O foley
Liam og
Mcguckian
Rory
Mac
Mickie Dwyer

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 370 - 05/02/2022 12:44:44    2398394

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Think It's all about giving the team to cairde members first. That's one of the benefits for signing up. Agree it's annoying. The gaa should implement a rule that teams must be named a certain number of hours in advance of games whether that's 24 or 48 hrs etc and if dummy teams are submitted fines handed out. Remember a few year back Wexford playing Offaly in the championship in the park and there were around 7 changes from the team in the programme"
Think you're right on cairde members, I remember that game it was actually Dublin we played in 2013, remember the actual team that started was leaked here in advance so wasn't even a surprise, Leo Varadkar must have been on the job.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 05/02/2022 12:53:18    2398395

Replying To wexico15:  "Think you're right on cairde members, I remember that game it was actually Dublin we played in 2013, remember the actual team that started was leaked here in advance so wasn't even a surprise, Leo Varadkar must have been on the job."
Rory o Connor back or is that Rory Higgins?

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 05/02/2022 13:05:41    2398397

Was a member of cairde last year and teams only came out an hour after I got it unless it's changed. If that's the team starting who is on the frees

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 370 - 05/02/2022 13:32:23    2398402

Replying To Yellow:  "Rory o Connor back or is that Rory Higgins?"
Rory O'Connor named but as he didn't play at all for DCU during the week I wouldn't be shocked if he didn't start.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 05/02/2022 14:06:46    2398406

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Was a member of cairde last year and teams only came out an hour after I got it unless it's changed. If that's the team starting who is on the frees"
Rory would be my guess if he starts, either him or Dee and then Paudie for long range.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 05/02/2022 14:08:23    2398409

Replying To wexico15:  "Rory would be my guess if he starts, either him or Dee and then Paudie for long range."
Hard to believe Rory will play tomorrow considering He was named to start for dcu in a must win fitzgibbon cup game on Wednesday and didn't even tog out

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 05/02/2022 15:44:11    2398419

Replying To wexico15:  "Rory would be my guess if he starts, either him or Dee and then Paudie for long range."
Mad though. ROC doesnt take frees for his club and DOK missed quite a few last year for Anne's. Surprised Casey isnt even on the bench. Banville and Morris can both take frees if they come on or start. It's pretty much the tallest team he couldve picked and hes gone for a mobile half forward line. Be interesting to see what way he sets the lads up and also how MOH gets on in the corner. He does seem to be moving better this year than the last couple of seasons.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16507 - 05/02/2022 17:06:50    2398440

I think Wexford could be beaten by 15-20 tomorrow. I hope I'm very wrong but that team has so many weak links.

And in fairness to the management it's not a criticism of them. No matter what team they picked there would be loads of weak links.

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 533 - 05/02/2022 18:13:23    2398454

That's more like it.

Absolutely immense work rate from 1-15.

The backs in particular were superb.

For Oisín Foley and Charlie mcguckian that was serious contest to win vital ball for us.

Mac won nearly everything that came near him.

It was a long way from the perfect performance but really fantastic attitude. We left a lot behind us.

In spite of having won the game, I don't ever recall seeing a more biased official.

The again, jacko was probably lucky to stay on the field.

What a tonic after last week being so depressing.

Amazing to have a good crowd back in the park.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3818 - 06/02/2022 15:34:17    2398561

Matthew o Hanlon was immense

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 302 - 06/02/2022 15:45:25    2398567

Great display. Hunted in packs which is great to see.

Thought Reck and Dwyer were excellent. Some finish for the goal. But to a man you couldn't fault anyone, though our wide count remains a concern.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1499 - 06/02/2022 15:49:26    2398570

Replying To Onfor15:  "I think Wexford could be beaten by 15-20 tomorrow. I hope I'm very wrong but that team has so many weak links.

And in fairness to the management it's not a criticism of them. No matter what team they picked there would be loads of weak links."
Think you've been proved wrong!!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 06/02/2022 15:55:53    2398572

Told ye there was an overeaction after the game last week, in terms of honesty of effort you couldn't really ask for more, bar Hegarty, Hannon and 1 or 2 more I taught Limerick were off it but the pressure we put them under was a big factor in that.

O'Hanlon, Reck,Dwyer and Paudie were immense while McGuckin had a good 2nd half, couple of great scores from Flood, I said last week I taught there was an overaction as results this time of the year can be up and down, I'm sure we'll have a poor performance at some point during the league but no point getting to carried away either positively or negativity after league games in my view, the biggest takeaway for me today was the attitude and application, wind was a big factor in wides for both teams.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 06/02/2022 16:01:33    2398580

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Matthew o Hanlon was immense"
He seems to have lost about 6 or 7kg??

He has seriously slimed down and was the faster for it today.

Fair play to him that takes discipline.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 970 - 06/02/2022 16:07:52    2398583

Replying To wexico15:  "Told ye there was an overeaction after the game last week, in terms of honesty of effort you couldn't really ask for more, bar Hegarty, Hannon and 1 or 2 more I taught Limerick were off it but the pressure we put them under was a big factor in that.

O'Hanlon, Reck,Dwyer and Paudie were immense while McGuckin had a good 2nd half, couple of great scores from Flood, I said last week I taught there was an overaction as results this time of the year can be up and down, I'm sure we'll have a poor performance at some point during the league but no point getting to carried away either positively or negativity after league games in my view, the biggest takeaway for me today was the attitude and application, wind was a big factor in wides for both teams."
This guy Flood... any relation to the Tim Flood who played for Wexford in 1960's?

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 06/02/2022 16:15:53    2398585

Replying To wexico15:  "Told ye there was an overeaction after the game last week, in terms of honesty of effort you couldn't really ask for more, bar Hegarty, Hannon and 1 or 2 more I taught Limerick were off it but the pressure we put them under was a big factor in that.

O'Hanlon, Reck,Dwyer and Paudie were immense while McGuckin had a good 2nd half, couple of great scores from Flood, I said last week I taught there was an overaction as results this time of the year can be up and down, I'm sure we'll have a poor performance at some point during the league but no point getting to carried away either positively or negativity after league games in my view, the biggest takeaway for me today was the attitude and application, wind was a big factor in wides for both teams."
Agree. Just as there was an over reaction last week no need for the same this week. Work rate all over the pitch was huge and set the foundation for the win. Think the win was all the more satisfying as the referee was very inconsistent. Having said that jacko couldve seen a second yellow and Dwyer over carried for the goal but it's nice to be on the right side of those decisions for a change. Matt ohanlon was my man of the match. One negative to stand out is our free taking

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 06/02/2022 16:23:02    2398590

Replying To Rockies:  "This guy Flood... any relation to the Tim Flood who played for Wexford in 1960's?"
Grandson and also son of Sean who hured for Wexford in the 90s, serious breeding!!

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 06/02/2022 16:26:16    2398592

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Matthew o Hanlon was immense"
Was my choice for MotM. Delighted he is back to full form. The whole team never stopped running and harrying when Limerick had the ball. Cant remember the last time they only scored 11 points in a game. We seem to have improved the delivery into Mac although he caught a couple of high ones too and seemed well up for the game! Thought Flood had a great game too. Really exciting game and a great atmosphere!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16507 - 06/02/2022 16:27:34    2398596

Replying To Rockies:  "This guy Flood... any relation to the Tim Flood who played for Wexford in 1960's?"
Hurling royalty. His grandfather Tim won three All-Ireland's and his father Sean won in 96

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1499 - 06/02/2022 16:29:15    2398597