Dublin GAA thread

Replying To realdub:  "Yeh cheers Mick, Monaghan are a credit to themselves but there was no way we were losing that.
Good luck tomorrow!!"
Thanks alot Realdub and yeah Monaghan were a credit to their people but Dublin just that bit too good. Words can't praise the likes of Fenton Mccarthy enough but hats of to Costello too.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3901 - 15/07/2023 20:44:45    2494628

Not a great game.

Good result though.

Costello very good. Mick fitz an absolute warrior. Fenton and mccarthy good too.

Mcmanus is a special footballer

Anyway, on we go to the next one and kerry in the final (likely)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 15/07/2023 20:49:52    2494630

Why do the Dublin players come across as extremely robotic and devoid of any emotion when they get interviewed? It really smacks of pre-programmed Stepford Wives stuff.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9817 - 15/07/2023 21:10:16    2494637

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "Brian Fenton: greatest player this game has ever seen?"
Well you have a question mark so I presume you ré asking my opinion. I'm afraid I never call any player the best ever as its too hard to judge with different eras different positions etc. I think Brian Fenton is def one of the greatest midfielders I have ever seen. Tbh I thínk Fenton is class but for me in my humble opinion the best Dublin player I've seen is James Mccarthy but that's just me. I think Fenton up there with all time greats though. If I was picking the best 15 I've seen Fenton would be on it with Mccarthy and Fenton would be midfield with Jack Ó Shea.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3901 - 15/07/2023 21:17:55    2494641

Replying To SimonstownBack:  "He was my MOTM today."
He might well be the greatest Player the youngsters on here have ever seen

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 351 - 15/07/2023 21:19:47    2494643

Replying To waynoI:  "Not a great game.

Good result though.

Costello very good. Mick fitz an absolute warrior. Fenton and mccarthy good too.

Mcmanus is a special footballer

Anyway, on we go to the next one and kerry in the final (likely)"
Howya Wayno, it was a better game than I thought it would be, I'll watch it again anyway.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8746 - 15/07/2023 21:20:42    2494644

Replying To worple:  "He might well be the greatest Player the youngsters on here have ever seen"
Well done.

You got through that whole post without typing Dermot Earlie Snr.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5245 - 15/07/2023 21:30:23    2494647

Jesus Christ but Monaghan are one tough team to beat. They really defend well and in Beggan they have one of the sweetest strikers of a football I've ever seen- he is immense. I think that's why Dublin were so careful to press up at selected phases of the game. Beggan would have the ability to hit somebody running behind the press.

Costello was deserved MOTM - thank god he was in form.
I thought Fenton really showed his class in the last 25 minutes. That point was really important. Mannion, P Small Basquel were heavily marked out of the game. James Mac and Howard were good throughout the game thought our defenders did very well. Gannon, Mick Fitz and Murchan were did very well and helped us drive forward.

Jack was good when he came on as was Kilkenny,

That match was the best possible prep for an All-Ireland. It was a chastening experience for some of our much vaunted forwards . They will want to atone for a poor performance today.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 15/07/2023 21:34:47    2494649

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Why do the Dublin players come across as extremely robotic and devoid of any emotion when they get interviewed? It really smacks of pre-programmed Stepford Wives stuff."
Why do you post pure nonsense all the time ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 15/07/2023 21:41:10    2494652

Replying To superbluedub:  "Why do you post pure nonsense all the time ?"
Ahh not at all. Ulsterman is actually one of the funniest posters here. His posts always have an edge and he makes no apologies for his dislike for `Dublin. You have to admire his consistency - he is our pantomine villain

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 15/07/2023 22:19:49    2494661

Replying To superbluedub:  "Why do you post pure nonsense all the time ?"
You could set your watch by that chap!

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 163 - 15/07/2023 22:22:40    2494662

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Why do the Dublin players come across as extremely robotic and devoid of any emotion when they get interviewed? It really smacks of pre-programmed Stepford Wives stuff."
Ah here, we know all ye lads up there are great characters. Loveable scoundrels etc.
Our lads don't get into it with the media, but I know a lot of these boys and believe me they have plenty of personality, sure aren't they Dubs :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8746 - 15/07/2023 22:32:07    2494664

Have to say the senior men on team really shone through in 2nd half..Fitz,McCarthy,Fenton,Howard and killkenny..a fella I've really great time for aswell as being a super player is murchan..what more needs be said about Cluxton?looks like a fella who go for a few more years..kick outs again on the mark..big shout out for beggan and McManus..great to see the respect rock and McManus showed after game for each other..best of luck in final.

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2506 - 15/07/2023 22:47:20    2494668

59 minutes on the clock and Monaghan still going toe to toe with Dublin. A couple of loose plays and Dubs pushing up changed the game in the next 4 minutes. If every other county showed as much balls the gap wouldn't be so big between the top 2 and the rest.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2289 - 15/07/2023 22:47:23    2494669

Replying To avonali:  "Ahh not at all. Ulsterman is actually one of the funniest posters here. His posts always have an edge and he makes no apologies for his dislike for `Dublin. You have to admire his consistency - he is our pantomine villain"
Oh no I'm not.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9817 - 16/07/2023 00:29:20    2494684

Replying To Saynothing:  "59 minutes on the clock and Monaghan still going toe to toe with Dublin. A couple of loose plays and Dubs pushing up changed the game in the next 4 minutes. If every other county showed as much balls the gap wouldn't be so big between the top 2 and the rest."
Other than its my own county men, I'd rather watch spider racing or something....

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3501 - 16/07/2023 00:49:55    2494687

Semi finals are there to be won lads, job done. Value for money with the game in the melting pot up to the 61st minute. We had enough.

Monaghan did well, came with a plan and fought like tigers, if you want to win the big ones you have to play against that and over come it.

We made hard work of it at times, but eventually ground it out and opened up the space.

Shout out to Jamesie, Fento and Howard hitting form at the right time - Kilkenny was a great settler when he came on. Jacko and Mannion showing their quality. Scullzer looks on the bold step at the wrong time.

But most of all i thought Stevo's kickouts were sublime, when possession is so precious - he hit the mark every time - bar one which went over the line, hes incredible and so influential.

We can look at today with a relaxed eye and another final in our back pocket, im quietly confident the next day out, we will be competitive for sure and that really all you can ask for.

As always,

Up The Dubs.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4515 - 16/07/2023 10:06:29    2494714

Replying To SimonstownBack:  "You could set your watch by that chap!"
Ditto

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 16/07/2023 10:27:32    2494717

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "Brian Fenton: greatest player this game has ever seen?"
Probably going a bit far to be fair imo.

One of the best of his generation I think.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 16/07/2023 11:45:35    2494738

There is no doubt that Brian Fenton is one of the best mid-fielders over the last 20 years. I think he played very well during the second half yesterday but had a poor first half in my opinion. To say he is the best player the game has ever seen is pushing it a fair bit. D'ont even think that he has even been having a great year up to yesterday. James Mc Carthy I would put before him. You also have to take to consideration that Stephen Cluxtons kick outs would make any mid-fielder look good and also that he was playing in the best team of all time. As far as mid-fielders go (igoring other positions) , Dermot Early, Jack O Shea, Mick O' Connell, Anthony Tohill and a few others would also have to be considered. Fenton is still one of the best, there is no doubt about that.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 726 - 16/07/2023 13:07:11    2494754