2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To Afinestick:  "Very surprised by the team . Thought Conall Flood , Oisin Foley and Jacko. I can't fault Egan he has being exceptional so far but should we not be trying to find out our best 15 this close to championship ?"
I think for us to be successful this year we need a best 20 not a best 15. I'm sure Darragh Egan knows this too. I think it's a good team he has named.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16555 - 26/03/2022 13:07:49    2407161

Any where to stream the minor match?

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 26/03/2022 13:43:41    2407170

I think the advantage goes to ye tomorrow. No Prunty, Lyons, Barron or Stephen Bennett . We will see how good that panel of ours are again a formable team like Wexford.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3133 - 26/03/2022 14:08:40    2407175

Replying To wexico15:  "Yeah had 2 on the football team too ( 1 dual player I think) which would be rare enough."
Yeah, Jack Hennessy on both teams, played last year also.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 546 - 26/03/2022 14:19:19    2407178

Replying To Yellow:  "Any where to stream the minor match?"
Was looking for it myself. The lads are 7 points to 2 up.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16555 - 26/03/2022 14:19:48    2407179

Replying To Afinestick:  "Very surprised by the team . Thought Conall Flood , Oisin Foley and Jacko. I can't fault Egan he has being exceptional so far but should we not be trying to find out our best 15 this close to championship ?"
This is very close to championship team. K. Foley played centre back against Cork. Chin to come in centre forward. Maybe one or two other switches.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 546 - 26/03/2022 14:21:07    2407180

Replying To Canuck:  "I think the advantage goes to ye tomorrow. No Prunty, Lyons, Barron or Stephen Bennett . We will see how good that panel of ours are again a formable team like Wexford."
We are missing a few likely championship starters too but aside from Chin not as important to us as Prunty and Barron are to you.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16555 - 26/03/2022 14:21:31    2407181

Replying To WEX98:  "This is very close to championship team. K. Foley played centre back against Cork. Chin to come in centre forward. Maybe one or two other switches."
Is Chin going to start ?

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 26/03/2022 14:31:13    2407185

Replying To Viking66:  "We are missing a few likely championship starters too but aside from Chin not as important to us as Prunty and Barron are to you."
Stephen Bennett Viking66 is a huge loss. The forward with O'Connor so far this year. Look at his scoring from play as well as frees. He must be injured not even on the subs.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3133 - 26/03/2022 14:36:00    2407187

Replying To Yellow:  "Any where to stream the minor match?"
No stream for the game as far as i know, best bet for a stream this afternoon is Antrim and Offaly relegation play off on TG4 YouTube.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 26/03/2022 15:00:34    2407191

Replying To Canuck:  "Stephen Bennett Viking66 is a huge loss. The forward with O'Connor so far this year. Look at his scoring from play as well as frees. He must be injured not even on the subs."
Agree hes an excellent free taker in particular and a good player in general this league. But Prunty knits your back 6 together and Barron is one of the top hurlers in the country in championship hurling for a good few years now. I'd say you will cope better with Bennetts loss if this were a championship game than you would Pruntys or Barrons.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16555 - 26/03/2022 15:01:20    2407192

I thought D Reck played centre forward vs Cork

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 26/03/2022 15:05:09    2407193

Replying To Yellow:  "I thought D Reck played centre forward vs Cork"
Paidi Foley played 5, Kevin Foley 6, Damien Reck 7 while O'Keeffe dropped back from midfield.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 26/03/2022 15:11:45    2407195

Replying To Viking66:  "Agree hes an excellent free taker in particular and a good player in general this league. But Prunty knits your back 6 together and Barron is one of the top hurlers in the country in championship hurling for a good few years now. I'd say you will cope better with Bennetts loss if this were a championship game than you would Pruntys or Barrons."
I suspect that collectively our backs will be over powered. Not that they are bad players but only three would be considered first choice and only DeBurca and C. Gleeson in there right positions. The forwards probably have enough power on there still. It used always be the other way.
The players who are injured it seems are minor and in most circumstances would play. Even though I thought like everyone else Waterford would want a league I am now a little suspicious. Not trying to take from Wexford either if ye win. Time will tell.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3133 - 26/03/2022 15:17:53    2407197

Replying To Viking66:  "Was looking for it myself. The lads are 7 points to 2 up."
Won 3-21 2-23, following Dublin's Twitter page they got the 2 goals in injury time to create a nervy finish, Cillian Byrne got 2 of our goals, Paidi Doyle the other, we were up 1-12 0-9 at half time.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 26/03/2022 15:32:22    2407200

Replying To Canuck:  "I suspect that collectively our backs will be over powered. Not that they are bad players but only three would be considered first choice and only DeBurca and C. Gleeson in there right positions. The forwards probably have enough power on there still. It used always be the other way.
The players who are injured it seems are minor and in most circumstances would play. Even though I thought like everyone else Waterford would want a league I am now a little suspicious. Not trying to take from Wexford either if ye win. Time will tell."
No matter how much you want to win the league you are not going to chance an injured player who might be back fully fit in 2 weeks re injuring himself and being out for 2 months. Tbh you wouldnt take that chance in the 1st game of the Round Robin Canuck never mind the league.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16555 - 26/03/2022 15:36:57    2407201

Great win for the minors. Seemingly they were comfortable enough all through the game until the last few minutes when the Dubs got a couple of goals! Hopefully they get a draw or better with Kilkenny next time out and get the bye into the semifinals. Or Kilkenny beat the Dubs too. Think the group is just one massive banana skin.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16555 - 26/03/2022 15:40:24    2407203

Was at the minor game hurled well for long periods and 3 21 is a great score. Shane Roache scored seven or eight from play from oulart strong chap looks a good player. Murphy from cushinstown scored 7 two from play and solid from frees. Cillian Byrne score 2 1 or 2 2 and looked lively all game. Paudi Doyle from the Anne's had a good second half with a brilliant goal. We seemed to run out of steam with 10 minutes to go in both halves. All the same good win never easy in a heavy Parnell park

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 370 - 26/03/2022 17:43:27    2407225

Replying To Afinestick:  "Is Chin going to start ?"
I strongly feel that the Wexford team is partly a dummy team. I honestly can't see Mikie Dwyer and Charlie mcguician in the half forward line. I'll go with Larry's prediction that Chin will start and go in at number 11. Bit surprised at pepper ahead of OFoley. Yes i think we'll see a number of personnel and positional switches ahead of throw in

Blockandhook (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 26/03/2022 18:02:49    2407228

For me, win, lose or draw tomorrow it doesn't matter to much. It all about the championship, More game time in the legs for the new players and no injuries is key. I hope the team starts as selected and chin get some much needed minutes.
Good win for the minors today, they were in control for long periods of the game, however I have to say management doesn't fill me with much confidence but any win in parnell Park is great

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 26/03/2022 19:42:49    2407245