Galway Football thread

Replying To Belclare:  "
Replying To cavan.galway:  "[quote=The_DOC:  "This would be my selection even though we will NEVER all agree on a start 15!

Flaherty

Glynn / Mulkerins (or S Kelly) / Silke if available

Mc Hugh / Daly / Heaney

Mc Daid / Cooke

Matthew Tierney / Shane Walsh (interchange with whoever the hell he wants but mainly Conroy) / P Kelly

Finnerty / Conroy / Damo

Subs:
Power
(any chance of another mass to get E Kerins back in the loop?)
Billy Mannion
Tomo Culhane
Gallagher
Paul Kelly
Ian Burke (first forward to be brought in when needed)"
best team i have seen posted so far"
Except Conor Flaherty is not in the Galway football panel"]Tá fhios a'm a mhac! Thats why I said it would be 'my' pick and not what I think the Galway team will look like. I also have yet to be convinced of Mulkerins but give us more options with S Kelly if he could manage to do some convincing

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 23/01/2023 11:31:53    2453580

Replying To PressureKick:  "What was your opinion on Chris Barrett moving to Clontarf a few years ago?

Or better still, what did you think of Donal Vaughan moving 20 mins up the road to a rival club once his own got relegated from senior?"
100%. Vaughan moves up the road to the biggest club side in Mayo. And you're blowing about a guy moving to a club on the other side of the country?

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 23/01/2023 12:36:52    2453609

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "I see David Wynne tweeted about Shane Walsh. Poor form from an old Galway teammate."
I think Wynne is pulling the **** there to be honest. He played with Shane on Galway teams for a number of years. They'd be friendly and he has tagged him in the tweet, so I reckon there's nothing sinister there.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 23/01/2023 12:38:10    2453610

Replying To galwayman2:  "I think Wynne is pulling the **** there to be honest. He played with Shane on Galway teams for a number of years. They'd be friendly and he has tagged him in the tweet, so I reckon there's nothing sinister there."
Very weird tweet. Kinda comes across like he is trying to be funny (and failing) but maybe you are right and there is nothing sinister behind it. I guess seeing as how moycullen have been transfer active themselves means that he could just be making a joke of the whole situation.

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 23/01/2023 13:02:07    2453619

Replying To galway19:  "Might be something Mayo could look into? Transfers from a different county to get them an All-Ireland?"
maybe a few of his Kilmacud team mates could come down to Galway and help ye to win a all-ireland or maybe even help ye to retain a connaught title,

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 23/01/2023 13:28:45    2453641

Replying To mayomanic:  "maybe a few of his Kilmacud team mates could come down to Galway and help ye to win a all-ireland or maybe even help ye to retain a connaught title,"
Your county has fewer football all irelands than Wexford. This is probably not a route you want to be going down

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 210 - 23/01/2023 13:38:44    2453649

Replying To mayomanic:  "maybe a few of his Kilmacud team mates could come down to Galway and help ye to win a all-ireland or maybe even help ye to retain a connaught title,"
Still great to see him win a senior AI and you should support all Connacht players that actually WIN an AI and less of the auld sour grapes on a Monday morning!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3319 - 23/01/2023 13:42:36    2453650

The Donnellans have won more All Irelands than Mayo, true story

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 363 - 23/01/2023 13:43:51    2453652

Congratulations to Shane Walsh on winning the All Ireland Football Club Title with Kilmacud Crokes. It is abundantly clear they would not have won without him even though he was a marked man in all the matches. I think it was a mistake for Kilmacud to have Paul Mannion on from the start after such a long lay-off. This obviously caused confusion between Shane Walsh and himself with who should take frees etc. I think this negatively affected Shane's performance. Mannion should instead have been used as an impact sub for the last 15 minutes. As regards Mayo begrudgery, this is what comes from 72 years of failure. They will now be fearful that the FBD is the only trophy they will win this year.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 23/01/2023 15:22:37    2453690

Hahaha mayo lads talking about All Irelands..
The comedy gift that keeps on giving..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 23/01/2023 16:21:03    2453723

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "Very weird tweet. Kinda comes across like he is trying to be funny (and failing) but maybe you are right and there is nothing sinister behind it. I guess seeing as how moycullen have been transfer active themselves means that he could just be making a joke of the whole situation."
Those in glass houses..... Moycullen had more transfers starting than Kilmacud Crokes as far as I know. The GAA will have to make more clarifications around transfers in the future in my opinion.

3rdmantackle (Galway) - Posts: 10 - 23/01/2023 18:11:46    2453766

I think their 2020 winning team had 5 transfers. Keeper from Donegal, Tom Clarke from Mayo, Gallagher from Antrim. Can't remember the others.

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 24/01/2023 10:53:18    2453874

Maybe you could try asking Shane Walsh if he'd consider moving to Mayo and your county's long wait to win the Sam Maguire might be over. Speaking of which, long may it continue!

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 24/01/2023 11:37:35    2453885

Imagine being from Mayo (chokers at all levels) and expressing an opinion on All-Irelands.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 180 - 24/01/2023 12:22:28    2453916

I wouldn't be rising to Mayomanic's bait there! Looking forward to the league. Can't beat an opener with the auld rivals.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 900 - 24/01/2023 14:09:27    2453964

A lot of team selections being put forward, but let's face it, it's more or less the same set of players (bar a few new additions or recovered from injury).

The important thing is that players have learnt from last year's experience, and have improved their game confidence/leadership and work ethic.

In fairness to Mayo, they have brought in a lot if new players - you can be sure they'll be a physical match for anyone come summer.

I'm expecting big things from Finnerty this year. So, if we can get our forward line creating more as a unit, we won't be far away, as I believe the potential is there to put up big scores.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 587 - 24/01/2023 15:13:53    2453990

Replying To Really:  "A lot of team selections being put forward, but let's face it, it's more or less the same set of players (bar a few new additions or recovered from injury).

The important thing is that players have learnt from last year's experience, and have improved their game confidence/leadership and work ethic.

In fairness to Mayo, they have brought in a lot if new players - you can be sure they'll be a physical match for anyone come summer.

I'm expecting big things from Finnerty this year. So, if we can get our forward line creating more as a unit, we won't be far away, as I believe the potential is there to put up big scores."
I thought Mayos conditioning looked good in the dome even the newer players. There will be a lot of them working under Donie Buckley for the first time too so they will be hunting and tackling well I'd imagine.
No idea who's fit and available at this stage so pointless naming a team. I'd like to get a look at the likes of Evan Murphy and Eoghan Kelly

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 363 - 24/01/2023 17:06:08    2454034

Replying To smallfrank:  "I thought Mayos conditioning looked good in the dome even the newer players. There will be a lot of them working under Donie Buckley for the first time too so they will be hunting and tackling well I'd imagine.
No idea who's fit and available at this stage so pointless naming a team. I'd like to get a look at the likes of Evan Murphy and Eoghan Kelly"
Mayo youngsters are impressive and will grow fast with these games. They look very fit, eager and full of running. Of course, they are inexperienced, but given their willingness to work and cover ground, certainly no team will dominate them. Sure aren't we all west of the Shannon...

Really (Galway) - Posts: 587 - 24/01/2023 18:39:15    2454053

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "I think their 2020 winning team had 5 transfers. Keeper from Donegal, Tom Clarke from Mayo, Gallagher from Antrim. Can't remember the others."
Well thats wrong for starters because their goalie,although born in Donegal was reared in Moycullen. He's a first cousin of the Kellys

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 145 - 24/01/2023 19:09:24    2454059

Hooping for a good game Saturday night. Should be a big crowd attending. Just to note there are three set of traffic lights with stop/go system between Claremorris and Balla on the N60 for new road re alignment. Not sure if it will be removed for the weekend but worth noting when planning your journey time if going thru Claremorris. Safe traveling all.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 24/01/2023 21:51:38    2454074