has he been that poor the last couple of years? I taught he did well against Kilkenny in last years championship, got a couple of scores against Clare with poor supply and got 2-4 from play against Laois. In 2020 everyone bar Liam Ryan if I remember correctly played poorly.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 04/03/2022 12:13:09 2403768 Link 0 |
I am with you here for once zinny! For all his brilliance, his workrate can be unacceptably lax. I have on more than 1 occasion in recent years remarked when a score came at the other end, if you rewind it to where the move started McDonald gave up on the chase of the full or corner back at the other end to stop them clearing the ball. That isn't acceptable in the modern game, you are the first defender as a forward and any forward needs to be able to make space for themselves, and if they cant then speed and fitness must be their problem. Standing in beside the full back is the game Billy Byrne played, it is not the game of today and you need that pace to make space. Back to tomorrow, we should be able to have the game won by half time and give every squad member a game then. StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1895 - 04/03/2022 12:20:11 2403770 Link 0 |
Conor Mac has been told not to chase back or sprint after defenders going by him. His pace is just not there, simple as that. Similar to telling a fella with two left feet not to shoot, there's no point. His ability to read the game and hold off his man is what enables him to get out in front of his man. LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 04/03/2022 12:47:48 2403780 Link 1 |
I think u are being very optimistic in your ratios there Wexico. It wasnt 1 out of 3 against Clare. Better to play lower ball into him still I think.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16534 - 04/03/2022 12:48:14 2403781 Link 0 |
Surprised no oisin pepper anywhere in the squad but very happy with team and squad
hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 04/03/2022 12:49:57 2403782 Link 0 |
Yourself and Zinny make valid points but ultimately in my opinion he's capable of doing things nobody else in our squad is, I'll put it this way if we decided to drop him for the Galway game on Easter weekend I suspect Shefflin and the Galway starting defence would be thrilled.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 04/03/2022 12:53:18 2403786 Link 0 |
I'd expect Wexford to win tomorrow all right, but I'd be cautious about saying we should have it won by half time. There was very little between Offaly and Clare last week with about 20 minutes to go. Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2970 - 04/03/2022 13:06:47 2403790 Link 0 |
I seem to recall Mac having noticeably improved work-rate against Limerick, and as someone else said, while he was quiet vs. Clare, the two points he did get were top quality for different reasons. I'd say only Flanagan is better at the over the shoulder score, and he is playing in the most fluid attacking set-up around. beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1500 - 04/03/2022 13:21:19 2403795 Link 0 |
It is Beano we havent had options like we gave now for as long as I can remember and that really includes the 90s. I'm definitely not suggesting we drop Mac. Only give him ball hes more likely to win.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16534 - 04/03/2022 13:58:12 2403798 Link 0 |
Who is our best player? Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 04/03/2022 14:10:20 2403799 Link 0 |
I just gave a hypothetical scenario more than a definite ratio to be honest, as I said in an earlier post if he was dropped for a championship game I'd say our opponents on the day would be delighted.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 04/03/2022 14:11:25 2403800 Link 0 |
For all the criticism he's got at times O'Hanlon has had a serious intercounty career too, was reading in an article last week he's started every championship game he's been available for, that's going back to 2011.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 04/03/2022 14:40:18 2403805 Link 0 |
Think Rory probably more effective than Mac and Jippo based on this season so far. Overall Chin probably our most influential hurler though we havent seen him at all so far . MOH and Damien Reck have been every bit as good as your 2nd group with Flood not far behind if behind at all tbh. Fanning probably in this group also and Liam og. Dwyer, Donohue not far off these also. Shane Reck based on last year would be probably in this group too. Be good to see how Bailey goes on Saturday in his 1st game back. Of the non regular starters before this year Dunbar and Oisin Foley probably have looked the most championship ready although none of the lads who have played in the League have looked lost at senior level.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16534 - 04/03/2022 14:48:38 2403807 Link 0 |
To put it in context himself, Dee and Mogie went to San Fran for the summer in 2013 and I think he's started every championship game since 2011 bar that year.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 04/03/2022 14:49:03 2403809 Link 0 |
I'm certainly not saying to drop him. Only give him better ball to win and use.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16534 - 04/03/2022 14:58:51 2403811 Link 0 |
Was just thinking none of us mentioned Mcguckin either, he's got a serious amount of gametime in the 2 months so obviously Egan rates his workrate and energy.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 04/03/2022 16:10:01 2403816 Link 0 |
Seamus Casey seems to find it very hard to get any sort of game time even as sub. Past hurler (None) - Posts: 970 - 05/03/2022 08:49:51 2403838 Link 0 |
Chin is the best technical player we have his aerial ability and some of the stuff he can do with a hurl are next level. Rory has the potential to be one of the best we've ever had
ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 302 - 05/03/2022 09:14:44 2403839 Link 0 |
Really looking forward to this match today. Sun out not a cloud in the sky and should go top of the league in style and see some emerging talent. Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 05/03/2022 09:26:10 2403840 Link 0 |
Would Wexford be happy with a League trophy and Leinster title or is All Ireland honours on people's minds. I think All Ireland is a year away from Wexford. Panel is too small and the backs have question marks. I like that Foley guy..hes great but am not sure about yere corner backs. I think ye missed out on at least a year's development by keeping Davy... and the funny thing is Davy thinks he had ye near these performances bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 05/03/2022 09:39:09 2403842 Link 0 |