2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""When looking at the first half of the Limerick-Waterford game, I genuinely think the winners of Leinster wouldn't get out of the group in Munster".

That's a bit unfair on Kilkenny, and maybe Galway, don't you think? You haven't seen Kilkenny play proper Championship hurling yet."
It is unfair on ye. And Galway will get better. Dublin got better and so did we. I've felt the last couple of years Dublin were improving. Some of the negativity from some of our posters is actually pretty arrogant. Yes we left the game behind us but Dublin could yet beat Kilkenny and Galway. You'd swear we had just lost to a Joe Mac county by some of the reaction on this.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16752 - 24/04/2022 11:17:40    2412685

Replying To beano:  "Well the chances Galway squandered last week would be gobbled up in Munster.

As for Kilkenny, given they have been knocked out by Munster teams every year recently, 2019 aside, there is no reason to believe they'd contend for the top two there at present. They aren't the team of old."
Tbh the other 3 teams in Munster aren't going to contend for the top 2 this year Beano.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16752 - 24/04/2022 11:18:40    2412686

Replying To alwaysasub:  "New management team but already losing Faith. To set up the first day badly fair enough but to learn nothing and go out with the same plan same half forward line. Absolute madness. Why oh why did Ryan hand pass that last ball, if he had of took the shot and it went wide fair enough but to pass to Pepper was madness. In fairness to pepper he wasnt even expecting the pass.

As stated about gifting the ball to their full backs crazy stuff. We only started to win puc outs when they had to hit them long.

We can still qualify third but we need to win all our games and hope Dublin lose to Kilkenny and Galway."
If we win all our games it doesn't matter what Dublin do. Be better for us actually if they won all their games. We would finish 2nd if we win all the rest of ours and Galway and Kilkenny drew or Kilkenny beat Galway.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16752 - 24/04/2022 11:27:26    2412689

All in all a disappointing championship.

I think the most frustrating thing is we had so many opportunities to win both those games.

Even if we'd converted our frees we'd have won easily yesterday.

Credit to Dublin, they were very clinical and composed at cricual times.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3870 - 24/04/2022 12:37:25    2412706

The whole chin injury situation has been very mysterious…I heard back in March that he needs an operation that will rule him out for at least 2 years. I know that sounds bizarre and I thought it couldn't be true. I was talking to a rock solid source yesterday who is closely connected to a few members of the panel and he said the very same thing. Unfortunately it's an unusual injury, not your typical cruciate etc and not only will it require a very long layoff but there's no guarantee he will even get back playing at this level. Kinda makes sense as it would explain why he obviously doesn't want to have the operation and is just hanging on as an impact sub. He is way below the required fitness levels as he hasn't been able to train. All in all, it doesn't look good for his future inter county career.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 276 - 24/04/2022 12:45:30    2412709

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "The whole chin injury situation has been very mysterious…I heard back in March that he needs an operation that will rule him out for at least 2 years. I know that sounds bizarre and I thought it couldn't be true. I was talking to a rock solid source yesterday who is closely connected to a few members of the panel and he said the very same thing. Unfortunately it's an unusual injury, not your typical cruciate etc and not only will it require a very long layoff but there's no guarantee he will even get back playing at this level. Kinda makes sense as it would explain why he obviously doesn't want to have the operation and is just hanging on as an impact sub. He is way below the required fitness levels as he hasn't been able to train. All in all, it doesn't look good for his future inter county career."
Chin has been on the go non stop in a fair few sports since he was 18.

Football for Wexford, hurling for Wexford same for his clubs and a bit of soccer thrown in too.

A lot of wear and tear on the body.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 974 - 24/04/2022 14:24:42    2412727

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "The whole chin injury situation has been very mysterious…I heard back in March that he needs an operation that will rule him out for at least 2 years. I know that sounds bizarre and I thought it couldn't be true. I was talking to a rock solid source yesterday who is closely connected to a few members of the panel and he said the very same thing. Unfortunately it's an unusual injury, not your typical cruciate etc and not only will it require a very long layoff but there's no guarantee he will even get back playing at this level. Kinda makes sense as it would explain why he obviously doesn't want to have the operation and is just hanging on as an impact sub. He is way below the required fitness levels as he hasn't been able to train. All in all, it doesn't look good for his future inter county career."
Sad news indeed if true.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16752 - 24/04/2022 14:43:09    2412731

1 other thing I thought was a little strange was playing into the wind I think we won the toss.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16752 - 24/04/2022 14:44:42    2412732

Replying To Past hurler:  "Chin has been on the go non stop in a fair few sports since he was 18.

Football for Wexford, hurling for Wexford same for his clubs and a bit of soccer thrown in too.

A lot of wear and tear on the body."
Yeah that's true. I guess something had to give at some stage. It's a real shame

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 276 - 24/04/2022 15:19:30    2412738

Looking at the Clare game. All scoring forwards. As well as working hard. We seem to be content with 2 scoring forwards and a few hard workers.

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 157 - 24/04/2022 15:32:47    2412740

Replying To Yellowhelmet:  "Looking at the Clare game. All scoring forwards. As well as working hard. We seem to be content with 2 scoring forwards and a few hard workers."
Unfortunately Rory's scoring contribution from play has gone down a lot now that other teams have decided that the only way to deal with him is to continually foul him. I think as well that being entrusted with the free taking duties can't help his all round game as it must affect his confidence when he is missing them. His body language has been poor in the last three games. A frustrating time for a superbly talented player. Let's hope he can recapture some of his league form for the remaining games

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 276 - 24/04/2022 17:12:39    2412775

Replying To Viking66:  "Sad news indeed if true."
Heard the same a few months back.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 548 - 24/04/2022 17:18:26    2412781

So ye saying chin is more or less finished as an inter County hurlers?

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 24/04/2022 17:31:34    2412790

Just when I was feeling lower about Wexford hurling than I had in years then this news about Chin!

How much more can we take?

Just for the record I think this team is full of talent and has plenty of passion but the management has cost them two home wins with terrible tactics and poor team selection

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 24/04/2022 18:19:06    2412819

Replying To Viking66:  "A few corrections lad after I watched the game back. Too gutted to post anything when I got home yesterday.
1-Not sure I agree about giving up the short puckouts. They actually scored more of their points off turnovers and long balls up into the corners.
2-Agree about Rory he was excellent from open play
3-Dublin definitely didn't win all the dirty ball. We won slightly more of the rucks.
4-we didn't have a poor game overall. We played fairly well. Maybe better than Dublin in open play. And much better than we did against Galway.
5- we need a freetaker who takes frees for his club at least. The 1 Rory dropped short into the Clonard end from around 30 yards out with the wind behind him was the worst miss. He had 2 other really poor missed frees too. Chin missed one that he'd normally get but got all his others.
6- as regards the penalty Fanning couldn't have placed it any better it was an excellent save.
7- thought the ref was good.
Overall we lost a close game by hitting too many wides. Especially from easy enough frees. How far off in open play are Casey and Banville from being given a start if Chin can't start? Could we carry either of them? Both are good freetakers.
We aren't out yet despite all the doom and gloom merchants. Most of these lads have won in Nowlan Park before. Its not impossible. Finally on positives I thought Ryan had a good game up until the handpass to Pepper when he had loads of time and space and ability to shoot himself. And Kevin Foley was much improved. Both players will be very important if we are to win our last 3 games. Its not over yet."
What's the advantage of the short puck out?

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 548 - 24/04/2022 18:48:10    2412826

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "Unfortunately Rory's scoring contribution from play has gone down a lot now that other teams have decided that the only way to deal with him is to continually foul him. I think as well that being entrusted with the free taking duties can't help his all round game as it must affect his confidence when he is missing them. His body language has been poor in the last three games. A frustrating time for a superbly talented player. Let's hope he can recapture some of his league form for the remaining games"
Apart from the frees he was excellent against Dublin?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16752 - 24/04/2022 18:52:27    2412828

Replying To hunting:  "So ye saying chin is more or less finished as an inter County hurlers?"
As it stands, things don't look good for him. The injury obviously won't heal itself and he's only half the player while he has it. The operation is his only chance of getting back to his best but even that's not guaranteed to fix it and if it did, he will have to forget about next season and maybe the following one. However if surgery does sort him out, he could still get back to his best. Look at John Conlon today for Clare, absolutely outstanding at the age of 33 and looking like he could hurl like that for a few more years. Chin looks after himself fitness wise and he could hurl at inter county until 35 if he's fully fit. He's played sport non stop for years now so a year or two off might do no harm to him and he could come back refreshed. His experience would be great too for the younger lads in the panel. However it's up to him and what he wants. If he was to have surgery, he should get it done as soon as Wexford are out of this year's championship and not subject his knee to any more punishment

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 276 - 24/04/2022 19:32:07    2412844

Replying To Viking66:  "Apart from the frees he was excellent against Dublin?"
He had a good game but he's not registering the 1-4 or 1-5 from play that he was in the earlier league games. Like he only got one point from play yesterday and last week too….Wexford need more from him if we're to win these games as unfortunately it's not going to come from any other forward. The constant fouling is killing him as he's not able to get away from defenders and do damage. And missing the frees has to be affecting him. He doesn't look like he has the same carefree attitude that he had back in February/March. But yes I agree, he is still playing really well just without the big scoring tallies from play

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 276 - 24/04/2022 19:44:53    2412851

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "He had a good game but he's not registering the 1-4 or 1-5 from play that he was in the earlier league games. Like he only got one point from play yesterday and last week too….Wexford need more from him if we're to win these games as unfortunately it's not going to come from any other forward. The constant fouling is killing him as he's not able to get away from defenders and do damage. And missing the frees has to be affecting him. He doesn't look like he has the same carefree attitude that he had back in February/March. But yes I agree, he is still playing really well just without the big scoring tallies from play"
It's easier get away from defenders in February March than in championship hurling fitness levels and first touchs improve as year goes on and your up against the best defenders available from each county .

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 410 - 24/04/2022 21:05:58    2412890

Look at it without the Wexford classes on ya like I do when judging this team
1.we have 1 proper defender that would make the top team in jippo,even tho his form has dipped slightly,but to be honest he gets no help from out the field or our half backs who don't mark and are defensively brutal
2.we have this year 1 forward that's on form with the weight of the whole of Wexford on him to win games on his own which is crazy and he can't do it on his own,he would make the top teams at the minute,so in reality we have 2 top class players in my mind!!!that's not good enough
3.we must have the worst half forward line in the country to be honest that offer zero if I'm honest and simply are not up to intercounty standard at all,I would dread to think what it would look like against the top lads!!!
4.our subs?? oh lord people talking about the great panel we have the competition and depth,please some of these lads are very average at club level
4.pepper being used is the biggest mystery to me,when all the talk is about how important it is to get this under 20 team to the top and bring them through with all these great minors we had in 19???he's a slip of a lad and really at intercounty senior be has no chance,totally over rated also
5.i can say this that the Leinster minor we won in 19 was great but the standard was very poor and we got wiped out by Galway,I think these lads are over hyped,watch what Dublin will do with them!!!
6.this team has run its course 3 u21 Leinster's got us 1 Leinster senior medal but still has us light years away from the top table in reality
7.We have a high performance committee or panel in place also aload of ****,how is it that all of our underage development squads train for an hour on the weekend and that's it from u13 or 14 till they get to u17???if that's high performance IL leave it so,when all the county's at the top train 3 nights,how do we expect to make that ground back up at minor??? Maybe sort that issue out we might produce
8.i honestly feel we are on the decline big time

theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 285 - 25/04/2022 08:22:01    2412919