Galway Football thread

Usually in the FBD I find the team that wants the win more usually does win. And only one team look up for it here.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2209 - 14/01/2023 18:29:03    2452434

Replying To togoutlads:  "Triple scores at half time. Big psychological advantage handed to McStay, Rochford and McHale and the Mayo team right at the start of the year. For the young Galway fans who were just coming back in big numbers, you can't just capitulate and lose all momentum by getting hammered by your biggest rivals and neighbours. They don't allow it to happen but we manage it often enough! No fire in the belly. No tactical nous from our sideline. Worrying and very frustrating. We'll see what this second half brings!!"
Ah lads, it's the FBD.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 180 - 14/01/2023 19:00:50    2452441

Bad first half (especially the 2nd quarter) but won the second half by 3-7 to 0-9. I'd say they are relatively happy after that. A good run out. Tomo Culhane with 2-2 off the bench.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2209 - 14/01/2023 19:07:39    2452442

Replying To Marooned:  "Bad first half (especially the 2nd quarter) but won the second half by 3-7 to 0-9. I'd say they are relatively happy after that. A good run out. Tomo Culhane with 2-2 off the bench."
yes, great second half
looking forward to the 28th
Roscommon will win FBD

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 14/01/2023 19:24:14    2452444

Replying To maroondiesel:  "yes, great second half
looking forward to the 28th
Roscommon will win FBD"
Based on? Mayo will likely play a stronger starting team for the final and McStay won't want to lose to his former team

2-18 to 3-12 as usual the high affair for indoor match. Totally different environment the teams will face in the league in two weeks and both will have much changed starting teams at least all that wants to attend that match will get a ticket

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 14/01/2023 19:46:27    2452446

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Based on? Mayo will likely play a stronger starting team for the final and McStay won't want to lose to his former team

2-18 to 3-12 as usual the high affair for indoor match. Totally different environment the teams will face in the league in two weeks and both will have much changed starting teams at least all that wants to attend that match will get a ticket"
I'd say 8 or 9 of that Mayp team tonight will start in 2 weeks

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 14/01/2023 20:05:03    2452448

Great news that Peter Cooke is back with Galway..
I'd expect John Daly, Sean Kelly, Jack Glynn, Cillian mc Daid, Paul Conroy, Damian Comer Tomo Culhane to all start in 2 weeks

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 14/01/2023 20:26:31    2452450

Replying To TanCanRan:  "Ah lads, it's the FBD."
We're supposedly second or third in the country. AI runners up. Supposed to lay down markers early, especially against a team that's 'in transition' and with a new big name management team. Advantage Mayo. Can we get them back in two weeks time? We'll see. We'll need massive improvement from that first half limp rubbish we played.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 14/01/2023 20:34:55    2452451

Replying To togoutlads:  "We're supposedly second or third in the country. AI runners up. Supposed to lay down markers early, especially against a team that's 'in transition' and with a new big name management team. Advantage Mayo. Can we get them back in two weeks time? We'll see. We'll need massive improvement from that first half limp rubbish we played."
Look even in two weeks time we won't have the likes of Walsh, Silke and probably Sean Kelly either.
And Mayo will clearly have more early season work done as a group than we will. This team won't be judged on what happens in January.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1237 - 14/01/2023 20:43:18    2452454

Replying To Belclare:  "Great news that Peter Cooke is back with Galway..
I'd expect John Daly, Sean Kelly, Jack Glynn, Cillian mc Daid, Paul Conroy, Damian Comer Tomo Culhane to all start in 2 weeks"
Is Cooke's return confirmed?
I dunno about Sean Kelly. He has been on the go for twelve months solid without any real break.
It surely is in the teams best interests for him to be re-introduced slowly with a view to peaking for championship? The guy needs a break.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1237 - 14/01/2023 20:45:24    2452455

That was actually a good run out.
We seems to be under serious pressure with our kick out and our full back line was all over the shop at times. Positives would be John Maher, Johnny Heaney and Tierney tried hard.

Not much else to say but fellas will get fitter and others to return. Need the spine of the team back really in 2 weeks, Sean Kelly, Daly, Conroy, McDaid and Comer

One other thing, we haven't developed the forward mark option at all. It won Kerry an All Ireland.
If teams are sitting back like today we need to have that option inside

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 14/01/2023 20:46:52    2452456

A few posters on here over last couple of weeks were suggesting that the Moycullen lads get a rest and would not feature v mayo in opening league match I wonder are they as confident now ?? Only a question

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 14/01/2023 21:10:10    2452457

Replying To Belclare:  "Great news that Peter Cooke is back with Galway..
I'd expect John Daly, Sean Kelly, Jack Glynn, Cillian mc Daid, Paul Conroy, Damian Comer Tomo Culhane to all start in 2 weeks"
Where was it confirmed Peter Cooke is back?

allstars23 (Galway) - Posts: 47 - 14/01/2023 21:10:17    2452458

Replying To allstars23:  "Where was it confirmed Peter Cooke is back?"
Pj told me after.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 14/01/2023 21:14:50    2452460

Replying To togoutlads:  "We're supposedly second or third in the country. AI runners up. Supposed to lay down markers early, especially against a team that's 'in transition' and with a new big name management team. Advantage Mayo. Can we get them back in two weeks time? We'll see. We'll need massive improvement from that first half limp rubbish we played."
I'm sure you mean well but tonight was a challenge game and couldn't be further removed from a League game if you tried. No Shane Walsh and Cillian McDaid our POTY nominees. No Damien Comer or Johnny Daly, two All-Stars. No Patrick Kelly or Paul Conroy. Surely you catch my drift. It was a meaningless game played indoors purely to improve fitness. We'll be grand.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 180 - 14/01/2023 21:19:15    2452462

Replying To TanCanRan:  "I'm sure you mean well but tonight was a challenge game and couldn't be further removed from a League game if you tried. No Shane Walsh and Cillian McDaid our POTY nominees. No Damien Comer or Johnny Daly, two All-Stars. No Patrick Kelly or Paul Conroy. Surely you catch my drift. It was a meaningless game played indoors purely to improve fitness. We'll be grand."
Apologises just spotted Comer came on. Sub in Sean Kelly for him in my post

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 180 - 14/01/2023 21:27:44    2452463

Cooke confirmed as back for the year alright.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2209 - 14/01/2023 21:28:07    2452464

Replying To Kickitout:  "A few posters on here over last couple of weeks were suggesting that the Moycullen lads get a rest and would not feature v mayo in opening league match I wonder are they as confident now ?? Only a question"
Sean Kelly needs a rest. Between Sigerson, Galway and club, the man will burn out. Shane Walsh will need a break too.
Paul Kelly player an All Ireland Club Semi Final last week, what was the point in bringing him on today.
Tierney played the full game this evening, mid week and last week, same as Finnerty, I think that's crazy.
We will need them in June hopefully, not January.

And the one that really baffles me, James McLaughlin was an unused sub in his clubs biggest ever game last weekend but came on today. Someone make it make sense

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 14/01/2023 21:49:17    2452465

Replying To Kickitout:  "A few posters on here over last couple of weeks were suggesting that the Moycullen lads get a rest and would not feature v mayo in opening league match I wonder are they as confident now ?? Only a question"
Sean Kelly has been playing non stop for a year between club/college/intercounty.Starting pretty much every game and usually playing the entire game.Yes I'd hope most posters would see that he deserves a break and actually put his welfare above results. Shane's not far off the same mileage

Your question says a lot about how you view these players

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 15/01/2023 09:26:03    2452471

Enjoyable second half last night in the Dome. A lot learned, about who has the ability to step up. I've been impressed with Culhane, Burke, Maher, Power and O'Flaherty.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 719 - 15/01/2023 11:14:59    2452478