Will chin be fit for galway game larryO? Or what the injury
hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 04/04/2022 12:44:46 2409498 Link 0 |
Dublin are a handy enough team. They are not world beaters but neither are we. That's the reality. Yes we are playing them on our own soil and what will be in front of a large home following but i would say that it's a 50 50 game. Our problem in the past and more recently has been inconsistency. Just when we all thought that we could put it up to any of the top teams waterford swept us away with ease. Far too many of our lads weren't at the races and were quite simply humiliated. Training on the Saturday before the game????. What kind of nonsense is that if its true. Surely management should know better. We can do well in leinster this year but a massive improvement is required by all the players. Getting over Galway will be the first step and if we do then perhaps the confidence gained from that game will get us over the line in the Dublin match. A long way to go but if Chin returns to full fitness ( and its a big if from what I'm hearing) that will be a massive boost and it could make all the difference.
Blockandhook (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 04/04/2022 12:49:49 2409499 Link 0 |
It would explain the lack of energy ok. I suspected something like that tbh. Not sure if it was a good move but it has dampened expectations if nothing else. Think Dee was unlucky too. After a slow start to the year he got better and better as the league went on. In fairness to Daly and Sheedy they name checked a few of our lads but made the point that Waterford won both their knockout games well and were definitely the league team of the year.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16600 - 04/04/2022 14:05:02 2409531 Link 0 |
If training in Saturday was pencilled in as part of the plan to be as right as possible for the Galway game then so be it. That's the game we need most to be right for.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16600 - 04/04/2022 14:07:13 2409532 Link 0 |
Always hear about the hard training sessions when we lose never buy into it to be honest we had a chance of a national title not like we are Tipp or Kk and have titles coming out of our ears.
Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 410 - 04/04/2022 14:07:32 2409533 Link 0 |
No clue, he was only running the other night the the fitness coach. The extended panel of seniors hopped off the Under 20's the same night. No clue about Conor Mac. Hope he's fit. LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 04/04/2022 14:08:56 2409535 Link 0 |
What was the point of training on the eve of a big game to be right for the Galway game which was 3 weeks away? The team had been training hard prior to the waterford game and are obviously training hard now. If and i repeat if they were training on the Saturday it was completely unnecessary and senseless. Plenty of time for training post semi final game.
Blockandhook (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 04/04/2022 14:35:52 2409543 Link 0 |
The biggest irony being Egan isn't talking to the media at the minute due to that GPA stand-off, yet a bigger issue of player welfare seems to be completely disregarded. If it's true, it's seems insane. beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 04/04/2022 14:53:36 2409547 Link 1 |
If we had of gone full tilt at the league and maybe have run Waterford closer or even beaten them and gave the final our best shot and ran Cork close but didnt win, or even if we did win, but then failed to get out of the Round Robin would you have been happy then? Obviously if we dont get out of the Round Robin anyway then it wouldve been better to give the League semi a proper lash but we wont know that for a couple of months yet.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16600 - 04/04/2022 14:54:36 2409548 Link 0 |
I agree with this . What was to be gained from training the night before a league semi final ? Crazy stuff if true . Surely it was a very light session if true
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 04/04/2022 14:58:10 2409550 Link 1 |
Didn't bother Waterford giving it a lash with the prospect of a munster round Robin to come let's stop making excuses we collapsed against Waterford when the goals started coming and our shortage of pace at the back was obvious .Three weeks won't give us pacy backs all of a sudden.
Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 410 - 04/04/2022 15:27:53 2409563 Link 1 |
Egan had said previous how important it was to get daylight training in and not just under lights at night, I wouldn't be surprised if they were training during the day but what type it was I would not have though a heavy one. Have to remember while games are great not all the panel gets to play and its hard to focus on correcting mistakes.
zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2028 - 04/04/2022 16:29:01 2409589 Link 0 |
Waterford and the Munster sides are the level we aspire to be at. And yet, if the rumours are true, we jeopardised our chances of being competitive and to properly gauge where we are at. If we get out of Leinster, and I am less optimistic now than I was a few weeks ago, it'll be a step up again against any of the Munster contingent. I just don't see the logic. beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 04/04/2022 16:31:14 2409591 Link 0 |
Yah, Dee should have been in that team, and 3-4 other Wexford lads with him of course, of course!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2347 - 04/04/2022 16:52:47 2409604 Link 0 |
Waterford are primed for a go at the AI this year. They've a system they are in the 3rd year of fine tuning. They did the same to Corks 1st team as they did to ours which had a completely experimental half forward line, an experimental centre half who never played there before that I can remember and a lad doing his leaving cert in 1 of the corners. Our problems at the back werent mainly lads losing 1 on 1s it was mistakes from puckouts and lads not tracking back and leaving our cornerbacks facing 2 runners. Usain Bolt wouldnt be fast enough to track Gleeson and Hutchinson bearing down on him together 2 on 1. Best way to stop their inside forwards scoring goals is stop their teammates running through the middle 3rd and drawing the cornerbacks and popping short accurate passes over and inside. Limerick did it to them the last 5 times they met.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16600 - 04/04/2022 18:02:50 2409626 Link 0 |
Yeah, Egan seems to be one of the few managers not giving interviews. Cahill and kingston both spoke after the final on Saturday and Horan from Mayo and O'connor from Kerry gave their thoughts on the league final. Maybe Egan is supporting O'Hanlon who is high up in the GPA.
Blockandhook (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 04/04/2022 19:05:42 2409642 Link 1 |
Well we will definitely have to settle on a freetaker this day and age all top teams have at least 2.Also need more support for Rory O can't do it all by himself.
Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 410 - 05/04/2022 08:07:28 2409665 Link 0 |
100%, it's funny how when we cop a serious beating there always seems to have been "a heavy training session" a day or two beforehand. What's more is the reaction "ah sure that's grand, explains it so" , no it's not, if true it's bloody brain dead which leads me to think it isn't. Having said that I do think we will beat Galway and push on from there but any of the games in Leinster could go any way really. tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1536 - 05/04/2022 09:39:41 2409668 Link 1 |
It was supposed to be a team of the league. Not just the semifinal and final!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16600 - 05/04/2022 09:58:56 2409673 Link 0 |
Egan gave an interview after the Waterford game. I saw it.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16600 - 05/04/2022 09:59:41 2409674 Link 0 |