent-free in Pat Spillane's head! Last team who bothered him that much was Tyrone during the noughties, so you wouldn't be taking this latest obsession as a negative.

JH and the lads will need to work out how to beat Kerry in just 20 mins, as this seems to be our standard level of cohesive performance for 2022:(

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/06/2022 09:48:14    2424461