Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "I'd say so - They may prefer being written off"
Will do them no harm to go into a Connacht final that way.

Castlebar a few years ago came through a tight struggle against the Leitrim champions and in the Connacht final after that Corofin just about prevailed via extra time. Brigids have been solid defensively all year if they keep that going this Sunday they'll give themselves a right good chance. Corofin give little away themselves defensively and I can imagine Liam Silke will be given the man marking job on Ben O'Carroll. A low scoring fine margin contest shouldn't be ruled out.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 28/11/2023 17:58:02    2514922

Brigids back as the best in Connacht once again. Led from pillar to post and in truth never looked like losing. Might be disappointed about the goals conceded especially the one before half time but it was a solid defensive display and much the better attacking team.

Both Stacks, Fallon, Frost, Nolan and Ben O'Carroll among the stand outs in a fine team performance.

Pearses, Faithleachs, Castlerea and Brigids had now won 4 Connacht titles since 2021. Roscommon club football is very strong without a doubt.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 03/12/2023 16:04:31    2515349

Wonderful performance, fantastic result. Well done Brigids

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 550 - 03/12/2023 16:31:25    2515350

Congrats to Brigid's. They put in a great performance and were fully deserving winners. They controlled the game from the start and played with an intensity which Corofin couldn't match.
Whether it's Castlehaven or Dingle in the semi-final, I hope they go on and deliver a similar performance. It's what makes the club game magic.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2105 - 03/12/2023 16:54:50    2515355

Replying To The_analyser:  "Brigids back as the best in Connacht once again. Led from pillar to post and in truth never looked like losing. Might be disappointed about the goals conceded especially the one before half time but it was a solid defensive display and much the better attacking team.

Both Stacks, Fallon, Frost, Nolan and Ben O'Carroll among the stand outs in a fine team performance.

Pearses, Faithleachs, Castlerea and Brigids had now won 4 Connacht titles since 2021. Roscommon club football is very strong without a doubt."
How did this happen? Surely you are mistaken?! I had a gawk at the forum coming up to the final and going by the Galway thread Corofin were going to cruise through Connacht, with the Mayo and Roscommon champions nothing more than flies they were going to swat out of the way on their way to winning the inevitable All Ireland. Sure intermediate didn't matter and it was all about the senior. Not to mention the whinging and bitterness about Enda Smith's All star.

But enough about the that. Fair play to Brigids, brillaint performance aside from a bit of a wobble either side of half time. Corofin to their credit did bring the game to them at the start of that second half but were wasteful. Delighted for Brian Stack, he's brought his championship form into club and BOC. Great to see Hyde works progressing too.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 975 - 03/12/2023 17:00:11    2515357

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "How did this happen? Surely you are mistaken?! I had a gawk at the forum coming up to the final and going by the Galway thread Corofin were going to cruise through Connacht, with the Mayo and Roscommon champions nothing more than flies they were going to swat out of the way on their way to winning the inevitable All Ireland. Sure intermediate didn't matter and it was all about the senior. Not to mention the whinging and bitterness about Enda Smith's All star.

But enough about the that. Fair play to Brigids, brillaint performance aside from a bit of a wobble either side of half time. Corofin to their credit did bring the game to them at the start of that second half but were wasteful. Delighted for Brian Stack, he's brought his championship form into club and BOC. Great to see Hyde works progressing too."
Was bizarrely told I was gloating when I tried to discuss the Intermediate Connacht final in a respectful manner on there. As odd as two left feet some of those posters but I won't be losing any sleep over it.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 03/12/2023 17:33:07    2515361

Fantastic win by Brigid's. Very much a team performance with some great individual displays. Was particularly impressed by the tracking back and tacking by the forwards. Reading the Galway thread over the last few days/weeks they were given no chance, and even today it was all about Corofin not playing well. (A couple of posters did give Brigid's some credit) They were NOT LET play well by a much better team who could have won by more. To come back after conceding two goals both sides of half time shows the character and ability of the team. If they improve a little bit more they have every chance of beating Dingle or Castlehaven in the semi final on 6/7 January. With Enda winning his well deserved All Star and with Roscommon teams winning both the Intermediate and Senior Connacht club titles, I hope that might encourage ALL players to commit to the county panel this year. 2024 could well be a very good year for Roscommon and we might even surprise some more posters on the Galway thread. However, the players playing club, Siggerson and county will all have to be very well managed in 2024 which might have implications for national league selections. Well done to all in Naomh Brid, and enjoy a special night.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 591 - 03/12/2023 17:49:05    2515367

Congrats Brigids.
Good to have 2 Connacht Club Trophies in Roscommon.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1717 - 03/12/2023 20:26:21    2515388

Well done to St Brigids today. The better team for sure and deserved the win. A lot of criticism of the Galway forum here on the Ros forum and if you'd like to check again, there are more congrats posts to Brigids on there than anything else. Corofin are just not near the level they were a few years ago for the AI three in a row, that's a fact, and time was going to catch up with them. Brigids were ready with a v strong outfit and good age profile and got the job done. Hope they do the business for Connacht. Ye have us in the intermediate and the senior - sure we might as well hang up the boots here in Galway for '24 lads ;-)

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 936 - 03/12/2023 21:42:04    2515393

I have to take my hat off to St Bridgids today. They were ready from the off and you could see that once the ball was thrown in. I felt Corofin did not show up today or else they felt it would be an easy win. Bridgids showed up to play to the death, Corofin didn't. I'd love to hear people's opinions on this but during both managers interviews before the game I could sense an overconfidence fro the Corofin manager while the Bridgids lad had both feet on the ground and was ready for Battle. Did this rub off on both sets of ayers respectively? After Corofin got both goals they were breathing down Bridgids necks.. Plenty of teams woukd have buckled with the pressure at this stage. Well done St Bridgids on winning but also getting twice as many scores as Corofin!!

Inatfullforward (Longford) - Posts: 94 - 03/12/2023 22:41:33    2515400

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Congrats Brigids.
Good to have 2 Connacht Club Trophies in Roscommon."
A very good year so far and it's not over yet

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 550 - 04/12/2023 01:15:42    2515411

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "How did this happen? Surely you are mistaken?! I had a gawk at the forum coming up to the final and going by the Galway thread Corofin were going to cruise through Connacht, with the Mayo and Roscommon champions nothing more than flies they were going to swat out of the way on their way to winning the inevitable All Ireland. Sure intermediate didn't matter and it was all about the senior. Not to mention the whinging and bitterness about Enda Smith's All star.

But enough about the that. Fair play to Brigids, brillaint performance aside from a bit of a wobble either side of half time. Corofin to their credit did bring the game to them at the start of that second half but were wasteful. Delighted for Brian Stack, he's brought his championship form into club and BOC. Great to see Hyde works progressing too."
In fairness even though Corofin didn't play anywhere near the standard they can play, I thought the referee gave at least 6 or 7 extremely soft scoreable "frees" to Brigid's and there was at least 1 point for Corofin that was waved wide in the second half that was clearly shown on TV to be between the posts. I don't think Brigid's will be allowed those handy "frees" in the semifinal or final if they make it that far and how Smith won that all-star I will never know!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 04/12/2023 09:05:49    2515415

Replying To tommy k:  "In fairness even though Corofin didn't play anywhere near the standard they can play, I thought the referee gave at least 6 or 7 extremely soft scoreable "frees" to Brigid's and there was at least 1 point for Corofin that was waved wide in the second half that was clearly shown on TV to be between the posts. I don't think Brigid's will be allowed those handy "frees" in the semifinal or final if they make it that far and how Smith won that all-star I will never know!"
Not sure you could describe any of those frees as soft. Corofin couldn't match the physicality and intensity from Brigid's and had to resort to fouling. Everytime O'Carroll got the ball the plan seemed to be slow him down illegally and then try and put in a tackle to make it look legal.

Tiern1 (Limerick) - Posts: 21 - 04/12/2023 10:09:25    2515423

Replying To tommy k:  "In fairness even though Corofin didn't play anywhere near the standard they can play, I thought the referee gave at least 6 or 7 extremely soft scoreable "frees" to Brigid's and there was at least 1 point for Corofin that was waved wide in the second half that was clearly shown on TV to be between the posts. I don't think Brigid's will be allowed those handy "frees" in the semifinal or final if they make it that far and how Smith won that all-star I will never know!"
I'm sure Enda is devastated you think that!

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 04/12/2023 10:15:42    2515426

So Corofin should have won by 3 or 4 points!!!

Yeah right....

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1717 - 04/12/2023 10:25:38    2515430

The condescending arrogance continues. Time to get a new hobby instead of being obsessed with putting down anything from Mayo or Roscommon.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 975 - 04/12/2023 10:33:33    2515432

Give it a rest Tommy. Brigid's were comfortably the better team yesterday. There certainly weren't 6 or 7 soft scoreable frees given to them. Sure Brigid's scored 7 frees in total. Are you saying all of them were extremely soft? I thought Corofin's tackling was poor and clumsy and well off the intensity they played with in the county final. Brigid's on the other hand put huge pressure on Corofin in possession.
As for the point waved wide, it was immaterial in the end. It should have been given as a score, but made no difference to the result.
The very best of luck to Brigid's in the next stage of their journey.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2105 - 04/12/2023 10:38:01    2515435

Replying To togoutlads:  "Well done to St Brigids today. The better team for sure and deserved the win. A lot of criticism of the Galway forum here on the Ros forum and if you'd like to check again, there are more congrats posts to Brigids on there than anything else. Corofin are just not near the level they were a few years ago for the AI three in a row, that's a fact, and time was going to catch up with them. Brigids were ready with a v strong outfit and good age profile and got the job done. Hope they do the business for Connacht. Ye have us in the intermediate and the senior - sure we might as well hang up the boots here in Galway for '24 lads ;-)"
No one on here is foolish enough to be writing off Galway football like that!

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 975 - 04/12/2023 10:46:02    2515438

Replying To Tiern1:  "Not sure you could describe any of those frees as soft. Corofin couldn't match the physicality and intensity from Brigid's and had to resort to fouling. Everytime O'Carroll got the ball the plan seemed to be slow him down illegally and then try and put in a tackle to make it look legal."
What would a Limerick man know about football? lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 04/12/2023 11:26:00    2515446

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "No one on here is foolish enough to be writing off Galway football like that!"
Congratulations to St Brigids. Far the better team. No big surprise to most knowledgable Galway supporters. I don't think it was anything to do with ref or corofin having an off day I think if they played that game again 10 times brigids would win at least 8 times. I know several Galway people who availed of the 2/1 that was on offer and even enhanced offers of brigids minus 2 and 3 points as well as ht/ft and Ben o carroll MOTM combos. They are thanking Joe Brolly for helping to over inflate corofin with his usual seafoid. Great chance to get to AI now Best of luck to them.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 912 - 04/12/2023 11:52:30    2515449