Mayo GAA Thread

Surprised no do started a thread so here is goes. Any of my fellow Mayo posters at the game today? Eoghan MacLouglain another massive loss. Good win away in Clones.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 06/02/2022 19:04:29    2398655

Replying To yew_tree:  "Surprised no do started a thread so here is goes. Any of my fellow Mayo posters at the game today? Eoghan MacLouglain another massive loss. Good win away in Clones."
A good open game of football in good conditions and both scoreboards working! We were much better than the first half last week, not difficult, but we still gave Monaghan too many chances. Ryan O'Donoghue was class again, he'll never quit, miss one, miss two, get the third, go again. Brilliant. I don't like the keep ball at the end, too cautious, but it's two points in a tough place to go to, three out of four points. Still the first week of February, hopefully plenty more games in 2022. My first time in Clones, the home of Ulster football. Hopefully some day I'll get to an Ulster championship game.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 06/02/2022 20:05:02    2398698

A lot like last year, when Cillian got injured, Mayo chances of winning an All Ireland were gone. This year its Tommy Conroy that's gone and I think our chances of wining are gone with him also.
Eoin McLouglin could be out for a while, he would be a loss but we have other defenders and runners but we don't have a replacement for Conroy. With them 2 lads out, thats alot of speed gone from the team which is now crucial to have these days.
Great to see Harrison and Doherty back and both going well.
M. Plunkett and B. Walsh both not good enough.
Great win away to Monaghan, should give them a good boost.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 07/02/2022 09:13:15    2398787

Agree with M. Plunkett and B. Walsh. Diarmuid O Connor I thought deserved a "rest" on the bench but actually appeared to play very well yesterday.

I also agree the pace and skill of Conory will be severely missed this year. I can't remember a year where we have not had injuries to key players. That's football though.

Three points from four is solid enough going. Ryan I D flying it. Cillain still a fair bit away from making a return I'm told.

Dubs in Croker in 2 weeks up next. It will be a tough game against a team with a point to prove.

Also congrats to Kilmeena. All Ireland junior champions. They were much too he better team against Kerry opposition but as in typical Mayo fashion made hard work of it. Well done to them.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 07/02/2022 14:15:02    2398938

Going by the amount of posts on this thread , I'm guessing Mayo fans are still hungover from last years final,
Its Eerily quite this year.
Mullins decision to stay had offered a bit of optimism ,but Conroy's injury has knocked the stuffing out of the fans
who were slowly getting back on the wagon again.
Not sure anyone give 2 hoots about Connacht at this stage, with the main target been solely the "all or nothing" All Ireland Title.
When Tommy Conroy injury news broke, I got the exact same sinking feeling after C o Connor went down v Clare last season..

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 10/02/2022 16:58:27    2399703

A bit of advice for James Horan, Lee Keegan still the best half back in Ireland, play him there, if you need someone for the full back line find someone not Keegan.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 405 - 10/02/2022 17:34:14    2399711

Replying To Vish:  "Going by the amount of posts on this thread , I'm guessing Mayo fans are still hungover from last years final,
Its Eerily quite this year.
Mullins decision to stay had offered a bit of optimism ,but Conroy's injury has knocked the stuffing out of the fans
who were slowly getting back on the wagon again.
Not sure anyone give 2 hoots about Connacht at this stage, with the main target been solely the "all or nothing" All Ireland Title.
When Tommy Conroy injury news broke, I got the exact same sinking feeling after C o Connor went down v Clare last season.."
Tommy is a massive loss. It's a horrible injury and hopefully he can come back stronger. Every team though suffers injury but we always seem to have a key man out every year or two for one reason or another.

Jason Doherty has been very impressive since his return to injury. We also have Ruane, Hession, Mullin and Cillian to come back so plenty of options and competition for places.

As for Mayo supporters, Hard to judge the mood but definitely last years final knocked the stuffing out of a lot of people. That's said there was 9,000 in Sligo for the first league game, the vast majority of them Mayo fans. I think we will still see a big support base this year but I think many are wondering if they will ever see an all Ireland.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 11/02/2022 12:51:03    2399788

Replying To jacktheboy:  "A bit of advice for James Horan, Lee Keegan still the best half back in Ireland, play him there, if you need someone for the full back line find someone not Keegan."
I have always thought the same, but maybe he hasn't the legs for half back line anymore and being in the full back line he can pick when he makes the burst forward.
He isn't a inside man marker either which he has been wasted as for last few years, and maybe now if Harrison can get back full fitness and O Hora, then them 2 can hold the fort and release Keegan to attack more.
Half back line of Durcan, Mullen, McLoughlin isn't to bad, Hession is there to fill in or start in full back line also.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 11/02/2022 13:12:24    2399792

Replying To yew_tree:  "Tommy is a massive loss. It's a horrible injury and hopefully he can come back stronger. Every team though suffers injury but we always seem to have a key man out every year or two for one reason or another.

Jason Doherty has been very impressive since his return to injury. We also have Ruane, Hession, Mullin and Cillian to come back so plenty of options and competition for places.

As for Mayo supporters, Hard to judge the mood but definitely last years final knocked the stuffing out of a lot of people. That's said there was 9,000 in Sligo for the first league game, the vast majority of them Mayo fans. I think we will still see a big support base this year but I think many are wondering if they will ever see an all Ireland."
As long as Mayo are competitive, people will come out and support in big numbers. I can't see Mayo not being competitive either.
What's the alternative anyway? As bad as we've been at times over the past few decades, I'll always need my fix of Galway football. I was lucky enough to be at a couple of All-Ireland wins, but I know as well that another 2 decades could easily go by without us winning another.
There's always hope and it's the looking forward that's a big part of the enjoyment.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2040 - 11/02/2022 14:03:55    2399811

Replying To WanPintWin:  "As long as Mayo are competitive, people will come out and support in big numbers. I can't see Mayo not being competitive either.
What's the alternative anyway? As bad as we've been at times over the past few decades, I'll always need my fix of Galway football. I was lucky enough to be at a couple of All-Ireland wins, but I know as well that another 2 decades could easily go by without us winning another.
There's always hope and it's the looking forward that's a big part of the enjoyment."
It seems weird that we will play ye in the Connacht Championship in April. The venue could be McHale Park, Hyde Park, Pearse Stadium or Croke Park!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 11/02/2022 16:13:04    2399851

Replying To yew_tree:  "Tommy is a massive loss. It's a horrible injury and hopefully he can come back stronger. Every team though suffers injury but we always seem to have a key man out every year or two for one reason or another.

As for Mayo supporters, Hard to judge the mood but definitely last years final knocked the stuffing out of a lot of people. That's said there was 9,000 in Sligo for the first league game, the vast majority of them Mayo fans. I think we will still see a big support base this year but I think many are wondering if they will ever see an all Ireland."
Massive loss. Savage footballer. Still think ye will win an all Ireland this year. Never seen a more resilient team

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1055 - 13/02/2022 09:53:49    2400037

Bad day for St Colmans yesterday. Never really got going. Goals killed them and in fairness there was only one team in it in the 2nd half.

Dublin next up for us in Croke Park on Saturday evening. An interesting hame. Dublin need the win while we can go there without any pressure. I'd be interested to see how the new lads fair in Croker.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 13/02/2022 10:22:15    2400046

1 Rob Hennelly - playing well lately
2. Lee Keegan - still big threat going forward
3. Rory Brickenden - needs a run of games to see if hes up to ii
4. Michael Plunkett - dont think hes good enough fo inter county
5. Oisín Mullin - good to see back and hopefully plays in the half back line
6. Stephen Coen © - bad start to captaincy, was one of our better players last year but is limited
7. Donnacha McHugh - seems good player so far
8. Matthew Ruane - good to see back
9. Jordan Flynn - not sure hes good enough, but is committed and brings physicality
10. Bryan Walsh - again dont thinks hes good enough for inter county
11. Diarmuid O'Connor - still not firing, hopefully plays into form
12. Jack Carney - good to see in, hoprfully gets a run of games to see what he is like
13. Paul Towey - decent, maybe bit small for intercounty
14. Ryan O'Donoghue - going well, hopefully gets another goal or 2
15. Aiden Orme - decent player, skillful, needs few scores to get the confidence going

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 18/02/2022 10:43:59    2400951

Looking at the Mayo starting 15 picked for Sunday you'd wonder if there's some sort of tacit understanding that the Dubs are going to continue to try their new players enabling Mayo to go well out on a limb with a similarly experimental selection? Was listening to Newstalk earlier and the sports news guy highlighted who's back in for Mayo but not the key players gone from the 26. If the Dubs do show up with a stronger hand than their previous games I can't see it being anything but a fairly facile win for them (that's if Mayo play the published team). If they both throw on the 5 or 6 newbies it's harder to predict. Interesting to see what Dessie and co decide having seen Mayo's adventurous selection first. Could be mind games by James and co to see if Dessie is willing to stick to his guns and stand by the newbies when a result has become a bit more critical for the Dubs? Wouldn't be surprised if the Dubs do like Monaghan last week and hold off publishing any team until just before throw-in.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 18/02/2022 11:43:54    2400963

Replying To tommy132:  "1 Rob Hennelly - playing well lately
2. Lee Keegan - still big threat going forward
3. Rory Brickenden - needs a run of games to see if hes up to ii
4. Michael Plunkett - dont think hes good enough fo inter county
5. Oisín Mullin - good to see back and hopefully plays in the half back line
6. Stephen Coen © - bad start to captaincy, was one of our better players last year but is limited
7. Donnacha McHugh - seems good player so far
8. Matthew Ruane - good to see back
9. Jordan Flynn - not sure hes good enough, but is committed and brings physicality
10. Bryan Walsh - again dont thinks hes good enough for inter county
11. Diarmuid O'Connor - still not firing, hopefully plays into form
12. Jack Carney - good to see in, hoprfully gets a run of games to see what he is like
13. Paul Towey - decent, maybe bit small for intercounty
14. Ryan O'Donoghue - going well, hopefully gets another goal or 2
15. Aiden Orme - decent player, skillful, needs few scores to get the confidence going"
Harsh on diarmuid O'Connor. Was excellent against Monaghan and played well vs Donegal. People seem to judge him by different standards to others. Still a guaranteed starter.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 18/02/2022 11:56:38    2400968

Replying To MayoDan:  "Harsh on diarmuid O'Connor. Was excellent against Monaghan and played well vs Donegal. People seem to judge him by different standards to others. Still a guaranteed starter."
Based on 2021 form and before there are just 7 starters in that team. The other 8 range from unproven to complete rookies at this level. Would be great to see a couple of them undroppable going into the summer (or late spring or whatever it is) but you'd wonder if throwing such a load of them in at the same time will give them a fair chance? It might be hard to shine in a team where so many around you are also a bit at sea. Look at the Dubs this year.... it's tough to get so many players to gel all at once.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 18/02/2022 17:13:16    2401011

Replying To Pericles:  "Based on 2021 form and before there are just 7 starters in that team. The other 8 range from unproven to complete rookies at this level. Would be great to see a couple of them undroppable going into the summer (or late spring or whatever it is) but you'd wonder if throwing such a load of them in at the same time will give them a fair chance? It might be hard to shine in a team where so many around you are also a bit at sea. Look at the Dubs this year.... it's tough to get so many players to gel all at once."
Turns out it's easy to get lads to gel if you spread out the play and pass them the ball in space.

Also helps that Dublin have no man markers and can't hit a barn door with a shovel anymore.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 20/02/2022 07:48:43    2401181

Congrats on the win gents, fully deserved, id say you'l never get tired beating us and might going on for a few fixtures yet!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/02/2022 12:52:33    2401259

JH's gamble on playing some of the young guns worked out last night, particularly Orme and Jack Carney. We had the luxury of Ryan O'D having a quiet game but still were comfortable enough in the end (it probably would have been a few more but for a very borderline decision on a pickup prior to Matthew Ruane's disallowed goal).

Must also say that I have been a huge critic of Rob Hennelly in the past but he is in excellent form so far in the league. One brilliant point blank save, good from the kickouts (probably one of the stronger parts of his game) and two points from deadballs. I don't know if he's altered his approach to the 45s, but it feels as if he is a lot more accurate now than in previous years.

Very pleasing to see Horan trying to develop a more direct footpassing game, as the running game has become a bit predictable in recent years and leaves us very exposed at the back, something Tyrone exploited brilliantly last September.

Hopefully the senior players to come back will give us the impetus to push for a league final berth and to build from there.

The Dubs look a pale shadow of what they were, and given the amount of All-Ireland winners they have round the place, it's hard not to think that there's some disharmony in the camp there. Unlike previously, they also seem to lack a bit of pace up front, and if I were Dessie I'd be straight on the blower to Paul Mannion to try to solve that problem.

They need three wins from the final four, minimum, if they want to avoid the trap door, and away fixtures to Kildare, Tyrone and Monaghan makes it a tough ask, going on form.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 20/02/2022 13:38:11    2401272

Replying To TheUsername:  "Congrats on the win gents, fully deserved, id say you'l never get tired beating us and might going on for a few fixtures yet!"
Only the league. At this stage Mayo are judged on winning championships which we have failed so far. Interesting year ahead. I think Sam is up for grabs and a few counties will be in the mix.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 20/02/2022 14:21:27    2401283