Galway Football thread

Congratulations to Shane Walsh and Crokes. All Ireland Champions.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 22/01/2023 16:51:41    2453428

Replying To Trump2020:  "Congratulations to Shane Walsh and Crokes. All Ireland Champions."
Yes great to see Shane win a much deserved senior AI medal!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 22/01/2023 17:19:00    2453442

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes great to see Shane win a much deserved senior AI medal!"
It was indeed,Tommy. He didn't have an outstanding game, by his standards, yet was still composed when taking penalty and free.

Time moves on - but spare a thought for Kilkerrin/Clonberne. I'm sure they'll wish Shane only the best. Delighted to see Paul Mannion back again. Hope injury is not too bad. Who knows they may be lining out on opposite sides later in the year.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 585 - 22/01/2023 18:41:59    2453468

Replying To handpassking:  "Was at the dome it was a complete bore. We have nothing to fear in Connacht

Thank god Joe brolly wasn't there he would have had a field day. It was a incredible shambles. The game indeed is a very sick patient."
Joe Brolly is attention seeking bore. Would be reading too much into a pre season game played indoors on a plastic pitch whereby both teams had more than one eye on the NFL starting next week.

While Galway as defending Connacht champions and AI runners up and won't fear anyone yet it still doesn't ignore the fact that Connacht contains 3 Div 1 teams.

Well done to Shane Walsh on picking up his All-Ireland medal. Ideally he shouldn't be introduced back into the Galway team until round 3 or 4 of the NFL but knowing Joyce we'll likely play him against Mayo on Saturday

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 22/01/2023 19:31:10    2453483

Replying To Yondu:  "Joe Brolly is attention seeking bore. Would be reading too much into a pre season game played indoors on a plastic pitch whereby both teams had more than one eye on the NFL starting next week.

While Galway as defending Connacht champions and AI runners up and won't fear anyone yet it still doesn't ignore the fact that Connacht contains 3 Div 1 teams.

Well done to Shane Walsh on picking up his All-Ireland medal. Ideally he shouldn't be introduced back into the Galway team until round 3 or 4 of the NFL but knowing Joyce we'll likely play him against Mayo on Saturday"
Was in the paper the last day that Shane will miss the first 2 or 3 league games anyway.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2209 - 22/01/2023 21:37:36    2453512

Replying To Trump2020:  "Congratulations to Shane Walsh and Crokes. All Ireland Champions."
That statement makes me want to get sick. Everything that's wrong within the gaa is summed up in that statement. A city club with vast amount of resources gets a player to help them win a All-ireland and a player selling his soul to help them achieve there objective. Shane walsh 's statement at the end of the game was just grouse....'its days like this growing up that you dream of'...enough said.

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 23/01/2023 07:25:03    2453514

I see David Wynne tweeted about Shane Walsh. Poor form from an old Galway teammate.

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 23/01/2023 09:25:53    2453523

Replying To mayomanic:  "That statement makes me want to get sick. Everything that's wrong within the gaa is summed up in that statement. A city club with vast amount of resources gets a player to help them win a All-ireland and a player selling his soul to help them achieve there objective. Shane walsh 's statement at the end of the game was just grouse....'its days like this growing up that you dream of'...enough said."
All sportspeople want to play at the highest level
Fact.
The GAA structures mean that where you come from decides the level you can aspire to.

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 304 - 23/01/2023 09:42:39    2453526

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "I see David Wynne tweeted about Shane Walsh. Poor form from an old Galway teammate."
Very poor tweet. I suppose some of the Moycullen lads aren't over the semi final loss yet but that tweet spoke more of jealousy.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 672 - 23/01/2023 09:51:11    2453531

Replying To mayomanic:  "That statement makes me want to get sick. Everything that's wrong within the gaa is summed up in that statement. A city club with vast amount of resources gets a player to help them win a All-ireland and a player selling his soul to help them achieve there objective. Shane walsh 's statement at the end of the game was just grouse....'its days like this growing up that you dream of'...enough said."
Might be something Mayo could look into? Transfers from a different county to get them an All-Ireland?

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 672 - 23/01/2023 09:52:17    2453534

Congratulating a player and a club on winning a final.

How does a statement like that sum up everything that's wrong within the GAA. There's transfers happening all the time for loads of different reasons. Get over it.

Speaking of transfers, that No. 11 for Crokes. Shane Cunningham, I'm led to believe his auld fella played for Killererin for years. Surely PJ could swing something there. Great player

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 23/01/2023 10:00:48    2453537

What was your opinion on Chris Barrett moving to Clontarf a few years ago?

Or better still, what did you think of Donal Vaughan moving 20 mins up the road to a rival club once his own got relegated from senior?

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 209 - 23/01/2023 10:13:17    2453542

Any up date on Tomo Culhane? Did he get injured last week?

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 23/01/2023 10:19:13    2453547

Now Mayomaniac, just congratulate the lad and be delighted that there's one more AI medal residing west of the Shannon! To be fair to Shane, he laboured long and hard with Kil-Clon for years and years, and he and they all know that they couldn't really operate at any higher level than they were at and certainly wouldn't be title contenders in Galway any time. He tried year after year with them. He's not a kid, he'll be 30 this summer. He's in Dublin, he's been traipsing around the country for years for training and matches, he's a nice lad from one of the soundest families you could meet and he deserves this superb season he's had and this win. I'm delighted for him and fair play to him. One of the greatest raw footballing talents there is, more power to him. Can't wait to see him back in the maroon and white.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 23/01/2023 10:25:27    2453549

Ah come on you should be happy to see any Connacht man win a senior AI medal seeing that Mayo haven't won one in 72 years!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 23/01/2023 10:35:55    2453556

Replying To tommy k:  "Ah come on you should be happy to see any Connacht man win a senior AI medal seeing that Mayo haven't won one in 72 years!"
Ballina and Crossmolina?

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 23/01/2023 10:50:06    2453561

Replying To galway19:  "Very poor tweet. I suppose some of the Moycullen lads aren't over the semi final loss yet but that tweet spoke more of jealousy."
As per usual Galway fans showing themselves as the bitter people they are

Clearly as Wynne tagged Shane it shows that it was a joke between friends and a few other current and former players have responded in a similar manner

Do you guys have friends ? Do you know what a joke is?

Great to see other current and former player be genuinely happy for Shane. Even Moycullen players who are obviously disappointed they didn't reach the final

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 23/01/2023 10:56:04    2453564

Replying To galway19:  "Very poor tweet. I suppose some of the Moycullen lads aren't over the semi final loss yet but that tweet spoke more of jealousy."
They're friendly from Galway days. I'd say it was in total jest.

Donaldtrump (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 23/01/2023 10:58:23    2453567

Regardless of whether you agree with the Shane Walsh move or not, (which I can understand but don't necessarily agree with) one thing I can't understand is people who will criticise Shane's move to Crokes but turn a blind eye to what Moycullen are at in Galway.

Tom Clarke, Owen Gallagher and Niall Walsh are all transferred in. Two of the those three are definitely not living in the Moycullen parish. That's 1/5 of the Moycullen team! They are actively trying to recruit players, yet people will happily ignore this while going after Shane's move to Crokes.

Donaldtrump (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 23/01/2023 11:07:07    2453574

Replying To Jellybaby:  "
Replying To The_DOC:  "This would be my selection even though we will NEVER all agree on a start 15!

Flaherty

Glynn / Mulkerins (or S Kelly) / Silke if available

Mc Hugh / Daly / Heaney

Mc Daid / Cooke

Matthew Tierney / Shane Walsh (interchange with whoever the hell he wants but mainly Conroy) / P Kelly

Finnerty / Conroy / Damo

Subs:
Power
(any chance of another mass to get E Kerins back in the loop?)
Billy Mannion
Tomo Culhane
Gallagher
Paul Kelly
Ian Burke (first forward to be brought in when needed)"
Good team in fairness.

I'm not convinced about Mulkerrins. Hopefully same full backline as last year.

McDaid would be a great option at 7 if we could identify a midfield partner for Cooke."
Fully agree with you lad, McDaid at #7 would be good but I think he really shone last year when he was moved to midfield V Leitrim and remained there for the rest of the summer

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 23/01/2023 11:28:50    2453579