Galway Football thread

Does anyone from Moycullen know why James McLaughlin wasn't involved in any of the games? He's been back for the last ~3 games but didn't get any time. Felt he could have made a difference

allstars23 (Galway) - Posts: 47 - 08/01/2023 19:43:42    2451589

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "In fairness Corofin were a much better club team and even now would have beaten that Glen team IMHO.
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 2780 - 08/01/2023 17:59:37 24

Past Corofin better no doubt but the past is the past and the current Corofin team was not even good enough to reach the Galway final would not be good enough to beat Glen."
Don't agree but of course you're entitled to your opinion.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 08/01/2023 20:13:49    2451604

Replying To galwayfball:  "Clear to see that there's people delighted with Moycullens loss today.

We were there because we won Frank Fox.

Thanks to the Galwegians who genuinely supported us and wanted us to win."
I really don't think any Galway football fan would take any pleasure in Moycullen losing today to be fair.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 08/01/2023 20:21:30    2451610

What is the point of anybody bringing Corofin into this?
Their team that won 3 All Ireland's in a row are probably the best Gaelic football club team there has ever been. The records show they're the only team in history to do that.
Stating that team in their pomp would have beaten Glen today is stating the obvious like!
Totally irrelevant.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 08/01/2023 20:24:38    2451615

Replying To galwayfball:  "Clear to see that there's people delighted with Moycullens loss today.

I certainly was not delighted as I support all Galway club teams but Moycullen shot themselves in the foot with this constant slowish, laborious passing game without hardly any kickpasses to the inside forwards. It just makes it too easy to set up defensively which Glen did to their delight. You will see in the final that Kilmacud will not just handpass back and forward and kicking will be a big element in their attacking game as it was always in Corofin's attacking game.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 08/01/2023 20:27:36    2451618

Replying To galwayman2:  "What is the point of anybody bringing Corofin into this?
Their team that won 3 All Ireland's in a row are probably the best Gaelic football club team there has ever been. The records show they're the only team in history to do that.
Stating that team in their pomp would have beaten Glen today is stating the obvious like!
Totally irrelevant."
If you read my post more carefully I said even Corofin today would have beaten Glen as their mixed style of hadpassing / kickpassing and more dangerous forwards would have broken down their defence more easily. Yes Corofin are not as good as they were a few years ago but they would still be good enough IMO.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 08/01/2023 20:44:04    2451620

Why was Seán Kelly not captain, Conneally was. Surprising decision. Moycullen had too many side ways passes, and not direct enough at goal. Why all the side passes, the goals are in front, not at the sideline.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 08/01/2023 20:47:11    2451621

Replying To tommy k:  "Don't agree but of course you're entitled to your opinion."
More a fact that the current Corofin team weren't good enough to reach the county final and All Ireland semi final is another step up from that.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 08/01/2023 21:06:07    2451626

Replying To crafty:  "A lot of huff and puff from Moycullen but they never looked like winning. Glen fully deserved their win. Game highlights just how good Corofin were in their pomp. They dismantled teams like Dr Crokes, Slaughtneil and Nemo Rangers. If they had Molloy and Silke would probably have won the Galway championship this year. Salthill should have beaten Moycullen in Galway final. Glen are a good side and have a chance in the final but Crokes are a step up from Moycullen."
I think the occasion may have got to Moycullen. They needed to get off to a good start, and get the scoreboard ticking over. Glen had done their homework and defensively, intensively, frustrated Moycullen. Unfortunately, the Kellys had little influence. Dessie found it hard to create space. Cooke ok. Still, they did their parish proud.

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 08/01/2023 21:11:36    2451629

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "More a fact that the current Corofin team weren't good enough to reach the county final and All Ireland semi final is another step up from that."
Corofin would still have the means to beat that Glen team no doubt.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 08/01/2023 21:28:38    2451635

Replying To tommy k:  "If you read my post more carefully I said even Corofin today would have beaten Glen as their mixed style of hadpassing / kickpassing and more dangerous forwards would have broken down their defence more easily. Yes Corofin are not as good as they were a few years ago but they would still be good enough IMO."
Did Moycullen not beat Corofin handy in the championship this year? It's quite the leap to think that that Corofin would have done better today.

bollocks (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 08/01/2023 21:37:02    2451637

Some strange stuff being posted here about yesterday's game. The start was the killer, going 4 down, that's what lost them the game. Fair play Moycullen though, a real powerhouse of Galway GAA now to be fair to them, County Senior and Minor champs and the only club fielding senior football and hurling clubs. I hear great things about Paul Clancy as chairman so fair play to them out there and keep up the good work.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 364 - 09/01/2023 08:46:25    2451649

Replying To bollocks:  "Did Moycullen not beat Corofin handy in the championship this year? It's quite the leap to think that that Corofin would have done better today."
No they beat them by a last gasp free kick against the run of play. People are missing my point that a very methodical, predictable hand passing game that Moycullen play will not win an AI. For that you need constant support players off the shoulder, speed, power, workrate etc. which they showed in patches in other games e.g. the Westport game but was strangely absent in large parts from their game yesterday.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 09/01/2023 10:40:45    2451661

To be honest about it, but for the referee yesterday they'd have lost by about 6 points. They got some really soft frees, a couple of which, to myself and my friend who were at the game, looked more like frees in the other direction.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 09/01/2023 11:52:30    2451675

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "To be honest about it, but for the referee yesterday they'd have lost by about 6 points. They got some really soft frees, a couple of which, to myself and my friend who were at the game, looked more like frees in the other direction."
In fairness I watched it back and a lot of them were for jersey pulls and hand/arm grabbing. I'm no fan of Gough but the game is becoming impossible to ref. They are coached now to tactically foul up the pitch. Even Kerry, they lose the ball and Clifford fouls and puts the arms in the air and blocks the free, team gjen resets. There is a rules problem if you ask me. The tackle is not clearly defined or refereed. You could see Sean Kelly yesterday, tackles and gets a free when the keeper overcarrys, does the same thing 5 minutes later and its called a foul. The defensive mark hasn't worked, the forward mark I'm still undecided on and there are now twice as many hamdpasses as kick passes. Even Friday night in the Dome, we moved it through the hands.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 364 - 09/01/2023 12:52:15    2451696

Dipping back into the transfer market once more I hear. Offaly inter-county player. People give out about Kilmaccud but this is another level.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 180 - 09/01/2023 13:10:28    2451699

TG4 pundits interviewed Dessie after the game and basically said to him why didn't Moycullen kick the ball more? Far too much slow lateral hand passing and running from them. It just allowed Glen time to funnel players back into defence and set up a wall of defenders in front of their goal. They got so many turnovers that way that led to scores on the counter attack. Think Dessie admitted in the end that they have to kick the ball more into the forwards. As they were very predictable in attack yesterday.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2214 - 09/01/2023 13:28:13    2451706

Any real Galway GAA people were right behind Moycullen yesterday, imo. Hard luck. A great run for your excellent club but Glen marginally had the edge yesterday. I think Moycullen will be back though, but you're going to need big James McLoughlin fit and flying it, I think. What is the story with his hugely lengthy recovery? There's plenty of homegrown talent being nurtured in your club and a bright future ahead for ye. Hard luck to Dunmore and Clifden too - a tough weekend for Galway and Connacht club football. Great to see Galway back in action Friday night, some lads looking very sharp already. Keep up the good work lads.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 902 - 09/01/2023 14:18:23    2451716

Replying To tommy k:  "No they beat them by a last gasp free kick against the run of play. People are missing my point that a very methodical, predictable hand passing game that Moycullen play will not win an AI. For that you need constant support players off the shoulder, speed, power, workrate etc. which they showed in patches in other games e.g. the Westport game but was strangely absent in large parts from their game yesterday."
You can make a point about the style of play, without the constant reference that Corofin would have beaten Glen yesterday.
Corofin have been a phenomenal team, but they're not at the level they were a few years ago. They didn't get far enough to have a shot at Glen.
They may very well in the year ahead. We'll see.
Moycullen have had a huge year and brought great pride to the village. They're a young team and while yesterday will hurt, they'll have learned a lot from it. They represented Galway with great pride.
Their game is largely based on strong runners from deep and players in support. It suits the types of players they have.
I'd agree that they will need to develop a bit more variation, but it's not that easy. You can't just magic up a few Ian Burkes and Gary Sices. Moycullen are developing some brilliant underage players, so I'm sure we'll see the team evolve over the next few years.
Let's not forget that Glen beat the All-Ireland champions relative well in the Ulster final. Moycullen gave them plenty to think about yesterday.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 09/01/2023 14:51:37    2451724

Replying To TanCanRan:  "Dipping back into the transfer market once more I hear. Offaly inter-county player. People give out about Kilmaccud but this is another level."
Who? Moycullen?

3rdmantackle (Galway) - Posts: 10 - 09/01/2023 14:54:32    2451725