Tipperary - All Tipp

I have heard last night that Cathal Barrett has been dropped from the panel for disciplinary reasons.

JC Wales (Tipperary) - Posts:2745 - 16/05/2016 10:33:40   1855192

Post Reply

Tipperary's Barry Heffernan ruled out by repeated concussion

Repeated concussion will deny Tipperary wing back Barry Heffernan his Munster hurling championship debut against Cork in Thurles this Sunday.
He has suffered three head traumas since December 2015.
As a result, the 20-year-old was stood down from all hurling matches until further notice.

Dual star Seamus Kennedy looks primed to make his senior hurling debut in Sunday's Munster quarter-final against Cork.
Kennedy, 23, was a member of the Tipp senior football squad last year but linked up with hurling set-up at the start of the season, with fellow dual star Steven O'Brien.
He didn't feature throughout the Hurling League campaign and was tied up with football commitments until February.

JC Wales (Tipperary) - Posts:2745 - 19/05/2016 20:24:54   1856548

Post Reply


​Mark Ellis has been named at full-back in the Cork team for Sunday's Munster Senior Hurling Championship match against Tipperary.

Christopher Joyce is named at centre-back with William Egan partnering Daniel Kearney at centrefield.

Seamus Kennedy, Sean Curran, Dan McCormack, and John McGrath will make Championship debuts for Tipperary in Thurles.

Cork: A Nash; D Cahalane, M Ellis, C O'Sullivan; L McLoughlin, C Joyce, C Murphy; D Kearney, W Egan; B Cooper, C Lehane, B Lawton; A Cadogan, S Harnedy, P Horgan.

Tipperary: D Gleeson;
C Barrett, J Barry, M Cahill;
S Kennedy, R Maher, P Maher;
B Maher, M Breen;
S Curran, D McCormack, N McGrath;
J O'Dwyer, S Callanan, J McGrath.

JC Wales (Tipperary) - Posts:2745 - 20/05/2016 21:14:22   1856902

Post Reply

I doubt if M Brown will start ?????????????????????

JC Wales (Tipperary) - Posts:2745 - 20/05/2016 21:59:53   1856924

Post Reply

Best wishes to the Tipperary SH & IH teams v Cork today.
Go out give your all and you will be there at the end.

JC Wales (Tipperary) - Posts:2745 - 22/05/2016 10:15:13   1857189

Post Reply

Replying To JC Wales:  "Best wishes to the Tipperary SH & IH teams v Cork today.
Go out give your all and you will be there at the end."

JC Wales (Tipperary) - Posts:2745 - 22/05/2016 21:44:38   1857542

Post Reply

Replying To JC Wales:  "Best wishes to the Tipperary SH & IH teams v Cork today.
Go out give your all and you will be there at the end."
Tipp outclass malfunctioning Cork, Tipp 0-22 Cork 0-13

Watched by a 29,114 crowd, Tipperary had too much class and intelligence for a limp Cork at a rain-drenched Semple Stadium this afternoon, writes John Fogarty.
A Munster quarter-final to forget, Cork were 11 points down at one stage early in the second half before they staged an all-too-brief rally.
Tipp went 16 minutes without scoring the second half. It meant little even though Cork strung together four points in a row in that period.
Tipp hardly managed to get out of third gear but what they did was too good for Cork who suffered a systematic malfunction akin to what was seen here in last year's All-Ireland quarter-final against Galway.
Goal chances were few and far between but there was enough quality from the Tipperary forwards on a day when the likes of Seamus Harnedy and Pa Horgan were reduced to relatively anonymous roles.
Cork surprisingly chose to face the wind in the first half and soon found themselves in arrears as Tipperary negated Cork's sweeper William Egan by splitting balls to the sidelines for their full-forward to chase.
Six yellow cards, three doubles, were shown in the opening period with Cathal Barrett and Bill Cooper fortunate not to pick up red cards for interfering with each other's helmet. Barry Kelly also chose not to penalise John O'Dwyer for an off-the-ball incident involving Lorcán McLoughlin although O'Dwyer was later booked.
Through a barrage of heavy downfalls, it was Tipperary and O'Dwyer who looked so much sharper. Three beautiful points in the space of two minutes, the last of them coming courtesy of O'Dwyer from an acute angle, gave the home side a 0-7 to 0-1 lead after 16 minutes.
Cork threatened to steady themselves with a Horgan free and a Brian Lawton point from distance but Tipperary resumed normal service and hit four in a row to lead by 0-12 to 0-4.
A Horgan free in the 33rd minute ended a 10-minute spell without a score for Cork but it was the brilliant O'Dwyer who finished out the half with a brace of points to hand Tipperary a 0-14 to 0-5 interval advantage.

Tipp: S. Callanan (0-8, 4 frees); J. O'Dwyer (0-7, 2 frees, 1 65); N. McGrath (0-2); Pádraic Maher, B. Maher, J. McGrath, J. Forde, K. Bergin (0-1 each).

Cork: A. Cadogan (0-4); P. Horgan (0-3, frees); C. Lehane (0-2, 1 free); B. Lawton, C. Murphy, S. Harnedy, L. O'Farrell (0-1 each).

TIPP: D. Gleeson; C. Barrett, J. Barry, M. Cahill; S. Kennedy, R. Maher, Pádraic Maher; B. Maher (c), M. Breen; S. Curran, D. McCormack, N. McGrath; J. O'Dwyer, S. Callanan, J. McGrath.
Subs: J. Forde for N. McGrath (53); Patrick Maher for S. Curran (56); N. O'Meara for J. O'Dwyer, K. Bergin for M. Breen (both 64).

CORK: A. Nash; D. Cahalane, M. Ellis, C. O'Sullivan; L. McLoughlin, C. Joyce, C. Murphy; D. Kearney, W. Egan; B. Cooper, C. Lehane, B. Lawton; A. Cadogan, S. Harnedy (c), P. Horgan.
Subs: A. Walsh for D. Kearney (32); K. Burke for C. O'Sullivan (41); L. O'Farrell for P. Horgan (54); J. Cronin for B. Cooper (59).

JC Wales (Tipperary) - Posts:2745 - 22/05/2016 21:52:56   1857547

Post Reply