Cavan Minor And U20s 2022

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Wouldn't be hard to know as much as you….you don't have to be stupid enough to pay good money in to know that the type of football most teams are playing is total rubbish… You might not be intelligent enough yet to spot that but the penny will drop with you at some stage…maybe…"
Wouldn't be hard to know as much as you….you don't have to be stupid enough to pay good money in to know that the type of football most teams are playing is total rubbish… You might not be intelligent enough yet to spot that but the penny will drop with you at some stage…maybe…
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 474 -

It's nice to support a team by going to games instead off trying to be an Internet warrior. It sounds like you don't even like football so one would wonder what you are doing on a football forum.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 13/04/2022 17:17:44    2410881

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I didn't watch it back…. to be honest I didn't know you could watch it back…. I was talking to a few people who say it on the night and said it was very defensive… not all Cavan of course but I think I won't waste an hour or so looking at it if what they said is anything to go by…. The Final will show where we are at…"
Maybe don't was yours and everyone else time negative posting on here then

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 13/04/2022 18:22:55    2410888

Replying To RHF:  "Wouldn't be hard to know as much as you….you don't have to be stupid enough to pay good money in to know that the type of football most teams are playing is total rubbish… You might not be intelligent enough yet to spot that but the penny will drop with you at some stage…maybe…
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 474 -

It's nice to support a team by going to games instead off trying to be an Internet warrior. It sounds like you don't even like football so one would wonder what you are doing on a football forum."
I don't like the football as much as I once did… I just have no time for the way coaches and managers are setting up teams to play… it is pure muck.. I think it's terrible what players are expected to do nowadays and it's no wonder they are walking away from county panels in droves… Paying in to watch this sort of dross doesn't make you a great supporter it just means you must agree with this type of football or haven't the intelligence to see how it is killing the game….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 13/04/2022 18:30:07    2410889

I go to matches to support the people that represent the place i come from. They are people from my club, my parish, my extended family and friends. They are Cavan people and they put in huge efforts to represent us.

What we have here now its clear is a fella who admits he doesn't like football, doesn't go to games and is ultra negative about everything and yet sees no irony in any of this. I'm speechless to be honest at your lack of self awareness foreverblue.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 14/04/2022 07:25:38    2410914

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I don't like the football as much as I once did… I just have no time for the way coaches and managers are setting up teams to play… it is pure muck.. I think it's terrible what players are expected to do nowadays and it's no wonder they are walking away from county panels in droves… Paying in to watch this sort of dross doesn't make you a great supporter it just means you must agree with this type of football or haven't the intelligence to see how it is killing the game…."
Newsflash buddy, football is not better back in the old days than it is now. The one exception I would probably put to this is the few years we went very defensive around McGuinness' Donegal 2012 or so. But for the most part, football in the past is not better. It is far better now, with fitness, scores taken, ball in play time, and all sorts making for a better game. I think you're watching a little bit too much TG4 gold, which has the odd cracker from the past. Most matches in the past were brutal, and general play was very poor quality. Over lockdown I watched the 97 final and semi to Kerry, and hoo boy, I recall these being great games in my head but they were actually very poor quality overall. The memory doesn't remember that though.

So football is overall better, players from all over the pitch can kick the ball well and take scores which wasn't the case in the past. The only thing I would say, is that with the player fitness and such, the pitch is now smaller as we've 30 very fit athletes able to cover the space. I'd be up for seeing how 13 a side would work in freeing up space in the forward line.

And players aren't leaving panels due to the coaches and the style they're been made play, it's the time invested. Players put in between 30 and 40 hours weekly on top of their life and job to play from December odd through to when their team goes out, and many can't do that. They now spend time at home on video analysis and researching their next opponent otherwise they fall further behind. It's not like the 90s when League started in late autumn after the All Ireland final, finished up and ate like a pig all winter, came back for a few training sessions late Spring to shake the pounds, finish the league and then your one off Championship match. It's not like that anymore, they're pro in all but name now.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2379 - 14/04/2022 08:51:18    2410919

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I don't like the football as much as I once did… I just have no time for the way coaches and managers are setting up teams to play… it is pure muck.. I think it's terrible what players are expected to do nowadays and it's no wonder they are walking away from county panels in droves… Paying in to watch this sort of dross doesn't make you a great supporter it just means you must agree with this type of football or haven't the intelligence to see how it is killing the game…."
I don't like the football as much as I once did… I just have no time for the way coaches and managers are setting up teams to play… it is pure muck.. I think it's terrible what players are expected to do nowadays and it's no wonder they are walking away from county panels in droves… Paying in to watch this sort of dross doesn't make you a great supporter it just means you must agree with this type of football or haven't the intelligence to see how it is killing the game….
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 475 - 13/04/2022 18:30:07

I actually like football and going to games. Different tactics interest me and seeing how teams set up.

I also pay in to support my local club and the players that come through the club playing for the county. If we were all as intelligent as you the GAA would not survive. Maybe though you would be happy with that.....

You are likely a lad who supports Man Utd or Liverpool and sits in front of the TV in the Pub roaring at it with your red jersey on with your name on the back off it who has never even been at a soccer match either.

I wont be engaging with you anymore seen as your main come back is to question the intelligence of people that pay into football matches while you sit at home getting second hand information from your not so intelligent friends who are going to these games.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 14/04/2022 09:03:01    2410921

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Newsflash buddy, football is not better back in the old days than it is now. The one exception I would probably put to this is the few years we went very defensive around McGuinness' Donegal 2012 or so. But for the most part, football in the past is not better. It is far better now, with fitness, scores taken, ball in play time, and all sorts making for a better game. I think you're watching a little bit too much TG4 gold, which has the odd cracker from the past. Most matches in the past were brutal, and general play was very poor quality. Over lockdown I watched the 97 final and semi to Kerry, and hoo boy, I recall these being great games in my head but they were actually very poor quality overall. The memory doesn't remember that though.

So football is overall better, players from all over the pitch can kick the ball well and take scores which wasn't the case in the past. The only thing I would say, is that with the player fitness and such, the pitch is now smaller as we've 30 very fit athletes able to cover the space. I'd be up for seeing how 13 a side would work in freeing up space in the forward line.

And players aren't leaving panels due to the coaches and the style they're been made play, it's the time invested. Players put in between 30 and 40 hours weekly on top of their life and job to play from December odd through to when their team goes out, and many can't do that. They now spend time at home on video analysis and researching their next opponent otherwise they fall further behind. It's not like the 90s when League started in late autumn after the All Ireland final, finished up and ate like a pig all winter, came back for a few training sessions late Spring to shake the pounds, finish the league and then your one off Championship match. It's not like that anymore, they're pro in all but name now."
And what you say is what is totally wrong with the game now…. Do you agree with paid managers and coaches flogging players to death for their own means… the management is pro but the players are amateurs which makes absolutely no sense… How anybody can enjoy this terrible slow defensive rubbish most teams are playing is beyond me…. If as you say football is much better now how come there is about a 35% drop in all inter county attendance figures in the last 8/10 years ( the behind doors games don't count of course )… Excitement in football was always based around good forwards and good score getting… for the most part that's gone… Look at our own County… we haven't had on good free scoring forward in the last decade…. I wonder why…? If this sort of drab football is your cup of tea then fair play to you but it's not for me….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 14/04/2022 10:06:11    2410933

Replying To RHF:  "I don't like the football as much as I once did… I just have no time for the way coaches and managers are setting up teams to play… it is pure muck.. I think it's terrible what players are expected to do nowadays and it's no wonder they are walking away from county panels in droves… Paying in to watch this sort of dross doesn't make you a great supporter it just means you must agree with this type of football or haven't the intelligence to see how it is killing the game….
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 475 - 13/04/2022 18:30:07

I actually like football and going to games. Different tactics interest me and seeing how teams set up.

I also pay in to support my local club and the players that come through the club playing for the county. If we were all as intelligent as you the GAA would not survive. Maybe though you would be happy with that.....

You are likely a lad who supports Man Utd or Liverpool and sits in front of the TV in the Pub roaring at it with your red jersey on with your name on the back off it who has never even been at a soccer match either.

I wont be engaging with you anymore seen as your main come back is to question the intelligence of people that pay into football matches while you sit at home getting second hand information from your not so intelligent friends who are going to these games."
So you like defensive set ups..? You probably thought McGuinness was a genius…. He managed a lot of teams after….oh wait… And you wonder why you're intelligence is been questioned…? You keep paying in good lad… the GAA top brass get a good laugh out of those who do…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 14/04/2022 10:12:09    2410936

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "So you like defensive set ups..? You probably thought McGuinness was a genius…. He managed a lot of teams after….oh wait… And you wonder why you're intelligence is been questioned…? You keep paying in good lad… the GAA top brass get a good laugh out of those who do…"
Uh, McGuinness was a genius. He won Donegal their 2nd ever All Ireland, brought them from a decent but not respected team in the 00s, to winning multiple Ulster and an All Ireland (and really should have won another). Absolutely the style was bad to watch, but Donegal people don't care with their 2nd ever. We'd bite someones hand off if we were offered multiple Ulsters and All Irelands with a defensive style. We can't be picky. You really do not know what you're talking about

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2379 - 14/04/2022 10:27:22    2410943

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "And what you say is what is totally wrong with the game now…. Do you agree with paid managers and coaches flogging players to death for their own means… the management is pro but the players are amateurs which makes absolutely no sense… How anybody can enjoy this terrible slow defensive rubbish most teams are playing is beyond me…. If as you say football is much better now how come there is about a 35% drop in all inter county attendance figures in the last 8/10 years ( the behind doors games don't count of course )… Excitement in football was always based around good forwards and good score getting… for the most part that's gone… Look at our own County… we haven't had on good free scoring forward in the last decade…. I wonder why…? If this sort of drab football is your cup of tea then fair play to you but it's not for me…."
Of course I don't agree with paid coaches, but what can be done here? Is a coach going to say feck it, I'll only do 10 hours a week, a few pitch sessions, a wee bit of background work and sure we'll see how things go when we turn up for teh game? They'll get hammered and lose their job due to teh otehr coach doing the time and being set up. Like I don't agree with this, but I still think you're wrong about style of play these days. most football we see lately is far better than we saw in the past (and definitely better than early 2010s). It can be very interesting to see how teams can unlock otehr teams when they do set up defensive, double sweeper, how they set a full press, all that. It is interesting.

Like, we're never again going back to the time when both teams were carefree and open football, and just stood and slugged it out. There's too much at stake, teams needs to set up for their opponent and work out ways to break them down and get past to score more. No team will come out with an open plan as they'll get annihilated. If this is the reason for your negativity, I'd say your best to stop watching football (if you even watch it at all), the past that you thought existed didn't, your memories just pretends it was better.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2379 - 14/04/2022 10:43:09    2410948

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Of course I don't agree with paid coaches, but what can be done here? Is a coach going to say feck it, I'll only do 10 hours a week, a few pitch sessions, a wee bit of background work and sure we'll see how things go when we turn up for teh game? They'll get hammered and lose their job due to teh otehr coach doing the time and being set up. Like I don't agree with this, but I still think you're wrong about style of play these days. most football we see lately is far better than we saw in the past (and definitely better than early 2010s). It can be very interesting to see how teams can unlock otehr teams when they do set up defensive, double sweeper, how they set a full press, all that. It is interesting.

Like, we're never again going back to the time when both teams were carefree and open football, and just stood and slugged it out. There's too much at stake, teams needs to set up for their opponent and work out ways to break them down and get past to score more. No team will come out with an open plan as they'll get annihilated. If this is the reason for your negativity, I'd say your best to stop watching football (if you even watch it at all), the past that you thought existed didn't, your memories just pretends it was better."
Like, we're never again going back to the time when both teams were carefree and open football, and just stood and slugged it out. There's too much at stake, teams needs to set up for their opponent and work out ways to break them down and get past to score more. No team will come out with an open plan as they'll get annihilated. If this is the reason for your negativity, I'd say your best to stop watching football (if you even watch it at all), the past that you thought existed didn't, your memories just pretends it was better.
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 1418 - 14/04/2022 10:43:09 24

If you watch back the games that T4G show on GAA gold from the 80's and 90's which i'm sure you have as you have an interest in football the standard was pretty poor and then in the 00's the real defensive stuff started to come in.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 14/04/2022 11:52:40    2410962

People always use the word negative when they know they have no real argument about the topic been discussed….. It's a handy get out term when you know your wrong but won't admit it… Then again some are just deluded…. If I say " I hope Cavan beat Tyrone in this U20 final but without seeing them I doubt we have the scoring power to see us get past them ….I hope I'm wrong and will be delighted if I am.."…… Is this a negative comment or a general thought in the lead up to the game…..?

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 14/04/2022 13:01:13    2410977

Replying To RHF:  "Like, we're never again going back to the time when both teams were carefree and open football, and just stood and slugged it out. There's too much at stake, teams needs to set up for their opponent and work out ways to break them down and get past to score more. No team will come out with an open plan as they'll get annihilated. If this is the reason for your negativity, I'd say your best to stop watching football (if you even watch it at all), the past that you thought existed didn't, your memories just pretends it was better.
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 1418 - 14/04/2022 10:43:09 24

If you watch back the games that T4G show on GAA gold from the 80's and 90's which i'm sure you have as you have an interest in football the standard was pretty poor and then in the 00's the real defensive stuff started to come in."
Yep, I made that point above. there were some good games, but even those we consider good were poor quality. The other games rarely shown were even worse, turgid stuff that's near unwatchable compared to half decent games these days.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2379 - 14/04/2022 13:59:02    2410990

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "People always use the word negative when they know they have no real argument about the topic been discussed….. It's a handy get out term when you know your wrong but won't admit it… Then again some are just deluded…. If I say " I hope Cavan beat Tyrone in this U20 final but without seeing them I doubt we have the scoring power to see us get past them ….I hope I'm wrong and will be delighted if I am.."…… Is this a negative comment or a general thought in the lead up to the game…..?"
its a negative comment and as allways your user name is a better description of you than any thing we could come up with. I thought our under 20 would get hammered by Monaghan and after that victory I also thought they would lose to Derry because i am very familiar with this age group and i would have thought that the talent in recent years was better but fair play to them and their mentors they have proved me wrong.
They have beaten two teams who i think are much more talented than they are because of the way they are set up and also because of their work ethic and never say die attitude and i salute them for these victories.
In my oponion they now face another more talented team Tyrone in the final and if they can win this by a point in a dire game of football it will be some going and I will be delighted and celebrate it for sure where you even in victory will be forever blue.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 14/04/2022 16:37:53    2411029

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "its a negative comment and as allways your user name is a better description of you than any thing we could come up with. I thought our under 20 would get hammered by Monaghan and after that victory I also thought they would lose to Derry because i am very familiar with this age group and i would have thought that the talent in recent years was better but fair play to them and their mentors they have proved me wrong.
They have beaten two teams who i think are much more talented than they are because of the way they are set up and also because of their work ethic and never say die attitude and i salute them for these victories.
In my oponion they now face another more talented team Tyrone in the final and if they can win this by a point in a dire game of football it will be some going and I will be delighted and celebrate it for sure where you even in victory will be forever blue."
How negative are you…. Thought they would be hammered by Monaghan.. call yourself a supporter… No real Cavan supporter would ever expect to be hammered by Monaghan… shame on you

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 14/04/2022 17:38:24    2411042

Hopefully a good performance tonight and the lads will bring the cup home.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 22/04/2022 10:35:01    2412211

Indeed, best of luck to the U20s tonight, and hope they bring teh cup home. Tough ask, but our boys have shown some steel already this year.

Word out to the minors tomorrow evening too. Hope some manage to get across from Belfast to Omagh for the match, tight for time, but is doable. Mad our 3 county football sides are out within 22 hours of each other, but in 3 different counties at 3 different times.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2379 - 22/04/2022 11:15:48    2412229

Big weekend for our County sides with all 3 playing within 24 hours which is unusual… Our U20's start the ball rolling tonight so the best of luck to them in the Final tonight… It would be fantastic to get the weekend off to a winning start….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 22/04/2022 11:54:50    2412236

It be nice to get one over on Tyrone! In any grade.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 22/04/2022 13:47:37    2412272

Best of luck to the lads tonight. Brewster has served us well over the years. Both teams will be well supported I'd imagine.

For anyone who can't make it the game is live on tg4.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 22/04/2022 19:00:27    2412348