2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I think, everybody is a bit too worked up over things.
It was a 1st round league match, both teams know there are bigger fish to fry (we all hope) later in the year. 2 rusty teams without key men, a lot of tenacious defending and not a free taking contest or a score fest and every free/shot/pass was fought for like your life depended on it. I for one (as a back myself) loved it.
I loved that the ref didn't blow for everything. Players are experts at playing for frees now. I hope referees are starting to give the tackler the benefit of the doubt again. Not every contact is a free and some you get, some you don't.
Plenty of early season cobwebs but a good hard fought contest given the conditions.
If it is a precursor to the year ahead, bring it on.
Calm down all, its only a game!

Back to Wexford discussion, does anyone know how far off Chin, Foley and ROC are?"
Apparently Foley and ROC might be back against Clare

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16513 - 08/02/2022 09:57:56    2399219

Replying To Viking66:  "Apparently Foley and ROC might be back against Clare"
If that's true, our strength in depth is starting to look quite tasty after a couple of years of stagnation (in terms of not blooding enough new lads). That said, McGuckin, O.Foley and Dwyer all deserve to start again and the onus should be on the more experienced lad to earn their place back.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1500 - 08/02/2022 10:10:11    2399224

Replying To beano:  "If that's true, our strength in depth is starting to look quite tasty after a couple of years of stagnation (in terms of not blooding enough new lads). That said, McGuckin, O.Foley and Dwyer all deserve to start again and the onus should be on the more experienced lad to earn their place back."
I'd be happy to see these young lads get more exposure against top quality opposition and bring Rory and Kevin on in the second half. Oisin Foley in particular has impressed. It's a pity he wasn't drafted in earlier as he is now 24 or 25 I think

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 08/02/2022 10:42:10    2399239

Replying To Viking66:  "Apparently Foley and ROC might be back against Clare"
Much like we saw a big difference in workrate etc with wexford after the Dublin game I'm expecting Clare to throw the kitchen sink at us at the weekend after they themselves were outplayed by cork. They're still likely to be without players of the calibre of Kelly, Conlon , duggan, O'Donnell and McCarthy so hopefully we can build on last Sunday's performance and get a positive result

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 08/02/2022 10:47:11    2399244

Replying To beano:  "If that's true, our strength in depth is starting to look quite tasty after a couple of years of stagnation (in terms of not blooding enough new lads). That said, McGuckin, O.Foley and Dwyer all deserve to start again and the onus should be on the more experienced lad to earn their place back."
I think you've to give to different lads chances this time of year for the hurling (different to the footballers where league is as important as championship) and take in other factors too, for example Dunbar played 60 mins Fitzgibbon last Wednesday, 58 mins I think on Sunday and possibly a full Fitzgibbon game tonight, I wouldn't might him being on the bench on Sunday. He didn't start against Kilkenny or Dublin in the Walsh Cup so Egan looks to have minded him to some extent.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 08/02/2022 10:48:44    2399245

Replying To Viking66:  "Be a tougher assignment this week! Have you a link Wexico? Thanks!"
No link there yet, its advertised as being on the 'HE GAA' Youtube page.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 08/02/2022 11:00:36    2399252

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Much like we saw a big difference in workrate etc with wexford after the Dublin game I'm expecting Clare to throw the kitchen sink at us at the weekend after they themselves were outplayed by cork. They're still likely to be without players of the calibre of Kelly, Conlon , duggan, O'Donnell and McCarthy so hopefully we can build on last Sunday's performance and get a positive result"
Yeah I'm expecting a reaction from Clare even if there missing men, just also to dispel Pat Spillane's theory about Ennis being a tight pitch I believe its actually 1 of the largest playing surfaces in the country, I think if a ground is small in capacity people assume its a small pitch too.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 08/02/2022 11:05:50    2399254

Replying To Afinestick:  "I'd be happy to see these young lads get more exposure against top quality opposition and bring Rory and Kevin on in the second half. Oisin Foley in particular has impressed. It's a pity he wasn't drafted in earlier as he is now 24 or 25 I think"
I'd give Oisin alot of credit for improving his game, when he was underage he wasn't making starting teams as an outfield player on a regular basis, has played in goal for the minors and DCU in Fitzgibbon previously, in 2018 he was in u21 panel as an outfield player but was in and out of the team, started against Dublin in Leinster semi final, sub for the final against Galway and played all ireland semi vs Cork when Rory and Joe O'Connor were injured, he's improved hugely in the last couple of years and full credit to him for that.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 08/02/2022 11:11:43    2399259

Replying To wexico15:  "Yeah I'm expecting a reaction from Clare even if there missing men, just also to dispel Pat Spillane's theory about Ennis being a tight pitch I believe its actually 1 of the largest playing surfaces in the country, I think if a ground is small in capacity people assume its a small pitch too."
Have you played on it?

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 838 - 08/02/2022 11:16:55    2399261

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Instead of defending Gillane and justifying him pulling dirty why don't ye just call him out on it. If ye don't ye are just enabling and excusing that side to his play. I don't buy this nonsense that he gets any more hardship than any other inside forward, they all get a certain amount of it. I'm saying it on this forum for years, he's a great hurler but his indiscipline will cost Limerick eventually, could/should of last year v Tipp but it will eventually happen.
Our own Rory O Connor has a hot side to him that could get him in trouble, and he gets as much hardship as anyone else but i don't think Wexford fans would condone him lashing out and getting sent off."
Larry I agree that he his behaviour cannot be condoned, however I felt the situation need to be put in context in both cases.
Also remember when you are All Ireland Championships your conduct comes under more scrutiny- would a particlar ever have been put off in four championship matches if his county had not won in the ultimate prize?. The nature of Sean O'Donoghue's conduct is never mentioned here, but if he is still on when Cork win their next All Ireland it surely will be.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 08/02/2022 11:29:00    2399267

Replying To daveboy:  "You took a pop at the perceived lack of support limerick had in 16 which was in accurate. You also stated you don't like limerick which is fair enough due to the rivalry and recent success of said rival. You are always very good in your assessments of the game and I'd agree with your analysis for the most part. What I don't like is that now a county is winning from a low base that people think its clever to comment at the large following they're getting. How many are at Tipp/KK trainings before championship matches these days? Far cry from the thousands that were there 10/12 years ago. My point is that success will always draw a crowd no matter the sport or the geography. I'm not sure what we are to get past but that's fine. Limerick hurling people are the finest you could meet. We had been through a huge barren run. As I said all countys have that "element" they'd rather weren't there and wearing the jersey the rest of us wear but they are everywhere."
Ya...look I read back on my posts and they were unfair to be honest so I'll hold my hands up and say it was unecssary pop at Limerick. Up to the start of the second half of the Munster final last year I didnt believe the narrative that Limerick were this all conquering and top class team. I was completely wrong in that assessment too. The top teams will always be scrutinsied 100 times more but ya in the main Limerick supporters are a good bunch but the rivalry has elements of nastiness about it too unfortunately.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/02/2022 11:40:54    2399272

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Larry I agree that he his behaviour cannot be condoned, however I felt the situation need to be put in context in both cases.
Also remember when you are All Ireland Championships your conduct comes under more scrutiny- would a particlar ever have been put off in four championship matches if his county had not won in the ultimate prize?. The nature of Sean O'Donoghue's conduct is never mentioned here, but if he is still on when Cork win their next All Ireland it surely will be."
I don't understand your outlook on this at all, provocation is not a defence in the Rule Book so there's no point in raising it, all your doing is making excuses. Regarding Sean O Donoghue I have never seen him slap back on a player in the same fashion that Gillane has done on at least three occasions, I think that would be the real reason his conduct is not raised here too often.
I presume you're talking about Liam Dunne, ya he had a bad disciplinary record, are you saying he didnt deserve it because he was high profile at the time?

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 08/02/2022 11:58:51    2399277

2 of those 3 red cards for Liam dunne were nonsense.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3820 - 08/02/2022 13:42:50    2399305

Replying To BostonRedSox:  "A few things from yesterday -

On Wexford - A win against the All-Ireland champions regardless of the situation is a good day out. I taught our backs were excellent all throughout and we got our match-ups right. Matt O Hanlon had a fantastic game in the corner and hopefully he maintains that level for the rest of the year. Regardless of peoples opinion on him he is a key man for us and he will have the thankless job of marking a lot of teams big danger men throughout the year. I expect his position to vary depending on the opposition and I don't think he is tied specifically to corner back this year. Paudie Foley back is a huge addition - he is a fantastic hurler and he also gives us three big men across the back 6. I like the idea of Reck hurling centre back as I think he is a class hurler but again it will depend on opposition. Up front I taught we battled excellently but obviously a few things to work on. We won very little primary possession from pucks out (albeit against a colossus size of a half back line) which is something im sure Egan will look to work on. We look like we are going to try utilse Conor McDonald on the edge of the square but for me we need a small bit more from him if we are to really compete this year. He showed in glimpses yesterday of what he can do. I was Delighted for the fringe players yesterday like Foley, McGuickan and Dwyer to an extent who all played well. Oisin Foley reminds me a little of Tom Morrissey of Limerick in that he is usually very accurate when he gets a shot at the posts.

On Limerick - I was looking at them in awe during the warm up, their sheer physical conditioning is insane. How Colin Coughlin is u21 I don't know, their must be something different in the water down there. I taught their backs were fantastic all game to, especially Richie English and Barry Nash. I'm sure people don't have English penciled in when Finn comes back buy by yesterdays performance he should be guaranteed to hold his place in the team. I love watching Limerick play, and a few times yesterday when they clicked it was frightening how fast they can move the ball through the lines. I would imagine Kiely would have been disappointed with the showing up front, especially from Pat Ryan, Oneill and Reidy. Guillane is only coming out of his winter slumber and we all know what he can do in the summer months.

On the ref - I taught he had a good game. Yes Dwyer took too many steps but thats a hard one to call when hes being fouled. I felt he was harsh on Jack O Connor once or twice and likewise on Limerick players but he allowed the game to be a physcial contest and wasnt whistle happy which I think is all we can ask for. Another referee yesterday would have turned that game into a free taking contest."
Don't think I've ever seen a GAA team in the flesh with the levels of physical conditioning that Limerick have. Hegarty, Coughlan and a few more wouldn't look out of place up the road from the Gaelic Grounds in Thomond Park.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 08/02/2022 14:00:47    2399311

Replying To wexico15:  "Don't think I've ever seen a GAA team in the flesh with the levels of physical conditioning that Limerick have. Hegarty, Coughlan and a few more wouldn't look out of place up the road from the Gaelic Grounds in Thomond Park."
Almost impossible for our lads to break through a tackle and if two Limerick guys got around you…good night!

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 08/02/2022 14:48:47    2399333

Clare vs Wexford is on TV - great news!!!

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 08/02/2022 14:53:04    2399337

Replying To wexico15:  "Don't think I've ever seen a GAA team in the flesh with the levels of physical conditioning that Limerick have. Hegarty, Coughlan and a few more wouldn't look out of place up the road from the Gaelic Grounds in Thomond Park."
LOL, I made a point of getting in early to try and get close to where the Limerick team were warming up, just to get a birds eye view and i was shaking my head looking at them.

Your reference to them being conditioned like rugby players made me chuckle cos i thought the exact same myself apart from one thing, they can move, and move at pace.

Thats the single most impressive thing , for sheer size they could slot in flanker or possibly second row but can move like bloody centres or wingers.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1528 - 08/02/2022 15:27:14    2399351

Some Munster lads I know who like their rugby think 1 small part of the reason why Munster haven't won a trophy in over 10 years is because of the decline of rugby in Limerick. In essence, a talent drain away from rugby into hurling.

Punter72007 (Wexford) - Posts: 318 - 08/02/2022 15:38:31    2399354

Replying To tearintom:  "LOL, I made a point of getting in early to try and get close to where the Limerick team were warming up, just to get a birds eye view and i was shaking my head looking at them.

Your reference to them being conditioned like rugby players made me chuckle cos i thought the exact same myself apart from one thing, they can move, and move at pace.

Thats the single most impressive thing , for sheer size they could slot in flanker or possibly second row but can move like bloody centres or wingers."
Absolutely looking at the 2 warms up I was thinking its like a u16 team at 1 end and u12 or 14s at the other end, fair play to our lads for pitching up for the battle, as I said on Sunday for sheer honesty of effort you couldn't have asked for much more. Wingers aren't always a Shane Williams, can be big lads these too look at George North and a few of the pacific islanders.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 08/02/2022 15:39:50    2399355

Replying To Punter72007:  "Some Munster lads I know who like their rugby think 1 small part of the reason why Munster haven't won a trophy in over 10 years is because of the decline of rugby in Limerick. In essence, a talent drain away from rugby into hurling."
Off topic for a Wexford hurling thread but I notice alot of the players coming through at Munster the last number of years have tended to come from Cork, a few from West Cork which has little or no tradition of rugby.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 08/02/2022 16:17:39    2399363