Stepping Away And Retirements (Early)

Replying To WanPintWin:  "In fairness, 2 of them were well at the end of the road at that stage. Gooch was obviously injured for 2014, but he was a shadow of himself after that.
I'd say those lads not being there actually helped to freshen up the team and it got some impetus from the younger players.
While Andrews and McAuley were barely making the panel, Mannion is still a serious player. He lost his place to Paddy Small, but was a great option to bring on and is far from done."
Mannion far from done ? Dont be ridiculous he is a part time player , Kingdomboy knows his football :-)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 22/01/2021 10:35:34    2328458

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We lost Tomás O'Sé Paul Galvin and Gooch all starters for Kerry against dublin in 2013 for 2014 and we still won the allireland, dublin losing 2 players in paddy and MDMA means nothing, Manion only part timer."
O'Se and Galvin were into their mid 30s when they hung up their boots I think. Their legs were gone. Gooch was about 30. Mannion and McCaffrey are in their prime at 27 with 5 or 6 more years in the tank and the best players in their positions right now. No comparison at all.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/01/2021 10:37:53    2328460

Replying To catch22:  "And you'd be the lad on top of the mountain shouting into the wind that the natives had a pain in their hole with and told him to get the hell outta the village as you're giving them the scour Tommy.
Yourself and the other dose of scutter would be safe enough."
Oh you didn't mean that......
crying laughing rolling eyes emoji ;)

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 22/01/2021 10:52:41    2328464

Replying To superbluedub:  "Ah but 2014 was a handy All Ireland for the whingers :-)"
Sure Donegal's all ireland was the semi final victory

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 22/01/2021 10:53:24    2328465

Replying To Joxer:  "Paul finishing his degree I think. I don't think Archer is ready to be thrown into the physical senior scene just yet. It's a huge step up but certainly deserves a slow intro from the bench. I think Aaron Byrne deserves some game time and Collie is in the wings also. Paddy is more than capable but he needs to hone his shooting to reach Mannion levels, too many wasted punts from him but in time he will be deadly from that right wing. I expect announcements from Cian and the ROC. I would say that Philly is touch and go but may hang on. Midfield is a slight concern with neither Emmet O Conghaile nor POCB quite breaking through. Not sure what's happening with POCB but Emmet is still on the fringes. A big changing of the guard now."
We could do with a midfielder alright, although Howard put in a mega performance second half Vs Mayo. Jamsie for me this year has lost half a yard of pace and i think he will go deeper in the years ahead.

Lahiff did well i thought year 1, looked goosed at times and maybe wasn't in with the panel all that long. But a nice knitter with a decent engine and never waisted it, thought he was a good foil that helped Fenton get further forward.

Of the two Lucan lads EOC, i think has all the application, determination in the world he goes hard at it and is really committed on the panel, but you have to think the time maybe has passed. Darren Gavin is very highly rated, im not sure he has the same level of commitment as his club mate and i think that has stunted his progress, hes an easy going lad, i think he headed out to Oz for a bit to, who knows maybe that might help him in the long term, i think he was back in the fold latter in the year behind the scenes.

Dont know of POCB, still very young but all we were expecting to see more off him last year after his turn out in the senior final in 19. He took a year out year 1 at U20 to focus on his education so not sure did he d something similar this year, he was injured up to Jan, but played Sig for UCD. Im sure hes still in the melting pot of thinking, as Brian Fenton said hes a monster. he also played in the back line at minor Weird when you consider we gave Dias a run in the league.

Dont think we have a someone to look at U20, Fearon impressed me in the semi final Vs Tyrone, but was cleaned out in the final Vs Galway.

Ones to watch are Archer of course, but i dont think hes reedy for senior either and cold be 2-3 years off. Its winning his own ball and beating a man marker that are issues for me, but thats all coachable - look at Deano.

Mark Lavan is a lovely skillful footballer, he might have another year at U20 though. Swan, is a beast, O Dell is like a little Alan, but can be inconsistent. All those lads will go on to be Dublin Senior footballers, id be surprised if they didn't.

I know Archer and the other lads i mentioned get the headlines. But if i was to pick a player who will go on to be a class Dublin player and every inch a Dublin Senior footballer its Lee Gannon, you wont here the hype, but i picked this lad as quality the same way i did when i first saw Howard at U 21 (actually of the bench) as something really special. He looks a warrior and made for the Dublin Senior team.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/01/2021 11:08:28    2328468

Replying To superbluedub:  "Mannion far from done ? Dont be ridiculous he is a part time player , Kingdomboy knows his football :-)"
Jesus if Mannion is done with the Dubs, any chance he's a Meath parent/ grandparent. I know I'd have him in the green and gold in a heartbeat, cos he's better than anything we have. He'd look good in kerry colours too, cos he's better than anything they have to including Clifford. Even if he is a part time player ;)

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 22/01/2021 11:13:43    2328471

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We lost Tomás O'Sé Paul Galvin and Gooch all starters for Kerry against dublin in 2013 for 2014 and we still won the allireland, dublin losing 2 players in paddy and MDMA means nothing, Manion only part timer."
Mannion, the 27 year old 3 in a row all star (17', 18', 19') part timer

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 22/01/2021 12:11:47    2328486

Replying To catch22:  "And you'd be the lad on top of the mountain shouting into the wind that the natives had a pain in their hole with and told him to get the hell outta the village as you're giving them the scour Tommy.
Yourself and the other dose of scutter would be safe enough."
Hi remember when you said Donegal would hammer Cavan out the gate catch?

That was a classic :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/01/2021 12:35:14    2328489

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Mannion, the 27 year old 3 in a row all star (17', 18', 19') part timer"
Ya he wasn't starting for dublin any longer so he was only a part timer.

He's a fine footballer and would start on every other team in the country but such are dublins riches he couldn't get a start in the first 15 and that'll show you how strong dublin have gotten and that's why ye will win the allireland.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/01/2021 13:04:29    2328493

Replying To brian:  "Jesus if Mannion is done with the Dubs, any chance he's a Meath parent/ grandparent. I know I'd have him in the green and gold in a heartbeat, cos he's better than anything we have. He'd look good in kerry colours too, cos he's better than anything they have to including Clifford. Even if he is a part time player ;)"
Great to see there's at least some meathmen siding with the dubs on here.
In the words of Bart Simpson, "why compete with someone whose just gonna kick your butt anyway"

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 22/01/2021 13:14:05    2328495

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya he wasn't starting for dublin any longer so he was only a part timer.

He's a fine footballer and would start on every other team in the country but such are dublins riches he couldn't get a start in the first 15 and that'll show you how strong dublin have gotten and that's why ye will win the allireland."
Ya well i hope your right , 7 in a row !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 22/01/2021 13:49:13    2328506

I took early retirement from work and it was a great decision,having more time and freedom is fantastic.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 22/01/2021 14:09:16    2328513

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "I took early retirement from work and it was a great decision,having more time and freedom is fantastic."
Any you any good at football.?? Cant you transfer to kerry.?
By the sounds of it, kerry need some help and could do with an addition to make up for all their retirements, and lack of belief that they will be competitive and have any chance of winning Sam any time soon....
That is, if we are to believe everything a couple of their posters are saying..... And realists apparently....! ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 22/01/2021 14:21:29    2328516

Replying To TheUsername:  "
Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=Fionn:  "That is 4 Dublin players SO FAR who wont be involved in 2021 for Dublin (Paddy, MDMA, Jack and Mannion)....
I know of another who wont be also - so that will be at least 5.....

As a kerry teppum would say....
So to me it looks like the Dublin team now think they can't win again with the amount of players walking away... which shows me that they actually know that they will not win it again. But I am not defeatist - I call it a realist...!!!!

;o)"
Still it's an opportunity for someone else. I wouldn't stress.

In all our All Ireland wins I think it was only 2019 we really ever had a full deck to choose from every other year we'd have one, two, three missing and a few retirements, we've won All Ireland's without Dermo, Rory, Jack and Paul * 2, and retirements to. I wouldn't write of Jack just yet, I believe he was in with the lads at training toward the end of the champo.

Each time we rely on our youth, a chance given and an opportunity to someone else, we might not win an All Ireland but that's ok if we transition for a year, we really shouldn't have won it this year. Of the top of my head, I can think of P Small kicking on again, Collie Basquel plays out right and Ciaran Archer to. Some of these lads are up and coming or have waited a long time for a chance putting in the hard yards.

We will look to our own, it's our way."
True User. And the players you mention all took time out in the midst of playing football. Dublin have been lucky with injuries but unlucky in that top players opted out at different times but it did nt affect the team. I recall Kerry s great team under Micko were missing at least one top player every year but it was injuries. Again Kerry were strong enough to overcome the losses. Kerry lost Pat Spillane for 2 and a half seasons. Lost Sheehy Bomber Jim Deenihan Tommy Doyle Ger Power Ger ó Keefe. Dublin have been so strong the overcame also. Although Dubs gave some great forwards to come in I do think Mannion is in a different class and will be a loss. Andrews and MDMA are not a loss as their time was up anyway. I still think Cian Ó Sullivan has something to offer but think Philly s time is up too."]Jus chatting with a few heads there Mick. Paul is class, wonderful, well rounded player, hugely skilled, pace, decision making, shot execution, can beat a man, can get inside, can stretch a defense, very understated on work rate and defensively to.

I remember being in the stands his first year and lads calling for Macker to come in and drop the slight green horn, who could be wasteful and sloppy. Jim persevered.

We have to have the same attitude, no one bigger then the team. Not long ago we were lamenting Jack and Robbie steps up and put in a stars turn. That is how it has to be, it's an opportunity for someone else. If you stand still you are left behind, look at Rory.

Of the candidates we have P Small. I was chatting to someone on the same Dublin minor team with him, he said they were all good players, but Paddy was miles ahead of them all, supremely talented, he was saying he thinks there is bags more to come from him.

Collie Basquel, I won't be breaking any confidences in saying is the most deadly forward in Dublin club football, just absolutely shoots the lights out every championship and a lot of lads feel strongly he's been wasted at County so far, even though he's still relatively young. He will have a spring in step come training.

Archer is the outlier, shot the lights out at U 20, he's a prodigious talent, is one of the best kickers of a dead ball in the country, that's not hyperbole he's astonishing and some scorer of goal placement. He's been hugely hyped, if Iim Honest my own opinion is he's not ready. Doesn't win his own ball yet and masters a man marker yet, but he will be brought in to the panel I'd say and is another talent.

Then we have Cormac Costello who can play the right side. I don't think I've ever seen a more supremely talented player, capable of double digits in a match not getting a starting shirt.

It's perpetuall motion Mick, it never stops the lads above will duke it out that competition will drive them on and they will be better players for it.

Truth is we need to build and develop lads for the next five to ten years, we're on the road since 2011 being hugely successful, but that inevitably comes and will come with endings, the last two years we have seen a lot of change, we did well to win an All Ireland this year in my opinion, but we weren't pushed to the pin of our color either , the cards fell very nicely and I thought we were there to be shot at. We won't have things our own way, this year and I think we will see some transition in Dublin as we build. What that will lead to in results? Lads will have a different opinion.

If I'm honest Paul didn't look happy all year, I suspect his face might just not fit for Dessie or maybe each other for whatever reason, maybe he just needs a break.

Yep fair play, I never realised that Kerry team had so many injuries, a supremely talented bunch.

I think we have a couple more retirements to come Mick, I heard one anyway, heard a whisper Macker is weighing. COS I think has something to offer if the body holds up, I'd say that would be the deciding factor, Philly Iid be surprised if he didnt go again. Let's not even think about the unthinkable of you know who. It none of the lads owe Dublin anything and deserve to go when they feel it's right."]I'd be surprised if Macker went but IMO he would be an irreplaceable loss. He s been one of the best footballers in the country over the last decade. Himself and Fenton are Dublin's most important players (again imo.) I agree Philly might stay on but for me he won't feature in a tight game. If Cian stays injury free I agree there s more in him. For all the Dublin players that went there are ready made replacements but for me 4 are irreplaceable. Macker Fenton Kilkenny and Cluxton.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 22/01/2021 14:42:03    2328520

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "
Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=Fionn:  "That is 4 Dublin players SO FAR who wont be involved in 2021 for Dublin (Paddy, MDMA, Jack and Mannion)....

So to me it looks like the Dublin team now think they can't win again with the amount of players walking away... which shows me that they actually know that they will not win it again. But I am not defeatist - I call it a realist...!!!!

;o)"

In all our All Ireland wins I think it was only 2019 we really ever had a full deck to choose from every other year we'd have one, two, three missing and a few retirements, we've won All Ireland's without Dermo, Rory, Jack and Paul * 2, and retirements to. I wouldn't write of Jack just yet, I believe he was in with the lads at training toward the end of the champo.

Each time we rely on our youth, a chance given and an opportunity to someone else, we might not win an All Ireland but that's ok if we transition for a year, we really shouldn't have won it this year. Of the top of my head, I can think of P Small kicking on again, Collie Basquel plays out right and Ciaran Archer to. Some of these lads are up and coming or have waited a long time for a chance putting in the hard yards.

True User. And the players you mention all took time out in the midst of playing football. Dublin have been lucky with injuries but unlucky in that top players opted out at different times but it did nt affect the team. I recall Kerry s great team under Micko were missing at least one top player every year but it was injuries. Again Kerry were strong enough to overcome the losses. Kerry lost Pat Spillane for 2 and a half seasons. Lost Sheehy Bomber Jim Deenihan Tommy Doyle Ger Power Ger ó Keefe. Dublin have been so strong the overcame also. Although Dubs gave some great forwards to come in I do think Mannion is in a different class and will be a loss. Andrews and MDMA are not a loss as their time was up anyway. I still think Cian Ó Sullivan has something to offer but think Philly s time is up too."]Jus chatting with a few heads there Mick. Paul is class, wonderful, well rounded player, hugely skilled, pace, decision making, shot execution, can beat a man, can get inside, can stretch a defense, very understated on work rate and defensively to.

I remember being in the stands his first year and lads calling for Macker to come in and drop the slight green horn, who could be wasteful and sloppy. Jim persevered.

We have to have the same attitude, no one bigger then the team. Not long ago we were lamenting Jack and Robbie steps up and put in a stars turn. That is how it has to be, it's an opportunity for someone else. If you stand still you are left behind, look at Rory.

Of the candidates we have P Small. I was chatting to someone on the same Dublin minor team with him, he said they were all good players, but Paddy was miles ahead of them all, supremely talented, he was saying he thinks there is bags more to come from him.

Collie Basquel, I won't be breaking any confidences in saying is the most deadly forward in Dublin club football, just absolutely shoots the lights out every championship and a lot of lads feel strongly he's been wasted at County so far, even though he's still relatively young. He will have a spring in step come training.

Archer is the outlier, shot the lights out at U 20, he's a prodigious talent, is one of the best kickers of a dead ball in the country, that's not hyperbole he's astonishing and some scorer of goal placement. He's been hugely hyped, if Iim Honest my own opinion is he's not ready. Doesn't win his own ball yet and masters a man marker yet, but he will be brought in to the panel I'd say and is another talent.

Then we have Cormac Costello who can play the right side. I don't think I've ever seen a more supremely talented player, capable of double digits in a match not getting a starting shirt.

It's perpetuall motion Mick, it never stops the lads above will duke it out that competition will drive them on and they will be better players for it.

Truth is we need to build and develop lads for the next five to ten years, we're on the road since 2011 being hugely successful, but that inevitably comes and will come with endings, the last two years we have seen a lot of change, we did well to win an All Ireland this year in my opinion, but we weren't pushed to the pin of our color either , the cards fell very nicely and I thought we were there to be shot at. We won't have things our own way, this year and I think we will see some transition in Dublin as we build. What that will lead to in results? Lads will have a different opinion.

If I'm honest Paul didn't look happy all year, I suspect his face might just not fit for Dessie or maybe each other for whatever reason, maybe he just needs a break.

Yep fair play, I never realised that Kerry team had so many injuries, a supremely talented bunch.

I think we have a couple more retirements to come Mick, I heard one anyway, heard a whisper Macker is weighing. COS I think has something to offer if the body holds up, I'd say that would be the deciding factor, Philly Iid be surprised if he didnt go again. Let's not even think about the unthinkable of you know who. It none of the lads owe Dublin anything and deserve to go when they feel it's right."]I'd be surprised if Macker went but IMO he would be an irreplaceable loss. He s been one of the best footballers in the country over the last decade. Himself and Fenton are Dublin's most important players (again imo.) I agree Philly might stay on but for me he won't feature in a tight game. If Cian stays injury free I agree there s more in him. For all the Dublin players that went there are ready made replacements but for me 4 are irreplaceable. Macker Fenton Kilkenny and Cluxton."]Ha you can take the lad of Kerry ........! :).

Ill translate:

Macker = Kevin.

Jamsie = McCarthy.

King = Con

Etc.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/01/2021 14:50:58    2328522

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=Fionn:  "That is 4 Dublin players SO FAR who wont be involved in 2021 for Dublin (Paddy, MDMA, Jack and Mannion)....

;o)"

I think we have a couple more retirements to come Mick, I heard one anyway, heard a whisper Macker is weighing. COS I think has something to offer if the body holds up, I'd say that would be the deciding factor, Philly Iid be surprised if he didnt go again. Let's not even think about the unthinkable of you know who. It none of the lads owe Dublin anything and deserve to go when they feel it's right."]I'd be surprised if Macker went but IMO he would be an irreplaceable loss. He s been one of the best footballers in the country over the last decade. Himself and Fenton are Dublin's most important players (again imo.) I agree Philly might stay on but for me he won't feature in a tight game. If Cian stays injury free I agree there s more in him. For all the Dublin players that went there are ready made replacements but for me 4 are irreplaceable. Macker Fenton Kilkenny and Cluxton."]Ha you can take the lad of Kerry ........! :).

Ill translate:

Macker = Kevin.

Jamsie = McCarthy.

King = Con

Etc."]OK User. It's just my pals called Kevin MC=Maxie.and James MC =Macker as his Dad John was known as Macker also but thanks for info.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 22/01/2021 15:26:35    2328529

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=Fionn:  "That is 4 Dublin players SO FAR who wont be involved in 2021 for Dublin (Paddy, MDMA, Jack and Mannion)....

;o)"

Ill translate:

Macker = Kevin.

Jamsie = McCarthy.

King = Con

Etc."]Hi User not sure if my last post went through. Thanks for clearing that up as James Mac(Jamsie) would be a terrible loss not just for Dublin but for most real gaa fans. On the nicknames my pals (Dubs) call Kevin MC =Maxie and Jamsie =Macker as his Dad John was and is still Known as Macker. We in northside lol

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 22/01/2021 16:10:44    2328535

Mannion and McCaffrey are suffering from 6 in a row guilt, they've been reading on here and they want to level the playing field, what more can we do :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 22/01/2021 16:20:45    2328538

Replying To realdub:  "Mannion and McCaffrey are suffering from 6 in a row guilt, they've been reading on here and they want to level the playing field, what more can we do :D"
Nice one Real dub altho neither Mannion or Jack have 6 in a row but two guys that would deffo deserve it.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 22/01/2021 18:28:41    2328561

Replying To Fionn:  "Any you any good at football.?? Cant you transfer to kerry.?
By the sounds of it, kerry need some help and could do with an addition to make up for all their retirements, and lack of belief that they will be competitive and have any chance of winning Sam any time soon....
That is, if we are to believe everything a couple of their posters are saying..... And realists apparently....! ;o)"
Kerry will be back but Dublin will be a tough nut to crack for them.I really can't see anyone else winning the AI football in the next ten years outside of Dublin...only Kerry.I hope I am wrong though.
I used to work with a guy years ago...a betting man....he used to say keep putting your money on Kerry and you are guaranteed to get it back......not anymore though,how things have changed.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 22/01/2021 19:19:05    2328569