Replying To jimbodub: "Oh yeah = 9
Bit of a coincidence that :)
And there's another new batch of Dubs on #8 to keep the Kerry lads company." Hope you and all the other soldiers on here are enjoying the celebrations, Jimbo...
I think as well as having a point to prove, one last hurrah etc, I think our lads also wanted to put a stop to the kerry gallop and stop their 2 in a row ambitions.
There was so much determination in the squad this year - planned the the timing very well and very lucky with no major injuries etc. Everything just seemed to fall into place thankfully.
A fairytale ending for some of the lads - which I really doubted would happen. But never so glad to be proven wrong.
This one definitely meant he most. It was an honour to be on the Hill to witness it.
Still wrecked from it.... ;o)
Anyway, a cold pint waits for no man... lol
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4279 - 01/08/2023 22:09:46
Replying To Joxer: "Tá náire orm duit. Cloí leis an liathróid bheag. Conas atá na liomóidí?" Náire ort domsa? Cén sórt sifil í sin ort!
Maidir leis an líomóid, cé go mbíonn sí searbh, tá cothú inti. Bíonn an fhírinne searbh freisin! Ón am ar buaileadh Doire agus Muineacháin ba chuma liom sa tsioc cé a bhuafadh craobh na hÉireann. An seanphort céanna agus meirg air. Sén rud a chuir déistean orm, théis a raibh gnóite acu, go raibh cuid de pheileadóirí BhÁC agus an bainisteoir ag rá gur chuireadar isteach dhá bhliain chrua, iad ag peataireacht agus ag déanamh truaí dóibh féin!
Is cosúil go ndeachaigh sú líomóide faoi shúile bhur gcaptaen ag deireadh an chluiche, bhí na deora go fras leis an gcréatúr murar deora áthais agus faoisimh a bhí iontu nár taispeánadh cárta dearg dó!
Maidir leis an iomáint, tá sé 85 bhliana ó bhuaigh BÁC corn Mhic Cárthaigh. Údar díomá dá lucht leanúna gan amhras. Is náireach an rud é sin do CLG na hardchathrach - is beag a suim inár gcluiche dúchais i ndáiríre, is mó a spéis sa mbrabach agus san airgead mór. Tá foireann peile seo BhÁC ar an bhfoireann is fearr riamh. Níl aon cheist faoi sin. Nuair a bhuaigh siad 6 cinn as a chéile agus cúpla ceann eile roimhe sin, céard eile a bhí le cruthú acu?
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 02/08/2023 02:11:18
As soon as I saw the rain falling I knew we'd win ;)
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13803 - 02/08/2023 10:57:26
Replying To MesAmis: "As soon as I saw the rain falling I knew we'd win ;)" I fancied them a bit more when it rained too… I had the feeling Clifford would find scoring a little more difficult in those conditions… A deserved win overall for Dublin whose press from kick outs was far more effective than that of Kerrys… I think this was ultimately the deciding factor on the day…!
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4003 - 02/08/2023 11:18:07
Replying To baire: "Náire ort domsa? Cén sórt sifil í sin ort!
Maidir leis an líomóid, cé go mbíonn sí searbh, tá cothú inti. Bíonn an fhírinne searbh freisin! Ón am ar buaileadh Doire agus Muineacháin ba chuma liom sa tsioc cé a bhuafadh craobh na hÉireann. An seanphort céanna agus meirg air. Sén rud a chuir déistean orm, théis a raibh gnóite acu, go raibh cuid de pheileadóirí BhÁC agus an bainisteoir ag rá gur chuireadar isteach dhá bhliain chrua, iad ag peataireacht agus ag déanamh truaí dóibh féin!
Is cosúil go ndeachaigh sú líomóide faoi shúile bhur gcaptaen ag deireadh an chluiche, bhí na deora go fras leis an gcréatúr murar deora áthais agus faoisimh a bhí iontu nár taispeánadh cárta dearg dó!
Maidir leis an iomáint, tá sé 85 bhliana ó bhuaigh BÁC corn Mhic Cárthaigh. Údar díomá dá lucht leanúna gan amhras. Is náireach an rud é sin do CLG na hardchathrach - is beag a suim inár gcluiche dúchais i ndáiríre, is mó a spéis sa mbrabach agus san airgead mór. Tá foireann peile seo BhÁC ar an bhfoireann is fearr riamh. Níl aon cheist faoi sin. Nuair a bhuaigh siad 6 cinn as a chéile agus cúpla ceann eile roimhe sin, céard eile a bhí le cruthú acu?" Is udar díomá agus brón liomsa agus muintir an liathróid beag, ach is í an fhírrinne searbh go mbionn an caid an cluiche is laidir sa contae agus ní fhiecimid aon athrú maidir le sin.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3576 - 02/08/2023 11:57:46
Replying To Fionn: "Hope you and all the other soldiers on here are enjoying the celebrations, Jimbo...
I think as well as having a point to prove, one last hurrah etc, I think our lads also wanted to put a stop to the kerry gallop and stop their 2 in a row ambitions.
There was so much determination in the squad this year - planned the the timing very well and very lucky with no major injuries etc. Everything just seemed to fall into place thankfully.
A fairytale ending for some of the lads - which I really doubted would happen. But never so glad to be proven wrong.
This one definitely meant he most. It was an honour to be on the Hill to witness it.
Still wrecked from it.... ;o)
Anyway, a cold pint waits for no man... lol" Remember to give a shout out to Sean Bugler - unlucky with injury,,
Heffo (Dublin) - Posts: 76 - 02/08/2023 14:00:15
Well done Dublin....ye shower of D4, money laden, professional, Croke Park teachers pet, media darlings. What is there not to luurrrvve?
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 02/08/2023 14:06:43
Replying To Ulsterman: "Well done Dublin....ye shower of D4, money laden, professional, Croke Park teachers pet, media darlings. What is there not to luurrrvve?" Right back at ya baby!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13803 - 02/08/2023 14:09:08
Replying To Fionn: "Wow wow wow - finally get to sit down and post my thoughts.
Still on the indigestion tablets after having to eat my hat... ;o) Apologies RealDub for not replying to you...
Unbelievable - proud is an understatement. Cant believe we are All Ireland champions for 2023. Still hasnt sunk in yet. I am on cloud Nine - pardon the pun.
I stood on the Hill before the game on Sunday, much like the semi final last year, hoping we wouldnt be beaten by much.
But at half time I was so annoyed we were losing and conceded that goal in injury time. Dublin should have been ahead going in at the break.
2nd half, when we got the goal, I thought we are really in this game again.
Then to go 3pts down, twice I think it was, and come back, showed so much determination and grit by our lads.
We outscored kerry by 7pts to 2pt in the last 25minutes, and I felt we deserved to win the game tbh and were worthy All Ireland Champions again. No excuses and no arguments about it imo.
DC was well shackled by Mick Fitz although DC did miss some relatively easy chances by his standards. Actually felt he tried to force it. Kerry are far too over reliant on DC. One man show at times in some games. But far too much pressure and expectation on him, even since he was a teenager. Only 24 - might end up being the GOAT - but defo not near there yet. People must remember that Kerry struggled against Cork, terrible when beaten by Mayo and very lucky against Derry this year.
I thought Con was well shackled but should have scored that goal chance. Also he refused to take 2 marks which would have been 2 more easy points. Very impressed with Lee Gannon. Gonna be some player. Jamesie and Fento put in some shift and but for a couple of dropped balls by JMcC in attack we could have been in for another goal imo. Howard was immense and also won so many of the kick outs from Clucko. Jack made a big difference when he came on. Stephen had a 100% success rate with his kick outs and also scored just 1pt less than DC.... ;o) And 8pts of our score, came from his kick outs. SOS scored 1pt from play and DC only 2pts from play. Kerry only had 5 scorers to Dublin's 8 scorers. With Fento scoring 2pts whilst playing from midfield.
I thought with the exception of a couple of tackles, our controlled intensity by the likes of John Small for one, was outstanding. I just felt we wanted it more throughout.
Over 1million viewers for this final - so much for someone saying the neutral wouldnt tune in...
As someone posted - "To go on a run, not win it for a few years be relegated, to then come back and win another All Ireland against a Kerry team who were much hyped, as going on a run themselves, is incredible. We could see the emotion at the end, this has to be best and sweetest win. Unlucky to Kerry, this one will hurt" - I couldnt agree more.
Dublin and Jamesie have been in 11 All ireland finals including replays since 2011. In all 9 All Ireland wins by Dublin, they have never lost a game, no back door or defeats in groups or round robin stages, Amazing stat.
I think, like many think, this one was the sweetest of them all. To break the duck in 2011, then go from Back2Back to get the fabled 5 in a row, and then surpass that with 6 in a row. Unbelievable. We won 8 All Ireland's in a decade and now have 7 in 9 years, and 9 in 13 years also. Some record
I have never seen Fento so focused and up for it, as he was this year. Led by example. Lovely photo of him consoling DC after the final whistle also. When you hear Fenton saying this was the sweetest of all his wins - that says it all. You could see how much it meant to the players and fans. The lads were so very determined to win it this year - one last time for some imo.
The Hill went absolutely banana's at the final whistle. I kept saying is it over, really over....? lol What a day to be on the Hill. I was overjoyed to be honest. And not one bit of trouble either on the Hill it must be said...! Wonderful, intense and extremely loud atmosphere throughout. I was shattered after the game in all honesty. ;o)
Hopefully someday, someone will do a last dance style documentary for this Dublin team. I think someone else mentioned this also ;o)
Hard luck Kerry, but the returning cavalry & rest of the team, clearly had a massive point to prove to bring Sam back.
To win the All Ireland from been relegated last year and playing Div 2 this year was remarkable. Timed the run perfectly and went Unbeaten in this Championship run. But those players are without doubt the best team in football history and deserve all the credit in the world. If there was ever a doubt before if this Dublin were the best ever, there isnt now. Unrivalled now.!
It seems very fitting that it will probably be the end of 4 of these Dublin players career, they will finish against Kerry, the team they beat to win their first All Ireland back in 2011 - Clucko. Fitzy, Jamesie & Deano, The 3 lads getting the 9th all Ireland really crowns this Dublin side as the greatest of all time. It is gas, this 9th win had a lot of similarities with the first one back in 2011
As for the famous 3 - now proudly standing alone with 9 Senior Football All Ireland Medals, and surpassing the likes of Spillane - remarkable achievement. Stephen Cluxton, Mick Fitz, James Mc - I salute you all.
On a side note - I dont remember hearing JOC congratulating Dublin after the game. This one clearly hurt them and will do for a hell of a long time. Kerry's last AI Final win over Dublin was back in 1985 and I am sure they wanted to close the book on this Dublin team once and for all, with a back 2 back victory, but Dublin had more hunger & determination and it showed.
Finally, if that was the last time I see Clucko, Deano, Mick Fitz and Jamesie playing for Dublin - well all I can say is I was honoured to be there on Sunday and to be there for all 9 of those All Ireland wins. Lifetime memories - THANK YOU This win is definitely the sweetest of all and will bring a smile to my face for many a year thinking about it. WOW, just wow.....!
To all my Dublin comrades ( lol ) on here, inc Jackeen - Enjoy the continued celebrations. I know I will, for a very long time....
I need a drink after that...... lol ;o)
Atha Cliath Abú #GOAT #Legends #Immortal" Great post Fionn
Delighted for Dessie but also my fellow supporters, none better than you bud.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/08/2023 14:09:50
Replying To Ulsterman: "Well done Dublin....ye shower of D4, money laden, professional, Croke Park teachers pet, media darlings. What is there not to luurrrvve?" Here.. less of that D4 stuff
All the rest, fair enough
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/08/2023 14:10:52
Replying To Ulsterman: "Well done Dublin....ye shower of D4, money laden, professional, Croke Park teachers pet, media darlings. What is there not to luurrrvve?" You forgot fiendishly handsome.
TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4517 - 02/08/2023 14:12:22
Replying To TheUsername: "You forgot fiendishly handsome." There are obviously no mirrors in your house.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 02/08/2023 14:22:29
Replying To Ulsterman: "Well done Dublin....ye shower of D4, money laden, professional, Croke Park teachers pet, media darlings. What is there not to luurrrvve?" Don't forget Free State, Brit loving Jackeens.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 02/08/2023 14:36:13
Replying To Fionn: "Wow wow wow - finally get to sit down and post my thoughts.
Still on the indigestion tablets after having to eat my hat... ;o) Apologies RealDub for not replying to you...
Unbelievable - proud is an understatement. Cant believe we are All Ireland champions for 2023. Still hasnt sunk in yet. I am on cloud Nine - pardon the pun.
I stood on the Hill before the game on Sunday, much like the semi final last year, hoping we wouldnt be beaten by much.
But at half time I was so annoyed we were losing and conceded that goal in injury time. Dublin should have been ahead going in at the break.
2nd half, when we got the goal, I thought we are really in this game again.
Then to go 3pts down, twice I think it was, and come back, showed so much determination and grit by our lads.
We outscored kerry by 7pts to 2pt in the last 25minutes, and I felt we deserved to win the game tbh and were worthy All Ireland Champions again. No excuses and no arguments about it imo.
DC was well shackled by Mick Fitz although DC did miss some relatively easy chances by his standards. Actually felt he tried to force it. Kerry are far too over reliant on DC. One man show at times in some games. But far too much pressure and expectation on him, even since he was a teenager. Only 24 - might end up being the GOAT - but defo not near there yet. People must remember that Kerry struggled against Cork, terrible when beaten by Mayo and very lucky against Derry this year.
I thought Con was well shackled but should have scored that goal chance. Also he refused to take 2 marks which would have been 2 more easy points. Very impressed with Lee Gannon. Gonna be some player. Jamesie and Fento put in some shift and but for a couple of dropped balls by JMcC in attack we could have been in for another goal imo. Howard was immense and also won so many of the kick outs from Clucko. Jack made a big difference when he came on. Stephen had a 100% success rate with his kick outs and also scored just 1pt less than DC.... ;o) And 8pts of our score, came from his kick outs. SOS scored 1pt from play and DC only 2pts from play. Kerry only had 5 scorers to Dublin's 8 scorers. With Fento scoring 2pts whilst playing from midfield.
I thought with the exception of a couple of tackles, our controlled intensity by the likes of John Small for one, was outstanding. I just felt we wanted it more throughout.
Over 1million viewers for this final - so much for someone saying the neutral wouldnt tune in...
As someone posted - "To go on a run, not win it for a few years be relegated, to then come back and win another All Ireland against a Kerry team who were much hyped, as going on a run themselves, is incredible. We could see the emotion at the end, this has to be best and sweetest win. Unlucky to Kerry, this one will hurt" - I couldnt agree more.
Dublin and Jamesie have been in 11 All ireland finals including replays since 2011. In all 9 All Ireland wins by Dublin, they have never lost a game, no back door or defeats in groups or round robin stages, Amazing stat.
I think, like many think, this one was the sweetest of them all. To break the duck in 2011, then go from Back2Back to get the fabled 5 in a row, and then surpass that with 6 in a row. Unbelievable. We won 8 All Ireland's in a decade and now have 7 in 9 years, and 9 in 13 years also. Some record
I have never seen Fento so focused and up for it, as he was this year. Led by example. Lovely photo of him consoling DC after the final whistle also. When you hear Fenton saying this was the sweetest of all his wins - that says it all. You could see how much it meant to the players and fans. The lads were so very determined to win it this year - one last time for some imo.
The Hill went absolutely banana's at the final whistle. I kept saying is it over, really over....? lol What a day to be on the Hill. I was overjoyed to be honest. And not one bit of trouble either on the Hill it must be said...! Wonderful, intense and extremely loud atmosphere throughout. I was shattered after the game in all honesty. ;o)
Hopefully someday, someone will do a last dance style documentary for this Dublin team. I think someone else mentioned this also ;o)
Hard luck Kerry, but the returning cavalry & rest of the team, clearly had a massive point to prove to bring Sam back.
To win the All Ireland from been relegated last year and playing Div 2 this year was remarkable. Timed the run perfectly and went Unbeaten in this Championship run. But those players are without doubt the best team in football history and deserve all the credit in the world. If there was ever a doubt before if this Dublin were the best ever, there isnt now. Unrivalled now.!
It seems very fitting that it will probably be the end of 4 of these Dublin players career, they will finish against Kerry, the team they beat to win their first All Ireland back in 2011 - Clucko. Fitzy, Jamesie & Deano, The 3 lads getting the 9th all Ireland really crowns this Dublin side as the greatest of all time. It is gas, this 9th win had a lot of similarities with the first one back in 2011
As for the famous 3 - now proudly standing alone with 9 Senior Football All Ireland Medals, and surpassing the likes of Spillane - remarkable achievement. Stephen Cluxton, Mick Fitz, James Mc - I salute you all.
On a side note - I dont remember hearing JOC congratulating Dublin after the game. This one clearly hurt them and will do for a hell of a long time. Kerry's last AI Final win over Dublin was back in 1985 and I am sure they wanted to close the book on this Dublin team once and for all, with a back 2 back victory, but Dublin had more hunger & determination and it showed.
Finally, if that was the last time I see Clucko, Deano, Mick Fitz and Jamesie playing for Dublin - well all I can say is I was honoured to be there on Sunday and to be there for all 9 of those All Ireland wins. Lifetime memories - THANK YOU This win is definitely the sweetest of all and will bring a smile to my face for many a year thinking about it. WOW, just wow.....!
To all my Dublin comrades ( lol ) on here, inc Jackeen - Enjoy the continued celebrations. I know I will, for a very long time....
I need a drink after that...... lol ;o)
Atha Cliath Abú #GOAT #Legends #Immortal" Why can't a team just be better than another team? They've won 6in a row for goodness sake, of course they're just the better side. Why does this crookedly insulting 'wanted it more' have to rear it's often ugly & inappropriate head? You've some 'experts' saying Clifford lost his 'A Game' because he tried too hard, wanted it too much etc. Then you're asking us to believe that Kerry didn't want it badly enough? I didn't see an issue with Kerry's hunger and desire to win the game. They lost to the better side. Kerry had the chances over both halves to have possibly won too, but that's into the realms of cuda wuda shuda. The better team won, no need to delve into any 'wanted it more' bs on this particular occasion imo.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4193 - 02/08/2023 14:44:04
Replying To MesAmis: "So who has gone to the 8 Jim?
Kilkenny Rock Costello? Was he on the panel in '13? Certainly was from '14 on." David Byrne also moves onto 8!
Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 02/08/2023 15:05:21
Replying To MesAmis: "So who has gone to the 8 Jim?
Kilkenny Rock Costello? Was he on the panel in '13? Certainly was from '14 on." Yes Mes, I'm fairly certain you have it spot on.
Then you have the other lads that retired on 8 that are now backed up again, while a few boys go onto their own lofty heights
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/08/2023 15:06:34
Replying To Onion_Sack: "I would hope tradition was upheld jimbo and the losing manager paid a visit to the Victor's dressing room to congratulate them! Can anyone confirm it still happens?" I hope it still happens and JOC did in fact call in.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/08/2023 15:10:24
Replying To baire: "Náire ort domsa? Cén sórt sifil í sin ort!
Maidir leis an iomáint, tá sé 85 bhliana ó bhuaigh BÁC corn Mhic Cárthaigh. Údar díomá dá lucht leanúna gan amhras. Is náireach an rud é sin do CLG na hardchathrach - is beag a suim inár gcluiche dúchais i ndáiríre, is mó a spéis sa mbrabach agus san airgead mór. Tá foireann peile seo BhÁC ar an bhfoireann is fearr riamh. Níl aon cheist faoi sin. Nuair a bhuaigh siad 6 cinn as a chéile agus cúpla ceann eile roimhe sin, céard eile a bhí le cruthú acu?" Chaill James deora mar bhuaigh sé naoi mbonn, éacht iontach. Cuir roinnt siúcra le do aiste bia chun an t-aigéad a bhaint. Buachaill maith.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 02/08/2023 15:10:35
Replying To jimbodub: "Great post Fionn
Delighted for Dessie but also my fellow supporters, none better than you bud." Cheers Jimbo.
Jamesie becomes. the 1st BK player to Captain a Dublin All Ireland winning team also afaik.
Massive shoutout to Pat Gilroy in all this also. His influence and impact cannot be underestimated.
We have the Terrific Three on NINE AI Medals, but now added Deano, Davy, CK and Cormac to the lofty haul of 8..
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4279 - 02/08/2023 15:24:23
Replying To Onion_Sack: "Jimbo! You're a Ballymun Kickhams man aren't you? What's the craic up there with the medal count at this stage with the current crop? Excluding the lads from the 80s, It's through the roof at this stage. (Does Philly play at any level at this stage?)
Jamsie 9 Deano 8 Philly 8 Big Smallie 7 Little Smallie 4? Commerford 4/5? Davy Byrne 1/2?
Any sneaky ones up there that went under the radar? Ted Furman?
The only other club side I can think of that came not even close would be Austin Stacks 70/80s? About half that haul!" The tally is up there with the very best.
The spine of the Dublin side across this history defining time has come from Ballymun Kickhams, I'm of course very proud of that but it's also come at a cost.. Dublin's gain was Ballymuns loss.. I've been there to watch them win Dublin and Leinster championships but the AI final loss still hurts, and it was the lads only opportunity.. there's a reason for that, but again, you have to look beyond your own nose and the break back efforts in blue resulted in many great days for our entire city. Ultimately, that is more important.
Listen though, it's a small club and most them fellas wouldn't be recognised walking around Ballymun by a decent sized % of the population, that's the mad thing.. there's no big glamorous club house.. but there's the ultimate pedigree still there. Make no mistake, the actions and dedication of them lads will spur on plenty more to follow..
If I ever win the Euromillions I'm building a belks and whistles club house.. with a big mural on the side of it with that Dublin spine featuring with a host of other just as important legends which were/are hero's of mine.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/08/2023 15:27:58