2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To countyman2022:  "To make it worse I heard he backed Galopin des Champs in an accum, Sickening."
Good Taghmon man won on Galopin des Champs last year. He had another winner this year made me a nice few bob although I had Ginto in a few dockets wouldve made me more.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16577 - 29/03/2022 14:21:04    2408099

Replying To wexico15:  "Shefflin has thrown down the gauntlet to the Galway panel too dropping established panelists like Niall Burke and Adrian Tuhoy after the league."
Dont think they are fast enough for the modern game although thought Tuohy wouldve been an asset to them as cover all across the back 6.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16577 - 29/03/2022 14:22:43    2408100

Replying To Viking66:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "" Chin was sprung into action off the bench in the last quarter and struck over a free as the Model men fell by 19 points with the Déise laying waste to their unbeaten league run, but the Faythe Harriers forward appeared to pull up in the dying seconds when tracking back at speed.
The 29-year-old, an All-Star winner in 2019, was visibly in discomfort after the final whistle and he is believed to have undergone extensive treatment behind the scenes with fears that the same injury has flared up once again on the eve of championship."

This looks like a serious error of judgement by the Wexford management team. Rushing a player back from injury when there was no need to bring him on with the game already lost."
Hes hardly been rushed back the injury occurred back in October."
I shouldn't have used the word rushed. I know it's easy with hindsight, but maybe a bit more time recuperating would have been more beneficial.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 29/03/2022 14:23:28    2408102

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Gauntlet? You mean, a lady's lace glove, like my grandmother God rest her, used to wear up to Sunday mass. 2-3 more could have easily gone with Burke and Tuohy (injuries hindered him). Henry is in his first year, and has to be careful; use a scissors, not a guillotine!"
Good morning Mr Young

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16577 - 29/03/2022 14:24:50    2408103

Replying To hunting:  "The only person who should be ashamed of himself is Gleeson. Everyone, from all other counties knows what he like, except most of the waterford fans, take off the blue and white tinted glasses and go on to a waterford forum(your obsession with this forum is strange). Is he a good hurler yes but that where it ends. I once seen him throw an oppostion hurl into the stand (hitting a little girl)in disgust during a waterford club hurling championship match. If I was struck in the privates by a hurl I find it hard to stay standing up too."
This is a public forum and open threads. Many people comment on other counties threads. I was not the one who convoluted the main page with these threads and never used them before that. However if you want something private form your own little chat room where you can b.s. to a select group. I will continue to engage on the Wexford because of interest in Wexford and friends. 99% of my comments are and will be positive but I will call out what is bad the same as forWaterford.
Now to Gleeson. I never defended his antics. Neither did I this time and his sending off should stand. He threw a hurley away and but suggesting he meant to hit anyone is just not right. O Connor threw a hurley intending to hit Shaun O'Brien. Not disgusting ? That is factual for everyone to see. He should be getting much severer sanction than Gleeson. You are the one wearing the tinted glasses. Thankfully the majority of posters on here in gauge in objective conversation and I wish them and the Wexford team all the best.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3137 - 29/03/2022 14:25:15    2408105

Well I said Id wait on a opinion on where we are at till after this game,my fears came through worse than I'd imagined,I actually thought 10 or 12 points!!!having been at alot of the league games I have to say Iv hadn't seen much movement in other teams forward play and to be honest not a whole lot of high intensity defending from any of our opposition which made us look good and just goes to show what other teams are up to, probably training very hard just happy to stay up win an odd game and find the odd player!!! Waterfords movement was unreal and team work savage,I felt maybe cork would give us a trimming but they put out a weak team.my problem with this Wexford team is that we don't have good proper modern day defenders that can hurl and DEFEND!!! The 2 foyles are just loose hurlers with no interest in marking anyone really both got destroyed,Kevin for me is no defender unless he's a sweeper other than that he's a midfielder only,I genuinely don't rate paudie that highly but u might get away with him as a sitting centre back after that nowhere in my eyes!!! Less said about Donohue the better never rated him got away with it under Davey with the sweeper poor when he has to hold his own very limited!!!reck played well attacked the ball at least,Ryans form has dipped,I think Matthew has done well but I think in the heat of championship he will be cleaned,if Donohue and him are our corner back we 1000% need a sweeper!!! Half forward line poor if this continues into championship we are in real bother,Rory finally came up against a man who can defend and is up to it and that's what happens,Rory's a very good player but he's been given some space and rope in our league games and all of a sudden he goes from hero to zero and all the talk my god !!!Mac looks under pressure now,pepper has along way to go,we haven't got a big as panel to call on that we think!!!was It great to get all these young lads games absolutely,are we as good or are those young lads as good as we thought no is the answer but it's all we have!!!chin is under pressure now also he's a ball winner something that we haven't got at the minute,jacko I actually don't know where I'd put him he's just a sub I think,he's been tried every where at this stage and can't hold down a spot,he's just a cover player now,conal flood not sure either,I hope the reck lad gets back for corner back!! Now we beat Galway and who cares!!!hard to see it but you never know

theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 284 - 29/03/2022 14:33:35    2408111

Replying To theboys:  "Well I said Id wait on a opinion on where we are at till after this game,my fears came through worse than I'd imagined,I actually thought 10 or 12 points!!!having been at alot of the league games I have to say Iv hadn't seen much movement in other teams forward play and to be honest not a whole lot of high intensity defending from any of our opposition which made us look good and just goes to show what other teams are up to, probably training very hard just happy to stay up win an odd game and find the odd player!!! Waterfords movement was unreal and team work savage,I felt maybe cork would give us a trimming but they put out a weak team.my problem with this Wexford team is that we don't have good proper modern day defenders that can hurl and DEFEND!!! The 2 foyles are just loose hurlers with no interest in marking anyone really both got destroyed,Kevin for me is no defender unless he's a sweeper other than that he's a midfielder only,I genuinely don't rate paudie that highly but u might get away with him as a sitting centre back after that nowhere in my eyes!!! Less said about Donohue the better never rated him got away with it under Davey with the sweeper poor when he has to hold his own very limited!!!reck played well attacked the ball at least,Ryans form has dipped,I think Matthew has done well but I think in the heat of championship he will be cleaned,if Donohue and him are our corner back we 1000% need a sweeper!!! Half forward line poor if this continues into championship we are in real bother,Rory finally came up against a man who can defend and is up to it and that's what happens,Rory's a very good player but he's been given some space and rope in our league games and all of a sudden he goes from hero to zero and all the talk my god !!!Mac looks under pressure now,pepper has along way to go,we haven't got a big as panel to call on that we think!!!was It great to get all these young lads games absolutely,are we as good or are those young lads as good as we thought no is the answer but it's all we have!!!chin is under pressure now also he's a ball winner something that we haven't got at the minute,jacko I actually don't know where I'd put him he's just a sub I think,he's been tried every where at this stage and can't hold down a spot,he's just a cover player now,conal flood not sure either,I hope the reck lad gets back for corner back!! Now we beat Galway and who cares!!!hard to see it but you never know"
" The 2 foyles are just loose hurlers with no interest in marking anyone…"

That's very interesting! Limerick had a fellow with the same family name that I'd describe in exactly the same way, and it is not the fine Foley from the 1970's and 80's that I'm referring to!

Does it run with the name?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2347 - 29/03/2022 14:44:26    2408118

Replying To theboys:  "Well I said Id wait on a opinion on where we are at till after this game,my fears came through worse than I'd imagined,I actually thought 10 or 12 points!!!having been at alot of the league games I have to say Iv hadn't seen much movement in other teams forward play and to be honest not a whole lot of high intensity defending from any of our opposition which made us look good and just goes to show what other teams are up to, probably training very hard just happy to stay up win an odd game and find the odd player!!! Waterfords movement was unreal and team work savage,I felt maybe cork would give us a trimming but they put out a weak team.my problem with this Wexford team is that we don't have good proper modern day defenders that can hurl and DEFEND!!! The 2 foyles are just loose hurlers with no interest in marking anyone really both got destroyed,Kevin for me is no defender unless he's a sweeper other than that he's a midfielder only,I genuinely don't rate paudie that highly but u might get away with him as a sitting centre back after that nowhere in my eyes!!! Less said about Donohue the better never rated him got away with it under Davey with the sweeper poor when he has to hold his own very limited!!!reck played well attacked the ball at least,Ryans form has dipped,I think Matthew has done well but I think in the heat of championship he will be cleaned,if Donohue and him are our corner back we 1000% need a sweeper!!! Half forward line poor if this continues into championship we are in real bother,Rory finally came up against a man who can defend and is up to it and that's what happens,Rory's a very good player but he's been given some space and rope in our league games and all of a sudden he goes from hero to zero and all the talk my god !!!Mac looks under pressure now,pepper has along way to go,we haven't got a big as panel to call on that we think!!!was It great to get all these young lads games absolutely,are we as good or are those young lads as good as we thought no is the answer but it's all we have!!!chin is under pressure now also he's a ball winner something that we haven't got at the minute,jacko I actually don't know where I'd put him he's just a sub I think,he's been tried every where at this stage and can't hold down a spot,he's just a cover player now,conal flood not sure either,I hope the reck lad gets back for corner back!! Now we beat Galway and who cares!!!hard to see it but you never know"
What would your team be????

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 29/03/2022 14:44:40    2408119

I say you are fun at parties theboys

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 29/03/2022 14:50:42    2408121

Was at the minor in Parnell park,was very impressed to with them,won't lie when I went down through the panel and seen that the big clubs in the county not really represented I had me doubts!!! Opening few minutes very nervy,loads of missed opportunities,but then Wexford turned it on!!!all the backs defending really well and dominating in particular Chapman corner back and Purcell wing back,backed up by a very hard working midfield!!I must say they look very organised back there,paudie Doyle a very good hurler!!! Wexford forward I must say very sharp lots of movement lots of support play not afraid to give it to the right man which was great to see, Roche from oulart, Rowley and Byrne very classy backed by the hard working McCarty on the wing!!! Matthew Murphy full forward a big man able to move and very good on the frees I must say never missed one!!I know it looked tight on the score board and two of the goals took deflections and shouldn't have been allowed anyway it was free out definitely to Wexford backs for both,but the ref completely turned on Wexford for some reason,some very very strange frees called,Wexford were definitely the better side by 7-8 points really and in total control,ref played alot of time added on aswell looked sure he was playin to get Dublin a draw!!! Very well done to all involved I see Noel carton involved and Richie Kehoe on the line too!!great to see recent enough county men involved!!!

theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 284 - 29/03/2022 14:50:51    2408122

A rather comprehensive assessment! I don't know if it's accurate, but if it is … it doesn't look good for Wexford.

Perhaps 'the boys' is actually a Kilkenny man in disguise? Perhaps not? And if not, add another factor to his summation: the heavy ground that suits Wexford hurling. That'll be gone with the summer hurling!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2347 - 29/03/2022 15:15:38    2408132

Think Flood and Reck are as good wingbacks as any we have and not far off as good as anyone has. Paudie better at centreback than wingback although Donohue has done well there before. Think MOH is alot better cornerback and is alot more mobile this year than for many years. Shane Reck in the other corner Donohue if Shane is still injured. Devitt has looked good in the corner too. Problem last weekend was furthur up the pitch. We let Waterford have the middle 3rd, possibly by design, and Donohue was often left with 2 runners to deal with. And not just any runners but Waterfords 2 best attacking players. The best cornerbacks currently playing, Finn and Barrett, wouldve leaked goals facing Hutchinson and Gleeson by themselves. As regards the forwards Mac still looks lazy. He doesnt make enough runs to get him the ball. Yes lethal with ball in hand but he has to get himself in positions to get the ball. Mcguckin did ok but Dunbar was pretty invisible . Mikey is more of an inside forward. Agree Jevin better furthur up the pitch. Hes been a forward since he was a chap. Dee played well but didnt have his usual zip. Neither did Liam og. In fact the whole team from 2 to 15 didnt look to have their usual energy at all. As regards the intensity we brought a good level against Limerick less against Clare and Offaly. Cork rested a few players but then so did we. And Galway was out and out sgadowbixing from both sides. I said from the start we wont really know where we are at til after the Galway game. Lads were getting carried away with themselves in January before Egan brought them all back down with the 16 point loss to the Dubs when we played with nearly zero tactics only 15 on 15. The Dubs wont have learnt anything from that. Salthill was the same. He started at least 10 lads in positions they wont start in during the championship in that last game against Waterford and probably 3 that wont start at all. And played 15 on 15 with players sticking to their positions which is why Waterford were able to create 2 on 1s down both flanks but especially on Donohues side. Ok some of Rorys misses were high percentage shots from out on the sidelines but he missed 2 frees from in front of the posts 1 of which was only 20 something yards out. There was zero pressure on that free the game had already gone away....... I'd put a good bet on that we wont be set up that way against Galway. Whether we will beat Galway is anyone's guess. As is what way we will set up. And that's probably exactly what our management team will have wanted at this stage. I hope to god they have more idea than we have but I also have full confidence that they do.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16577 - 29/03/2022 15:20:16    2408134

Have you ever heard of full stops?

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 29/03/2022 15:29:25    2408136

Replying To Canuck:  "This is a public forum and open threads. Many people comment on other counties threads. I was not the one who convoluted the main page with these threads and never used them before that. However if you want something private form your own little chat room where you can b.s. to a select group. I will continue to engage on the Wexford because of interest in Wexford and friends. 99% of my comments are and will be positive but I will call out what is bad the same as forWaterford.
Now to Gleeson. I never defended his antics. Neither did I this time and his sending off should stand. He threw a hurley away and but suggesting he meant to hit anyone is just not right. O Connor threw a hurley intending to hit Shaun O'Brien. Not disgusting ? That is factual for everyone to see. He should be getting much severer sanction than Gleeson. You are the one wearing the tinted glasses. Thankfully the majority of posters on here in gauge in objective conversation and I wish them and the Wexford team all the best."
O'Connor should face more severe sanction than Gleeson? You're entitled to an opinion, but consider this....

Throwing the hurl in a manner that's not dangerous to an opponent is a simple free against the offender. No further sanction.

Throwing the hurl in a manner that's likely to be dangerous is a yellow card. That's what O'Connor rightly got for the offence.

As already stated, striking or attempting to strike an opponent with a hurl, even with minimal force, is a straight red card. And that's what Gleeson rightly got.

If you've a problem with the sanctions, take it up with the people who make the rule book.

And if you're going to impose sanctions on the grounds of what "could" have happened - e.g. O'Connor's hurl "could" have hit the goalkeeper and injured him - then consider what "could" happen when one player uses his hurl to give an opponent a dig where the sun doesn't shine.

Probably the worst a loose hurl will do to you is a cut or a bruise. But get a sneaky dig in the you-know-whats, and you could lose one of them.

Would you like to talk again about sanctions?

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2974 - 29/03/2022 15:45:53    2408144

Replying To Canuck:  "This is a public forum and open threads. Many people comment on other counties threads. I was not the one who convoluted the main page with these threads and never used them before that. However if you want something private form your own little chat room where you can b.s. to a select group. I will continue to engage on the Wexford because of interest in Wexford and friends. 99% of my comments are and will be positive but I will call out what is bad the same as forWaterford.
Now to Gleeson. I never defended his antics. Neither did I this time and his sending off should stand. He threw a hurley away and but suggesting he meant to hit anyone is just not right. O Connor threw a hurley intending to hit Shaun O'Brien. Not disgusting ? That is factual for everyone to see. He should be getting much severer sanction than Gleeson. You are the one wearing the tinted glasses. Thankfully the majority of posters on here in gauge in objective conversation and I wish them and the Wexford team all the best."
I see ye are not appealing the red card anyway, feel sorry for the Ballygunner contingent that the match has been set for Saturday, the match will clash with there gala dinner where they are getting their medals.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 29/03/2022 15:46:13    2408145

maybe the wexford supporters on here were reading too much into the league form before sunday.....how much were limerick and the other 4 teams that ye beat trying......the answers to how good wexford are will come in the next 6 to 8 weeks....

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1143 - 29/03/2022 15:51:27    2408149

My team for Galway

Fanning
Shane reck( if fit) ryan Damien reck
Flood paudie foley Ohanlon
Dee O Kevin foley
Oisin foley jacko chin
Rory Mac Dunbar

If shane reck isn't fit I'd play devitt instead. Don't want to think about chin not being available!!!

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 29/03/2022 15:54:36    2408150

Replying To wexico15:  "I see ye are not appealing the red card anyway, feel sorry for the Ballygunner contingent that the match has been set for Saturday, the match will clash with there gala dinner where they are getting their medals."
I think part of that is to teach Gleeson a lesson and he is not depended on. I thought he had learned lesson for the last couple of years from his days of pulling helmets off. A great player but.....

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3137 - 29/03/2022 16:04:13    2408158

After alot of thought my starting 15 against Galway-
1- Fanning
2- MOH
3- Ryan
4- Shane Reck
5- P Foley
6- D Reck
7- Flood
8- Dee
9- Liam og
10- O Foley
11- Chin
12- Kevin Foley
13- Rory
14- Mac
15- Mikey
Subs-
16- Lawlor
17- Donohue
18- Dunbar
19- Morris
20- Hearne
21- Mcguckin
22- Jacko
23- Devitt
24- Casey
25- David Dunne
26- N Murphy
Leaving Pepper, R Lawlor, Cian Byrne and Corey Byrne Dunbar to play u20.
If Reck is injured promote Donohue
If Chin is injured promote Jacko
If Mac is injured promote Dunbar
Higgins could step into the bench either. Ross Banville too.
Any real word on the injuries? How did Shawn Murphys op go? And Baileys? When does Egan name our championship 34?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16577 - 29/03/2022 16:16:35    2408166

1.Fanning
2.Shane Reck
3.Jippo
4.Damien Reck
5.Flood
6.Paudi (sitting)
7.Matt
8.Kevin
9.Dee
10.Liam of
11.chin
12.oisin
13.rory
14.mac
15.mickie D (hurling in middle 3rd to create and protect paudi) after that I don't know,that's my thoughts on it!! Our backs need massive help from our midfield and half forward line if we don't play a 3rd midfielder or sweeper!!!if we go all out sweeper Mickie midfield and Kevin sweeper!!! I'm a serious man to partying too.......

theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 284 - 29/03/2022 16:19:37    2408167