Replying To foreveryoung: "I'm not a Dub and never have been, nor never will be. I love visiting Dublin and the rest of Ireland, though. I for one really warm to that Dublin team. Some of those Dublin fellas are the greatest of any era to play the game, imo. I have particularly good time for Cluxo and they way he carries himself and goes about his business of just getting things done.
You are of course entitled to think whatever you want. Every person is allowed that much. It is not something that we can take away from you. However, I think that your thought process never really amounts to much, and you've the bones of 10,000 posts on here to prove that.
So, heartiest congratulations to da Dubs on winning a great match. In time, this will go down as one of the great finals. Of course it takes two teams to make a great game, so commiserations to Kerry on being defeated today by a better team. No doubt the county, and this team (only Murphy, O'Brien and Geaney are anyway old) will come again and take another Sam or even a few Sams back to the Kingdom. But for now, it's time to appreciate and celebrate what a wonderful team Dublin are and have been for quite a while now. I suppose we could all sense it, that a few of those fellas will not be seen in their proud sky-blue and navy again." Your fawning reference to 'Cluxo' says it all. Are you related? Do you even know him?
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 30/07/2023 21:55:27
Replying To MesAmis: "Stephen Cluxton Mick Fitzsimons James McCarthy
They stand alone." No one like them, stalwart, honest, talented players.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 30/07/2023 22:00:47
Puke football is alive and well in 32 counties
highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 30/07/2023 22:11:06
Replying To Ulsterman: "I'm not being spiteful, just honest. Dublin are a professional, manufactured outfit and have been for a decade. Unless you're a Dub you wouldn't and couldn't really warm to them. I thought the Derry/Kerry game was far better football wise and more entertaining than today. If you gave me a free ticket for a Dublin match I wouldn't take it. I just don't think they're great to watch." Well now, by starting off by saying you're not being spiteful and go on to be nothing but? A manufactured team, do you even know what a good footballer looks like? I think not after that manure you just spouted. That was the cherry on top today, they are now the greatest team of all time! Time now for other counties to light a fire under their ass.
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8748 - 30/07/2023 22:11:57
Replying To CiarraiMick: "Enjoy lads and kudos too to Dessie Farrell. Always felt he was being underrated. Well done." Fair play Mick.
Yous will be back no doubt.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 30/07/2023 22:28:39
Congrats to Dublin for a deserved victory. In a tight game I thought the Dubs edged it. I only wish Clifford had played like that in the semi-final against us!! Dublin had a good structure, very organised and hunted Kerry down all day. Fair play. Enjoy the celebrations.
Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 212 - 30/07/2023 22:31:05
Well done Dublin. Best team won. Well organised and well deserved. Special mention to Mick Fitz who was just outstanding and my MOTM and also to Jack McCaffery, what he done when he came on is only what the rest of us can dream of. Delighted for Dessie too.
Well done and enjoy.
farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 300 - 30/07/2023 23:33:38
Replying To Ulsterman: "Your fawning reference to 'Cluxo' says it all. Are you related? Do you even know him?" Christ your bitter.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2314 - 30/07/2023 23:50:12
Replying To MesAmis: "Fair play Mick.
Yous will be back no doubt." Thanks Mesamis enjoy pal
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3911 - 31/07/2023 00:02:16
Replying To Jazzyjeff: "Congrats to Dublin for a deserved victory. In a tight game I thought the Dubs edged it. I only wish Clifford had played like that in the semi-final against us!! Dublin had a good structure, very organised and hunted Kerry down all day. Fair play. Enjoy the celebrations." You must be frustrated after watching that match! Even great players have an off day, just glad it was in our game. Derry will be back enjoyed watching play.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 31/07/2023 09:49:00
Replying To farneygael: "Well done Dublin. Best team won. Well organised and well deserved. Special mention to Mick Fitz who was just outstanding and my MOTM and also to Jack McCaffery, what he done when he came on is only what the rest of us can dream of. Delighted for Dessie too.
Well done and enjoy." How could Mick Fitz get man of the match.., he didn't win one ball played in between him and Clifford who if he had his usual shooting boots on would have ended with 8/9 points… Mc Caffery coughed up possession 3 times while running blindly with his head down which you should never dream of doing as a player….. Dublin definitely deserved to win and Mannion deserved the mom award…
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3827 - 31/07/2023 11:07:22
Replying To ForeverBlue2: "How could Mick Fitz get man of the match.., he didn't win one ball played in between him and Clifford who if he had his usual shooting boots on would have ended with 8/9 points… Mc Caffery coughed up possession 3 times while running blindly with his head down which you should never dream of doing as a player….. Dublin definitely deserved to win and Mannion deserved the mom award…" 8 or 9 is a stretch. A few of Clifford's wides weren't on at all as shots at all given the conditions. They were kicked almost out of desperation. He had 2 bad misses, one which came from Fitzsimons having to cover another forward who had slipped his marker. What you didn't see on the telly was the amount of times Fitzsimons covered a ball to be played to Clifford and forced a different pass to he played. His concentration for the whole 70+ minutes was exceptional. For a man giving up 10 years to the best forward in the game, it was an excellent performance.
WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2318 - 31/07/2023 11:32:53
Replying To WanPintWin: "8 or 9 is a stretch. A few of Clifford's wides weren't on at all as shots at all given the conditions. They were kicked almost out of desperation. He had 2 bad misses, one which came from Fitzsimons having to cover another forward who had slipped his marker. What you didn't see on the telly was the amount of times Fitzsimons covered a ball to be played to Clifford and forced a different pass to he played. His concentration for the whole 70+ minutes was exceptional. For a man giving up 10 years to the best forward in the game, it was an excellent performance." Like all the best corner backs, of which Mick is one of the greatest beyond any doubt, most of what he does is accomplished with very little handling of the ball.
As you say, his positional nous beyond doubt both limited Kerry's ability to use DC and obviously took him out of his comfort zone. Hence the errors is what was still a good display A few sublime points and a good pass for the goal.
You can limit the good players, seldom cancel them. Job done for Fitzy as so often over past 13 years.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3516 - 31/07/2023 12:12:56
Replying To Ulsterman: "I'm not being spiteful, just honest. Dublin are a professional, manufactured outfit and have been for a decade. Unless you're a Dub you wouldn't and couldn't really warm to them. I thought the Derry/Kerry game was far better football wise and more entertaining than today. If you gave me a free ticket for a Dublin match I wouldn't take it. I just don't think they're great to watch." I love you Ulsterman ;D :D
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1991 - 31/07/2023 12:13:09
Has 1 player ever had the impact on the game the way Cluxton has? Is he human at all?
Its telling that the 2 SFs Dublin lost he was not involved which means he has not lost a championship game since 2014 - its an unbelievable stat.
I hope I've seen the last of him, but I can't deny what a pleasure it was to have seen him play so many times.
Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 351 - 31/07/2023 12:14:13
Well now, not even the weather or a banging head can get me down today.
What a sweet, sweet win. Sinking a few last night, i described watching the game yesterday like as if the Beatles got back together for one last gig and you scored a ticket. It did the heart wonders to see Stevo, Jack, Mannion, Jamsie, Deano, Fitzey, Fento, Kilkenny, Howard and Con - rock it for one last performance - which it probably was. But what a performance it was. Born out of sheer girt, determination, skill and every inch of talent and experience. Fitting that this one probably ends for a few how it started with that type of performance so like 2011.
This one is sweet, because it was a battle, for my money thats the best Kerry team since 2013, better then 2019 with the monkey of their back and a bit more experience and wisdom about them. That makes this one unique to my mind, it was like 2011. We had to look adversity and loss in the face and ask ourselves - are we good enough, do we want it, will we fight for it? And didnt we just di it in style, sucker punch of a goal before half time - no heads dropped. Twice in the second half down by three points and coming back. Down the straight we were loosing that game, but outscoring this Kerry team and their much vaunted forwards by 7-2 in the closing stages - incredible. May no man or woman question this Dublin team hunger again.
Big shout out for the back line, i questioned them more then most throughout the year but they were all magic and worthy of being called the best in the country this morning, Davy Byrne, Murch and Fitzer were sublime. Especially Fitzer, its not the first time hes done a superb job on Clifford and keeping him to a negligible point total, he was brilliant - i see plenty this morning saying Clifford had a bad day and Fitzer didnt win that much ball - what a stupid take in my opinion, Clifford wasn't allowed have a good day, those of us who played the game know there is far more to defending then winning ball, its about pushing your man out to poor scoring angles, giving him limited space to get his teqniuqe of and making him rush his shot - thats what Fitzy did, he was like glue - not for the first time on Clifford, felt in the end Clifford loss his composure, a win for Fitzy. We did brilliantly, not letting him get any advanced marks they make up a lot of his scores. Then we have Stevo - how class was it to see him coming forward, to take frees - just brilliant, greatest hits stuff! His kick outs sublime - flawless as influential as ever and radiates confidence to this group.
Midfield, again i feel we had the better of it, we flooded Howard was superb ball carrying and winning, really grew into his role from Leinster onward but vital in flooding midfield, Kilkenny dropped deep in there as and at times we had those two in there supporting Jamsie and Fento - shout out for Fento, who put the Jack Barry thing to bed in some style.
The forwards had a tough day at the office, it was that kind of day and that type of game, that didnt allow forwards to drop shapes. That said Paul Mannion's quality always shines through - the man could play in snow and still score five from the corner. Finals often throw up unlikely hero's step forward Collie Basquel and Paddy Small, that block and turnover by Collie, he was sublime for 15 mins and Paddy's goal - well in lads delighted for you both. What a year of progress for both.
On Dessie, ive never been his biggest fan and maybe i underappreciated the job of work hes taken on. He got the better of the tactical battle yesterday and deserves huge credit. You could see how much he means to this group and what they think of him - that says a lot. That 2 from 4 for him. He might be the man for the rebuild.
Some incredible scenes yesterday - fairytale stuff, just when you thought we couldn't have anymore. Cluxton, Jamsie, and Fitzer - overtaking Spillane im particularly delighted about - feel its a bit of justice over the Connolly thing. Back in your box Pat. How good was it to see Jamsie climb those steps and lift that cup. He was a credit to himself as captain.
Personally i was delighted to see Deano come on - he deserved it and chipped in with some crucial scores.
Also delighted to see the two set of brothers lift the big one the Smalls and Basquels - great scenes for their families.
So a Div 2 team lift Sam - for the first time in a while, little did we think on that cold Jan day down in Limerick. But wasn't it all worth it!
We will winter well and enjoy this sweet win, we might loose a few solders along the way, but we will go again.
As Always,
Up The Dubs.
TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4516 - 31/07/2023 13:17:55
Replying To BarneyGrant: "Like all the best corner backs, of which Mick is one of the greatest beyond any doubt, most of what he does is accomplished with very little handling of the ball.
As you say, his positional nous beyond doubt both limited Kerry's ability to use DC and obviously took him out of his comfort zone. Hence the errors is what was still a good display A few sublime points and a good pass for the goal.
You can limit the good players, seldom cancel them. Job done for Fitzy as so often over past 13 years." I'm not so sure Clifford's off day had too much to do with Fitzsimmons.... afforded him alot of space. On another day Clifford could have had 6 or 7 from play. Bad day at the Office for clifford
southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 978 - 31/07/2023 13:40:26
By my memory, Dublin have now won 10 AI finals in a row starting back in 1995 - I presume that is a record in itself?
Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 351 - 31/07/2023 15:00:59
Replying To avonali: "I love you Ulsterman ;D :D" I can't help it avon, I'm just one of those irresistible people.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 31/07/2023 15:30:32
Replying To Bon: "Christ your bitter." You're. Get the spelling right at least.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 31/07/2023 15:32:26