Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Give it a rest Tommy. Brigid's were comfortably the better team yesterday. There certainly weren't 6 or 7 soft scoreable frees given to them. Sure Brigid's scored 7 frees in total. Are you saying all of them were extremely soft? I thought Corofin's tackling was poor and clumsy and well off the intensity they played with in the county final. Brigid's on the other hand put huge pressure on Corofin in possession.
As for the point waved wide, it was immaterial in the end. It should have been given as a score, but made no difference to the result.
The very best of luck to Brigid's in the next stage of their journey."
Thought ref made few bad decisions on both sides. Eddie Nolan got called for to many steps after fetching a brilliant ball at midfield and broke through the middle just one example. Thought Brigid's were far better team. Brian stack was outstanding again and Ben O'Carroll would be a nightmare to mark. It's an extremely young Brigid's team I think the 6 starting forwards are under 23 years of age. I could be wrong.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1121 - 04/12/2023 15:55:16    2515495

Replying To tommy k:  "In fairness even though Corofin didn't play anywhere near the standard they can play, I thought the referee gave at least 6 or 7 extremely soft scoreable "frees" to Brigid's and there was at least 1 point for Corofin that was waved wide in the second half that was clearly shown on TV to be between the posts. I don't think Brigid's will be allowed those handy "frees" in the semifinal or final if they make it that far and how Smith won that all-star I will never know!"
Watched the match live with benefit of replays and was no soft frees (whatever that means) They were poor fouls by Corofin players. Corofin good in the county final and they simply weren't allowed to play near that level yesterday. Well done to Brigids who was good value for their 5 point win

Enda Smith won All Star because he was one of the 15 best individual performers in 2023 not that hard to know really.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3439 - 04/12/2023 16:03:14    2515497

Well done to a young Brigid's team. They should have every chance against the Munster champions. Ben O'Carroll seems to have bulked up from the Summer. Good news for Roscommon for next year. Seems to be plenty of building work going on around The Hyde which is great.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2265 - 04/12/2023 18:18:03    2515513

Congrats to Brigids. Very good team. I think too much was made of the Ballina game when discussing Corofin. Fact is Ballina are average and won a very poor quality Mayo championship this year. Joe Brolly will have to write another love letter this weekend but this time to Brigids.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11333 - 04/12/2023 18:19:12    2515514

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "How did this happen? Surely you are mistaken?! I had a gawk at the forum coming up to the final and going by the Galway thread Corofin were going to cruise through Connacht, with the Mayo and Roscommon champions nothing more than flies they were going to swat out of the way on their way to winning the inevitable All Ireland. Sure intermediate didn't matter and it was all about the senior. Not to mention the whinging and bitterness about Enda Smith's All star.

But enough about the that. Fair play to Brigids, brillaint performance aside from a bit of a wobble either side of half time. Corofin to their credit did bring the game to them at the start of that second half but were wasteful. Delighted for Brian Stack, he's brought his championship form into club and BOC. Great to see Hyde works progressing too."
Actually, I find most of the Galway football posters to be fine out. What happens is that a few strays from the Galway hurling forum occasionally wander onto the football forum and raise such nonsense. One of them happens to be on here right now, lamenting the free count that Corofin were penalized for. Trust me, it is not for the good of Galway football that such pearls ope their mouth.

And here's to Brigid's going all the way now!

Also, happy to hear that Ultan Harney may be on the way back. Asaah!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2053 - 04/12/2023 18:39:14    2515518

Replying To dave1988:  "Thought ref made few bad decisions on both sides. Eddie Nolan got called for to many steps after fetching a brilliant ball at midfield and broke through the middle just one example. Thought Brigid's were far better team. Brian stack was outstanding again and Ben O'Carroll would be a nightmare to mark. It's an extremely young Brigid's team I think the 6 starting forwards are under 23 years of age. I could be wrong."
Ages of the Brigids starting forwards yesterday.

Ciarán Sugrue 22 Paul McGrath 23 Conor Hand 20 Ben O'Carroll 21 , Brian Derwin 24 Bobby Nugent 19

Others that started aged under 23 yesterday was Robbie Dolan 22,Ruaidhri Fallon 21,Pearse Frost 23,Shane Cunnane 22 so the teams left in the All Ireland series I doubt they have 10 starters aged 23 or under.

Oldest outfield starters Alan Daly 27,Ronan Stack 32,Eddie Nolan 25 and Brian Stack 26.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 04/12/2023 20:21:03    2515530

Replying To dave1988:  "Thought ref made few bad decisions on both sides. Eddie Nolan got called for to many steps after fetching a brilliant ball at midfield and broke through the middle just one example. Thought Brigid's were far better team. Brian stack was outstanding again and Ben O'Carroll would be a nightmare to mark. It's an extremely young Brigid's team I think the 6 starting forwards are under 23 years of age. I could be wrong."
Congratulations to Bridget's but Brian Stacks eulogy aboutBen O'Carroll a little OTT as Mhills Sean Harkin marked him out of it in the Semi Final.In retrospect Mohill will feel hard done by in A game they could have won not taking away from Bridget's achievement. That's football for you.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 135 - 05/12/2023 00:56:47    2515542

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Actually, I find most of the Galway football posters to be fine out. What happens is that a few strays from the Galway hurling forum occasionally wander onto the football forum and raise such nonsense. One of them happens to be on here right now, lamenting the free count that Corofin were penalized for. Trust me, it is not for the good of Galway football that such pearls ope their mouth.

Also, happy to hear that Ultan Harney may be on the way back. Asaah!"
That may explain some of the put downs of the great achievements of Tooreen hurling over on the hurling thread as well. Mayo are damned if they and damned if they don't.

Fingers crossed Harney comes back and stays injury free.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 975 - 05/12/2023 09:00:57    2515551

Replying To The_analyser:  "Ages of the Brigids starting forwards yesterday.

Ciarán Sugrue 22 Paul McGrath 23 Conor Hand 20 Ben O'Carroll 21 , Brian Derwin 24 Bobby Nugent 19

Others that started aged under 23 yesterday was Robbie Dolan 22,Ruaidhri Fallon 21,Pearse Frost 23,Shane Cunnane 22 so the teams left in the All Ireland series I doubt they have 10 starters aged 23 or under.

Oldest outfield starters Alan Daly 27,Ronan Stack 32,Eddie Nolan 25 and Brian Stack 26."
That's unbelievable. Great experience for those young lads.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 975 - 05/12/2023 09:04:25    2515553

Replying To The_analyser:  "Brigids back as the best in Connacht once again. Led from pillar to post and in truth never looked like losing. Might be disappointed about the goals conceded especially the one before half time but it was a solid defensive display and much the better attacking team.

Both Stacks, Fallon, Frost, Nolan and Ben O'Carroll among the stand outs in a fine team performance.

Pearses, Faithleachs, Castlerea and Brigids had now won 4 Connacht titles since 2021. Roscommon club football is very strong without a doubt."
Yeah, fully agreed that the Roscommon club scene is looking very strong in recent times, with the results to prove it, and that's a credit to all involved at grass roots across the county there. This is one Galway man (and there are many many more, trust me) who'd only love to see your representatives go all the way now and win an All Ireland for their parishes. There's really nothing sweeter in the game. More power to both Brigids and Kevins.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 936 - 05/12/2023 09:34:18    2515561

Replying To togoutlads:  "Yeah, fully agreed that the Roscommon club scene is looking very strong in recent times, with the results to prove it, and that's a credit to all involved at grass roots across the county there. This is one Galway man (and there are many many more, trust me) who'd only love to see your representatives go all the way now and win an All Ireland for their parishes. There's really nothing sweeter in the game. More power to both Brigids and Kevins."
All Irelands of any shape don't come across the Shannon often so it's great to see it when it does happen. Corofin's achievements have been nothing short of brilliant and have represented Connacht superbly. Something even more special when it is a rural club as well. This years club AI will be very hard won, Kilmacud will have a point to prove after last years final and if Glen come out of Ulster they will have serious motivation to go all the way.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 975 - 05/12/2023 10:09:23    2515565

Replying To tommy k:  "What would a Limerick man know about football? lol"
Obviously more than you

Romell01 (Roscommon) - Posts: 23 - 05/12/2023 10:48:47    2515575

Replying To The_analyser:  "Ages of the Brigids starting forwards yesterday.

Oldest outfield starters Alan Daly 27,Ronan Stack 32,Eddie Nolan 25 and Brian Stack 26."
Amazingly young profile and frightening statistics for the challengers in Roscommon and Connacht over the next few years.
When you see stats like that you have to take a look at the levels below u20, u18. u16 to see what the slightly longer term might be.
Any idea about whats coming through? Ros website has no u20 results that I could find. Well beaten at minor it seems. U16s playing in Division 3? Is this correct?
If so I am surprised as St Brigids have been very strong underage in recent years. And of course there could be average underage teams that still have a couple of special players to add to the current squad as it starts to age.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 912 - 05/12/2023 12:18:51    2515596

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Congratulations to Bridget's but Brian Stacks eulogy aboutBen O'Carroll a little OTT as Mhills Sean Harkin marked him out of it in the Semi Final.In retrospect Mohill will feel hard done by in A game they could have won not taking away from Bridget's achievement. That's football for you."
Ben O'Carroll was double and triple marked against Mohill. Corofin chose to leave just one player on him or be a very good defender in Liam Silke and popped up with a goal himself.

That match was played in wet and windy weather the very opposite of last Sunday and Brian Stack only played a minute had he played the full 60 minutes the influence Keith Beirne had on the game would be curbed.

Brigids was leading by 5 points with 15 minutes to go it was just a matter of how much Brigids was going to win by at that stage so credit to Mohill and the way Eamon O'Hara had them set up that it was a one score game by the end of it.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 05/12/2023 14:53:52    2515611

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Actually, I find most of the Galway football posters to be fine out. What happens is that a few strays from the Galway hurling forum occasionally wander onto the football forum and raise such nonsense. One of them happens to be on here right now, lamenting the free count that Corofin were penalized for. Trust me, it is not for the good of Galway football that such pearls ope their mouth.

Also, happy to hear that Ultan Harney may be on the way back. Asaah!"
Free advice from an American about Galway posters. You'll get nothing for nothing these days.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 05/12/2023 14:54:00    2515612

Replying To anotheralias:  "Amazingly young profile and frightening statistics for the challengers in Roscommon and Connacht over the next few years.
When you see stats like that you have to take a look at the levels below u20, u18. u16 to see what the slightly longer term might be.
Any idea about whats coming through? Ros website has no u20 results that I could find. Well beaten at minor it seems. U16s playing in Division 3? Is this correct?
If so I am surprised as St Brigids have been very strong underage in recent years. And of course there could be average underage teams that still have a couple of special players to add to the current squad as it starts to age."
From 2016 to 2020 their minors won 5 county titles in a row. In that period they won 2 Connacht minor titles unlucky not to win a 3rd one. A lot of their current seniors are from those successful underage teams.

They won three of the last 4 U20 county titles the one they didn't win was a final defeat to Pearses by 1 point in 2022.

They had a bit of lull period at minor and U16 level the last three years but their U13s and U14s won a Div 1 title the last two years.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 05/12/2023 17:32:44    2515637

Well done brigids. I was at the game and it was what I expected two good teams. Brian Stack and Ben O'carrol were a joy to watch live. Not many neutrals thought brigids could do it (myself included) and how wrong we were. Looking forward to going to you're semi final in new year

Mountlin (Westmeath) - Posts: 52 - 05/12/2023 17:55:03    2515642

Replying To Romell01:  "Obviously more than you"
You'll always get the "passionate" supporter. Brigids deserving winners. With such a young age profile, there's reason to be optimistic for club and county. Galway supporters have a great respect for Roscommon football. Sure, we remember Earley, Killoran, Freyne, "Jigger" O'Connor, Menton et all.

I've always been amazed at the kicking technique of most Roscommon players. Hard to explain, but the kick itself appears to release from a very low base (height). Just an observation, but imo, it's not the most proficient, and is technically limiting as regards accuracy and distance.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 610 - 05/12/2023 19:44:45    2515649

Replying To Really:  "You'll always get the "passionate" supporter. Brigids deserving winners. With such a young age profile, there's reason to be optimistic for club and county. Galway supporters have a great respect for Roscommon football. Sure, we remember Earley, Killoran, Freyne, "Jigger" O'Connor, Menton et all.

I've always been amazed at the kicking technique of most Roscommon players. Hard to explain, but the kick itself appears to release from a very low base (height). Just an observation, but imo, it's not the most proficient, and is technically limiting as regards accuracy and distance."
Corofin weren't as accurate as Bridgies on Sunday!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1717 - 06/12/2023 00:56:57    2515684

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Corofin weren't as accurate as Bridgies on Sunday!"
I agree. I suppose the point I'm making is that the art of kicking should be thoroughly examined, and if there is an apparent weakness, then addressed.

You'll see top class golfers always trying to improve their swing for better outcomes. Don't get me wrong, Galway and Mayo's returns are poor too in comparison to Dublin or Kerry.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 610 - 06/12/2023 10:29:07    2515713