2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Does it spell the end of Shaun Murphy's inter-county career or has not recovered from injury yet?

If it's the former, I must say he was one of our most consistent performers the last few years. A solid corner back transformed into an under-rated wing-back who became a key component of our 2019 run.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1499 - 04/02/2022 10:05:01    2398264

Have we any chance at all Sunday lads. Without Chin and Rory O Connor probably our 2 best players it's hard to be hopeful . I would worry about some of the young lads if they go up against Limerick too. Massive step up and Limerick are physically imposing they could steam roll us

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 04/02/2022 10:05:31    2398265

Replying To Viking66:  "Limerick have named a very strong team with 9 of their starting 15 from last years AIF starting on Sunday and most of the rest of the starters named on the bench. It will be a great test for our young lads and the new management team! Looking forward to a good game!"
That team looks very strong even with only 9 starters from last year fare I say good enough to win the all Ireland. Very much up against it on Sunday

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 04/02/2022 10:17:09    2398268

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "That team looks very strong even with only 9 starters from last year fare I say good enough to win the all Ireland. Very much up against it on Sunday"
Yeah the gap to Limerick and the rest right now is similar to peak Kilkenny and peak Dublon footballers.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 04/02/2022 10:46:32    2398274

What is the story with nolan and shaun murphy?

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 04/02/2022 11:09:51    2398280

New Wexford Jersey launched, pretty much the same as last season, just slightly different on the sleeves and collar. I suppose if its isnt broke, dont fix it. To be fair there isnt a whole lot you can do.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 493 - 04/02/2022 11:36:15    2398286

Replying To beano:  "Does it spell the end of Shaun Murphy's inter-county career or has not recovered from injury yet?

If it's the former, I must say he was one of our most consistent performers the last few years. A solid corner back transformed into an under-rated wing-back who became a key component of our 2019 run."
If hes not going to be back in the next 6 weeks no point putting him in the League panel. Excellent hurler though. If he had retired I presume there wouldve been an announcement like Harry Kehoes.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16504 - 04/02/2022 11:37:55    2398289

The chances of us winning on sunday are slim to none but if we put up a good fight and don't lie down and perhaps if we only lost by 4 or 5 points then that would be a positive to take from the game. Lets forget about the Dublin game, it was little more than a challenge match. On home soil and a big crowd to cheer on the lads will help and maybe we'll see a few standout performances on display. Its a pity Chin and Rory are absent through injury but it gives the newcomers a chance to impress. It will also give the more established players the opportunity to let us see that last week was not a true reflection of what we witnessed last week. Limerick are big, they are physical and obviously very skillful. Maybe it's a good thing that we are playing the best team around in the first proper game in the new season as it will highlight weaknesses and possibly see new talent emerging.

Blockandhook (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 04/02/2022 12:39:04    2398301

Replying To hunting:  "What is the story with nolan and shaun murphy?"
Retired and injured

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 533 - 04/02/2022 12:44:43    2398302

Replying To Afinestick:  "Have we any chance at all Sunday lads. Without Chin and Rory O Connor probably our 2 best players it's hard to be hopeful . I would worry about some of the young lads if they go up against Limerick too. Massive step up and Limerick are physically imposing they could steam roll us"
Don't believe that will happen. Last time I was down there for a league match we literally got horsed out of it and lost!

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 04/02/2022 13:27:17    2398307

Replying To Shocs07:  "Don't believe that will happen. Last time I was down there for a league match we literally got horsed out of it and lost!"
That was 2017, Kiely's 1st league game in charge, ye won the last game in 2019, 3 points margin in both of those games.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 04/02/2022 14:52:53    2398312

Replying To alwaysasub:  "New Wexford Jersey launched, pretty much the same as last season, just slightly different on the sleeves and collar. I suppose if its isnt broke, dont fix it. To be fair there isnt a whole lot you can do."
The keeper jersey is a bit different and tbh I think it looks awful

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 270 - 04/02/2022 15:05:45    2398316

Replying To Onfor15:  "Retired and injured"
Aiden nolan is only in his 20s he hardly retired

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 04/02/2022 15:12:04    2398317

Replying To hunting:  "Aiden nolan is only in his 20s he hardly retired"
Many a player has retired far younger than that.

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 533 - 04/02/2022 15:41:27    2398321

Replying To alwaysasub:  "New Wexford Jersey launched, pretty much the same as last season, just slightly different on the sleeves and collar. I suppose if its isnt broke, dont fix it. To be fair there isnt a whole lot you can do."
Personally don't like a new jersey every 2 years mostly because it can be a big strain on parents, every 3-4 years is enough if the sponsor doesn't change for me anyway, as well as Wexford they could be buying new Man Utd, Liverpool, Leinster or Ireland jerseys all adds up.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 04/02/2022 16:29:40    2398327

Replying To Onfor15:  "Retired and injured"
Nolan going travelling.

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 182 - 04/02/2022 17:24:31    2398338

Replying To hunting:  "Aiden nolan is only in his 20s he hardly retired"
Theres lads around here retired from intercounty hurling or football in their early 20s. Its not a lifestyle that suits everyone.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16504 - 04/02/2022 19:20:22    2398351

Usual craic for a league game in Wexford Park tomorrow according to weather forecast, a game of 2 halves strong wind into the town end.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 05/02/2022 09:57:15    2398370

Why no team named? Annoying - what's the plan - start David Dunne instead of Paul Morris at the last minute and throw John Kiely's game plan into total chaos?

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 05/02/2022 11:03:03    2398380

Replying To Yellow:  "Why no team named? Annoying - what's the plan - start David Dunne instead of Paul Morris at the last minute and throw John Kiely's game plan into total chaos?"
Think It's all about giving the team to cairde members first. That's one of the benefits for signing up. Agree it's annoying. The gaa should implement a rule that teams must be named a certain number of hours in advance of games whether that's 24 or 48 hrs etc and if dummy teams are submitted fines handed out. Remember a few year back Wexford playing Offaly in the championship in the park and there were around 7 changes from the team in the programme

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 05/02/2022 11:33:55    2398388