Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To Pericles:  "I'd like to see that Ponga as Deane seems to know how to get his team to play positive football. But I don't fully blame Sheridan for the horrible stuff being played by the U20s. I think that at U17 level the priority isn't to develop players for senior, so tactically there's probably a freer hand for the coaches. U20 though is different. I think success at that level is now pretty secondary, which doesn't mean we won't have some, but it'll be playing according to a plan which shows who'll have the required attributes for senior. In that regard I think stamina, speed and skill in that order are looked for. The odd exception like Paul Towey does get a look in and wouldn't be in the senior panel now if there was no hope of him being turned into an effective tackler. But his appearances with the seniors will be limited if he can't do some of what the likes of Cillian, Jason, ROD and Tommy have been doing. Darren Coen, who has a lot of years on Towey and has been around the block isn't industrious enough to get in before less talented finishers (we complain but can sort of understand it too). Kerry had a the same problem for years and not just with their forwards, but they seem to have re-discovered the value of defending since O'Connor came back.

What I'd like to see for Saturday:

Rob; Lee, Swanny, E Hession; Paddy, Stephen, Oisin; Aidan, Mattie; J Carr, DOC, Eoghan McL; E McHale, Jordan F, Cillian.

If Jordan Flynn isn't 100% then either Jack Carney or Aidan Orme to go into the full line, with Cillian moving to 14. Jason might get the nod too if he's back firing."
We don't get scores from half forwards these days.
We get better return from halfbacks going forward - so we should use that

For me it's

Hennelly, Keegan, O Hora, E Hession, O Mullin, Stephen Coen, Eoghan McLoughlin, Flynn (AOS), M Ruane; P Durcan (McHale), DOC (Loftus), Walsh (K McLoughlin), A Orme, J Carney (J Carr) , C O Connor.

Essentially, I'd be playing 3 across the middle (Durcan playing Deep to allow Ruane and Flynn run) and id have a two man full forward line.
I thinks the players in brackets coming on from half time to 50mins would give them more space to play when the game is opened up a bit.

Our big problem over the past two matches has been a flat third quarter where everyone has been run into the ground and the subs are coming on early enough

We never seem to plan for the fact that we play a running game and fresh legs are needed to keep the temp high - not wait until the tempo starts to drop before putting in subs

Subs Against Galway

Enda Hession for Mullin (40), Aiden Orme for Doherty (49), Jack Carney for Loftus (58), Kevin McLoughlin for Coen (64), Darren McHale for Carr (67).

Subs against Tyrone last year

Enda Hession for Plunkett h/t, Jordan Flynn for O'Hora 52, Darren Coen for Walsh 58, Aidan Orme for Loftus 66, James Carr for McLoughlin 74.

The reality is throwing lads in with 10mins left is a waste of time as it takes 10mins to get up to speed

There is a pattern to how Mayo put subs in - it just needs to be accelerated

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 10/06/2022 10:38:49    2423724

Replying To ponga:  "Think you're right on most of that Pericles but listening to Sheridan with his "structure over chaos" mantra I feel he'll hold back players. I don't think any of the minors in this present team would object to the tracking back part as they are doing it to a degree already without the fear of expressing themselves.
Can't find much wrong with your team selection but not sure JH will go with that forward sextet, but who knows?"
I'm a bit sceptical over Sheridan's "structure beats chaos" philosophy, given the U20s results the past couple of seasons. The final few minutes in Sligo were crying out for us to throw the kitchen sink at it, but we didn't.

Team announced, Loftus and J Doc in for Orme and Bryan Walsh.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 10/06/2022 11:08:09    2423737

Replying To Gleebo:  "I'm a bit sceptical over Sheridan's "structure beats chaos" philosophy, given the U20s results the past couple of seasons. The final few minutes in Sligo were crying out for us to throw the kitchen sink at it, but we didn't.

Team announced, Loftus and J Doc in for Orme and Bryan Walsh."
Whatever about Sheridan's mantra NUIG didn't serve up the robotic rubbish we got from the U20s over the last 2 years. I think he was operating within a certain framework, but that's more based on the evidence of my eyes than any insider info.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 10/06/2022 11:33:30    2423739

Replying To Gleebo:  "I'm a bit sceptical over Sheridan's "structure beats chaos" philosophy, given the U20s results the past couple of seasons. The final few minutes in Sligo were crying out for us to throw the kitchen sink at it, but we didn't.

Team announced, Loftus and J Doc in for Orme and Bryan Walsh."
Rob Hennelly (Breaffy); Lee Keegan (Westport), Oisín Mullin (Kilmaine), Enda Hession (Garrymore); Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels), Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore, captain), Eoghan McLaughlin (Westport); Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy), Matthew Ruane (Breaffy); Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber), Jason Doherty (Burrishoole), Conor Loftus (Crossmolina Deel Rovers); James Carr (Ardagh), Jack Carney (Kilmeena), Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber).

No subs named, so no idea if ROD or Jordan Flynn are options.

Jason did well against Kildare in the league match (5 points from play), but otherwise I don't see all that much extra potential for scores to come from the front 6 over the 6 picked v Monaghan. Hopefully I'll be proven wrong.

If JF and ROD don't play we'll again be down our two most consistent scoring forwards (Tommy and ROD), plus our most consistent scoring midfielder this year (Flynn) and our most consistent scoring defender (Plunkett). That's a fair handicap.

Kildare will be strong at midfield, so it'll be all about how we handle their danger men, particularly their Flynn and direct ball played into him. The Kildare half-forwards are likely to be doing a lot of chasing but could also drop back early in the game to prevent Mayo getting early scores. If so, I think this could become a struggle tbh and it's a genuine 50/50 game for me.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 10/06/2022 12:20:34    2423757

Serious lack of pace in the 6 forwards down to start, O Connor and Carr left inside and hopefully they can get good early ball into them. On there day Doherty and Loftus can be good for scoring few points, Loftus hasn't been great this year though and Doherty is still trying to get up too speed after bad injuries, he had a good game against Kildare in the league so he should be confident going into this one. Diarmuid O Connor needs to find his shooting boots cause hes well able to chip in with a few scores but in the last few games he has been turning back when before he would have taken on the defender and kicked a score.
This wont be an easy game and I do think it will be tougher than the Monaghan game, Flynn and Hyland inside are serious threats and Mayo will give them space, I wonder who will take Flynn, Mullin or Keegan maybe..
Kildare have nothing to lose after the Dublin game so no pressure on them and they well used to Croke Park and there management team of former players will have them ready to go for a performance.
The Monaghan game should bring the Mayo lads on a bit, and should give a better consistent performance tomorrow, and with the quick turnaround the subs will make a difference, so will test Horans decisions on the line which have been found wanting too many times in Croke park

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 10/06/2022 13:18:15    2423766

Good to see TG4 Youtube are showing the minor games.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 647 - 10/06/2022 13:46:09    2423772

I hope that Mayo team doesn't start
There is only Kevin Mc with a bit of experience on the bench.
If the game is tight in the last quarter we have no experienced forward to come on and kick a score

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 11/06/2022 07:25:39    2423853

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I hope that Mayo team doesn't start
If the game is tight in the last quarter we have no experienced forward to come on and kick a score"
I haven't seen or heard any mention of the bench... do you know who's on it? Heard Mark Moran is back fit and playing very well. Also heard a rumour that ROD could be on the bench or even in line to start... will believe that when I see it! Both of those lads would improve Mayo's forward choices immeasurably. Still think Kildare will be dangerous and also the conditions for good football mightn't be there weather-wise, so more likely to be a game of two halves than a shootout. If Mayo have a plan to keep long ball from getting to Kildare's inside line and prevent soft goals we'll be half way home. Plus our lads must stop butchering their own goal chances: Aidan last day nearly messed up the one that led to the penalty by giving the ball to a player (Orme I think) who couldn't shoot with Mullin and another Mayo player streaking in unmarked... Mullin was lucky to have any room for a shot by the time he got the ball from Orme since he was on top of the Kildare defenders and was pulling up. Bad option taking... one pass too many and that seems to happen often enough. If the right options are taken Mayo should get goal chances today and will need to convert at least 2 of these to win (imo).

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 11/06/2022 11:38:14    2423889

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I hope that Mayo team doesn't start
If the game is tight in the last quarter we have no experienced forward to come on and kick a score"
Agreed about the forwards, ROD and Tommy Conroy are huge losses, need a few to step up today. Really can't fathom how Darren Coen has been left out of the squad for the second game running, given several of the non-scoring forwards we are carrying; ditto Fergal Boland who is unlikely to see action though named in the squad.

Nonetheless, Maigh Eo abú.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 11/06/2022 14:01:38    2423914

Replying To Pericles:  "I haven't seen or heard any mention of the bench... do you know who's on it? Heard Mark Moran is back fit and playing very well. Also heard a rumour that ROD could be on the bench or even in line to start... will believe that when I see it! Both of those lads would improve Mayo's forward choices immeasurably. Still think Kildare will be dangerous and also the conditions for good football mightn't be there weather-wise, so more likely to be a game of two halves than a shootout. If Mayo have a plan to keep long ball from getting to Kildare's inside line and prevent soft goals we'll be half way home. Plus our lads must stop butchering their own goal chances: Aidan last day nearly messed up the one that led to the penalty by giving the ball to a player (Orme I think) who couldn't shoot with Mullin and another Mayo player streaking in unmarked... Mullin was lucky to have any room for a shot by the time he got the ball from Orme since he was on top of the Kildare defenders and was pulling up. Bad option taking... one pass too many and that seems to happen often enough. If the right options are taken Mayo should get goal chances today and will need to convert at least 2 of these to win (imo)."
Can't understand this fascination with Mark Moran

We have seen more of him on tictok than we have in a Mayo jersey.

Living off 1 good game against a very naive Galway team 2 years ago.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 11/06/2022 15:30:31    2423925

I think there's a bit of complacency about this game. Kildare will play to their strength and if their forward line, particularly Daniel Flynn, hit their heights we'll have a long evening. We need our forwards outside of Cillian contributing a lot more than last Saturday. Kildare defence won't sit deep like Monaghan, not their style, but a few analysts talking about Carrick game as a guide for tonight. I don't see it. No Daniel Flynn playing most of that day and we won't be watching Pádraig O'Hora stride the pitch unhindered to kick a lovely point. Kildare well used to Croke Park. I think we'll win, but we'll need to grind it out, probably doing it the hard way.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 11/06/2022 17:26:16    2423961

Whatever anyone might say about Mayo, year on year ye provide tremendous entertainment in the football championship.

Same again today. When Mayo travel the back door route the games are always worth watching. Brilliant late goal to seal it. Mayo have a bit of momentum now. Good luck to ye.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 11/06/2022 19:38:49    2424013

Lee Keegan is outrageous. That is all!

maximus02 (Longford) - Posts: 167 - 11/06/2022 19:54:39    2424019

Only Mayo can look poor for so long and then turn a 6 point beating into a win, always value for money great to see some balls on them.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 703 - 11/06/2022 20:10:39    2424029

Replying To slayer:  "Whatever anyone might say about Mayo, year on year ye provide tremendous entertainment in the football championship.

Same again today. When Mayo travel the back door route the games are always worth watching. Brilliant late goal to seal it. Mayo have a bit of momentum now. Good luck to ye."
Well Slayer, I attribute most of my hair loss less to genetics than following Mayo for the last 30 years! I'd like us to have a routine, boring win every now and again.

I honestly think the first good team we meet will beat us, for 50 minutes we made Kildare look like superstars.

Fair play to the Lillywhites, after the beating they took against Dublin, they really absorbed the lessons from the defeat and for 50 mins or so, adopted a really solid defensive structure. They cleaned us out at midfield for long spells and really fronted up, just lacked a bit of cuteness in attack.

I can't remember the last time our management team improved us so much from game to game.

A few lessons for us:

1. Oisín Mullin is not a fullback, but is a thoroughbred with a bit of green space in front of him.

2. Several of our better players (Cillian O'Connor, Paddy Durcan et al.) are clearly still lacking a bit of match sharpness.

3. The refusal to play some sort of sweeper system around our goal will cost us big time against one of the remaining sides. Please fix this, it's only been obvious since last September at the latest. Kildare showed today for most of the game that this is achievable.

4. Our forwards clearly still lack awareness of how to counter a mass defence. In the first half particularly, there was very little running off the shoulder and a lot of taking the ball either backwards or in static positions.

5. We probably need to sacrifice a workhorse forward at times for someone with shooting skills. Fergal Boland made a big difference when he came on today (one of the few times this year), as did Darren McHale. I can't fathom how Darren Coen isn't in the squad at least.

6. We cannot in the long-term continue to rely on Lee Keegan, superstar though he is, at 32 to keep bailing our forwards out.

7. Big Aido has been a great servant to Mayo football and continues to work like a horse, but he slows down our attacks greatly by taking a lot out of the ball. Someone needs to tell him either to stop going on solo runs or make way for Jordan Flynn.

8. The Ard-Chomhairle got their answer to the ridiculous scheduling for three western counties today. People know when they're being milked and sensibly stayed away; HQ should take note and take account of what is convenient for matchgoing fans.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 11/06/2022 20:12:21    2424032

Replying To Gleebo:  "Well Slayer, I attribute most of my hair loss less to genetics than following Mayo for the last 30 years! I'd like us to have a routine, boring win every now and again.

I honestly think the first good team we meet will beat us, for 50 minutes we made Kildare look like superstars.

Fair play to the Lillywhites, after the beating they took against Dublin, they really absorbed the lessons from the defeat and for 50 mins or so, adopted a really solid defensive structure. They cleaned us out at midfield for long spells and really fronted up, just lacked a bit of cuteness in attack.

I can't remember the last time our management team improved us so much from game to game.

A few lessons for us:

1. Oisín Mullin is not a fullback, but is a thoroughbred with a bit of green space in front of him.

2. Several of our better players (Cillian O'Connor, Paddy Durcan et al.) are clearly still lacking a bit of match sharpness.

3. The refusal to play some sort of sweeper system around our goal will cost us big time against one of the remaining sides. Please fix this, it's only been obvious since last September at the latest. Kildare showed today for most of the game that this is achievable.

4. Our forwards clearly still lack awareness of how to counter a mass defence. In the first half particularly, there was very little running off the shoulder and a lot of taking the ball either backwards or in static positions.

5. We probably need to sacrifice a workhorse forward at times for someone with shooting skills. Fergal Boland made a big difference when he came on today (one of the few times this year), as did Darren McHale. I can't fathom how Darren Coen isn't in the squad at least.

6. We cannot in the long-term continue to rely on Lee Keegan, superstar though he is, at 32 to keep bailing our forwards out.

7. Big Aido has been a great servant to Mayo football and continues to work like a horse, but he slows down our attacks greatly by taking a lot out of the ball. Someone needs to tell him either to stop going on solo runs or make way for Jordan Flynn.

8. The Ard-Chomhairle got their answer to the ridiculous scheduling for three western counties today. People know when they're being milked and sensibly stayed away; HQ should take note and take account of what is convenient for matchgoing fans."
If Mayo would select their best team, they would be some force. O Hora has to start, he may be a bit slow to warm up but a great warrior, Mullen has to go to CHB at least. O Shea and Coen have to be impact subs in second half, neither has the pace for a full game from start. Forward line will improve if R O D is back, both Boland and McHale are better than some of starting forwards today. Some of Mayo forwards have been given numerous chance and have never performed up to standard so no point in giving them more game time. Management have to select best team and make quick changes when needed. No more politics in Mayo football or we will never win Sam.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 11/06/2022 20:39:51    2424048

Congratulations Mayo. You guys never give up. Fair play. Hard luck Kildare.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 11/06/2022 20:53:48    2424054

Replying To jacktheboy:  "If Mayo would select their best team, they would be some force. O Hora has to start, he may be a bit slow to warm up but a great warrior, Mullen has to go to CHB at least. O Shea and Coen have to be impact subs in second half, neither has the pace for a full game from start. Forward line will improve if R O D is back, both Boland and McHale are better than some of starting forwards today. Some of Mayo forwards have been given numerous chance and have never performed up to standard so no point in giving them more game time. Management have to select best team and make quick changes when needed. No more politics in Mayo football or we will never win Sam."
We? - I thought you were a Donegal man

Anyway

I thought Mayo tried to protect their full back line in the first half which held the defenders in position- which took away our best feature

Once the defenders started to power forward they punched holes which g gave the forwards space and ultimately got the goal.

Mullin is clearly not a full back and is hopeless under a high ball. He should be out at halfback

O hora should be full back at least he will break a dropping ball.

I can't understand why we put a big man in full forward and then refused to kick it in to him. It would be better than taking pot shots and kicking them wide.

O Shea is slowing down the play too much and letting the opposition get back which makes it harder to score again. He simply refuses to kick the ball forward and will never try to kick a point ever again by the looks of it. Best left on the bench to be brought on when the game needs to be controlled. He is just not a man for injecting pace into a game.

Matty Ruane, KOC, Doherty, Carr are really out of form. They need to find it soon.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 11/06/2022 20:58:05    2424060

Mayo will improve, tougher the draw the next day the better, Dublin would be a great draw.

MeAlone (Galway) - Posts: 70 - 11/06/2022 20:59:33    2424061

Replying To MeAlone:  "Mayo will improve, tougher the draw the next day the better, Dublin would be a great draw."
Why would Dublin be great draw, ?? Christ ..
They would be frawthing at the mouth to play Mayo , given last years semi and the recent league defeat..
Derry the obvious candidates as they lack experience playing at HQ and playing southern opponents at this stage of the championship..

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 11/06/2022 21:15:34    2424068