Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To Pericles:  "Looks like I got them all wrong:)

Kerry will be as pleased to have drawn Mayo as Mayo would be to draw Kerry minus Clifford and O'Shea. They'll be raging hot favorites to repeat the comfortable league final outcome and it should bring them nicely into the semi-final at the right pitch to take on the Dubs, who surely will ease their way past Cork.

Not sure Galway will be that pleased... of the 3 choices they could have got they drew the toughest and it could be a Connacht-less semi-final line-up (this is already what the pundits are expecting).

Saw SG last night. We seem to be living rent-free in Pat Spillane's head! Last team who bothered him that much was Tyrone during the noughties, so you wouldn't be taking this latest obsession as a negative.

JH and the lads will need to work out how to beat Kerry in just 20 mins, as this seems to be our standard level of cohesive performance for 2022:("
Ah look, Pat is almost having a conversation with himself at this point. I don't know any Mayo fan who thinks we have a realistic chance of winning the All-Ireland this year, minus Tommy Conroy, Ryan O'Donoghue and whoever's next to pick up an injury.

We are big underdogs for this game given the league final, so hopefully we can get a few of the dogs of war back and give Kerry a rattle.

I do think we are inviting trouble if we repeat the league experiment of allowing David Clifford to go one-on-one with whoever is marking him, though.

The one positive from the last day was in the second half, we actually tagged four or five points from narrow angles, the sorts of scores we haven't been getting regularly in recent seasons. Hopefully Horan grabs the bull by the horns the next day and selects a few shooting forwards to start, rather than some of the workhorse types who contribute very little from play.

If he's anywhere near fit, I would start Jordan Flynn (one of the few bright spots in our NFL final loss to Kerry, til he got taken out) and spring Aido from the bench later.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/06/2022 10:08:47    2424476

yes, the Connacht teams are expected to crash out.
Hope ye pull a fast one against the Kingdom

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 13/06/2022 10:42:48    2424499

Replying To Gleebo:  "Ah look, Pat is almost having a conversation with himself at this point. I don't know any Mayo fan who thinks we have a realistic chance of winning the All-Ireland this year, minus Tommy Conroy, Ryan O'Donoghue and whoever's next to pick up an injury.

We are big underdogs for this game given the league final, so hopefully we can get a few of the dogs of war back and give Kerry a rattle.

I do think we are inviting trouble if we repeat the league experiment of allowing David Clifford to go one-on-one with whoever is marking him, though.

The one positive from the last day was in the second half, we actually tagged four or five points from narrow angles, the sorts of scores we haven't been getting regularly in recent seasons. Hopefully Horan grabs the bull by the horns the next day and selects a few shooting forwards to start, rather than some of the workhorse types who contribute very little from play.

If he's anywhere near fit, I would start Jordan Flynn (one of the few bright spots in our NFL final loss to Kerry, til he got taken out) and spring Aido from the bench later."
We're on the same wavelength regarding Aidan, Gleebo. Not only is it better for the team having a more mobile player for the first half, but when Aidan comes in he has the benefit of seeing how to be most effective. This worked well for the league but then the injuries removed options. If JF is good enough to do a shift from the start, then Aidan would be ready to come in and potentially negate David Moran, who Kerry are likely to hold in reserve to likewise benefit from a looser phase of the game. If Aidan is able to curb Moran's fielding and foot passing into the Kerry forwards that'd be a very valuable contribution.

I've no doubt Jack O'Connor, who's the master of trying the obvious, will be eyeing the Mayo FB line and thinking some route 1 deliveries will be worth a go. With Clifford in there they'll only need to get the run of the ball once or twice. We'll need an effective sweeper. Not sure who with options available, but one who doesn't stray too far from the porch. In the league final we didn't have the legs to go man for man. Whether JH believes we should be able for that tactically in a fortnight's time is what will dictate the cover at the back. We know Kerry won't be going man for man at the back with Paddy Tally conducting the case for their defense.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/06/2022 13:47:04    2424644

Replying To Pericles:  "We're on the same wavelength regarding Aidan, Gleebo. Not only is it better for the team having a more mobile player for the first half, but when Aidan comes in he has the benefit of seeing how to be most effective. This worked well for the league but then the injuries removed options. If JF is good enough to do a shift from the start, then Aidan would be ready to come in and potentially negate David Moran, who Kerry are likely to hold in reserve to likewise benefit from a looser phase of the game. If Aidan is able to curb Moran's fielding and foot passing into the Kerry forwards that'd be a very valuable contribution.

I've no doubt Jack O'Connor, who's the master of trying the obvious, will be eyeing the Mayo FB line and thinking some route 1 deliveries will be worth a go. With Clifford in there they'll only need to get the run of the ball once or twice. We'll need an effective sweeper. Not sure who with options available, but one who doesn't stray too far from the porch. In the league final we didn't have the legs to go man for man. Whether JH believes we should be able for that tactically in a fortnight's time is what will dictate the cover at the back. We know Kerry won't be going man for man at the back with Paddy Tally conducting the case for their defense."
Yeah, would agree with you about the likelihood of a few scud missiles going into our backline, even without a Donaghy-type in their team. This is where we'll miss Brendan Harrison, as I think he would have been able to compete with Clifford in the air, in his absence we have the diminutive P. O'Hora, Lee Keegan etc. Oisín Mullin could probably match him for stride but you're robbing Peter to pay Paul, we need him driving further out the field. Plus he has a tendency to get caught on the wrong side of high balls. Geaney is a big man too, come to think of it.

Kildare got a bit of joy out of some high balls into Daniel Flynn against us, too. James Carr took one good mark on our side, but then he shanked the free wide, which kinda took the gloss off of it. We kinda seemed to shy away from that afterwards.

I don't think we'll get stuffed by 15 points on this occasion, as we have the likes of Hennelly, COC, Durcan, DOC and maybe even Ryan O'Donoghue back, if we are lucky. But it's also very hard to make a case for us winning based on the trajectory of the season, between lads still coming back from injury, missing players, a wide open defensive structure and a general lack of form.

My feeling is that we need to adopt a structure to stay in the game, if we tackle like demons and are within a score or two going down the stretch then we have a chance. As you say, Kerry also get a lot of men back behind the ball now, so it's not like last year where Tyrone ghosted through their defence with hardly a hand laid on them.

Let Kerry build up a six point lead like Kildare did and we may as well start planning for the club championship there and then.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/06/2022 14:31:48    2424682

Has Jack O Connor ever lost to Mayo as a Kerry manager in championship?
Has James Horan ever beat Kerry in championship?

It's time for a change of fortune I think.
However, Kerry have always gone after Mayo's lack of a commanding full back - they only time that failed was in 2011 when Mayo started with a sweeper.

So Mayo have to start a sweeper and it has to be a guy who will push up when required if we are struggling for scores. We know Kerry will be playing a deep 6 and holding a midfielder and wing back in a defensive position while one wingback bombs forward. They will then drop all bar the two Clifford's back if Mayo are slow to attack.

For me Mayo have to start as follows
Hennelly

1 Robert Hennelly
2 Lee Keegan (on Killian Spillane)
3 Oisín Mullin (on David Clifford)
4 Enda Hession (on Paul Geaney)
5 Patrick Durcan (on Stephen O brien)
6 Stephen Coen (Sweeper)
7 Padraic O hora (On Sean O Shea)
8 Jordan Flynn (on Diarmaid O Connor)
9 Matthew Ruane ( On Jack Barry)
10 Eoghan McLoughlin (on Paudie Clifford)
11 Conor Loftus (centre Forward)
12. Diarmaid O Connor (deep lying half forward)
13 Fergal Boland (playing on edge of the D)
15 Cillian O'Connor (roving across the 21)
14 Aiden O Shea (On edge of the square)

My Subs would be:
1. Doherty (ff at half time) releasing O Shea to centre field for when Moran comes on)
2 Darren McHale (Knockmore) (44) in for Boland who will be gassed by then
3. Ryan O Donoghue - if fit (50) for Diarmuid O Connor - who will also be gassed by then
4. Jack Carney (55) into ff if we have to abandon the sweepe
5. kevin McLoughlin (58) to let it in to him
6. Rory Brickendon (60) in for Coen to keep the back door closed

Kerry: will line out with
Shane Ryan;
Graham O'Sullivan (man marker)
Jason Foley (man marker)
Tom O'Sullivan (attacking CB if other team pulls a corner forward)
Brian Ó Beaglaoich (defensive halfback)
Tadg Morley (sweeper)
Gavin White (attacking HB)
Diarmuid O'Connor (attacking Midfielder)
Jack Barry (defensive Midfielder)
Paudie Clifford (roving attacking half forward)
Seán O'Shea (deep lying centre forward)
Stephen O'Brien (defensive Halfforward)
Paul Geaney (goal hanger),
David Clifford (target man)
Killian Spillane (roving corner forward)

Subs:
Tony Brosnan (40min) - more legs in half forward line
Adrian Spillane (45min) - as per brosnan ,
Moran for O'Connor (50 mins); some game management skills
Micheál Burns (55 minis); - more legs in half forward
Paul Murphy for Morley (60 min); legs in halfback line
Gavin Crowley (65min) legs in halfbackline

Kerry have a better starting team, better bench and more consistent game plan
The big unknown will be what Kerry will do if Mayo can turn the game a bit nuts (2014 drawn semi, 2017 replay), 2019 Kerry v Dublin drawn match, Kerry v Tyrone semi in 2021

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 13/06/2022 14:50:38    2424699

If we play Kerry concentrating on stopping them, sitting deep, getting the 'matchups' right, we'll be sunk after 50 minutes. Kerry have too many threats to waste our energy trying to plug the gaps we need to hit the scoreboard. We need to be on the front foot more, testing the untested Kerry defence be it from backs, midfielders, forwards, marks, freekicks and creativity with breaking up Kerry's momentum with plenty of physicality. Bar beating Dublin in the league we haven't been convincingly good this year, no settled 15. Kerry have been hot favourites to lift the Sam since Jack O'Connor abandanoned Kildare. This squad should be relishing this game. Time to put up or shut up.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 13/06/2022 15:37:02    2424720

1. Rob Hennelly - Kickouts were good again, but needs to improve the long range frees, it will be a great advantage to have him hitting frees from the 45 or even out further.
2. Lee Keegan - what a player, the point with the outside of the left foot..
3. Oisín Mullin - Defensively middling, attacking brilliant. Gets caught out with high balls bit easily, be great to get someone else into full back and move him to half back line or midfield.
4. Enda Hession - great game, picked up alot of ball and drove on well
5. Paddy Durcan - good game, kicking is still rusty, that game will bring him on another bit
6. Stephen Coen © - Still a weak link, does well for Kickouts but space of croke park does not suit him
7. Eoghan McLaughlin - Great engine and pace, shoudl pace at one stage when he was able to catch up to Dan Flynn which not many can do..got caught with few bad passes and his soloing technique makes it bit easier to disposes him and needs to start finishing the goal chances. reminds me a bit of Jack McCaffery but just not with the finishing of moves,
8. Aidan O'Shea - Tried hard but Croke Park does not suit him, hard to know should he start the next day, he could offer more as an impact sub
9. Matthew Ruane - Gone off the boil a bit, set high standards last year and just not there yet.
10. Diarmuid O'Connor - Great game, was everywhere and got a good score
11. Jason Doherty - Never got going, think his starting days are over, impact sub will suit him more
12. Conor Loftus - worked hard, gave away few cheap balls, got a good score, hard to know about him tho..
13. James Carr - Disappointing, needs to do more and give more energy, his body language always looks tired or puffed, and I dont think in the corner suits him, he needs to be running from the 45 into goal.
14. Jack Carney - Decent game again, did some good things and drifted in and out of the game. Got a good score off the left but missed ones he should have got on his good foot
15. Cillian O'Connor - Never stops trying, be great if all the forwards had his workrate, like Durcan, hes still not up to his usual self and hopefully will improve again with another game under the belt but will struggle with the lack of pace

Boland came on hit 2 great scores, missed a bad one at the start of the second half but did well.
McHale, Flynn, O Hora gave a good boost of energy and pace which was great to see coming from the bench.

Kildare are sickened and will be for a while after letting that game slip away from them, put in huge effort. workrate and physicality seemed to catch Mayo lads by surprise. Not good that Mayos best player was probably the Kildare goalkeeper, he kept them in it and then helped him pull away. Why didnt he slow things down and go long when you could see the Kildare players were tired. And why didnt Kildare use Dan Flynn more, could be best full forward in the country and they barley used him, he could win any sort of ball into him.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 13/06/2022 15:56:26    2424726

I've more faith in the Mayo players figuring a way to beat Kerry than Horan, but they will have to suffer 1st before reacting to it.

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 13/06/2022 16:07:20    2424731

Replying To Vish:  "I've more faith in the Mayo players figuring a way to beat Kerry than Horan, but they will have to suffer 1st before reacting to it."
I'd agree
Mayo always better when coming from behind and just have to go for it.
If Hiram gets tactics right at the start (which he has done v Dublin) he then refuses to change when the other team changes it up. Resulting in an inevitable defeat at the end.

Best chance Mayo have is to play defensive for 35mins - don't concede a goal - be 4 points down and then come out all guns blazing and win by 3

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 13/06/2022 16:44:24    2424756

Replying To Vish:  "I've more faith in the Mayo players figuring a way to beat Kerry than Horan, but they will have to suffer 1st before reacting to it."
You've just figured out the Mayo system of play Vish!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/06/2022 17:38:42    2424774

Mayo wil be underdogs against Kerry and rightly so, nobody will give them a chance and rightly so, but in that case they come out and win.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 13/06/2022 19:53:45    2424813

Replying To Pericles:  "You've just figured out the Mayo system of play Vish!"
Possession based "handball " just isn't suited for this squad, and I have a gut feeling a sizeable amount of players have lost faith in Horan's methods.
It's like "Ok boss ,we will follow your orders....but if it goes belly up with 20 to go, then we're taking over ;)

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 13/06/2022 20:12:18    2424820

We are like a punch drunk boxer waiting for the killer blow…if we had a fully fit squad especially Tommy and Ryan and we're playing reasonably well I would be confident of taking out a Kerry team that can be got at in my opinion. But our form since the league final humiliation is shocking. Playing for 15mins won't cut it the next day…we will be on the road home after 20mins if that happens again.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 14/06/2022 08:28:47    2424848

Tickets will be on sale on Ticketmaster at 10:00 today.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 14/06/2022 09:06:00    2424857

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Mayo wil be underdogs against Kerry and rightly so, nobody will give them a chance and rightly so, but in that case they come out and win."
Mayo will be heading home after 20 minutes. Will bottle it again like usual

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 14/06/2022 10:17:06    2424882

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I hope that Mayo team doesn't start
There is only Kevin Mc with a bit of experience on the bench.
If the game is tight in the last quarter we have no experienced forward to come on and kick a score"
I wouldn't invest too much time or energy in worrying about what to do if the game is tight in the last quarter.
Bit like Stephen Kenny worrying about ticket allocation for the World Cup Final.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 341 - 14/06/2022 13:56:54    2424945

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Did you notice it was a Galwayman who said that.

Galway wouldn't fancy having to face Mayo in the q finals - they would be happier have Mayo in with Kerry and Dublin on that side of the draw"
If ye beat Galway ye wouldn't be facing Kerry now, would ye.
But ye didn't just like ye haven't won an All Ireland since the 50's.
Bring the rosary beads and the Padre Pio relic with you to Croke Park.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 341 - 14/06/2022 14:05:40    2424950

Replying To StopTheLights:  "I wouldn't invest too much time or energy in worrying about what to do if the game is tight in the last quarter.
Bit like Stephen Kenny worrying about ticket allocation for the World Cup Final."
In fairness to Stephen Kenny he actually manages a football team and doesn't sit in his bedroom with a keyboard thinking he has a clue about anything.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 14/06/2022 14:41:18    2424962

Ignore the trolls lads, the obsession with Mayo is very unhealthy amongst certain counties on the Western seaboard.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 14/06/2022 14:50:45    2424965

Replying To Gleebo:  "Ignore the trolls lads, the obsession with Mayo is very unhealthy amongst certain counties on the Western seaboard."
Thats a bit of a generalisation and i agree supported by a few of the most recent posts. Most Galway people want and hope Mayo to get success ( except when they play Galway). Mayo are brilliant to watch and always entertaining. Best of luck v kerry. A tough ask , but not beyond ye . Would be a great sunday in CP if both connacht teams could get through.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 14/06/2022 15:46:15    2424983