You don't have to get worked up about it, but it's also decent to not be spiteful, just because of who won. I'll add my congratulations. It was an epic game from the point of view of intensity and pressure. I'd take that type of game every day instead of one where everything is sailing over the bar and forwards don't have a hand laid on them. When it came down to the pressure moments, this Dublin team delivered again. Of course the margins were tight and a few incidents going the other way could have changed everything. Dublin were absolutely deserved winners though. They went for it all the way through and even though a lot of passes into the forwards went astray, they kept trying to play on the front foot. I've seen a few saying the goal was fortunate, but they're forgetting how unfortunate Con was to hit the crossbar a few minutes before. A massive achievement for the 3 lads with 9 All-Irelands. They're in the history books. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2318 - 30/07/2023 18:56:52 2497800 Link 1 |
Get in!! Enjoy the next few days lads. This one is the sweetest since 2011! Up the Dubs!! Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/07/2023 19:09:36 2497806 Link 7 |
It surely was Jackeen, we're gonna probably have to start all over again now but what a way for the lads to finish up. This was a huge win, totally deserved and boy am I a proud man tonight. realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8746 - 30/07/2023 19:48:11 2497814 Link 4 |
Stephen Cluxton MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 30/07/2023 20:05:47 2497821 Link 6 |
Enjoy lads and kudos too to Dessie Farrell. Always felt he was being underrated. Well done. CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3901 - 30/07/2023 20:25:42 2497831 Link 2 |
Great win at the game dubs wanted it more when it mattered. ITSCHOLAR (Carlow) - Posts: 311 - 30/07/2023 20:25:55 2497832 Link 1 |
Must say! I've always liked Jack O Connor! He's done it all! But his post match interview was nothing short of bitter! Never once congratulate Dublin was all about where Kerry went wrong! Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 299 - 30/07/2023 20:33:40 2497834 Link 2 |
Delighted for Dessie jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/07/2023 20:46:58 2497839 Link 5 |
Dublin were fortunate with the goal but showed great resilience after that to win… as for Con who was very poor hitting the crossbar… he got away with about 10 steps before shooting.. Basquel who was woeful in the first half made a huge contribution in the second half including the rob which led to the important goal.., .. Mannion got some important scores and was my man of the match…
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3816 - 30/07/2023 20:47:59 2497840 Link 0 |
I'm not being spiteful, just honest. Dublin are a professional, manufactured outfit and have been for a decade. Unless you're a Dub you wouldn't and couldn't really warm to them. I thought the Derry/Kerry game was far better football wise and more entertaining than today. If you gave me a free ticket for a Dublin match I wouldn't take it. I just don't think they're great to watch.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9817 - 30/07/2023 20:54:39 2497843 Link 2 |
You're an embarrassment to yourself Ulsterman
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/07/2023 21:01:49 2497845 Link 7 |
Agree with that. Just watched the match back on TG4. David Clifford got a huge amount of opportunities. Don't think Fitzsimons beat him to any ball. Clifford could easily have finished with 6 or 7 points from play and probably should have. Fitzsimons should not get man of the match. Davy Byrne had a good game. Howard and Mannion good and McCaffrey when he came on and yes Colm Basquel in the second half. James McCarthy a liability all match and should have seen the line. Kerry will have regrets because this game could have gone either way at the death but Dublin just deserved it. Cluxton solid as a rock all day as well.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2395 - 30/07/2023 21:09:19 2497848 Link 0 |
Random.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8375 - 30/07/2023 21:10:29 2497850 Link 4 |
He has a long history of losing the big battling AI finals.. That'll get to you jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/07/2023 21:11:03 2497851 Link 7 |
Well I'm not a Dub and I have no problem warming to them. What's all this manufactured nonsense. What does it even mean? They play football, tackle, solo, hop, catch and kick scores. Fenton is an immense footballer who can pretty much do it all. He has mastered almost the skills of the game. Some of the players who have represented them over the past decade are among the greatest I've ever seen. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2318 - 30/07/2023 21:11:32 2497852 Link 2 |
If you want entertainment then go to the circus. We're here to win not to put a smile on the face of Ulster folk.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4743 - 30/07/2023 21:14:10 2497853 Link 5 |
Our sweetest victory IMO. I absolutely loved it. Down and out twice and to show the fight and hunger to haul them back in. How could Fitzy have been doubted. A titanic performance from the Cuala lad. A sweet, sweet victory. Legends all and a team for the ages. Up da Dubs! Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4743 - 30/07/2023 21:17:05 2497855 Link 6 |
Well at least you admitted Dublin aren't entertainers, that's a start. I have rarely come away from a Dublin game saying "Wow aren't those guys something else". Dublin are very like the Leeds team of the 70s, cold, physical and effective.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9817 - 30/07/2023 21:25:48 2497859 Link 0 |
What about the super performance from Dublin david
Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 354 - 30/07/2023 21:31:27 2497862 Link 2 |
I'm not a Dub and never have been, nor never will be. I love visiting Dublin and the rest of Ireland, though. I for one really warm to that Dublin team. Some of those Dublin fellas are the greatest of any era to play the game, imo. I have particularly good time for Cluxo and they way he carries himself and goes about his business of just getting things done. You are of course entitled to think whatever you want. Every person is allowed that much. It is not something that we can take away from you. However, I think that your thought process never really amounts to much, and you've the bones of 10,000 posts on here to prove that. So, heartiest congratulations to da Dubs on winning a great match. In time, this will go down as one of the great finals. Of course it takes two teams to make a great game, so commiserations to Kerry on being defeated today by a better team. No doubt the county, and this team (only Murphy, O'Brien and Geaney are anyway old) will come again and take another Sam or even a few Sams back to the Kingdom. But for now, it's time to appreciate and celebrate what a wonderful team Dublin are and have been for quite a while now. I suppose we could all sense it, that a few of those fellas will not be seen in their proud sky-blue and navy again. foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2202 - 30/07/2023 21:37:49 2497863 Link 3 |