Stepping Away And Retirements (Early)

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Nice one Real dub altho neither Mannion or Jack have 6 in a row but two guys that would deffo deserve it."
Howya Mick, was talking to the two lads and they both want whats best for Kerry : D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 22/01/2021 19:31:17    2328571

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "Kerry will be back but Dublin will be a tough nut to crack for them.I really can't see anyone else winning the AI football in the next ten years outside of Dublin...only Kerry.I hope I am wrong though.
I used to work with a guy years ago...a betting man....he used to say keep putting your money on Kerry and you are guaranteed to get it back......not anymore though,how things have changed."
A man from home years ago used to say never back Cork footballers (unless they play Kerry) and never back against Cork hurlers (altho that is nt the case anymore either.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 22/01/2021 19:34:13    2328573

Fair play Mick, I think Jamie is Macker out Ballymun way and I've heard Maxie to.

I'm afraid me and my gang are to used to saying on your bike Macker at this stage!

Jamsie an incredible player, it took the country a good 4 years to cotton onto how good he was.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/01/2021 19:39:53    2328574

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "Kerry will be back but Dublin will be a tough nut to crack for them.I really can't see anyone else winning the AI football in the next ten years outside of Dublin...only Kerry.I hope I am wrong though.
I used to work with a guy years ago...a betting man....he used to say keep putting your money on Kerry and you are guaranteed to get it back......not anymore though,how things have changed."
Think Kerry will win a good few myself, they will be coming into a mature, experienced cycle as we will be developing younger lads in a couple of years.

With a few of the players they have it would need to be human error not to bring a few home in my honest opinion.

After that, I think Galway, Armagh and Cork are all heading into good cycles and in with a competitive chance of winning Sam. Donegal to, but think they need to believe they can do it more then they have in last couple of years while the still have Murphy at his height of powers.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/01/2021 19:51:04    2328578

Replying To realdub:  "Howya Mick, was talking to the two lads and they both want whats best for Kerry : D"
Very nice of them Realdub lol

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 22/01/2021 19:55:11    2328580

Replying To TheUsername:  "Fair play Mick, I think Jamie is Macker out Ballymun way and I've heard Maxie to.

I'm afraid me and my gang are to used to saying on your bike Macker at this stage!

Jamsie an incredible player, it took the country a good 4 years to cotton onto how good he was."
James Mccarthy has everything one wants in a footballer. He can score defend and high field. He s strong and pacey. He s got it all. When hé was half back people just saw him as a very good half back but since he has moved around to midfield I think Joe Public has realised how special he is.Another thing about him his even when playing for Ballymun he gives 100%also.A real superstar.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 22/01/2021 20:00:22    2328583

And do you not realise that kerry folk think exactly this, and think that they could most likely be the only realistic threat to Dublin for the next couple of years...??

Their disingenuous posts about saving GAA by splitting Dublin, share out the Dublin sponsorship funding, stop GAA funding, keep them out of Croke Park etc etc - there is a method to their madness.... it is because they believe they will benefit most out of it... it is all self serving....!
They, the posters, ex players and pundits are being far from altruistic - believe me....!
It is the No.1 agenda of many of their posters on here - stir it up, and hope for a snowball effect....
Try for the sympathy vote and help save the poor kingdom... ;o)

Take Dublin out, and who will win 90% of the following All Ireland's...??? It certainly wont be Limerick or Meath....!
You don't need to be a rocket scientist.... And that guy you used to work with, will be back in the money... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3723 - 22/01/2021 20:27:55    2328590

Replying To Fionn:  "And do you not realise that kerry folk think exactly this, and think that they could most likely be the only realistic threat to Dublin for the next couple of years...??

Their disingenuous posts about saving GAA by splitting Dublin, share out the Dublin sponsorship funding, stop GAA funding, keep them out of Croke Park etc etc - there is a method to their madness.... it is because they believe they will benefit most out of it... it is all self serving....!
They, the posters, ex players and pundits are being far from altruistic - believe me....!
It is the No.1 agenda of many of their posters on here - stir it up, and hope for a snowball effect....

Take Dublin out, and who will win 90% of the following All Ireland's...??? It certainly wont be Limerick or Meath....!
You don't need to be a rocket scientist.... And that guy you used to work with, will be back in the money... ;o)"
It's not just kerry people saying that Dublin should be split though,, lots are, even from counties who have no chance of ever winning sam.
For the record I'm deeply opposed to it,, even as a galwayman I can say that splitting Dublin would be a sporting tragedy for ireland (dunlin gaa, a full hill etc is a trademark of our sport,, even when ye were winning nothing lol) but I'm afraid the idea of splitting ye has snowballed anyway.
Still though I personally just don't see it happening.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1697 - 22/01/2021 20:40:48    2328592

Replying To Fionn:  "And do you not realise that kerry folk think exactly this, and think that they could most likely be the only realistic threat to Dublin for the next couple of years...??

You don't need to be a rocket scientist.... And that guy you used to work with, will be back in the money... ;o)"
Well Fionn I for one would not like Dublin to be split and alot of my friends in Kerry feel the same way. I do believe that Dublin should play away games like everyone else but that's not anti Dublin. That's called fair play. Most of my Dublin pals agree too as do most Dublin posters on here. As for funding I don't want Dublin's taken away(my kids play with a Dublin club) but I think every county should be treated fairly. Now as a threat to Dublin. Yes I do feel Kerry can challenge but also I feel Donegal Galway Mayo and definately Tyrone can too. I want to beat Dublin Not half or a quarter of Dublin and if we can't it's because we not good enough. I certainly don't want to be beaten by a regional Dublin team. Now I understand you very annoyed at some Kerry posters and that's understandable. I get upset at some Dublin posters too but you certainly Do Not know the way we all think Fionn.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 22/01/2021 21:01:54    2328596

The competition as its presently constituted is flawed with just one or two teams with the capability of winning the AI and really only Dublin for several years now,the competition is not worthy of the name.
I have great time for Dublin,Kerry, Mayo etc etc but outside of Dublin and maybe very occasionally Kerry the rest have no chance of winning the AI Championship over the next ten years.Do you really want a competition like that,its almost a coronation at the moment where Dublin are concerned.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 22/01/2021 21:06:58    2328599

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "The competition as its presently constituted is flawed with just one or two teams with the capability of winning the AI and really only Dublin for several years now,the competition is not worthy of the name.
I have great time for Dublin,Kerry, Mayo etc etc but outside of Dublin and maybe very occasionally Kerry the rest have no chance of winning the AI Championship over the next ten years.Do you really want a competition like that,its almost a coronation at the moment where Dublin are concerned."
What structure specifically do you think would give teams the opportunity to win Sam that can't win it now?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1697 - 22/01/2021 21:40:55    2328604

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "The competition as its presently constituted is flawed with just one or two teams with the capability of winning the AI and really only Dublin for several years now,the competition is not worthy of the name.
I have great time for Dublin,Kerry, Mayo etc etc but outside of Dublin and maybe very occasionally Kerry the rest have no chance of winning the AI Championship over the next ten years.Do you really want a competition like that,its almost a coronation at the moment where Dublin are concerned."
that would be the hurling?

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 22/01/2021 21:46:53    2328606

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "James Mccarthy has everything one wants in a footballer. He can score defend and high field. He s strong and pacey. He s got it all. When hé was half back people just saw him as a very good half back but since he has moved around to midfield I think Joe Public has realised how special he is.Another thing about him his even when playing for Ballymun he gives 100%also.A real superstar."
James is a super player - agreed. ;o)
And a really top guy off the pitch also.
If he does not get an All Star this year - there is something wrong...

As I have said many times - Dublin supporters are blessed that so many came along at the same time for the Dubs which enabled our success during this past decade, and and they have now inspired many younger guys to take up the baton.

And yes, when he plays for BK he is 100% committed also. Always is.
The club still means so much to them all, and they all remain very grounded and very modest despite their collective and individual honours. You see it in the club with the county guys helping all the club players there. To be honest it is the most grounded Dublin squad many have ever seen. No prima donna's or air and graces about them...!

Hopefully the split season will see The Mun win a few more DSFC - and as has been said many times - Dublin's successful seasons has led to a jaded BK team in the club championship, with so many of the guys being the backbone to the Dublin team for so long during this period.

To quote a kerryman - James is "A real superstar"... ;o)

Hopefully he doesn't step away for a good while yet...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3723 - 22/01/2021 21:51:30    2328608

Replying To Galway9801:  "What structure specifically do you think would give teams the opportunity to win Sam that can't win it now?"
Its all been extensively covered in the Four Teams for Dublin Geographic Area thread,hve a read for yourself.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 22/01/2021 22:46:34    2328615

Replying To Fionn:  "James is a super player - agreed. ;o)

As I have said many times - Dublin supporters are blessed that so many came along at the same time for the Dubs which enabled our success during this past decade, and and they have now inspired many younger guys to take up the baton.

The club still means so much to them all, and they all remain very grounded and very modest despite their collective and individual honours. You see it in the club with the county guys helping all the club players there. To be honest it is the most grounded Dublin squad many have ever seen. No prima donna's or air and graces about them...!

Hopefully the split season will see The Mun win a few more DSFC - and as has been said many times - Dublin's successful seasons has led to a jaded BK team in the club championship, with so many of the guys being the backbone to the Dublin team for so long during this period.

Hopefully he doesn't step away for a good while yet...!"
James should and will get an all star i would think although with the alls stars one never knows and Yes James Jamsie Macker or just Mac is one of the true greats. Never met him but I've had a few pints with his Dad.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 22/01/2021 22:54:43    2328617

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "
Replying To Fionn:  "James is a super player - agreed. ;o)

James should and will get an all star i would think although with the alls stars one never knows and Yes James Jamsie Macker or just Mac is one of the true greats. Never met him but I've had a few pints with his Dad."
So James is the 2nd generation of Mackers from ballymun on the dublin team Mick? Was his father also called James?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2021 11:15:24    2328635

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "
Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Fionn:  "James is a super player - agreed. ;o)

James should and will get an all star i would think although with the alls stars one never knows and Yes James Jamsie Macker or just Mac is one of the true greats. Never met him but I've had a few pints with his Dad."
So James is the 2nd generation of Mackers from ballymun on the dublin team Mick? Was his father also called James?"]John McCarthy is James' Da. He was an excellent corner forward by all accounts.

3 All-Ireland's with the Dubs in 74, 76 and 77 afaik.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 23/01/2021 14:34:13    2328646

Replying To MesAmis:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Fionn:  "James is a super player - agreed. ;o)

So James is the 2nd generation of Mackers from ballymun on the dublin team Mick? Was his father also called James?"]John McCarthy is James' Da. He was an excellent corner forward by all accounts.

3 All-Ireland's with the Dubs in 74, 76 and 77 afaik."]James dad, John won three All Ireland medals in 1974, 1976 and 1977.
By all accounts he was a crucial figure in the 1976 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final against Kerry as he struck the first goal to set the Dubs on their way to victory. He was also fouled for the penalty which led to Dublin's second goal. He repeated it against Kerry in the classic semi-final of 1977 when he scored Dublin's first goal shortly after half time. In the final of 1977.
He was also a selector with Ballymun Kickhams senior team, which won the 2009 Dublin SFL (bridging a 20-year gap).
And he holds a unique record alongside Kerry's Aidan O'Mahony and Tom O'Sullivan within the force of being the only Gardaí to play in six successive All-Ireland finals.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3723 - 23/01/2021 15:12:08    2328648

James McCarthy's dad, John won three All Ireland medals in 1974, 1976 and 1977.
By all accounts he was a crucial figure in the 1976 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final against Kerry as he struck the first goal to set the Dubs on their way to victory. He was also fouled for the penalty which led to Dublin's second goal. He repeated it against Kerry in the classic semi-final of 1977 when he scored Dublin's first goal shortly after half time.
He was also a selector with Ballymun Kickham's senior team, which won the 2009 Dublin SFL (bridging a 20-year gap).
And he holds a unique record alongside Kerry's Aidan O'Mahony and Tom O'Sullivan within the force of being the only Gardaí to play in six successive All-Ireland finals.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3723 - 23/01/2021 15:40:25    2328650

Replying To MesAmis:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Fionn:  "James is a super player - agreed. ;o)

3 All-Ireland's with the Dubs in 74, 76 and 77 afaik."]john mcarthy was part of a dublin full forward line which also include bobby doyle and jimmy keaveney
serious dublin team with mullins hanahoe moran drumm hickey and brogan to name but a few

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 23/01/2021 15:47:12    2328651