Dublin GAA thread

Replying To jimbodub:  "For me..

It's now time for Con to step up and truly take Bernards place. He's a remarkable baller but ow it's time to go up to the next level.

He's not a youngster anymore and its time to become a senior leader. Dublin need a BB like performance and Con nees to take it and own the responsibility."
Good point Jimbo. Big game required from Con.

We have the scoring threat, starting and from the bench - just need to ensure no sloppiness at the back and keep it tight.

Hill ticket got - looking forward to 2 very good games.
Hopefully we can make the step up from other games this year, and give it a right go.

Nervous but hopeful.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4220 - 27/06/2023 13:56:54    2490069

It's now time for Con to step up and truly take Bernards place. He's a remarkable baller but ow it's time to go up to the next level.

He's not a youngster anymore and its time to become a senior leader. Dublin need a BB like performance and Con nees to take it and own the responsibility."
I don't think Con has anything to prove, personally. I'd say the same for Cormac and Mannion. They've done it when it matters most. It's a great opportunity for the likes of Bugler, Basquel, Paddy Small to shoulder some responsibility. Especially Basquel, who seems to be finding form and favour with Dessie. He's had many many opportunities over the years. But it's in midfield and especially defence where performances need to shine I reckon. Can't be letting Mayo get a few points ahead and hope for the applied miracles of the Gavin era.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 27/06/2023 14:07:26    2490077

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "I don't think Con has anything to prove, personally. I'd say the same for Cormac and Mannion. They've done it when it matters most. It's a great opportunity for the likes of Bugler, Basquel, Paddy Small to shoulder some responsibility. Especially Basquel, who seems to be finding form and favour with Dessie. He's had many many opportunities over the years. But it's in midfield and especially defence where performances need to shine I reckon. Can't be letting Mayo get a few points ahead and hope for the applied miracles of the Gavin era."
Con has nothing to prove but needs to be more prominent, along with Mannion and as you say, Cormac.

I think Howard is finding a bit of form again after being out earlier in the year.

Collie is doing really well and I am delighted for him.

Big challenge for Lee and a couple of the new lads.

FB line is the key for me tbh. Need to be really good and not as open as in previous games when run at.

Shaping up to be a cracker of a weekend. Fingers crossed more than 1 result goes our way...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4220 - 27/06/2023 15:57:48    2490134

Out of the two managers, Its probably Dessie that's under the most scrutiny and pressure.

Lose this one and it'll be 3 big loses on the bounce Mayo x 2 and Kerry

I know he has had to deal with the transition between the Gavin era, many great players calling it a day etc. He's done well and for me, got very unlucky last year with injuries. Dublin were looking good.

I wonder though, if he loses this one will he have any plans to call it quits.

McStay is only a short time in the job and he has the wriggle room.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/06/2023 12:18:36    2490388

With this game being shown live on I think it's taking the focus of Kerry v Tyrone which I think will be a better game,
I think if Dublin are at themselves at all they'll win this, Galway should have beaten them only they played them in a gale and kicked so many wides and missed a sitter of a goal chance too,
If Dublin have their shooting boots on I think the bookies have this one priced correctly.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3180 - 28/06/2023 12:41:09    2490399

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "With this game being shown live on I think it's taking the focus of Kerry v Tyrone which I think will be a better game,
I think if Dublin are at themselves at all they'll win this, Galway should have beaten them only they played them in a gale and kicked so many wides and missed a sitter of a goal chance too,
If Dublin have their shooting boots on I think the bookies have this one priced correctly."
I'm feeling the same way about it. I'm normally a pessimist when it comes to these games but we've enough firepower to get us through if Mayo don't plant a car park in front of their goal. Our FB line remains our achilles heel and we look shaky in there. If AOS is in around the square with the likes of the O''Connors and McLoughlin picking up loose ball around the 20 then we could be in trouble. I thought Galway got at them easily enough in the first half on Sun but just didn't make hay. I'd be hoping that Dublin can inflict more damage if given the same chances. Will be close I think.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 28/06/2023 13:21:13    2490418

What a load of nonsense - the most lethal forward in the country and this is what you come up with! BS!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 01/07/2023 08:40:39    2490933

I think James McCarthy is the greatest player to ever play the game at this stage

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 163 - 02/07/2023 17:49:33    2491419

Congratulations to Dublin. Ye schooled us today for hunger, workrate and decision making.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7952 - 02/07/2023 18:15:00    2491432

Replying To CCFabu:  "I think James McCarthy is the greatest player to ever play the game at this stage"
The Greatest outfield Dublin footballer that I've ever seen. Watching since the early 90s

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 02/07/2023 18:16:24    2491435

Delighted for Basquel

Well done Dessie, Dubs best performance for quite a while, they had a great day in defense and Cluxton is still to conceede a goal, it's the defensive performance that needed to improve the most today, it did.. and the talent is there up front and they delivered with a touch of class.

I think Murchan will be grand, looked like cramp.

As a few of us said, Jack should be an impact player and it's unreal to have that as a weapon with 25 minutes to go

Listen great day, but zero won.. hope we get Kerry in the draw.

Hard luck Mayo, there's signs there that McStay is going to bring them on after a couple of big wins.

Congrats again to Basquel. A player that enjoys such natural ability, deserves to deliver on days like today.

McCarthy.. what's there left to say. He's up there as the greatest Dub player

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/07/2023 18:44:04    2491457

Replying To baire:  "What a load of nonsense - the most lethal forward in the country and this is what you come up with! BS!"
Ah you're right, he's great. I just feel he's capable of being a true leader of that team, I probably didn't deliver the point very well.. point taken! Jeeze you were quite upset.. :)

Ah well.

I've been championing this young man on this site before many even knew his name, his injury last year probably cost Dublin an AI title.. says it all alright.

I stand corrected.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/07/2023 18:50:14    2491464

That second half was the best 35 minutes of football from a Dublin team in quite a while. Well done lads! Fenton had a quiet first half but then really came into it. That catch! Jamesy was immense, his driving forward was brilliant to watch.
Hope Murchan is OK, I think he tweaked that hammer again.; it was great to have him and Jack back to full strength. Kilkenny was great when he came on. Basquel has repaid Dessie's faith in him.
The hunger and energy of Dublin in the final half was brilliant. So many Mayo attacks were turned over and then they broke with real pace. Was worried about the number of underhit shots and wides in second half but thankfully it all came good in the end.
Hard Luck to Mayo - it's a tough drive back West after a result like that. They'll be back.
C'mon ye Boys in Blue!!!!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 02/07/2023 18:54:36    2491466

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Congratulations to Dublin. Ye schooled us today for hunger, workrate and decision making."
Fair play to you G&R! Classy post!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 299 - 02/07/2023 19:09:53    2491481

Replying To MesAmis:  "The Greatest outfield Dublin footballer that I've ever seen. Watching since the early 90s"
I'm a bit older than you mes, not sure about you CCFabu. Been watching and going to Croker since 74, (poxed to get in at the beginning from a Dublin point of view!) Best player I've ever seen and some may say, greatest of all time and i may get lambasted for saying this, Jack O'Shea. That man broke my heart! But you're spot on! McCarty is close at this stage. If he makes 9 then the argument is truly on, although Clucko and Fitzy may have sometng to say about it ;-)

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 299 - 02/07/2023 19:10:23    2491482

Replying To jimbodub:  "Delighted for Basquel

Well done Dessie, Dubs best performance for quite a while, they had a great day in defense and Cluxton is still to conceede a goal, it's the defensive performance that needed to improve the most today, it did.. and the talent is there up front and they delivered with a touch of class.

I think Murchan will be grand, looked like cramp.

As a few of us said, Jack should be an impact player and it's unreal to have that as a weapon with 25 minutes to go

Listen great day, but zero won.. hope we get Kerry in the draw.

Hard luck Mayo, there's signs there that McStay is going to bring them on after a couple of big wins.

Congrats again to Basquel. A player that enjoys such natural ability, deserves to deliver on days like today.

McCarthy.. what's there left to say. He's up there as the greatest Dub player"
On Murch- I think he tweaked that hammer, He was feeling it on the sideline under the Hogan and then had to play on as Mayo were on the attack. I don't think it was cramp- I hope that's all it was. He was vital in the first half.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 02/07/2023 19:11:03    2491483

Great to give a 'big' team a beating like that but Mayo were at their worst. Very poor.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8746 - 02/07/2023 19:12:17    2491485

Will be a Dublin v Kerry final

McCarthy and Cluxton going for an unprecedented 9 all Irelands

Plenty of cracks on show today but Mayo didn't even try to open them, happy to take their points in the first half and gave up in th second

All the best. It's good to see defenders being trusted one v one.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1371 - 02/07/2023 19:25:46    2491498

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Will be a Dublin v Kerry final

McCarthy and Cluxton going for an unprecedented 9 all Irelands

Plenty of cracks on show today but Mayo didn't even try to open them, happy to take their points in the first half and gave up in th second

All the best. It's good to see defenders being trusted one v one."
And Fitzy!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 299 - 02/07/2023 19:36:49    2491511

Our frailties were there to be seen in the first half, dodgy full back line second to everything, AOS getting on the ball, wayward shooting from our lads, stupid kickable frees given away for jersey pulls. But that second 35 is the best we've produced since the JG days. Huge intensity, the forwards singing, Fento fielding, the wing backs flying. Superb stuff. We need to reproduce that second half performance for 70 the next day. Great second half from Jamesy, Mannion, Collie, Con right on it, Deano and Paddy gliding over a couple of beauties. Well done lads. Never doubted we could do it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 02/07/2023 19:49:44    2491520