Dublin GAA thread

It all feels very fitting that, what will probably be the end of alot of these Dunlin players career, will finish against Kerry, the team they beat to win their first All Ireland back in 2011 (Cluxton. Fitzy, James McCarthy, Dean Rock) . Wether it will have the same outcome with the Dubs lifting Sam we will see on Sunday, what I would say is that it feels like a closing of the book one way or the other.

Feels like this one would mean the world to them if we were to win it and despite the 8 so far, there would be massive regret if we don't get over the line this weekend.

I'm zen about it all personally. I think we will win but I've seen us win loads and my life has changed alot since our last one a few years ago with the birth of my first child so what I used to call important (winning all irelands and supporting the Dubs everywhere) is now far less important and for me this weekend it'll all be about enjoying the occasion.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 27/07/2023 12:27:48    2497266

Replying To waynoI:  "It all feels very fitting that, what will probably be the end of alot of these Dunlin players career, will finish against Kerry, the team they beat to win their first All Ireland back in 2011 (Cluxton. Fitzy, James McCarthy, Dean Rock) . Wether it will have the same outcome with the Dubs lifting Sam we will see on Sunday, what I would say is that it feels like a closing of the book one way or the other.

Feels like this one would mean the world to them if we were to win it and despite the 8 so far, there would be massive regret if we don't get over the line this weekend.

I'm zen about it all personally. I think we will win but I've seen us win loads and my life has changed alot since our last one a few years ago with the birth of my first child so what I used to call important (winning all irelands and supporting the Dubs everywhere) is now far less important and for me this weekend it'll all be about enjoying the occasion."
Well said. Having kids changes your outlook on life so much. Years ago I would have been in a huff for a week if Derry were put out of Championship early. Now after the birth of my first a few years back I have become much more zen like yourself. These are occasions to enjoy. Breathe it in. Keeping your family with a roof over their heads and food on the table soon puts sport in its place.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 212 - 27/07/2023 14:12:15    2497302

Replying To waynoI:  "It all feels very fitting that, what will probably be the end of alot of these Dunlin players career, will finish against Kerry, the team they beat to win their first All Ireland back in 2011 (Cluxton. Fitzy, James McCarthy, Dean Rock) . Wether it will have the same outcome with the Dubs lifting Sam we will see on Sunday, what I would say is that it feels like a closing of the book one way or the other.

I'm zen about it all personally. I think we will win but I've seen us win loads and my life has changed alot since our last one a few years ago with the birth of my first child so what I used to call important (winning all irelands and supporting the Dubs everywhere) is now far less important and for me this weekend it'll all be about enjoying the occasion."
You'd want to get your priorities right son ...

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3506 - 27/07/2023 16:43:57    2497331

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "You'd want to get your priorities right son ..."
:D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8746 - 27/07/2023 20:01:54    2497360

Congrats Wayno, welcome to grown-up's world :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8746 - 27/07/2023 20:02:54    2497361

Belated congratulations to you Wayno, that's great to hear. Hope you're enjoying fatherhood, I love the feeling of responsibility it brings, it gives you meaning. To provide and protect, it makes sense of it all.

One of the finest aspects it brings, is that it makes you realise just how much your parents love you.

You're absolutely right, sure tis only kicking a bit of leather around.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/07/2023 20:08:42    2497362

Janie mac lads it's a long time since I've been on here for obvious reasons but just thought I'd pop my head in, say hello, enjoy the week & the match.

Dubs by 4.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/07/2023 10:13:46    2497391

Replying To Jackeen:  "Janie mac lads it's a long time since I've been on here for obvious reasons but just thought I'd pop my head in, say hello, enjoy the week & the match.

Dubs by 4."
Nice to see you posting Jackeen

Enjoy the build up yourself

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/07/2023 13:23:52    2497439

Savour it all, this could be the last big push of the greatest side in history.

Win or lose, we could be seeing the end of quite a few legends.

It might just be Dublin's last final appearance for a while..

It'll be some story if they can pull off one more.. a few lads leaving with the greatest haul of All Ireland medals.

9 in the sock drawer.. GAA history defining stuff

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/07/2023 17:38:29    2497505

Me ball ix. Tell the other half you're going out for an Evening Herald, drag on the jersey on, grab the 6 pack of Dutch for the canal and ride the rollercoaster with the boys in blue for a couple of days. Best days of your life supporting your city and county. The snapper'll be there when you come back. :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4743 - 29/07/2023 15:52:01    2497592

Best of luck to the Dubs tomorrow. I think it will be a tight on. I will come down to a few tight matchups. What will kerry do with mannion when Morley drops into the pocket. Who will dublin match up with white. Bugler would be my choice if he was fit. Finally it's nearly a given that murchan will take p clifford but who goes after david. I would love to see James mc at it. What do ye think?

Jonnycee (Longford) - Posts: 187 - 29/07/2023 23:00:09    2497641

Up like a kid on Christmas morning, beers in the fridge, sambos made, heading up to Corker at about 11:30.

Been a great year, Limerick, Cork, Derry, Navan, League final, Portlaoise, Kilkenny, Leinster, battering Glen Ryan, Mayo and here we are in the home of the six in a row against Kerry for the big one.

Enjoy today lads and ladies, enjoy this team - Stevo, Jamise, Fitzer, Jack, Fento, Con, Deano, Kilkenny Smally, Howard and Mannion - this might be the last day we saw them all together. All legends and we will talk about these players for generations and will be the lads every Dublin player, indeed maybe every player will be compared with from now until the end.

Today might well just be our last dance - but what years we've had. Lets hope we have one left in the tank.

For the day that's in it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qNzBiW8CGOw&t=20s

As Always Up The Dubs.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4515 - 30/07/2023 08:48:54    2497653

Congratulations Dublin on a great win. It was a hard battle but deserving winners. Yer like an auld weed hard to kill off. Again Congratulations

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 521 - 30/07/2023 17:13:54    2497736

Climb them steps legend and lift #9

History being made

What a moment coming up

Magic

Love the Dubs

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/07/2023 17:13:55    2497737

Well done Dublin, fantastic victory, what a team.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3182 - 30/07/2023 17:22:58    2497749

Congratulations to Dublin on winning another All Ireland and also to James McCarty, Stephen Cluxton and Mick Fitzsimonds for making history on winning nine All Ireland medals. It could have gone either way and Kerry will regret that turnover for the deflected goal and the fact that David Clifford missed a host of scores that he would normally get. David Gough had an excellent game also and I am not sure why the Dublin supporters were so disrespecfull to him during the presentation. If anythink I would expect that Kerry might well think that James McCarthy could easily have been booked a second time on a few occasions.
Having won so many All Irelands by small margins proved once again that this Dublin team are warriers and never give up. They find a way to win under huge pressure and deserve huge respect.
The Dublin supporters should really celebrate this one as it is special. It might be the last time you see some of these outstanding players in Croke Park.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 726 - 30/07/2023 17:59:08    2497765

Hard to get worked up about another Dublin coronation.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9817 - 30/07/2023 18:03:20    2497767

What a group. Book closed on this team. Never lost an ireland in 11 attempts. Ridiculous. Build a statue of Mick Fitz. Fella is outrageous. Clifford lost his head.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 30/07/2023 18:14:49    2497776

Congrats to the dubs..stuck with it when it wasn't going well..it has been a pleasure to watch this team of players..I've a feeling we've seen the last of a number of them and possibly Dessie..the 3 who now have 9 all irelands will be forever remembered..enjoy this one.

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2506 - 30/07/2023 18:47:56    2497792

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Hard to get worked up about another Dublin coronation."
Ha! Love it.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 30/07/2023 18:51:02    2497794