Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To yew_tree:  "Only the league. At this stage Mayo are judged on winning championships which we have failed so far. Interesting year ahead. I think Sam is up for grabs and a few counties will be in the mix."
To be honest, if i was to call it, i think its between yourselves and Tyrone again, we'l be competitive (hopefully) and so will Kerry, i think both Dublin and Kerry have the players, but perhaps not the pace, power or presence or pragmatism beyond, they once had. That said Dublin and Kerry or on the same side of the draw so likely one of the two will be in the final and we both have a leg up with the more straight forward provinces as well (hopefully because we are work in progress so i wouldn't be surprised to be taken out in Leinster).

But i think the team with the most pace, power, players, athleticism and know how to see games out pragmatically will win it again for a couple of years and i think thats right down yer street, fancy either your goodsevles or Tyrone, Tyrone could struggle to do a back to back - its not handy - haven't seen much of Donegal to be fair, very impressed with Armagh in Croker mind a couple of weeks ago - so they are a bit of a wildcard.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/02/2022 14:40:11    2401296

It will take some team to stop mayo this year

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 20/02/2022 18:13:04    2401368

Replying To brisbane:  "It will take some team to stop mayo this year"
Unless they beat themselves, that has happened before. snatching defeat from the jaws of victory.
This young Mayo team are looking good though, trouble is now that Dublin are on the slide for however long, Kerry and Tyrone etc are moving up the gears, this could be one of the best All Ireland contests in years, a lot of teams in with a real chance now that Dublin have come back to the pack.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 20/02/2022 19:54:38    2401427

In every year since 2012 (with the excel of 2018), the team that knocked out Mayo won the all ireland. In 3 of those years Galway beat Mayo but didn't get within an asses roar of an all ireland. Galways all ireland will be played long before the actual one

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 20/02/2022 20:56:47    2401452

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "In every year since 2012 (with the excel of 2018), the team that knocked out Mayo won the all ireland. In 3 of those years Galway beat Mayo but didn't get within an asses roar of an all ireland. Galways all ireland will be played long before the actual one"
Never mind since 2012, we haven't gotten within an ass's roar in 20 years. 2018 was our best year in that time, beating Mayo and Kerry and making the semi final. Dublin ran out comfortable winners in that match in the end.
We have a long way to go to compete at the highest level. We'll find out where we are in a few months.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2040 - 21/02/2022 08:07:58    2401481

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "In every year since 2012 (with the excel of 2018), the team that knocked out Mayo won the all ireland. In 3 of those years Galway beat Mayo but didn't get within an asses roar of an all ireland. Galways all ireland will be played long before the actual one"
Tbh I did not think my fellow County poster was wumming. I think he stated a clear fact and going by various news feeds most are of the view that ye are getting better. We are churning out serious underage but imo issues with gaa structures in Galway plus lack of resource in transitioning to senior football is hindering the overall effort. Some of the new lads Horan is successfully bringing into the fold would have been outshone at underage by some of the new Galway seniors yet seem more at home playing senior football. Granted underage is no silver bullet but you should get my drift.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 21/02/2022 09:16:41    2401489

Replying To kiloughter:  "Tbh I did not think my fellow County poster was wumming. I think he stated a clear fact and going by various news feeds most are of the view that ye are getting better. We are churning out serious underage but imo issues with gaa structures in Galway plus lack of resource in transitioning to senior football is hindering the overall effort. Some of the new lads Horan is successfully bringing into the fold would have been outshone at underage by some of the new Galway seniors yet seem more at home playing senior football. Granted underage is no silver bullet but you should get my drift."
I think year on year the gap between commitment for underage County or colleges football is widening. Were Tyrone in the 2000s the last county to bring a big crop of successful Minor and U21s onto to senior success? Senior intercounty at any level is a huge commitment now compared to 20 or 30 years ago,especially when players are working full time. They live like hermits during the season, god bless their commitment. I wonder are any counties trying to encourage full-time students to study online so they're more flexible with their time and might get more downtime?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 21/02/2022 10:38:39    2401515

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Turns out it's easy to get lads to gel if you spread out the play and pass them the ball in space.

Also helps that Dublin have no man markers and can't hit a barn door with a shovel anymore."
Agree with you there tirawley. The fact that the Dubs continued to stick with the project of finding new players helped our cause. Our defensive structure was very good considering the new faces, but the Dubs were as open as we've often been in the past. The team to play Armagh should be interesting... same again or draft in a bit more experience?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 21/02/2022 13:05:45    2401578

They've been stopped every year in the last 71.. I'm sure they will again...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 21/02/2022 18:08:59    2401712

Mitch Buchanan!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 21/02/2022 22:01:38    2401749

Replying To Pericles:  "Agree with you there tirawley. The fact that the Dubs continued to stick with the project of finding new players helped our cause. Our defensive structure was very good considering the new faces, but the Dubs were as open as we've often been in the past. The team to play Armagh should be interesting... same again or draft in a bit more experience?"
I think we afe a much better team without aidan o shea. Much more fluent.

theboxtyisabrewing (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 22/02/2022 08:39:22    2401758

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I think year on year the gap between commitment for underage County or colleges football is widening. Were Tyrone in the 2000s the last county to bring a big crop of successful Minor and U21s onto to senior success? Senior intercounty at any level is a huge commitment now compared to 20 or 30 years ago,especially when players are working full time. They live like hermits during the season, god bless their commitment. I wonder are any counties trying to encourage full-time students to study online so they're more flexible with their time and might get more downtime?"
I think its the most open Championship in years. No dominant team.

-Mayo were impressive but Dublin were poor. They are certainly contenders but Galway in the first round means they may have to peak a bit early.
-Dublin look shocking, however you have to imagine when they get the players all back they will improve and will be contenders.
-Donegal are the most over rated team. They haven't done anything in years. Not contenders in my view.
-Monaghan can beat any team but don't think they could win enough games in a row
-Tyrone and Armagh are both genuine contenders
-Kerry are contenders but I don't think the other contenders will be afraid of them
-Derry & Galway can beat any of the above but like Monaghan I would wonder if they could beat them week after week. Outside chance I would say but things would need to open up for them.

Loser of Galway Mayo will be in the qualifiers. If they were to make it to the Q final through the back door either would be battle hardened and very dangerous. Lots of games could be the making of a young team ....just a thought

PS - What's wumming?????

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 22/02/2022 10:46:52    2401801

Replying To theboxtyisabrewing:  "I think we afe a much better team without aidan o shea. Much more fluent."
I think Aidan has effectively played himself onto the bench by proving he's far more of an asset coming on rather than being in from the start and having his lack of pace/mobility targeted. He has been very good in the games so far and has provided crucial composure and strength in the last quarters.

The player who most intrigues me is Bryan Walsh. He gets through a huge amount of work and obviously has a great engine, which is why JH is persisting with giving him so much game time. But on the negative side he's inclined to dwell on the ball instead of taking the obvious option when a pass is on and he's not too reliable in front of the posts. I'd forgive the latter weakness, which can be worked on, but he should stop trying to be too clever when there are players inside in space... just needs to deliver the simple pass and keep the movement going forward.

I wouldn't mind seeing Fergal Boland getting some game time and if Mark Moran is fit to come in it'd be interesting to see him getting a fresh run at centre-forward. His first game v Galway in that position was memorable... I think he got motm.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 22/02/2022 12:59:23    2401852

It's going to be some battle in Castlebar this April, with the full house signs up. Galway will get promoted and Mayo look to be safe already in division 1 without having played well in my opinion.

Have to say I'm very weary of Galway this year.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 22/02/2022 13:01:54    2401854

Replying To Mayonman:  "I think its the most open Championship in years. No dominant team.

-Mayo were impressive but Dublin were poor. They are certainly contenders but Galway in the first round means they may have to peak a bit early.
-Dublin look shocking, however you have to imagine when they get the players all back they will improve and will be contenders.
-Donegal are the most over rated team. They haven't done anything in years. Not contenders in my view.
-Monaghan can beat any team but don't think they could win enough games in a row
-Tyrone and Armagh are both genuine contenders
-Kerry are contenders but I don't think the other contenders will be afraid of them
-Derry & Galway can beat any of the above but like Monaghan I would wonder if they could beat them week after week. Outside chance I would say but things would need to open up for them.

Loser of Galway Mayo will be in the qualifiers. If they were to make it to the Q final through the back door either would be battle hardened and very dangerous. Lots of games could be the making of a young team ....just a thought

PS - What's wumming?????"
From Wind Up Merchant. Winding up lads. I think it's too early to see who the All Ireland contenders are just yet and pacing the squad for championship is vital. Dublin though don't need to peak first round of Leinster like ourselves and yerselves for April game.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 22/02/2022 13:23:15    2401859

Can someone tell me what has happened to Mark Moran?

Meath32245 (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 25/02/2022 16:48:52    2402381

1 Rob Hennelly - Playing his best football in a mayo jersey, will make a big difference if he can stay consistent with the long range frees

2. Lee Keegan - moving well, still important player

3. Rory Brickenden - Wasnt great against Dublin, not from lack of effort but was out muscled a few times, needs to be more of presence but is still learning

4. Michael Plunkett - Great 2 points the last day, has football in him but still dont think hes good enough to start

5. Oisín Mullin - Ball carrying made huge difference, will always need him out the field and not man marking in full back line.

6. Stephen Coen © - Steady against the Dubs, he needed that, hopefully can improve again but still lacking when on the ball

7. Sam Callinan - Looks a good player, hope he had a good game and gains confidence, will be in the full back line.

8. Jordan Flynn - early yellow and didnt get sent off so maybe hes learning..has been playing

9. Matthew Ruane - Great tussle with Fenton, good to see him back with them driving runs

10. Fionn McDonagh - Had great game at full forward in sigerson final so should be full of confidence, has the pace and the skill.

11. Diarmuid O'Connor - going well, involved in everything, seems to have his drive back and its great to see

12. Conor Loftus - better to see him in the forwards, looks lost in mid field, good passer and can score

13. Aiden Orme - Played well against Dublin, hopefully it continues, great footballer

14. Frank Irwin - Havent seen much of him, good player for Ballina, worth a look anyways

15. Ryan O'Donoghue - Quiet against Dublin, but still worked hard, great work rate, turning into a real top inter county player

Wonder who will mark Rian O Neill? Maybe Keegan..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 25/02/2022 18:20:28    2402396

Replying To Meath32245:  "Can someone tell me what has happened to Mark Moran?"
Busy on tik tok

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 27/02/2022 11:15:25    2402640

Replying To Meath32245:  "Can someone tell me what has happened to Mark Moran?"
He was out long term, think with that gilmores groin injury which can be hard to fix..
James Horan had said few weeks back that he was back full training now so hopefully he can get back to where he was

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 27/02/2022 12:01:37    2402648

Mayo go into the game today with a lot gained from the campaign so far but I don't believe with any real designs on winning the league. Armagh, as has been widely highlighted, were determined from the start to make an impact. While the work done early by Armagh might be leveling out at this point, the fact that Mayo are continuing with experimentation and with each game being a bit of an adventure, you'd have to favour Armagh who we know will perform like a well-oiled machine. Mayo could quite easily be going into this game with only two points (v the Dubs) on the board. Frank Irwin at FF is worth a look, though (like most Mayo players) he seems more at home in wide open space. If Frank (or plan B) works out, Mayo will be in the game (a draw would be enough to guarantee safety) and will earn a point, maybe both, but I think it'll be Armagh by 3 or 4. I think maybe the Kerry game will be where experimentation will stop and the focus towards Galway (who are flying right now) will shift. Mind you Galway still have to face Clare, Derry and the Rossies, so their true credentials won't be known until they've proven themselves against their promotion rivals. Interesting times for the Connacht sides!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 27/02/2022 13:27:22    2402684